HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of El Albergue Español

Guesthouse | Peral street 117, Arequipa, Peru -

81.2% Overall Rating

16 out of 17 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/04/2014)

Oliver Reynolds thinks…

"The lay-out was cool: it´s all alcoves and balconies and staircases, kind of weird but definitely something different, which I liked. It was in a great location in the centre of town (on the street…"

Read all El Albergue Español reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 15.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Marlon's House In Arequipa
7.00 USD

Hostel 91.5% 253 reviews
Andes House Inn
13.50 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 86.1% 28 reviews
La Compañia
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.6% 95 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.0% 12 reviews
Le Foyer Hostel
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Los Balcones de Rivero
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.2%

Overall Rating

16 out of 17 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'El Albergue Español'

Atmosphere
70.6%
Location
94.1%
Facilities
65.9%
Cleanliness
77.7%
Staff
82.4%
Value
89.4%
Safety
88.2%
Refine your results Showing 14 of 16 reviews
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Reynolds

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2014 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: The lay-out was cool: it´s all alcoves and balconies and staircases, kind of weird but definitely something different, which I liked. It was in a great location in the centre of town (on the street with a million opticians if you fancy a quick pair of glasses), and good value for money. My room was also airy and fresh, and the bathrooms were clean. It was fairly quiet as well, which is what I was looking for

Disliked: The staff (well, one of the women) wasn´t overly welcoming or helpful, not really telling me much or being very responsive. On the other hand, the other woman was helpful and woke up early to let me out

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff, free wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La ubicación

Disliked: Que el dueño me cobró de más

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i thought what was best about the hostel was the price and the fact that it was so close to the center of town.

Disliked: the hostel is a little bit dirty and it could do with a few renovations but when you consider the price it is good value for money

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Hart

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The terrace has a nice veiw with a samll refrigerator to keep food cold. the rooms are spacious and our bed was better than most hostels. Staff is helpful and agreeable when asking to change rooms.

Disliked: No hot water: the showers are mainly cold, but get a little warmer in the afternoon. They rely on solar showers, which would be great if they worked properly. They do not have any way to heat food, no microwave. The walls in the rooms are crumbling and leave debri everywhere. Not all beds are comfortable, so ask to see the room first.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable beds

Disliked: A bit noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Fraessle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: nice location clean room and bathroom

Disliked: a bit noisy (through the internal courtyard)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frederick BOELT

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2012 Frederick would recommend this property

Liked: The cheapest place for private rooms I saw in Peru, even cheaper that other hostels dorms. Very good location, just 3 blocks from the main Square walking down the pedestrian street Mercaderes. Comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Good value for money.

Disliked: Frederick left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

luca piantadosi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2012 luca would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really quite and in a very good location. They provide a privete room for a very good price (15 soles per night!).

Disliked: If you are looking for a place to party or at least meet people this hostel is not the best one.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, stuff

Disliked: not really hot water, a bit noisy because of a close bar

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap and within walking distance to all the major sites, cool rooftop terrace and good wi-fi

Disliked: The kitchen facilities consist of a kettle and a bar fridge, if you want to wash up cups etc you have to use the bathroom sink.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

oded fossfeld

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012

Liked: Bed was very comfortable. Blanket was also very good. Nice location. Owner was nice. Nice rooftop terrace.

Disliked: Laundry was terrible. Most of the staff was not kind. No hot water in shower! No windows in the rooms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very cheap and with helpful staff

Disliked: nothing - it's as described and brilliant value

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up service was perfect, even though i had one hour of delay!

Disliked: Since it just opened it might appear to have a construction caracter in some corners, but I didn't reallymind.