HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Marlon's House in Arequipa Arequipa Hostel

Plaza Campo Redondo, 100, Barrio de San Lazaro - Cerdado, Arequipa, Peru

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

Showing 51-60 of 243 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly, likable staff. Quiet, on the small side, has a quaint and tiny kind of feel to it. OK breakfast on terrace was nice. Decent kitchen. Overall, an OK stay, no problems.

Disliked: Very tiny bathrooms, could be cleaner. Only one door key for a room with 5+ beds (booked one with four beds). No lockers. Somewhat farther away from city center compared to other hostels. Felt like there was a noticeable difference between what was advertised online and what the hostel was actually like. Not much going on in the hostel itself, no TV, common areas, etc. (depending on the traveler this can be good, bad, or irrelevant, but I figured I'd mention it somewhere).

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Marlon's is an awesome family hostel! The staff is very helpful, the location is pretty close to the main plaza and many tours are offered directly at the same hostel we book the colca canyon wiht them which was fantastic. The price is great for what you get. There are nice facilities for people who wants to use the kitchen.Place looks very clean and safe too.I definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!!

Disliked: Their kindness.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is a really good hostel, very safe, good area to walk home to at night. Nice and clean, helpful staff, good kitchen and nice areas to hang out. Huge terrace wiht some games and nice view to the volcanoes, secure luggage storage, good beds.Great shower the best i got .Free breakfast...WIFI conection was very fast.Good value for money.

Disliked: nill.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is a family hostel.Big colonial hostel..look like the house of labyrinth.Nice terrace to watch the volcanoes while you are getting your breakfast which is amazing.Staff were very helpful they organize my colca trip for a good price and excellent service. Room are very clean and large..the shower is great.Location is good close to Jerusalen street where you have a good restaurants.The rate is one of my goodness!!!

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and location is very convenient for town. The best breakfast i had for the price they offer is very cheap.Very clean room+cable tv +hot shower.The facilities is fine you have a nice small kitchen which is very useful.definitely recommended to everyone who wants to safe money and stay like Home.

Disliked: Is not a big problem the small hower !!!!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff who made me feel very welcome and awesome place. Clean, came with breakfast in the terrace wiht nice view to the montains,safe and secure place .They have lockers as well which is not necesary..and great wifi connection. Good location near many places. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

Disliked: the crowing of cocks near the hostel

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in the Marlon's House. The hostel itself is pretty big but lovely. I stayed in the share room, but I saw several other rooms and they all looked very good to me. The staff are friendly, kind and very helpful. The breakfast is excellent, and the breakfast room and terrace provide a great view of Misti volcano most of the year. Most reviews mention that it is a 10 minute walk to the center, but I did it consistently in 5 minutes. There are many good restaurants in the city center, Unlike many hostels in the center of town, But Marlon's is pretty quiet at night, providing for a good night's sleep.Look very safe they offer lockers as well at the reception.Excellent service for what you pay.Thanks to everyone.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Best family place .The house itself it a beautiful colonial house and very well kept.Nice rooftop to see the huge volcanoes. The rooms are lovely and comfortable - I slept beautifully both nights I was there. The staff were extremely helpful and always went above and beyond in advising me with tours, storing bags, arranging transportation.. They also let me check in early at no extra charge. After travelling for 10 weeks, the breakfast they served was the best I had in Peru. The place is however about a 10 min walk to the main plaza - but to be honest this isnt a bad thing. Honest place and good value for money.Definitely recommended!!!!

Disliked: Everything was Nice.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and very helpful staff. Great rooftop area for outdoors or get your luscious breakfast. Large room great shower with plenty of hot water.Wifi is very good and tours are well organized direct in the hostel.Cheap price for excellent service.Recommended for Everyones who's looking for family homestay!!!

Disliked: I liked everything.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I enjoyed my stay at Marlon's House, the nice and very helpfull staff. It’s right in the downtown , and they can book tours to the canyon as well direct in the hostel . The rooms and bathroom are clean and I enjoyed having a taste buffet breakfast on the rooftop wiht overlooking volcano Misti!

Disliked: it¡s not a big problem some shower are small.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability