HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa

Hostel | Calle Melgar 116 Cercado, Arequipa, Peru 54

85.5% Overall Rating

32 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

Kiara Gallop thinks…

"The hostel is housed in a beautiful old colonial building and rooms are situated around an attractive, spacious courtyard. The location is great, in the historical quarter, just up the road from…"

Read all Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Los Balcones de Rivero
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 4 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 99.0% 6 reviews
Le Foyer Hostel
9.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Andes House Inn
13.50 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
Villa Melgar
6.42 USD

Hostel 86.1% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

32 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
83.2%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 27 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kiara Gallop

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Kiara would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is housed in a beautiful old colonial building and rooms are situated around an attractive, spacious courtyard. The location is great, in the historical quarter, just up the road from Plaza San Francisco. Despite being situated on a major junction of two relatively main roads, it's still pretty quiet at night. The buffet breakfast is one of the best we've had (tea, coffee, squash, bread, cheese, cereal, yoghurt) and the wifi (mostly) worked well, including in our room. Also, water in showers was always hot, which is definitely a huge plus point.

Disliked: We moved to this hostel from a quieter one, as my birthday was coming up and we wanted something a little livelier with a bar. But the bar was hardly ever open, and we stayed over a weekend! Cleaning wasn't done in the 4 nights we spent there.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in an old colonial building with a sunny patio to sit on. The staff was very helpful every time! Hot showers, ok breakfast, very clean rooms.

Disliked: The kitchen was pretty dirty and lacking basics like cutlery. However, in Arequipa there is plenty of health and cheap local food so you don't really have to cook for yourself. :-)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allison Snyder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 November 2013 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is an old colonial building with spacious common areas including courtyard, outdoor terrace, living room, bar and many rooms for dorm or private. Beds and en-suite bathroom were clean & comfortable, as was the rest of the hostel. The breakfast is included which was decent - bread, cheese, ham, cereal, fruit, coffee. :) The staff at reception helps with any tours or taxi needs, and point you to good things to do around town.

Disliked: If you're a light sleeper try to get a room that's not facing the main street.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nichola Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2013 Nichola would recommend this property

Liked: Fab breakfast with cereals and yogurt, HOT showers, clean beds and rooms, storage rooms and they stored my laptop in their safe in the office. They also let us shower for 6 soles after returning from a trek (and before getting a nightbus).

Disliked: It's quite large and was a bit quiet during our stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Uys

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: The service feels like a hotel (you get towels and soap refreshed daily and nicely folded on your bed!), spacious rooms, kitchen is excellent size, LOADS of communal areas (pool table, tv room, bar, internet room, courtyard, etc) and breakfast is better than most hostels we came across in South America. Great location too, and the staff speaks English (you can even book your bus tickets to other destinations via them)!

Disliked: Bar only opens at 7:00pm...:)

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Janine Horton

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 September 2012 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and comfortable, good location, very helpfuland friendly staff, breakfast even included fresh fruit and yoghurt drink

Disliked: Could have been a bit quieter at night

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and nice facilities. Room was spacious and the bed was really comfortable. Showers were always hot. Breakfast was good (by hostel standards)

Disliked: When the bar is open it is really loud and the noise carried through to our room - normally not a big issue but we had an early start and needed some sleep. Other than that the hostel is great.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast was way better than standard issue bread and jam at others

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Tomko

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 August 2012 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean and comfy beds. In our private room the shower was excellent!

Disliked: Can't think of anything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Couldwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it here because it was so relaxed. There is a good lounge with huge TV, pool table, and 2 PCs plus the wifi is very fast. The double room we had was amazing, easily the best we have had in 4 months. The staff are very friendly and the dogs are so cute! The breakfasts are excellent too - fruit, cereal, yogurt plus all the usual stuff. And there are free drinks all day.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexis Baran

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 February 2012 Alexis would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building, great location, and consistently hot showers with good water pressure! Very clean, and I loved the friendly hostel dog and cat! You need to buzz in every time, so I felt it was quite secure. The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: The tourist agency in the hostel was not very good. We booked a one-day Colca Canyon tour, and felt like I was on an express road-trip with three irritating teenagers (our "guides") who played horrendous top 40's music the whole time, rushed us along, and didn't answer any of our questions. Very unprofessional. The hostel was awesome, but don't use their travel agent desk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: LOVE this place - more like a hotel than a hostel. Great quality beds, breakfast, lovely staff, great kitchen, amazing building, location perfect - can't fault it! Cheap too, with a nice/reasonably priced bar.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful building. Recently done up and looks like it.

Disliked: The staff. Obviously too busy entertaining their own friends rather than the paying guests. On one occasion we would be waiting outside whilst they were in the living space entertaining friends. Felt like we'd intruded by getting them to open the door for us! Also, quite unhelpful when we would ask about tours and things.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere in the hostel. Has a nice bar where cocktails are on offer. Not too far from the main plaza. Breakfast until 10am and good to get to know other young people.

Disliked: Paid in Dollars on Hostelbookers website but on arrival had to pay Peruvian Soles in cash only. Bloke behind the desk drew up his own exchange range between the remaining payment on my Hostelbookers booking reference which was in Dollars and what I had to pay him in Soles. Needless to say, it worked out considerably in his favour and we may as well have stayed in a cheap hotel...Felt very cheated but too tired to complain when we arrived. Also, personally I didn't mind but they have a dog and a cat which may put some people off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel with good breakfast. Staff were very helpful when i needed to see a dentist.

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josephine Dakar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Josephine would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely furnished rooms, with a comfortable large bed. The shower is excellent: hot with good pressure and lots of room to maneouvre! The hostel is in a good location a few blocks from the square.

Disliked: A little bit expensive for what you get, but that could be the shock of just coming from six months in Bolivia, it was a nice place and comfortable. Not a reflection on the hostel, but don't use the laundry on the corner as they do not open when they say they will, and we lost half our clothes because of it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Allowed early check in. New property - clean kitchen.

Disliked: No wi-fi in the rooms towards the back. Smoking allowed inside the hostel (and in the common rooms).

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and pleasant hostel. Good breakfast (bread, cheese, jam, cereal and yoghurt). Water was hot and beds comfy. Nice and quiet hostel which I liked but wouldn´t recommend if you are looking for a party hostel.

Disliked: Costs more if you walk in off the street than if you book online...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: When we checked in no one told us a time for breakfast. When we went for breakfast the next morning it turned out we had missed it by 5 minutes. The lady at the front told us we could go down the street to find a breakfast spot.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i arrived at 6 am and the girl at the reception gave me a key to the dorm, so that i could sleep for a few hours, even thoigh the check in was at the noon. the breakfast is really great and the staff is very helpful.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cristobal Jelvez

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 August 2011 Cristobal would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice rooms, good atmosphere, great breakfast

Disliked: Staff not so friendly as other hostels, didn't talk too much

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is spacious, new and full of character. the staff are very nice.

Disliked: the 6 bed dorms are actually have an open wall to an adjacent six bed dorm which made them more like 12 bed dorms. it wasn´t a problem though.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in a good location in the city - Good breakfast served (inc cheese, milk, cereal), tea and coffee all day. Beds are comfortable and the whole place is kept clean. Good wifi connection throughout stay.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 July 2011 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The bar is in the back away from the bedrooms so if you want to get some sleep, you can.

Disliked: They did not get the reservation from HostelBookers for the first night so they split the two of us up. Fortunately they had enough room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good breakfast, Nice airy rooms and great location.

Disliked: N/A