HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cusco hostels

Reviews of The Point Cusco

Hostel | Meson de la Estrella 172, Cusco, Peru --

84.3% Overall Rating

163 out of 185 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/07/2013)

"The Point Cusco is in a great location just a few blocks from city center. They offer cheap rooms and a fun and friendly atmosphere/ staff. The showers are hot even if everyone is showering at once. There is an on site…"

Read all The Point Cusco reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 5.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cusco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cusco

Milhouse Hostel - Cusco
10.57 USD

Hostel 88.1% 47 reviews
Hostal Qosqo
45.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostel Kokopelli Cusco
8.81 USD

Hostel 90.4% 19 reviews
Wild Rover Backpackers Hostel
7.40 USD

Hostel 77.7% 92 reviews
Pariwana Backpacker Cusco
10.26 USD

Hostel 95.2% 238 reviews
Quechua Hostal
14.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 37 reviews
El Andariego Hostal
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.3% 20 reviews
Net House B&B
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

163 out of 185 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Point Cusco'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
84.0%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 130 of 141 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Rebecca law

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2014 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good party hostel, internets not very good hardly works!

Disliked: Bad internet

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the garden and the bar!

Disliked: /

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Point Cusco is in a great location just a few blocks from city center. They offer cheap rooms and a fun and friendly atmosphere/ staff. The showers are hot even if everyone is showering at once. There is an on site bar with relatively cheap drinks where they offer beer pong and pool and they even have a full menu of food to order from. The staff is really nice and they are able to able with any and all questions. The building is secure - either you have a wristband to show that you are staying there or you have to sign in to get upstairs to the bar. They also have lockers in and outside the rooms to use for free if you wish.

Disliked: The one thing I didn't like was having to pay with cash, but it really was not a big deal.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Thais Silveira

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2013

Liked: The Staff was very helpfull. Dorms are cold, but bed is comfortable. The location is very good, but there are other hostels (at the same street) that are more worthwhile.

Disliked: - Nightlife at the hostel is a mess. I love bars and music, but my room was far away from the bar and besides that, I had to sleep with stranger, drunk and smoking people in front of my room. Terrible experience. - Poor breakfast. - My room didn't have bath and the hostel has only 2 baths for everybody: 5 showers in total. 3 showers were in a outside bathroom, very cold, very bad. If I have to stay one more night at Point Cusco, I would stay. Two nights?! I would take another hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s ok for what is offfered. I remark the cleanness and party atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

cara fogliato

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

10 March 2013 cara would recommend this property

Liked: Common areas to hang out

Disliked: Majority of staff were great, however, the woman at the front desk who I was greeted by did not smile, was not welcoming or outgoing and did not offer to show me around. This was the first impression of got from the hostel which was not good. Very cold inside the building.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: many lockers, located in the centre

Disliked: no kitchen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, good accomodations, in the center of town, reasonable prices.

Disliked: Music in the bar can be to load sometimes

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and security

Disliked: noise and not as clean as other hostels I've stayed at

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alessandro Paudice

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 November 2011 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: A good hostel

Disliked: The atmosphere is too much australian, Cusco is in Peru!!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Marcello mastrantonio

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Marcello would recommend this property

Liked: good hostel comfy beds good food and bar this is a party hostel so if u want peace and quiet and a boring time u should go elsewhere as the point has loads to do wit tours and great nights at the bar

Disliked: nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011

Liked: quite good location in the middle of the town

Disliked: staff is not very friendly, rooms are average, no Wifi

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff very clean

Disliked: Not really a hostel more a bed and breakfast also would have been nice to be closer to the city and closer to Palermo

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

13 July 2011

Liked: the rooms had some heat, not much but more than most hostels in cusco

Disliked: obnoxiously loud and noisy, but the only place with beds available for the night we needed

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good Hostel! after been in more than 40 hostels all over south america, i can say for sure that this is one of the best, cleanest and most freindly hostels i hav ever been! the beds are very comfortable, the showers are very good and all the girls in the reception are very kind. RECOMMENDED!

Disliked: all good.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfotable. The staff were nice.

Disliked: The pillows were tiny, and there was nowhere to place articles in the shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet people, great location, party atmoshere, cheaper drinks at the bar :) helpful staff...

Disliked: can get very loud at night, but if u love partying , it´s perfect.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and very central location for exploring Cusco

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have stayed at. Very clean, great food, great bar and HOT showers!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds, really hot showers, great location, smiley staff except for the guy behind the desk who never smiled whilst i was there. Try the thai curry its really really good!

Disliked: Pointless loud music in the toilets and the hostel is too big for meeting people. The chill out area constantly plays films which i found unsociable

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011

Liked: Good location.

Disliked: Very noisy. Do not expect to sleep before 1 to 2 oclock in the morning. The nusic from the bar is very very loud. Do not stay there if you want to sleep. It is only suitable for 18 years old.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emil Have

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 April 2011 Emil would recommend this property

Liked: It is truly a party hostel and the parties at this place are amazing! The Point is a perfect place to stay before and/or after doing Machu Picchu. We ended up staying there twice, the first time 5 days and the 2th for 7 days, and these days I'll never forget. It's a place where friendships are made if you often are in the bar, and the staff does and amazing job to keep this place the best spot for party. The location is great too, its not too far away from the main square where everything happens at night. The best hostel I've stayed at in my four months in South America.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex McCauley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 March 2011 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff will provide you with information and help you book tours (anything from quad-bike riding to paragliding or whitewater rafting, as well as treks to Machu Pichu) at competitive prices. Lots of bathrooms and a great bar.

Disliked: Can be a bit noisy. Basic breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

emiliano benito

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2011 emiliano would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, It dosent have good party

Disliked: there isnt party

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

25 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: wow.. I stayed in The Point 3 times and all the time it was amazing!! the staff are friendly and very nice. also the female staff are very good looking ;) i met so many good friends here!! best choice for Cusco !!!

Disliked: i liked


See all Cusco hostels