We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Marlon's House In Arequipa

Hostel | Field Plaza Redondo no. 100, Arequipa, Peru .

91.9% Overall Rating

260 out of 278 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/10/2014)

Megan Waite Smitt thinks…

"The location on its on secure private Plaza San Lazaro was great. The breakfast was pretty good considering the location. The service was excellent. The amenities were great. The price - well, you…"

Read all Marlon's House In Arequipa reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 7.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Pirwa Bed & Breakfast Arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Bothy Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 85.5% 39 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Posada Turistica Cleofe de Ripacha
15.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 8 reviews
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 33 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.9%

Overall Rating

260 out of 278 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Marlon's House In Arequipa'

Atmosphere
88.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
91.2%
Safety
95.2%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 274 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent friendly staff who really went out of their way to assist with any requests.Good atmosphere wiht a great salsa and rock music while you are having your breakfast in the terrace (THE BEST ONE IN PERU).Location was very good close to the restaurants,pubs,san francisco church .The room are very nice and clean wiht share bahts for a good price included the breakfast.This is the right place for all travellers who's looking for family hostel like Marlon's House.Free kitchen very well-appointed and also they have lockers which is safe.Definitely highly recommended to everyone.

Disliked: Nothing to state.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were incredibly helpful and location is very convenient for town. Big room with comfortable beds and hot shower,Very good breakfast,good facilities.Tour to the colca canyon was AMAZING!!!!!Very reasonable laundry service too.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katrina Billhardt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2014 Katrina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect: brand new mattress ,nice colonial family hostel with clean and well equipped rooms. friendly staff and nice buffet breakfast on the terrace wiht nice view to the volcanoes. Good wi-fi and location pretty close to the main Plaza.

Disliked: Almost nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful breakfast. Plenty of bread,juices,cereals,eggs,fruits salad...Comfortable beds. Very clean,good wifi conections ..One of the cheapest and best family hostel i'v stayed.Great view of Misti. Very friendly, helpful staff.Highly recommended!!!!!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mateusz Gawlik

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Mateusz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel, clean, quiet, with good sized rooms and a great terrace with views of el misti . Nice breakfasts as well! Very helpful staff. Quick wifi was a bonus!

Disliked: Nil

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ALLEN D. CREW

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 ALLEN D. would recommend this property

Liked: I liked everything...friendly and helpfull staff..good breakfast..clean hostel

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Esther Silberkuhl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 March 2014 Esther would recommend this property

Liked: sehr gutes frühstück

Disliked: es war etwas weit entfernt vom stadtkern und vom busbahnhof.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We really enjoyed our stay in Marlon's House Arequipa, and even extended our stay. Really clean, nice kitchen and good beds. We have had a great time wiht a nice view to the huge montains from the rooftop while you enjoy your breakfast.Good friendly staff and english spoken.

Disliked: any.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

sheree marriner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014

Liked: It was a quiet location, and secure - had to ring the doorbell to be let in from the street. The views from the rooftop dining area were awesome - looking across at the volcanoes. The table tennis table on the rooftop was also a lot of fun! We organised our Colca Canyon 3D/2N tour through the hostel and we enjoyed every minute of the tour.

Disliked: The breakfast when we were there (August 2012) was pretty average, but that seemed to be the norm in Peru, basic bread, butter and jam. The bathrooms were not the best - very small and pokey and not much hot water. The linen was also a bit questionable - old towels etc.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly staff

Disliked: staff doesn't really speak english as promised very dead

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was amazing and the stuff was realy helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful in directing us towards grocery stores and sight seeing locations. The included breakfast was one of the heartier hostel breakfasts and included eggs and a spread that included both vegetables and fruit, cereals and bread.

Disliked: There was a lot of street noise and hostel noise. The room we stayed in was adjoining another room and there was a locked door that separated us. We could hear everything they said.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was very good and helpful, always greeting you with your name. Breakfast was perhaps the best in South America: Avocado, fried eggs, olives, fruit, juices, wow!

Disliked: only 5min hot showers, solar-powered (eco) shower though.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 December 2013

Liked: Location is NOT what is shown on the web site, or what Google Maps show, but several blocks down the road. I had hard time locating them. Place is quiet and good for couples, I guess. Normal beds instead of bunks is a plus. They provide day-trips booking service.

Disliked: You have to ring every time you return to hostel which means sometime you will have to wait on the street. Toilet facilities are poor. Quiet place, not for solo backpackers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina f Freebom

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2013 Carolina f would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff Clean ,quiet,spacious(for Arequipa) and comfortable rooms. Great location too.The breakfast is the best one for what you pay wiht great view to huge montains around the city.good value for money.

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near restaurants, etc+Clean rooms with hot water+ Special mention of staff +Tours to colca canyon was awesome+ level of service is excellent.

Disliked: The small showers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. The rooms were warm and clean. The rooftop has a great view to the volcanoes but is the right place to relax....Breakfast was a buffet with fruit. good facilities ,wifi conection was very fast.I recommend it.

Disliked: any.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Some of the staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast is great, but also depends were of the stuff is on duty. The trip they organised for me to Colca Canyon was amazing and the gave me a really good price compared to the others of the group I went with.

Disliked: The shared bathroom should be cleaned more often, there was often a very bad smell. And the luggage room isn't looked and everyone always just could walk in. It's a bit far from the center.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thomas Popple Galvez

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: We loved our stay at Marlon's Hostel. Clean and cozy rooms, excellent breakfast, friendly staff.good wireless conection and just some blocks away from Plaza de Armas. All in one excellent choice to stay in Arequipa.Not to mention, prices are fairly inexpensive, making it a great place to stay. Recommended!

Disliked: anything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Weissberg Midiael

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 Weissberg would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent hostel!! Nice atmosphere and great facilities. Comfortable beds, very clean bathrooms and a super nice roofterrace. Good wifi,abundant breakfast.Very friendly and helpfull staff. Totally recommend it!!

Disliked: any.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tim greandel tim greandel

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2013 tim greandel would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere in this hostel is really friendly and welcoming, the staff is really helpful (and they all speak English which is handy!) I had so nice time and I stayed an extra night :)The terrace is the right place where you can have a sunbath of course your breakfast wiht nice view to the montains. Thanks guys for everything, i will see you again for sure!!!...

Disliked: naught.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alessandro Bruson Morillo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 November 2013 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are what makes this place. They are very accommodating and an interesting lot. The best breakfast so far and amazing view from the roofterrace to the huge volcanoes.The travel agency is very useful too. I definitely recommend this place in lively Arequipa!

Disliked: no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Buller Moretti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Marlon's Place has been my favorite hostel far away! The location is close to the main touristic places like restaurants.pubs,church etc. The staff are extremely nice and helpfull. They organize for me my trip to the colca canyon for a good price and great service. Facilities and the emenities (terrace,breakfast, rooms, patio and kitchen) makes for an enjoyable stay! I highly recommend staying in this hostel!

Disliked: nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tim van Woensel

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2013 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money. Friendly and helpful staff. Very nice breakfast! We booked a trekking in the Colca Canyon with them (125 Sol + 75 Sol for entrance CC + 15 Sol for the hot springs). Very nice trip and cheaper than other places we asked around.

Disliked: At night it took some time to get inside the hostel (staff is not always there, so sometimes we had to wait on the street for 10 minutes in the evening). We had a private double ensuite. Make sure you don't have room 102 that we had. There's a lot car pollution (exhaust smell from the cars in the street) coming in the room (windows closed).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ratio quality-price so good and the breakfast was so completed (toasts, cereals, tea, coffee, yogurt, juice, eggs).

Disliked: If your room has windows to the street then you will wake up earlier as you planned because the cars in there are so noisy and they really iike to honk the horn. The kitchen for guest was missing some more tableware.