We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Field Plaza Redondo no. 100, Arequipa, Peru .

92.0% Overall Rating

265 out of 283 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (09/12/2014)

Erika Simpson Mc thinks…

"We traveled through Peru for a month and during our trip we found this nice Place. We had a lot of hotels and hostels...but Marlon's House Arequipa was for us number one in all the way!!!!! Excellent…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 39 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 8 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

265 out of 283 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 249 of 279 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013

Liked: One helpful staff, Isabella, if its your lucky day and her work day. Otherwise good luck putting up with the place.

Disliked: My friend and I had booked the same room we stayed two nights back. We came to Marlon's house ready to check in but they sprang a surprise on us that the room we had originally booked was no longer available. And they had an alternate room for us. We were ready to take the alternate room thinking it would have similar amenities as the room we originally booked. And viola! This room had none of the features similar to our first room and the lady who (I think owns the place) expected us to pay the same amount as the original room which had better features. It was a horrible experience having to put up with the bossy lady who had way too much attitude for the goof up on their part. We had to argue with them that we were not willing to be ripped off for no fault of ours. Our last stay in Arequipa was sour because of Marlon's House.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Karine Bertapeli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Angela Karine would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and the beds were confortable, the staaf was nice and helpfull.

Disliked: They are 8 blocks far from plaza das armas instead 3 they said at tje website

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room. Good tour of the colca canyon organised from here. All very easy

Disliked: Pretty far away from the interesting ad useful parts of town

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012

Liked: The staff was very friendly and always available.

Disliked: The distance from the center meant quite a bit of walking every day. The worst thing about the hostal was the noise level, however. Every time someone wanted to enter the front door, a door bell would ring for about one minute in a loud and agitating melody. We had the room right above the lobby, which had the worst noise exposure, but from talking to other guests we found out that even rooms far in the back heard the bell at night. I asked the cleark to turn the volume down at night, which he affirmed but apparently couldn't do...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Maria Cardenas carrillo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 December 2012 Helen Maria would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay very clean,good value for money,safe,the beds are very comfortable,great shower and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: not negative comments.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andre Willth wallas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 December 2012 Andre would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel, outside seating, pool table, roofterrace, ping pong, kitchen, free coca,coffe or just tea all day.shower is the best one i got..amazing breakfast...wifi everywhere very fast, Very close to town centre. Great staff.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Macleod

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Great comfy bed in the dorm.. not bunk beds, which was nice after so many other dorms in other places. A most lovely hot shower - solar powered - good for the planet! Kitchen was fine for me, yes small, but no problem. Internet was fast and on the whole time... works even on the roof terrace and in bedrooms. The staff were great and helped with bus and hostel ticket booking for my next stop - thanks to Lili and Lili..! Not a party hostel - go to Wild Rover for that.

Disliked: People have said it's not in the center of town... True, but it's less than 7 mins walk to the main square. Actually an advantage being slightly on the outskirts in my opinion - less traffic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice area, good character, very clean, good breakfast, exactly what we were looking for.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Adams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel, very friendly and helpful staff and the rooms are fabulous. Amazing value for money.

Disliked: nothing bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

john harvey

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2012 john would recommend this property

Liked: helpful staff. Nice room

Disliked: john left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful staff prices for Colca canyon tour are good beautiful breakfast area spacious

Disliked: not a dislike....but be aware it is cheaper to book on the internet

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Jose Flores

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 November 2012 Maria Jose would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property!!!!! Spacious room with the hottest shower to be honest. Delicious breakfast in a relaxed atmosphere. Roof terrace for sunbathing and enjoying a drink of coca tea every day. Good wireless connection. Kitchen is at guests' .... with all necessary dishes and facilities what you need refrigerator, stove, microwave and a patio to share wiht other travellers.

Disliked: the 10 minutes walk to the plaza.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

allan lim

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2012 allan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful

Disliked: none

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was pretty good, enough fresh bread and jam to fill us up and a fresh juice or banana smoothie to go with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they also had a lot of knowledge of bus time tables and were able to help us figure out how to get to Copacabana in one day.

Disliked: As mentioned by other people they price on hostelbookers is lower than the price they try to charge (it's about 7% higher). We refused to pay the extra and I suggest you do the same. The bathroom was outside and upstairs from our room, it was pretty inconvenient so I'd suggest paying extra for an ensuite.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniella Escobar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 October 2012 Daniella would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's really is an excellent hostel.very clean,safe and good value for money... Facilities are amazing and the staff are very helpful. Great kitchen,roofterrace and amazing view to the volcanoes ..shower are great too.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place , very kind & friendly owners ......good beds and alot's of hot shower.

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel and very friendly & helpful staff.....amazing view to the montains ,good breakfast awesome trekking to the canyon ( good guide.food.and service ) Thank.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Keysel smitt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 October 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Very honest owners ,cozy and family hostel,great breakfast wiht fresh juices,clean room ,nice terrace and good facilities..awesome shower very hot and excellent wireless.

Disliked: something funny but the noise of the roosters.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

maria ferrando

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2012 maria would recommend this property

Liked: Lindos cuartos

Disliked: un poco lejos

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Tasteful decoration, large room and ensuite. Friendly staff, English spoken by some. Hot water for shower.

Disliked: Described as being 3 blocks from Plaza de Armas. Whilst it is still easily walkable, it is actualy 8-10 blocks away. Googlemaps also has it in the wrong place. Not a huge problem, but not nice to find when you are carrying 20kg backpacks each and have been on a bus for 6 hours. Otherwise was a lovely place to stay.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay, good breakfast.

Disliked: a little bit far from Plaza de Armas, 8 minutes walk.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012

Liked: The staff was very helpful & nice we booked a tour to Colca Canyon with the hostel and it was very good and well priced. They also arranged delivery for our backpacks on the last day of the trek.

Disliked: We arrived to the hostel at 1am and we rang the doorbell for 30 minutes before someone came to open the door for us... Our room was located just above the road so it was very noisy (we slept with earplugs). Doorbell is very loud and you hear it all around the hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Loes Hartman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 August 2012 Loes would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, they speak English well and if not, Google Translate is used to help you anyway. They can advise you on trips or activities in the area. Roof terrace is very nice, breakfast was good. We were still allowed to take a shower before we left in the evening, even though we had already checked out in the morning.

Disliked: Loes left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and friendly staff great beds and lots of space in the room really hot shower all day long

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It wasn't too far away from the Plaza de Armas, and it was very close to Parque Selva Alegria. The breakfast on the terrace was nice; you had great views of Misti. Marlon's Travel booked the ColcaCanyon tour for me at the going rate - S 135 and stored my luggage for free while I was gone. The room I stayed in was basic, but clean.

Disliked: The bathrooms were a bit small and could have used some soap.