We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of The Point Cusco

Hostel | Meson de la Estrella 172, Cusco, Peru --

76.8% Overall Rating

166 out of 191 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

Juliette Martin thinks…

"Love the atmosphere!! Excellent wi-fi connection and very clean rooms and bathrooms."

Read all The Point Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
8.87 USD

Hostel 88.1% 54 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Cusco
10.26 USD

Hostel 93.5% 259 reviews
Hostal Qosqo
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
8.53 USD

Hostel 87.2% 23 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
7.16 USD

Hostel 81.3% 97 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 94.6% 21 reviews
Net House B&B
18.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

166 out of 191 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Point Cusco'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 134 of 147 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliette Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2014 Juliette would recommend this property

Liked: Love the atmosphere!! Excellent wi-fi connection and very clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: I liked everything.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2014

Liked: Good hot showers! The hall area was nice.

Disliked: When we got to the hostel staff said that they didn't recieve our reservation (even though I had the confirmation email) and blamed that they don't have any beds available. They said that this have happened many times to many people who booked the night through Hostelbookers, Hostelworld or somehow like that (I'm just surprised that that have never happened to me in other hostels). After trying to send us to other crapy hostel and our unacceptance they suddenly found beds for us. The second day they had gave our beds away but luckily we got them back when we and the others went to say about that, my travelmate's (who was in same reservation of mine) bed was almost given away the second time, but because of one really nice boy that didn't happen. During the second night above my bed girl tryed to bring one boy aswell (to one person bed) and after some talking they said that the boy doesn't have room/bed and that's why they wanted to go there. I thought that this couldn't happen here because they have 24h security..

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 July 2014

Liked: Nothing. The party atmosphere was very tacky.

Disliked: This hostel completely lost our booking, moved us from bed to bed for hours after a 24 hour journey. They eventually moved us unceremoniously from one bed (whilst putting another man into it) and into a 4 bed dorm with the slightly surly girl from the desk and the barman. They tried to charge us nearly twice as much for the room - tried to move us again after we'd already fallen asleep - then the two of them (?) had comically loud sex at around 3am. Needless to say we left a day early, and I refused to pay more than the hostel bookers price for one night.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

sombat cheunbunluesook

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: everything especially breakfast was full of nothing eatable...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecca law

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good party hostel, internets not very good hardly works!

Disliked: Bad internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the garden and the bar!

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Point Cusco is in a great location just a few blocks from city center. They offer cheap rooms and a fun and friendly atmosphere/ staff. The showers are hot even if everyone is showering at once. There is an on site bar with relatively cheap drinks where they offer beer pong and pool and they even have a full menu of food to order from. The staff is really nice and they are able to able with any and all questions. The building is secure - either you have a wristband to show that you are staying there or you have to sign in to get upstairs to the bar. They also have lockers in and outside the rooms to use for free if you wish.

Disliked: The one thing I didn't like was having to pay with cash, but it really was not a big deal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thais Silveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: The Staff was very helpfull. Dorms are cold, but bed is comfortable. The location is very good, but there are other hostels (at the same street) that are more worthwhile.

Disliked: - Nightlife at the hostel is a mess. I love bars and music, but my room was far away from the bar and besides that, I had to sleep with stranger, drunk and smoking people in front of my room. Terrible experience. - Poor breakfast. - My room didn't have bath and the hostel has only 2 baths for everybody: 5 showers in total. 3 showers were in a outside bathroom, very cold, very bad. If I have to stay one more night at Point Cusco, I would stay. Two nights?! I would take another hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s ok for what is offfered. I remark the cleanness and party atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

cara fogliato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

10 March 2013 cara would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas to hang out

Disliked: Majority of staff were great, however, the woman at the front desk who I was greeted by did not smile, was not welcoming or outgoing and did not offer to show me around. This was the first impression of got from the hostel which was not good. Very cold inside the building.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: many lockers, located in the centre

Disliked: no kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, good accomodations, in the center of town, reasonable prices.

Disliked: Music in the bar can be to load sometimes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and security

Disliked: noise and not as clean as other hostels I've stayed at

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alessandro Paudice

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel

Disliked: The atmosphere is too much australian, Cusco is in Peru!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcello mastrantonio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Marcello would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel comfy beds good food and bar this is a party hostel so if u want peace and quiet and a boring time u should go elsewhere as the point has loads to do wit tours and great nights at the bar

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011

Liked: quite good location in the middle of the town

Disliked: staff is not very friendly, rooms are average, no Wifi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff very clean

Disliked: Not really a hostel more a bed and breakfast also would have been nice to be closer to the city and closer to Palermo

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: the rooms had some heat, not much but more than most hostels in cusco

Disliked: obnoxiously loud and noisy, but the only place with beds available for the night we needed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Hostel! after been in more than 40 hostels all over south america, i can say for sure that this is one of the best, cleanest and most freindly hostels i hav ever been! the beds are very comfortable, the showers are very good and all the girls in the reception are very kind. RECOMMENDED!

Disliked: all good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfotable. The staff were nice.

Disliked: The pillows were tiny, and there was nowhere to place articles in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people, great location, party atmoshere, cheaper drinks at the bar :) helpful staff...

Disliked: can get very loud at night, but if u love partying , it´s perfect.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and very central location for exploring Cusco

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed at. Very clean, great food, great bar and HOT showers!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, really hot showers, great location, smiley staff except for the guy behind the desk who never smiled whilst i was there. Try the thai curry its really really good!

Disliked: Pointless loud music in the toilets and the hostel is too big for meeting people. The chill out area constantly plays films which i found unsociable

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Very noisy. Do not expect to sleep before 1 to 2 oclock in the morning. The nusic from the bar is very very loud. Do not stay there if you want to sleep. It is only suitable for 18 years old.


See all Cusco hostels