HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Point Arequipa Hostel

Hostel | Calle Palacio Viejo 325, Cercado, Arequipa, Peru -

90.1% Overall Rating

12 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/06/2014)

"The staff and place itself is great, the bar was wonderful and the people staying there were very helpful, good at making pisco sours. staff showed me where to put my car in parking garage. just around the block from…"

Read all The Point Arequipa Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 8.00
  • Towel USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Portal La Merced Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 89.4% 14 reviews
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 87 reviews
Posada de San Juan
13.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
hostel-arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Compañia
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.6% 95 reviews
La Estela De Oro
14.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hostal Real San Felipe
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Amazing Hostel Arequipa
100.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 182 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

12 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Point Arequipa Hostel'

Atmosphere
93.9%
Location
98.5%
Facilities
83.1%
Cleanliness
86.2%
Staff
92.3%
Value
84.6%
Safety
92.3%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and place itself is great, the bar was wonderful and the people staying there were very helpful, good at making pisco sours. staff showed me where to put my car in parking garage. just around the block from the wonderful colorful square. Kitchen was great. maps for the city, no storage for food but they put my food in their soda cooler/frig. hot showers, clean and comfortable bed. The sleeping accomodations was another situation

Disliked: The sleeping accomodations. Of course i am not in my 20's or 30's still so i try and understand and adjust but for $10 american I expect the windows of the dorm to be in one piece not half of them broken. So it let a lot of the cold/freezing cold in. the blankets kept you warm but they could fix the windows. I was warned they were having a party that night and surley they did i was on the 3rd floor away from the bar but oh my the whole room shook all night til am. i did sleep anyway but was awaken several times, so watch out for weekends.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only 2 blocks from the main square!

Disliked: Music can be pretty loud making it hard to sleep when you are getting up early for trek...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the main square. Friendly accommodating manager

Disliked: nothing Did not notice is Hostelbookers was promoted at the desk

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very awesome stuff made me feel very welcomed! Stayed in off season so it was more quiet but perfect, still there is a bar open every night and we went to club twice for free. basic breakfast, very good location! Cool people to meet, definetly would go again!

Disliked: -

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jason Brooks

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2012

Liked: Dorms are spacious and beds are nice. The bar area has a lot of potential but not organized well at the moment. Similarly there is huge potential on the rooftop but right now it just looks like a garbage dump. Hostel is not finished.

Disliked: Apparently a new location and obviously not finished. Staff were friendly when you could get their attention but they were more focused on drinking in their little clique than working or socializing with guests. Kitchen was the worst I've seen in all of Latin America.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere. Really good prices at the bar. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms. Very basic breakfast.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed the bar, the nice and very helpfull staff. It’s right in the Center, and they can book tours . The rooms and bathroom are clean and I enjoyed having a mojito :) on the rooftop with the sunset overlooking volcano Misti!

Disliked: It is difficult to close the doors to the rooms...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jin Jlussi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Jin would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, roof top terrace, confortable beds, friendly staff.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chris freeman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2011 chris would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere with good parties and also chilled out and comftable. the staff are very friendly and it is right next to the plaza de amras

Disliked: it is not quite finished at the moment as they have only recently moved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lindsay Barnhart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2011 Lindsay would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, met some awesome people- other backpackers and staff. Location is excellent and the bar is good fun. Would definitely recommend it to other backpackers. They also arranged a city tour for me and my trip out to colca canyon.

Disliked: Nothing!