We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of La Compañia

Hostel | Calle General Moran 109, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru aqp

88.6% Overall Rating

88 out of 95 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/06/2013)

"Huge rooms, hot water in basins as well as shower, good lighting, full sized towels, very friendly and flexible staff who welcomed us at 6.30 am and let us have breakfast, organised laundry and a taxi etc. The hostel is…"

Read all La Compañia reviews

Facilities

  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Mercaderes Backpackers
7.02 USD

Hostel 89.3% 182 reviews
Posada de San Juan
13.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 88 reviews
The Point Arequipa Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 89.7% 15 reviews
Portal La Merced Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 87.2% 15 reviews
Hostal Real San Felipe
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Le Foyer Hostel
9.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Royal Village Guest House
20.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.6%

Overall Rating

88 out of 95 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'La Compañia'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
98.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
85.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 75 of 78 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Huge rooms, hot water in basins as well as shower, good lighting, full sized towels, very friendly and flexible staff who welcomed us at 6.30 am and let us have breakfast, organised laundry and a taxi etc. The hostel is in a lovely old building and is just round the corner from main historic attractions. One of the best places we've stayed in Peru so far.

Disliked: Breakfast pretty basic but ok.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: -

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 November 2012

Liked: The location, but that was worse than advertised due to the move to the "other" La Compañia. Beakfast was sufficient.

Disliked: Noisy, not that clean and no hot water on the first day.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: no comments

Disliked: no comments

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Gaffney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: It was by far the best place I stayed in the whole of Peru !!! The staff were so helpful and friendly and they tidied the room immaculately. The showers were perfect temperature with excellent pressure ( in my whole journey, I never had good showers ) The Boss´s daughter from Melbourne, Australia was extremely welcoming. The location was excellent, right next door to all the restaurants, which was brilliant for me being a solo female traveler feeling safe to walk at night times. The Rooms were Huge !!! ...with beautiful wooden floors. I practise yoga and there was enough space in my room for 5 people to do yoga comfortably. The cable TV had several English Movie stations to relax to at the end of the day, whereas I found many other hostels only offered 1 station in English if you were lucky. It was very luxurious, like a Posh English Hotel, just what I needed after the trip had exhausted me... it made me feel like a Queen ! Rejuvenated. Oh and I forgot to mention the Excellent breakfast and fresh Juices ! I would highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quartos pouco ambientados, falta de papel higienico nos banheiros!!

Disliked: localicacao, e ambientacao da recepcao e patio.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, huge room with street views, wi-fi, secure!

Disliked: Breakfast was bread rolls (not buffet or any other options such as fruit) and one morning they didn't even prepare it as there was noone else at the hostel. On the first night they didn't have coffee and advised it would be there tomorrow which it wasn't. Difficult for non Spanish speaking travelers. Poor atmosphere

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, good rooms and good breakfast. I booked a 3 bed dorm for one person but they gave me a twin to myself as they had it empty. They let me use one of the en suite bathrooms that wasnt being used as the others were occupied when i wanted a shower!

Disliked: nothing really although i think the one common bathroom may be an issue if ur in a hurry...and bring loo roll!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, only a 2 minute walk from the main Plaza da Armas. Spacious, clean rooms with hot water! Secure intercom/buzzer system to get in and out of the hostal. Friendly staff, several of whom speak English.

Disliked: The noise from the breakfast/reception area carries, so if there are other guests who are loud/early risers don`t expect a lie in!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joshua Eaton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Joshua would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing, they give you everything you need before you even ask fr it. very unusual for peru. Room is massive (matremonial) hot water always with great water pressure, riht next to the main plaza, coffee shops, restaurants. Let us store bags during our colca canyon trek, and decided to stay longer when we came back.

Disliked: internet dropped out a few times. Nothing major, it was fixed within minutes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.

Disliked: Hot water was irregular.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and comfort.

Disliked: One rather rude member of staff just made us feel like we were an inconvenience rather than guests. Bad communication between staff members was passed onto us like we were to blame.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Marieke appelboom

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Marieke would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great if you are looking for a clean, good room, right in the centre of Arequipa. Hot showers, good beds and a television in the room. The sunny terrace is a nice added value. Staff was friendly, though did not speak much english. It is not the best place to meet people or to party if that's what you are looking for. It is really just a place to rest and sleep.

Disliked: Staff speaks little english and service is limited to the necessary (though this might be a consequence of the first). Coffee at breakfast tastes like tea :) Papaya juice was great however.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice location, very friendly and helpful staff, very safe and clean

Disliked: loud music from radio in the livingroom

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

A.F.G.H. FUNKE

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 January 2011 A.F.G.H. would recommend this property

Liked: Located in the centre of the village. Good Price/Quality

Disliked: ...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -Great location, very close to Plaza de Arms and main sites.-Very large, spacious rooms, which were very clean and tidy.-Good security gate at entrance.-Friendly staff.

Disliked: -Staff didn´t speak english, so dfficult to communicate if spanish is not your first language. -Website offers free pick up from airport, we requested this, but did not get any response and no pick up on arrival (this may have been due to lack of english spoken at hostal). -WIFI was down during our stay (ok on first day, then didnt work next day).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So close to the plaza. Great staff who don't complain when they have to get up at 4am to let you out for your tour. Let me check in straight away at 6am too, after I came straight from the bus station. Breakfast was also good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jane Black

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

13 July 2010 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, nice helpful staff and 94 paces to the Plaza de Armas

Disliked: Jane left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt very safe and secure - gates couldn't be opened without a member of staff so no randomers could get in! also left bags there in the bag storage which was locked by member of staff and luggage was collect as left. very clean and tidy - hot water all the time - staff very helpful - could come and go at any point and location is excellent just a stones throw away from the plaza des armes so didnt have to pay for taxi's

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel in great location - main plaza is literally around the corner as are cafes/restaurants/sights. Daytime staff were very friendly and informative...morning staff was not a `morning guy` though!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are very nice. i like the floor and furniture. its quiet and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serena Kate Jolin

18 May 2010 Serena Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Very kind and very friendly staff. Safe, excellent location.

Disliked: Serena Kate left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, very helpful staff and secure location. Lovely rooftop terrace and quiet despite being in the centre of the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!! Free internetWhat i did not like was the lack of bathrooms (only 1). The bathroom was often not stocked with toliet paper or soap to wash your hands. To leave the hostel you had to wait for someone to buzz you out, which is annoying especially when you are standing by the gate waiting and waiting to leave. To get in you also had to wait for someone to let you in. A key should be issued instead.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.