HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Field Plaza Redondo no. 100, Arequipa, Peru .

93.6% Overall Rating

253 out of 271 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/07/2014)

"This is a really good hostel, very safe, good area to walk home to at night. Nice and clean, helpful staff, good kitchen and nice areas to hang out. Huge terrace wiht some games and nice view to the volcanoes, secure…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.3% 36 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Los Balcones de Rivero
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 4 reviews
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 99.0% 6 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.6%

Overall Rating

253 out of 271 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
94.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
96.0%
Refine your results Showing 238 of 268 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really good hostel, very safe, good area to walk home to at night. Nice and clean, helpful staff, good kitchen and nice areas to hang out. Huge terrace wiht some games and nice view to the volcanoes, secure luggage storage, good beds.Great shower the best i got .Free breakfast...WIFI conection was very fast.Good value for money.

Disliked: nill.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul David

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, great communal atmosphere. Wifi is decent once your connected

Disliked: One of the showers didn't have hot water. Wifi was sometimes a struggle. They don't have the capacity for everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Ruiz Deslauriers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The New Marlon's Hostel is AWESOME!!!!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They also speaks English well, So made things much easy and clear to everyone who can't speak a bit spanish. Dorms is pretty large wiht confy beds and great hot shower.Location was very good too- near to all the main attractions but still peaceful. If you one you can have your breakfast at the rooftop wiht great view to the montains too(Breakfast for me is one of thest i'v had in peru so far- freshly juices,salad,eggs,cheese,cereal,yogurt etc!..Good facilities..There's comunal lockers,free kictchen and good wifi conection. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Too much kindness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Patz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2014 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: We already stayed at Marlon's House in Puno. Thus it was also our first choice in Arequipa. The venue is located at a nice plaza next to a coffee place which attributes to a relaxed atmosphere. Moreover, the venue has a really nice roof-top terrace for relaxing and playing table-tennis. We arrived during the night and were warmly welcomed by the hostel's staff and even given a room before the official check-in time. For breakfast they offer a nice buffed, fresh eggs and bread each morning (sometimes even banana pancakes). The rooms are very spacious and clean. Especially the beds / mattresses are very comfortable (we had a double bed in a private room). The hostel's staff assisted us with trips in Arequipa and also with bus tickets to Lima. You schould definitely go on the hiking trip to Colca Canyon for at least two days (better would be three). All in all, our stay in Marlon's House in Arequipa was far the best during our travels in Peru (and Arequipa is also a very nice town).

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verena Rossi Kroupa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived early in the morning to Marlon's Place having taken an overnight bus to Arequipa. We were able to leave our bags while we ate included breakfast and waited for our room to be prepared from the last guests. Two people on staff speak perfect English. They overbooked rooms with a shared bath as i booked a dorm, and they upgraded us to a room with PRIVATE BAHTS for free of charge. The woman on staff gave us a good food nearby recommendations. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very quiet, confortable beds,clean and the showers had hot water! We were able to leave our belongings safely locked up while we spent three days in the Colca Canyon booked direct at the same hostel which was AWESOME good guide,excellent meals!!!! ,We checked out in the morning but we're able to store our bags and use the bathrooms and wifi throughout the day before out night bus to Nasca the next stop. We would highly recommend either place, you get much more than what you pay for.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hotel in which I was! Huge room and a giant size bathroom, which has a real bathtube. It was the first time that I met it during all my travelling in South America! Breakfast is included and offers a wide selection, not just bread as usual. It passes on the beautiful terrace in comfortable surroundings. The staff is very friendly and offers interesting tours at affordable prices. Overall, I loved living at Marlon's House. Thanks to the owners and staff for such a wonderful place. Recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Hot water is only at daytime.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hanna Loov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

13 May 2014 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed just one night, but good location and comfy beds.

Disliked: There was breakfast included but we left really early, so they couldn't help us to get that. Some hostels have been up at 5am, but not here. Just a small thing!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Michael Caulfield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: No hot water for 3 days. Bottom of baths absolutely black with dirt. No one could get a key to the main door so you rang this doorbell with a ridiculous song that blared through the hostel. Rooms were stuffy and wreaked of old smoke.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014

Liked: Very friendly, likable staff. Quiet, on the small side, has a quaint and tiny kind of feel to it. OK breakfast on terrace was nice. Decent kitchen. Overall, an OK stay, no problems.

Disliked: Very tiny bathrooms, could be cleaner. Only one door key for a room with 5+ beds (booked one with four beds). No lockers. Somewhat farther away from city center compared to other hostels. Felt like there was a noticeable difference between what was advertised online and what the hostel was actually like. Not much going on in the hostel itself, no TV, common areas, etc. (depending on the traveler this can be good, bad, or irrelevant, but I figured I'd mention it somewhere).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, nice roof terrace, friendly stuff, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leidy Acosstu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Leidy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who made me feel very welcome and awesome place. Clean, came with breakfast in the terrace wiht nice view to the montains,safe and secure place .They have lockers as well which is not necesary..and great wifi connection. Good location near many places. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: the crowing of cocks near the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verena Weber Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's is an awesome family hostel! The staff is very helpful, the location is pretty close to the main plaza and many tours are offered directly at the same hostel we book the colca canyon wiht them which was fantastic. The price is great for what you get. There are nice facilities for people who wants to use the kitchen.Place looks very clean and safe too.I definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!!

Disliked: Their kindness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family hostel.Big colonial hostel..look like the house of labyrinth.Nice terrace to watch the volcanoes while you are getting your breakfast which is amazing.Staff were very helpful they organize my colca trip for a good price and excellent service. Room are very clean and large..the shower is great.Location is good close to Jerusalen street where you have a good restaurants.The rate is one of my goodness!!!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and location is very convenient for town. The best breakfast i had for the price they offer is very cheap.Very clean room+cable tv +hot shower.The facilities is fine you have a nice small kitchen which is very useful.definitely recommended to everyone who wants to safe money and stay like Home.

Disliked: Is not a big problem the small hower !!!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lain Rogers Gove

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Lain Rogers would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in the Marlon's House. The hostel itself is pretty big but lovely. I stayed in the share room, but I saw several other rooms and they all looked very good to me. The staff are friendly, kind and very helpful. The breakfast is excellent, and the breakfast room and terrace provide a great view of Misti volcano most of the year. Most reviews mention that it is a 10 minute walk to the center, but I did it consistently in 5 minutes. There are many good restaurants in the city center, Unlike many hostels in the center of town, But Marlon's is pretty quiet at night, providing for a good night's sleep.Look very safe they offer lockers as well at the reception.Excellent service for what you pay.Thanks to everyone.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dorota Lowak Landy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Dorota would recommend this property

Liked: Best family place .The house itself it a beautiful colonial house and very well kept.Nice rooftop to see the huge volcanoes. The rooms are lovely and comfortable - I slept beautifully both nights I was there. The staff were extremely helpful and always went above and beyond in advising me with tours, storing bags, arranging transportation.. They also let me check in early at no extra charge. After travelling for 10 weeks, the breakfast they served was the best I had in Peru. The place is however about a 10 min walk to the main plaza - but to be honest this isnt a bad thing. Honest place and good value for money.Definitely recommended!!!!

Disliked: Everything was Nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and very helpful staff. Great rooftop area for outdoors or get your luscious breakfast. Large room great shower with plenty of hot water.Wifi is very good and tours are well organized direct in the hostel.Cheap price for excellent service.Recommended for Everyones who's looking for family homestay!!!

Disliked: I liked everything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place in a good location. Nice and friendly staff,Super clean hostel with great kitchen facilities. Private twin ensuite room was very comfortable and clean. there's lockers too at the reception which is good .Wifi was very fast in the room.Good value for money. Definitely would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Marlon's House, the nice and very helpfull staff. It’s right in the downtown , and they can book tours to the canyon as well direct in the hostel . The rooms and bathroom are clean and I enjoyed having a taste buffet breakfast on the rooftop wiht overlooking volcano Misti!

Disliked: it¡s not a big problem some shower are small.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly staff who really went out of their way to assist with any requests.Good atmosphere wiht a great salsa and rock music while you are having your breakfast in the terrace (THE BEST ONE IN PERU).Location was very good close to the restaurants,pubs,san francisco church .The room are very nice and clean wiht share bahts for a good price included the breakfast.This is the right place for all travellers who's looking for family hostel like Marlon's House.Free kitchen very well-appointed and also they have lockers which is safe.Definitely highly recommended to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing to state.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and location is very convenient for town. Big room with comfortable beds and hot shower,Very good breakfast,good facilities.Tour to the colca canyon was AMAZING!!!!!Very reasonable laundry service too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Billhardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect: brand new mattress ,nice colonial family hostel with clean and well equipped rooms. friendly staff and nice buffet breakfast on the terrace wiht nice view to the volcanoes. Good wi-fi and location pretty close to the main Plaza.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful breakfast. Plenty of bread,juices,cereals,eggs,fruits salad...Comfortable beds. Very clean,good wifi conections ..One of the cheapest and best family hostel i'v stayed.Great view of Misti. Very friendly, helpful staff.Highly recommended!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateusz Gawlik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, clean, quiet, with good sized rooms and a great terrace with views of el misti . Nice breakfasts as well! Very helpful staff. Quick wifi was a bonus!

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN D. CREW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 ALLEN D. would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything...friendly and helpfull staff..good breakfast..clean hostel

Disliked: Nothing