HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Portal La Merced Hostel

Hostel | Calle La Merced Nº 131 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru 54

87.2% Overall Rating

11 out of 15 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/05/2014)

Francesco bagattini thinks…

"wonderful location and staff. potentially nice rooftop (in progress during my stay)"

Read all Portal La Merced Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

The Point Arequipa Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 90.1% 13 reviews
Posada de San Juan
13.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 88 reviews
La Estela De Oro
14.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
La Compañia
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.6% 95 reviews
San Agustin Arequipa
11.00 USD

Apartment 88.6% 3 reviews
Amazing Hostel Arequipa
100.00 USD

Hostel 89.3% 182 reviews
Wayra River
7.50 USD

Hostel 88.3% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.2%

Overall Rating

11 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Portal La Merced Hostel'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
100.0%
Facilities
77.3%
Cleanliness
93.3%
Staff
84.0%
Value
81.3%
Safety
94.7%
Refine your results Showing 10 of 14 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2014

Liked: Nice location.

Disliked: The stuff has problems with basic English. So called hot water is merely mildly warm. For this price you can get a much, much better standard. They charge 10%!!! on card payments.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francesco bagattini

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2014 Francesco would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful location and staff. potentially nice rooftop (in progress during my stay)

Disliked: Francesco left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2014

Liked: Great location 2 mins away from the main square. Eggs and fruit for breakfast. Hot shower.

Disliked: VERY uncomfortable beds. Bathroom in room 303 floods. Expect to wait on a deserted street for at least 10 mins if arriving after 11pm as the owners are sleeping and it takes ages for them to wake up and let you in. Rooms smell of damp.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simone hofstetter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 simone would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel to stay in Arequipa. the location is perfect, just beside the main plaza. it's very clean, super friendly and quite, with a good breakfast and amazing hosts. thank you Nino for the pleasant stay. i would definitly choose your hostel again and recommend it to all travellers!

Disliked: simone left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this place were the people working there. The main guy, Nino, said he used to be a porter, so he's a very good talker and knows everything there is to know about all the good places to travel. After talking with him, we would pretty much follow his advice. He or another worker there would actually make breakfast for us each morning. One night, we were supposed to arrive at 3 or 4am on the bus. The bus ended up arriving at 6 or 7am--lo lamento Nino!--but he was waiting to let us in that morning, even when we arrived late. How nice! The showers, sinks, and toilets were all good, things were clean, we were close to the Plaza, and had a TV, and there was luggage storage.

Disliked: Unfortunately, some of the beds are extremely uncomfortable. Others are just fine, but some feel like there's a piece of plywood on top of some springs, and that's it!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013

Liked: Location close to Plaza de Armas. Secure. Good breakfast. Relatively inexpensive.

Disliked: 1. Hardest bed I have ever slept on. 2. Manager very nasty to me when I complained that laundry I sent out came back still smelling dirty. Ignored me the next morning. Very unprofessional and very poor customer service.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georg Ottinger

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2013 Georg would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly Stuff - Useful information for our Trip to Colca Canon. Very very good Breakfast. Possibility of depositing our Backbacks while being in the Canon for 3 days. The hostel is located very close to the citycenter of Arequipa (just apprx. 100m)

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very centrally located, hardly 2 minutes from the Plaza des Armas - the central plaza of Arequipa. Arriving after midnight is no issue in this hostal - they open the door and help you get to bed as fast as possible (which you really need after a long journey!). They offer a delicious breakfast including a fried egg - which gets you a good start into the day after a long journey.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

trixie navarre-douty

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 trixie would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay. The staff was friendly and knowledgable of the area. They had a taxi ready for us on time. The building was safe and was charming and airy. The location was GREAT!!! 3/4 block from Plaza de Armas, very safe and convenient!

Disliked: trixie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really helpful and keen to get you what you want. Good information and deals for tours, very good internet, nice breakfast. Its not a party hostel which is great! You can relax here and the dorms have a nice ensuite. Quite comfortable beds with a decent amount of power plugs for recharging.

Disliked: If you want to cook then this is not the place for you as the kitchen is rather ill equipped. But the location is excellent so there are plenty of reasonably priced places to have dinner.