We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Field Plaza Redondo no. 100, Arequipa, Peru .

92.0% Overall Rating

265 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/12/2014)

Erika Simpson Mc thinks…

"We traveled through Peru for a month and during our trip we found this nice Place. We had a lot of hotels and hostels...but Marlon's House Arequipa was for us number one in all the way!!!!! Excellent…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 39 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 8 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

265 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 249 of 279 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erika Simpson Mc

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2014 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: We traveled through Peru for a month and during our trip we found this nice Place. We had a lot of hotels and hostels...but Marlon's House Arequipa was for us number one in all the way!!!!! Excellent Price,wow the best breakfast,safe and good Location. The service was excellent, they speak good English en the people of Marlon's House were friendly and they always want to help you.They also organize tour to the Colca canyon for one day which was super well done . I reconmend everyone to go to this hostel if you are in Arequipa!

Disliked: Any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Hinton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 December 2014 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's House is very good hostel (almost a hotel), great staff and pretty decent structure. Nice room,clean with comfy beds....The hot shower, comparing to other hostels and cities in Peru I´ve stayed in, is really a highlight! Safe area,good price for what you have...Also they give you full support on the tours and city tips during your stay.I book my trip to Colca canyon & Machupicchu which was very good organized ussing the travel company direct from the hostel (Marlon's Travel) Strongly recommended!

Disliked: At all nothing negative!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Callan Herron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2014 Callan would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great two night stay while we were in Marlon's Arequipa. The room was pretty nice it was spacious and comfortable. The location is great for exploring the city. Only a some blocks from the main attraction ,square, most of the sites and restaurants. We felt quite safe while walking around the area. The staff was very helpful in making suggestions and pointing the most important places to visit by ourselves. There is a nice rooftop patio which is great for reading or having a drink in the afternoon sun.Good Price and excellent service.Good Facilities free deposit ,Big kictchen and fast wifi.

Disliked: N/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Burgess

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Everything is so great! Big large room very well equipped ,hot shower ,the best breakfast.The owner Rossy is so kind and freiendly, also willing to answer and help ur quit! Very Stongly commend this one when u stay in Arequipa ! Thanks to Everyones!!!!!

Disliked: Anything,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Mckee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel!!!! Nice and friendly staff.Clean room with hot shower,excellent breakfast and good price.Nice rooftop to see the volcanoes and take sunbath....Tour to the colca canyon very well arranged,good english guide,the best food while we were in the trekk.Marlon's hostel is Highly Recommended.

Disliked: Nothing negative.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Waite Smitt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2014 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: The location on its on secure private Plaza San Lazaro was great. The breakfast was pretty good considering the location. The service was excellent. The amenities were great. The price - well, you can't beat it. The room was very clean - we had a perfect view of the sunrise over the volcanoes! the hostel also set up a private tour of the colca canyon for us and it was worth the cost.

Disliked: anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Erratt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2014 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: This really is a top class hostel. Nice rooms, buffet breakfast, strong wifi, and run by a very nice family.

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Andrew

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful staff, nice location in a plaza, large rooms.

Disliked: Toilet had a bit of a plumbing issue which made the room slightly smelly.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, hot water, roof top

Disliked: Atmosphere is like in an old hospital

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Kotsaki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

06 August 2014 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I stayed ever here in Peru. I felt it like my home.

Disliked: I have nothing to write

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timo Gerken

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2014 Timo would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very good.

Disliked: Like to sell theire own tours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really good hostel, very safe, good area to walk home to at night. Nice and clean, helpful staff, good kitchen and nice areas to hang out. Huge terrace wiht some games and nice view to the volcanoes, secure luggage storage, good beds.Great shower the best i got .Free breakfast...WIFI conection was very fast.Good value for money.

Disliked: nill.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul David

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

05 July 2014 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, great communal atmosphere. Wifi is decent once your connected

Disliked: One of the showers didn't have hot water. Wifi was sometimes a struggle. They don't have the capacity for everyone.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Ruiz Deslauriers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2014 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: The New Marlon's Hostel is AWESOME!!!!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They also speaks English well, So made things much easy and clear to everyone who can't speak a bit spanish. Dorms is pretty large wiht confy beds and great hot shower.Location was very good too- near to all the main attractions but still peaceful. If you one you can have your breakfast at the rooftop wiht great view to the montains too(Breakfast for me is one of thest i'v had in peru so far- freshly juices,salad,eggs,cheese,cereal,yogurt etc!..Good facilities..There's comunal lockers,free kictchen and good wifi conection. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Too much kindness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthias Patz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 June 2014 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: We already stayed at Marlon's House in Puno. Thus it was also our first choice in Arequipa. The venue is located at a nice plaza next to a coffee place which attributes to a relaxed atmosphere. Moreover, the venue has a really nice roof-top terrace for relaxing and playing table-tennis. We arrived during the night and were warmly welcomed by the hostel's staff and even given a room before the official check-in time. For breakfast they offer a nice buffed, fresh eggs and bread each morning (sometimes even banana pancakes). The rooms are very spacious and clean. Especially the beds / mattresses are very comfortable (we had a double bed in a private room). The hostel's staff assisted us with trips in Arequipa and also with bus tickets to Lima. You schould definitely go on the hiking trip to Colca Canyon for at least two days (better would be three). All in all, our stay in Marlon's House in Arequipa was far the best during our travels in Peru (and Arequipa is also a very nice town).

Disliked: Matthias left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verena Rossi Kroupa

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2014 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived early in the morning to Marlon's Place having taken an overnight bus to Arequipa. We were able to leave our bags while we ate included breakfast and waited for our room to be prepared from the last guests. Two people on staff speak perfect English. They overbooked rooms with a shared bath as i booked a dorm, and they upgraded us to a room with PRIVATE BAHTS for free of charge. The woman on staff gave us a good food nearby recommendations. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very quiet, confortable beds,clean and the showers had hot water! We were able to leave our belongings safely locked up while we spent three days in the Colca Canyon booked direct at the same hostel which was AWESOME good guide,excellent meals!!!! ,We checked out in the morning but we're able to store our bags and use the bathrooms and wifi throughout the day before out night bus to Nasca the next stop. We would highly recommend either place, you get much more than what you pay for.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tatsiana Lapata

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Tatsiana would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hotel in which I was! Huge room and a giant size bathroom, which has a real bathtube. It was the first time that I met it during all my travelling in South America! Breakfast is included and offers a wide selection, not just bread as usual. It passes on the beautiful terrace in comfortable surroundings. The staff is very friendly and offers interesting tours at affordable prices. Overall, I loved living at Marlon's House. Thanks to the owners and staff for such a wonderful place. Recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Hot water is only at daytime.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hanna Loov

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

13 May 2014 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed just one night, but good location and comfy beds.

Disliked: There was breakfast included but we left really early, so they couldn't help us to get that. Some hostels have been up at 5am, but not here. Just a small thing!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Michael Caulfield

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: No hot water for 3 days. Bottom of baths absolutely black with dirt. No one could get a key to the main door so you rang this doorbell with a ridiculous song that blared through the hostel. Rooms were stuffy and wreaked of old smoke.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2014

Liked: Very friendly, likable staff. Quiet, on the small side, has a quaint and tiny kind of feel to it. OK breakfast on terrace was nice. Decent kitchen. Overall, an OK stay, no problems.

Disliked: Very tiny bathrooms, could be cleaner. Only one door key for a room with 5+ beds (booked one with four beds). No lockers. Somewhat farther away from city center compared to other hostels. Felt like there was a noticeable difference between what was advertised online and what the hostel was actually like. Not much going on in the hostel itself, no TV, common areas, etc. (depending on the traveler this can be good, bad, or irrelevant, but I figured I'd mention it somewhere).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, nice roof terrace, friendly stuff, good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leidy Acosstu

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 April 2014 Leidy would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff who made me feel very welcome and awesome place. Clean, came with breakfast in the terrace wiht nice view to the montains,safe and secure place .They have lockers as well which is not necesary..and great wifi connection. Good location near many places. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: the crowing of cocks near the hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Verena Weber Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2014 Verena would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's is an awesome family hostel! The staff is very helpful, the location is pretty close to the main plaza and many tours are offered directly at the same hostel we book the colca canyon wiht them which was fantastic. The price is great for what you get. There are nice facilities for people who wants to use the kitchen.Place looks very clean and safe too.I definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!!

Disliked: Their kindness.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a family hostel.Big colonial hostel..look like the house of labyrinth.Nice terrace to watch the volcanoes while you are getting your breakfast which is amazing.Staff were very helpful they organize my colca trip for a good price and excellent service. Room are very clean and large..the shower is great.Location is good close to Jerusalen street where you have a good restaurants.The rate is one of my goodness!!!

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and location is very convenient for town. The best breakfast i had for the price they offer is very cheap.Very clean room+cable tv +hot shower.The facilities is fine you have a nice small kitchen which is very useful.definitely recommended to everyone who wants to safe money and stay like Home.

Disliked: Is not a big problem the small hower !!!!