We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Plaza Campo Redondo, 100, Barrio de San Lazaro, Cerdado Arequipa, Peru .

90.7% Overall Rating

294 out of 313 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2015)

"The staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast was great value. It was clean and safe and really good value for money."

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
7.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 83.3% 42 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
22.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 95.1% 10 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
7.98 USD

Hostel 90.0% 18 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
7.00 USD

Hostel 85.9% 34 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

294 out of 313 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 273 of 309 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice roof top terrace and friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful. The breakfast was great value. It was clean and safe and really good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Paul challen

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2015 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: great location , super helpful staff , good breakfast ,

Disliked: zero

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bryan Rizzo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2015 Bryan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is incredibly friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here. Value for the money is great. Breakfast is good. Location is nice.

Disliked: Bryan left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Infos about Tours Distance to Center

Disliked: Everything is old

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robert Stanelle

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, clean rooms, nice owners. It is a GREAT place. I have stayed in about 40 countries and a hundred hostels/guest houses. This is simply one of the best.

Disliked: Nothing. I was very happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a lovely hostel with a great location. It's a few blocks further from the centre but absolutely worth it, it's an old neighbourhood and nice and quiet. The staff are very friendly and accommodating and genuinely try to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It's great value for money with a really good buffet breakfast. It's not a party hostel and there aren't many opportunities to meet other people, however it's a very comfortable place to stay.

Disliked: Sometimes there wasn't hot water in the morning or late at night, however just let staff know so they can turn it on for you.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely loved staying here, this is a wonderful hostel! Great family run place, big comfy clean rooms and kitchen. Avoid rooms 104 and 105 on the weekend as there is a discoteca right next door, or just use some earplugs :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Love that there aren't any bunk beds in the 5 bed dorm. Staff are lovely. Bathrooms clean. Great wifi and breakfast. All the good reviews about this place are true

Disliked: When the place is full i can imagine that there could be a bit of a wait for the bathroom. However I never had this problem

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roei Elitzur

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2015 Roei would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms, good beds, great Wifi, really helpful staff.

Disliked: There was no hot water in the showers, but the staff told us they gonna look for it.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Beata bozek

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2015 Beata would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Beata left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dennis Stoermer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Dennis would recommend this property

Liked: The family who runs this place is incredebly adoreble. They help you with everything. We stayed longer and more often than we planned. The breakfast will be probably the best bnb breakfast out there in peru. while traveling SA for six months I would say this was on the very top of accomodations. Very calm and peaceful as well. Super relaxing Terrace with view over the city and to the white mountains. Not a place that makes you wear wristbands and offers special party activities. If you looking for that go to the other places.

Disliked: a little bit much of tour offering, to the marlon empire.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Holger Harriers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2015 Holger would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were very nice, staff was very friendly and helpfull, good breakfast, choice of movies to watch on a big screen, we really felt at home!

Disliked: nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meire Romelo Ramirez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Meire would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is not in the lonely planet guide, but i heard about it from a german traveller i met on the road who had stayed there many times. he looked like he knew what he was talking about, so i made a reservation online. staying at Marlon's House Arequipa was wonderful for many reasons. i think the thing i loved most was the attentive service- the staff were all so lovely! very quickly, i felt like i was at home. my bus arrived super early and Rocio the owner at the hotel did her best to get me into a room as soon as possible. i also observed the way they treated the guests in general-lovingly and kindly. the room was nice with good amenities. i was very comfortable there and slept very well. the setting itself is relaxing- the rooms are set around an interior garden so you can a good stay. at the time that i stayed there, they were renovating a couple of rooms so there was noise during the day- but what is one to do? breakfast was good and the view from the roof terrace rto the volcanoes was AMAZING!!!! the hostel was close to the plaza de armas- an easy 10 minute walk- close to everything. and when i left, the staff were very helpful in terms of storing my bags and getting myself organised for the next leg of my trip. i strongly recommend this hotel!

Disliked: Not negative feedback!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karina Lefranc

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2015 Karina would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed two nights at Marlon's House and enjoyed our stay very much. Rocio the owner was very pleasant, friendly and we felt very welcomed. Her hostel is so nice offer good service has a really clean hostel,lockers,tv plasma to see movies,hot drink during the day honestly this is a good hostel in Arequipa.. It is located in a very nice neighbourhood. The hostel has total of 11 rooms (i think) very cozy and safe. There is a kitchen we could use to make tea, supper if we wanted, which was super nice (as we are travelling for a long time), washing line we could use on the rooftop. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. Good shower, great breakfast too! Highly recommended! (probably the best value hostel out of all the places we stayed in Peru)

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mieller Legait

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2015 Mieller would recommend this property

Liked: What an amazing host Marlon's House is. We had a fantastic stay! we had an early morning bus station pick up which meant we arrived way before our check in time. but Rosy rushed through our check in and showed us to our beautiful room, then followed with some tea. She couldn't do enough to help during our stay at this beautiful hostel. Rosy is Marlon's Sister... works very hard and deserves all of the praise in the world. Perfect location too and a wonderful breakfast! Thank you so much, our favourite place so far in South America!

Disliked: Nothing Negative!!!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that they were able to give me a single room the night I arrived as I wasn't well. Wifi was good.

Disliked: I disliked that I hadn't been told when I arrived that I'd have to move rooms, until the next day. I also didn't like that there weren't lockers in the rooms and that there was only one shower to share between dorms and other private rooms.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Willett

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2015 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon is great! He and his whole staff work hard to know everyone by name, welcome you, help you with any little thing, the whole thing.

Disliked: Water is sometimes lukewarm since it's run by solar panels.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elaine Byrne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: They organised our tour to Colca Canyon and our bus tickets.

Disliked: The breakfast ran out.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No comments

Disliked: No comments

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

09 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best breakfasts I've had in a long time. Staff really helpful. Standard bed in dorm and shower is okay. Worth the price! Overall quite a good hostel.

Disliked: On weekends the square outside the hostel can be a little noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meaghan Feeney

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2015 Meaghan would recommend this property

Liked: Helped book tours, and were very accommodating.

Disliked: Cold shower!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Taissa Rodrigues Marques da Silva

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2015 Taissa would recommend this property

Liked: Well located, near thhe Plaza de Armas. It is also a travel agency and offer lots of tours.

Disliked: The tours offered bu the hostel are a bit more expensive than similars. Also, more bathrooms would be welcome.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yvonne Hampel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2015 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, do cleaning everyday, confortables beds, good breakfast

Disliked: Just one showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Simpson Mc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: We traveled through Peru for a month and during our trip we found this nice Place. We had a lot of hotels and hostels...but Marlon's House Arequipa was for us number one in all the way!!!!! Excellent Price,wow the best breakfast,safe and good Location. The service was excellent, they speak good English en the people of Marlon's House were friendly and they always want to help you.They also organize tour to the Colca canyon for one day which was super well done . I reconmend everyone to go to this hostel if you are in Arequipa!

Disliked: Any.