We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Field Plaza Redondo no. 100, Arequipa, Peru .

91.9% Overall Rating

260 out of 278 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Megan Waite Smitt thinks…

"The location on its on secure private Plaza San Lazaro was great. The breakfast was pretty good considering the location. The service was excellent. The amenities were great. The price - well, you…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 39 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 8 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

260 out of 278 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 274 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms not depressing. Staff very helpful, speak good english. Cool old building. Bed´s comfortable. The breakfasts wow, sets you up for the day. Eggs, juice, cereal, bread, fruit, what more can I say.

Disliked: I want to kill a couple of roosters and dogs in the area. They are not on the property, but they sure sound like they are - all night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hayley Francoise

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, comfortable, clean, close to shopping/restaurants/ San Francisco plaza - great facilities, good breakfast too.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edwar shnaider

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2013 Edwar would recommend this property

Liked: Room very big, clean, staff nice, breakfast good, wifi good, everything is excellent when compare with the room cost.Colca tour was AMAZING as well.

Disliked: Not being able to staying there again soon.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Robyn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 October 2013 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean & in a good location & the staff were very helpfull & it was a nice place to relax. free coca tea, and one of the best breakfast i've had in hostels. eggs and fruit salad!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap hostel!!!!!The staff was excellent! The rooms were really nice and very comfortable!Great hot water too.

Disliked: nothing bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and confortable rooms and beds, tasty and different breakfast,Plenty of cereal,yogurt,mango juice.good facilitiesand nearby to restaurants and to the center.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is One of the best places we stayed in South America...Great staff ,big large rooms,good wifi,good tour arranged to the canyon in the same hostel and a great cooked breakfast that you can enjoy on the roof terrace.highly recommended.

Disliked: N/A

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exquisite breakfast, The best one i got so far.Very nice and clean rooms,comfy beds,great hot shower,Staff were extremely helpful and went above and beyond for our stay.Excellent service for what you pay. I would recommend this hostel to anyone staying in Arequipa.

Disliked: nowt.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Petter Prothush Smmunte

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 October 2013 Petter would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent hostel!! Nice atmosphere and great facilities. Comfortable beds, very clean bathrooms plenty of hot shower,Awesome breakfast... and a super great view from the roofterrace to the montains.wifi was very good. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Totally recommend it!!

Disliked: None.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gonzalo Arteaga Ortiz

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 Gonzalo would recommend this property

Liked: We absolutely loved our time here. It is more like a nice family stay than a hostel, the rooms are large, warm and spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed. By far the best hot shower we have had in Peru. Not a lot of socialising with other guests but we are a couple so it suited us. It is well worth spending the extra couple of soles for the comfort here, we cooked in the clean, well equipped kitchen to save money, Staff are gorgeous, so helpful! Breakfast high quality too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meliza Pimentel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 October 2013 Meliza would recommend this property

Liked: This is a nice place to stay in Arequipa. I stayed there before and after my trek to Colca canyon. The rooms are clean and cozy, the showers are piping hot with good pressure, and the staff is super friendly.but that's not all the best plus is THE BEST BREAKFAST I HAD IN PERU.. It's a few blocks away from the plaza, but I didn't find this to be a problem at all--just a 10 min walk or so.

Disliked: Any.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Girls who own and run this hostel are very sweet and will bend over backwards to assist you. The private bathrooms had hot water on demand in the showers, which you will find out is not always the case in Peru. They will also do laundry for a fee, but is not expensive. It is a very short walk to the plaza from this location and even though it is on a major street is very quiet. Rooms are very clean. Kitchen has everything you need if you like to save a little money and cook your own meals.

Disliked: I'm very happy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jofrie Stevensson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 October 2013 Jofrie would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really great place to stay in Arequipa, although perhaps not your traditional hostel experience. It's not the place to meet people or party hostel, but it is warm, the showers are amazing and cheap for waht you get, the staff are friendly, the breakfasts are excellent, the coca tea is plentiful and the location is top quality, The facilities is great and also you can book your tour to the canyon directly at the reception for a great Price.

Disliked: Amazing Experience.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michaell Pattersson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

16 October 2013 Michaell would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's House is one of the best hostel i'v stayed. Cheap price,very clean,friendly and absolutely helpful staff. but the best of this property is the Amazing Breakfast at the rooftop.Great view to the huge montains as misti & chachani...wifi is prefect very fast.....Thank you for your warm hospitality.

Disliked: Na

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Kathryn Smith

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

26 September 2013 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful, but not pushy. Free breakfasts were very good.

Disliked: The shower floods when used so you were standing in water in the bathroom following use of the shower that was there till the bathroom was cleaned in the morning. We were encouraged to pay a small amount more for a 2day Colca Canyon tour to get a hotel with hot water. The hotel kept lying about whether they even had hot water. None ever provided.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this place is a good for tourist on a low budget. The place needs a good scrub and some TLC, but on the positive site the beds are very confortable and location is good and close to the centre - about 15 min walking distance. The breakfast is included, which for the price you paying is fantastic- bread, veg, cheese, eggs, coffee, tea freshly squeezed juices

Disliked: Its a bit scruffy, the bathroom has no water control and the water can get very hot to wash. the window in the rooms have random sheets instead of curtains, which doesn´t add an atractive look to the rooms (i am sure most of you don´t care as the price is very low)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jennifer Watkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact that the owner could speak very good English and was able to help us a lot with all of our plans. She was honest and not out to make money from us.she arranged a colca canyon trip and a taxi to the bus station at good prices.

Disliked: It was a bit far from the main square ie about 20 or 25 minutes walk.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place to stay. Staff is friendly. Breakfast is excellent.

Disliked: The guest kitchen has nearly no pots and pans, which makes cooking a bit difficult. There is no real agency in the hostel. For bookings they contact their connections in Arequipa. But, they are helpfull and arrange the trips you ask for (even for the next day) for a good price!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melike Durmaztuna Aydinlar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

15 August 2013 Melike would recommend this property

Liked: We did not have better breakfast in all South Americe. Tomato, cheese, olive, egg, fruit, fresh juice, yogurt, ... They were unlimited. It was also colonial bulding and room was very nice with antique furniture. Thanhs for everyting.

Disliked: Melike left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Pettitt

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice family-run hostel, about 10 minutes walk from the main plaza in Arequipa. The sun terrace on the roof is fantastic! As is the breakfast - bread, cereals, yoghurt, salad, avocado, cheese, olives, fresh fruit juice. Welcoming atmosphere and comfortable rooms. We also booked our Colca Canyon trek through hostel and we had a brilliant time - would recommend that too.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cute, clean rooms, very hospitable staff... We had to leave at 3am for ou Colca trip and Lily brought us a tray with breakfast the night before!

Disliked: A little off the main square ( about 10 min walking)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Francisco Pesce

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013

Liked: The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The staff is very friendly and make you feel at home

Disliked: There is no place to gather around and meet other guests.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TAMARA RIOS RODRIGUEZ

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2013 TAMARA would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, very helpful staff, good wifi in rooms, awesome breakfast, hot shower, very little kitchen (but I think you don't need it because is cheaper go to eat outside...). They have tours but don't push you to book one. It is a very good place!! I really recommend it!

Disliked: nothing, everything was fine

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Harris

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. One of the staff was very helpful and woke m up at stupid o'clock for my colca canyon trip!

Disliked: Virtually nobody staying there so not good for solo travellers who don't like to be by themselves a great deal. A bit out of the centre, but not too bad!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brandom Richardson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 May 2013 Brandom would recommend this property

Liked: The best family hostel i stayed ever!!! Good value for money.great breakfast wiht amazing view from the rooftop.Great friendly staff.

Disliked: anything.