We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Field Plaza Redondo no. 100, Arequipa, Peru .

91.9% Overall Rating

260 out of 278 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Megan Waite Smitt thinks…

"The location on its on secure private Plaza San Lazaro was great. The breakfast was pretty good considering the location. The service was excellent. The amenities were great. The price - well, you…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 39 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 8 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

260 out of 278 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 274 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Juliana Mendoza

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Juliana would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is amazing, specially Lily and Richard!!! Nice decent breakfast wiht some bread,fresh juices,fried eggs,milk and coffe .Awesome beds very comfortable like for a baby,smooth and flawless..Great shower after to walk for 03 days in the canyon the best point is the price good gooollll.

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Escobar Landa

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice and helpful staff Lilly is a lovely girl who's willing to help in whatever, with 01 kitchen to use well equipped fridge, microwave .Very clean room and comfortable beds,safe place. We like to walk so we didn't mind the location because is about 10 min walking. Great hostel though!

Disliked: no negative comments.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN D. CREW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013 ALLEN D. would recommend this property

Liked: clean ..quiet..safe..breakfast..nice room

Disliked: nothing

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Dirty, not cleaned regularly, no roof so communal areas get water logged.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Kunhs Smiht

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic Hostel,clean,safe,,nice rooms. very cheap....THE BEST BREAKFAST .. NICE 02 DAYS COLCA CANYON TOUR Our guide was fantastic! We would also highly recommend booking the tour through hostel !!!!!

Disliked: any.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Schererd K.

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 March 2013 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: One of the nices family hostel,reasonable price for room,very clean and comfy beds.nice terrace,good breakfast AMAZING SHOWER.

Disliked: ANYTHING

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a travel writer I stay in Hostel all over the world and Marlons House is an excellent choice in Arequipa. Excellent location, good beds, nice breakfast, some private rooms with TV, spacious dorm rooms, all the staff are fantastic. It is close to laundry service, shops, restaurants. it is an easy walk to the Plaza de Aramas, yet far enough away from the crowded city. This is an excellent choice for staying in Arequipa. I liked Marlons so much I stayed a long time.... Give them a try, you will not be disappointed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Salazar Vera

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful. cleanliness good, good value for money,good facilities free kitchen,good wifi,excellent hot shower,02 beatiful days to visit colca canyon. Big breakfasts.

Disliked: any.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Saskia Moscoso Valles

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Saskia would recommend this property

Liked: We liked Marlon's house. It had everything that we wanted;a nice small kitchen wiht fridge+microwave+and the rest of statt.... a warm friendly atmosphere. Nicely decorated rooms, the shower is small but the most important is the great hot shower,lobby and courtyard. beatiful terrace where you can have your breakfast,VERY CLEAN Five of us shared one room and found it accommodated our needs nicely as the room was spacious for us and our backpacks. The breakfast is absolutly good ,fresh juices,coffe,milk .egg etc ..Very reasonably priced ..VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY STAFF.

Disliked: NONE

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elenna Diaz Gomez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2013 Elenna would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel!!!! Absolutly clean,rooms and beds the best one i had very comfortable,great hot shower ,small kictchen,microwave,fridge,good breakfast on top.Girls are very friendly and kind .

Disliked: nothing .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Camila Benavente Marcos

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2013 Camila would recommend this property

Liked: Nice family hostel.Very very friendly and helpful staff wiht great english speaking,they help me to organize my colca trekk for 03 days which was awesome. Rooms are big ,comfy beds,always hot water and the breakfast is excellent on the terrace looking the huge volcanoes,good wireless and kictchen as well.thank you so much Lily for your warm hospitality.

Disliked: Short walk distance to the plaza 07 minutes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julian Cockle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2013 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Big colonial house.nice terrace to have breakfast,amazing view to the montains.big rooms,great shower. Great staff. Very clean.

Disliked: no negative comments.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Almodova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

22 February 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: This property is Very nice hostel! Definitly no party hostel. Very friendly staff,nice clean room,amazing view from the rooftop to the volcanoes,excellent breakfast,wifi very fast... they were sooo helpful! Thanks!

Disliked: none.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maev christine Popperly

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

20 February 2013 Maev christine would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel with great tours,facilities,friendly and very helpful staff,good value for money,clean and safe.....exactly what backpackers are looking for.

Disliked: any.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hernan Barnach S.

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

20 February 2013 Hernan would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's house is Cheap, nice, welcoming place, big room,very clean and the best hot shower after left puno.the view from the terrace is nice to the montains + great breakfast too.

Disliked: nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Risteski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: It was good place to stay.15 min walk from the square,but that is not far for a city of one milion inhabitants.The staf are trying to keep the place clean 100%, rooms are spacious,you can book "Colca Canyon tour" thrue them. Good breakfast served on the balcony. Greetings to "mama" she was great :) Antonio,Macedonia

Disliked: Nothing to complain about

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cindy Stewart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 February 2013 Cindy would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutly this is the best family place i stayed,very cheap,clean,the best beds and breakfast for the deal.the people are very friendly and helpful all the time.the colca trekk was perfect for us 03 days.definetly i recomend this hostel to everybody who 's looking for family place like this one.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean Luc Charles

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 February 2013 Jean Luc would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff,great beds very comfy,hot shower & amazing view to the volcanoes...Colca canyon very well organized.

Disliked: not negative comment.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Niall Scully

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2013 Niall would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location though it is 7 blocks and not 3 from the main square. Can check in at any time which is great when you arrive off an overnight bus. Breakfast was good.

Disliked: Strange complaint, but the showers were too hot! There was no way to adjust the temperature as the water came directly from sun heated tanks. We asked to book a taxi for the morning we were leaving (Arequipa apparently has a problem with tourists being robbed in unlicenced taxis) but there was none there for us on the day and no-one to call one for us/ to check out with either. Kitchen could do with a few more utensils.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shannon mccullagh

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The mother of the house is amazing, richard also, really friendly staff, make you feel so welcome, booked a basic single room, got upgraded at no extra cost to a family room, this isnt a party hostel, and not much of a backpackers scene, more chilled out, own space kinda place (which i was looking for), would defo recommend

Disliked: nada

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2013

Liked: One helpful staff, Isabella, if its your lucky day and her work day. Otherwise good luck putting up with the place.

Disliked: My friend and I had booked the same room we stayed two nights back. We came to Marlon's house ready to check in but they sprang a surprise on us that the room we had originally booked was no longer available. And they had an alternate room for us. We were ready to take the alternate room thinking it would have similar amenities as the room we originally booked. And viola! This room had none of the features similar to our first room and the lady who (I think owns the place) expected us to pay the same amount as the original room which had better features. It was a horrible experience having to put up with the bossy lady who had way too much attitude for the goof up on their part. We had to argue with them that we were not willing to be ripped off for no fault of ours. Our last stay in Arequipa was sour because of Marlon's House.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Karine Bertapeli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2013 Angela Karine would recommend this property

Liked: The place was clean and the beds were confortable, the staaf was nice and helpfull.

Disliked: They are 8 blocks far from plaza das armas instead 3 they said at tje website

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great room. Good tour of the colca canyon organised from here. All very easy

Disliked: Pretty far away from the interesting ad useful parts of town

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012

Liked: The staff was very friendly and always available.

Disliked: The distance from the center meant quite a bit of walking every day. The worst thing about the hostal was the noise level, however. Every time someone wanted to enter the front door, a door bell would ring for about one minute in a loud and agitating melody. We had the room right above the lobby, which had the worst noise exposure, but from talking to other guests we found out that even rooms far in the back heard the bell at night. I asked the cleark to turn the volume down at night, which he affirmed but apparently couldn't do...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Maria Cardenas carrillo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 December 2012 Helen Maria would recommend this property

Liked: This was a great place to stay very clean,good value for money,safe,the beds are very comfortable,great shower and staff were very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: not negative comments.