HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Marlon's House in Arequipa Arequipa Hostel

Plaza Campo Redondo, 100, Barrio de San Lazaro - Cerdado, Arequipa, Peru

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 82%

Location 90%

Safety 94%

Staff 99%

Value 93%

Showing 41-50 of 243 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, hot water, roof top

Disliked: Atmosphere is like in an old hospital

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The best hostel I stayed ever here in Peru. I felt it like my home.

Disliked: I have nothing to write

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location was very good.

Disliked: Like to sell theire own tours.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Breakfast was good, great communal atmosphere. Wifi is decent once your connected

Disliked: One of the showers didn't have hot water. Wifi was sometimes a struggle. They don't have the capacity for everyone.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: We already stayed at Marlon's House in Puno. Thus it was also our first choice in Arequipa. The venue is located at a nice plaza next to a coffee place which attributes to a relaxed atmosphere. Moreover, the venue has a really nice roof-top terrace for relaxing and playing table-tennis. We arrived during the night and were warmly welcomed by the hostel's staff and even given a room before the official check-in time. For breakfast they offer a nice buffed, fresh eggs and bread each morning (sometimes even banana pancakes). The rooms are very spacious and clean. Especially the beds / mattresses are very comfortable (we had a double bed in a private room).The hostel's staff assisted us with trips in Arequipa and also with bus tickets to Lima. You schould definitely go on the hiking trip to Colca Canyon for at least two days (better would be three).All in all, our stay in Marlon's House in Arequipa was far the best during our travels in Peru (and Arequipa is also a very nice town).

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The New Marlon's Hostel is AWESOME!!!!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. They also speaks English well, So made things much easy and clear to everyone who can't speak a bit spanish. Dorms is pretty large wiht confy beds and great hot shower.Location was very good too- near to all the main attractions but still peaceful. If you one you can have your breakfast at the rooftop wiht great view to the montains too(Breakfast for me is one of thest i'v had in peru so far- freshly juices,salad,eggs,cheese,cereal,yogurt etc!..Good facilities..There's comunal lockers,free kictchen and good wifi conection. I would stay here again.

Disliked: Too much kindness.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: We arrived early in the morning to Marlon's Place having taken an overnight bus to Arequipa. We were able to leave our bags while we ate included breakfast and waited for our room to be prepared from the last guests. Two people on staff speak perfect English. They overbooked rooms with a shared bath as i booked a dorm, and they upgraded us to a room with PRIVATE BAHTS for free of charge. The woman on staff gave us a good food nearby recommendations. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The room was very quiet, confortable beds,clean and the showers had hot water! We were able to leave our belongings safely locked up while we spent three days in the Colca Canyon booked direct at the same hostel which was AWESOME good guide,excellent meals!!!! ,We checked out in the morning but we're able to store our bags and use the bathrooms and wifi throughout the day before out night bus to Nasca the next stop. We would highly recommend either place, you get much more than what you pay for.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: We stayed just one night, but good location and comfy beds.

Disliked: There was breakfast included but we left really early, so they couldn't help us to get that. Some hostels have been up at 5am, but not here. Just a small thing!

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Breakfast was good.

Disliked: No hot water for 3 days. Bottom of baths absolutely black with dirt. No one could get a key to the main door so you rang this doorbell with a ridiculous song that blared through the hostel. Rooms were stuffy and wreaked of old smoke.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Big rooms, nice roof terrace, friendly stuff, good breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability