HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Calle Rivero 613, Arequipa, Peru .

91.5% Overall Rating

238 out of 253 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/04/2014)

Lain Rogers Gove thinks…

"I really enjoyed my stay in the Marlon's House. The hostel itself is pretty big but lovely. I stayed in the share room, but I saw several other rooms and they all looked very good to me. The staff…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

El Albergue Español
6.50 USD

Guesthouse 81.2% 17 reviews
Andes House Inn
13.50 USD

Hostel 72.4% 3 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.0% 12 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 86.1% 28 reviews
Le Foyer Hostel
10.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Compañia
12.00 USD

Hostel 88.6% 95 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Hostal Los Balcones de Rivero
12.00 USD

Guesthouse 65.7% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.5%

Overall Rating

238 out of 253 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
92.8%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 224 of 250 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice view from terrace

Disliked: not much

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lewis Muda

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2012 Lewis would recommend this property

Liked: The little house of Marlon's is tiny but very cozy and quaint with murals on the walls ... it's nice to find the flag of your country and if you can not draw ... the staff is very friendly, also have free internet and wifi . also have an agency that we organize our trip to Machu Picchu with an excellent servicio.Muchas Marlon thanks for your kindness and good treatment.

Disliked: HAPPY

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Dizon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

05 March 2012 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: This place is very cheap and very clean.shower is very hot,big large room,free kitchen on the terrace the staff were amazing couldn't find better people like those.

Disliked: great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emma Isoi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing!!!!!!!!!Spacious and very nice room, delicious breakfast, this property has great facilities TV room, pool table, good kitchen, wi.fi very fast, the staff are very friendly and helpfull they organized our Colca canyon tour,bus tickect to puno was excellent..Good value ....

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

louis wiriot

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2012 louis would recommend this property

Liked: the wellcoming from the staff

Disliked: Farder then what thy say on the internet , only one bathroom for the share facilite

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012

Liked: It was ok, nothing special.

Disliked: Though cheap, it was far way out and the shared bathroom was rather small and dirty. Do not know why it was ranked so highly and would not stay here again.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is convinent and the staffs are very helpful.

Disliked: none

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best place in Peru so far! Helped with booking bus tickets, but didn't push any tours on us. Rooms were big and very clean. Nice roof terrace available where you can see the snow capped mountains. English spoken. Arequpia is amazing too!

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were warm, friendly and always willing to help. there is a travel agency - tour agency in the hostel that was extremely helpful with booking a colca canyon trek (which i highly recommend) and with booking a buses and other hostels.

Disliked: the water was never hot for me in the shower and there was no common space for hanging out which made it difficult to meet fellow travelers.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe. Mother and daughter are hard working, friendly and good heart people.

Disliked: 1) Bathroom and shower for the dorm is extremely small, I even can not turn my body without touching anything, even no room on the floor to put a waste bin. When I had shower, I have to put my clothes outside the bathroom, very awkward. 2) 24 hours hot water only hot between 9 - 10 pm, other time will be only lukewarm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aidan Oosthuysen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 December 2011 Aidan would recommend this property

Liked: The family who run the hostel made us feel very welcome and created a home-like atmosphere. The rooms are not street facing so it was quiet despite being on a busy road. The view of El Misti is great!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonas Gorgis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Jonas would recommend this property

Liked: All in all a very good hostel(FREE internet+wireless) with a very friendly atmosphere and helpfully staff and a good equiped kitchen...thank you Marlon for a awesome time in arequipa!!

Disliked: Exellent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

STEFHEN ROESSEER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 STEFHEN would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff, good facilities (movies TVs, games, book exchange free kichen,free internet and wi fi), powerful hot showers

Disliked: Great.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the staff hapiness

Disliked: sometimes they sleep the night and we must wait a little before they arrive to open the door

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IÑIGO OLAZABAL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011 IÑIGO would recommend this property

Liked: This place is a very cozy, has a terrace with a breathtaking view of the volcanoes. has a kitchen and all the staff very friendly. The rooms are very spacious and very clean. Hot water, Linrad internet and wi-fi is very fast ... thank you very much and I recommend it to other friends this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

KEN WEIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 KEN would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed our stay at Marlon's Place, This is a really family home stay,staff were fantastic and the hostel facilities were very good. We stayed in a private room,wiht tv , wifi+ which was very basic but a good size

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

IBON UNTHUS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 IBON would recommend this property

Liked: we really enjoyed our stay at Marlon's House, staff were fantastic and the hostel facilities were very good. We stayed in a private room, which was very nice, hot shower wifi and free internet.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice terrace, rooms ok, good hot water in bathrooms. We stayed in 2 different rooms, one with private bathroom, one without. The one with private bathroom was much nicer and better value.

Disliked: the kitchen isn't great

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JULIE BARKER

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 JULIE would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I booked a 2 person dorm, and arrived to find a huge light and airy room with one double bed and one single. The bathroom was upstairs but always had hot water and the staff were so friendly. They even walked us up the street to flag a taxi for us when we were leaving.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeroen Schrama

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2011 Jeroen would recommend this property

Liked: Clean property, location just out of the centre of town, so not too much noise in most rooms. Staff didnt push us to have tours with them which we liked very much.

Disliked: We reserved a room for after a 3 day colca canyon tour, but it wasnt available when we returned. Appearantly they forgot to write it down. However, they did help us get a new private room in another hostel, so all was not lost :-)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Greg Morley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 Greg would recommend this property

Liked: clean premises, comfortable beds, hot water, clothes washing facilities (by hand) helpful and friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JAVIER YARZA URQUIZA

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 JAVIER would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's is very cheap but very clean, the rooms are very spacious, the shower is very hot in the morning .. has a terrace where breakfast is served each morning with a breathtaking view of the volcanoes. The staff are very friendly and will help organize your trip to the Colca canyon and book your hostel in cusco in Marlon's House and most importantly my trip to Machu Picchu. Thanks for the hospitality and kindness.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MICHEL BAULLET

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2011 MICHEL would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's House is actually a very cozy home, the staff very friendly and always expressing a smile. The rooms are very clean and hot water is the best thing in the morning ... Thank you for your hospitality and good treatment

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2011

Liked: Breakfast, that is it.

Disliked: No hot water! After spending 2 days in the dusty Canyon Del Colca, you really want to take a hot shower! And when there is no hot water, it's not pleasant to take an icy shower. The girl in the reception was not very helpfull and she was hard to get, never at the reception.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: nothing