We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Hostel | Pasaje O Higgins No. 224, Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru .

93.3% Overall Rating

89 out of 91 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2015)

Pascal Bonino thinks…

"This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is very well located close to the main square, so you'll always find a place to go out. The tours offered…"

Read all Arequipay Backpackers Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash accepted on arrival. Cancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via email or phone 054-234560. Same day cancellations, same day changes or No show will result in 1 night charge per person regardless the reason from your Credit Card. We are not responsible for weather conditions, illness, flight delays or flight cancellations. If you do not arrive within 3 hrs of your scheduled arrival time, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. SO PLEASE AVOID TO BE CHARGED FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD, IF YOU DECIDED TO CHANGE OR CANCELYOUR RESERVATION PLEASE LET US KNOW. If you cancel your reservation you will lose your 10% deposit if you didn't take advantage of the payment protection. Remember the 10% deposit to secure your booking goes to the agency not to us.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Casa de Avila Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 95.9% 172 reviews
Wayra River
7.50 USD

Hostel 87.1% 34 reviews
Friendly AQP
6.70 USD

Hostel 88.8% 47 reviews
The Point Arequipa Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 90.8% 17 reviews
La Estela De Oro
14.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 88 reviews
Hostal Real San Felipe
19.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Los Tambos
49.50 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.3%

Overall Rating

89 out of 91 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arequipay Backpackers Downtown'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
96.0%
Safety
98.4%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 88 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activity ideas on offer.

Disliked: N/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Kitchen Excellent wifi Excellent tv room Good tour booking

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Ryall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 April 2015 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, offering lots of reasonably priced tours

Disliked: Breakfast was a bit rubbish- just stale bread + jam

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, good outdoor hang out area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Pascal Bonino

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 March 2015 Pascal would recommend this property

Liked: This is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is very well located close to the main square, so you'll always find a place to go out. The tours offered are on good value. I originally planed to just stay for 1 night and ended up there for a week.

Disliked: Pascal left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good One, hostel with lovely rooms and funny people! Very Safe in a aafety area. Private bathrooms, always hot water, big outdoorarea

Disliked: Just the adress isnt correct. no taxidriver knows pasaje o higgings because its a private street!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Paling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel with friendly staff. Only a short walk to the main square and, even at night, I felt safe walking back alone. The hostel has great security in a gated community and lockers in the dorms.

Disliked: Natasha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and comfy. entertainment is good.

Disliked: hot shower is available, but difficult to balance the water heat level

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Tran

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2014 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No Bar

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lucy Paparella

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2014 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: Table tennis table, pool table, movies, good for downtime

Disliked: A bit of a walk from main action. Breakfast a bit average

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Spent a few nights here. Really clean and comfy hostel with great facilities. Helpful staff and the tours on offer are great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dean Labbett

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2014 Dean would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who are hugely helpful with a large amount of info available regarding tours, cooking courses, tourist attractions etc. Comfy beds and lockers in room so for the price you really can't go wrong. Good location about 10 mins walk from the main square.

Disliked: Very basic brekky but is the option to buy extra.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendl, comfortable, safe, and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Linton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This a really safe and secure hostel (at night you have to buzz through two gates!). The hostel was set up really well, nice movie room, heaps of hammocks and a standard kitchen. Rooms had enough space and lockers to put your things in. Short walk to the city center. The tours here are fairly priced-we couldn't find a cheaper one in town so booked through them and had a great time. They held onto our luggage whilst we were in the Colca Canyon.

Disliked: hot water was sometimes a bit hit and miss

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful. They offered tours at very good prices (much, much lower than any other prices we had seen, although we had unfortunately already bought all of our tours previously). Clean beds.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Although you can book a room with a private bathroom, but it wasn't available when we made our booking.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very spacious and comfortable. It has two kitchens, lots of outdoor space and plenty of lounge areas. It's a very relaxing place, especially for those who need to rest before going to the Canyon del Colca.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful. They sent me to the wrong area of the city when I needed to buy a bus ticket, they didn't seem to care when I was having trouble connecting to the Internet, and they didn't help with tours and activities unless I was booking directly from them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Payne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has great character, attracts friendly backpackers, is social and has very helpful staff. The facilities are fantastic. There are numerous common areas like a pool room and various lounge areas. The tours that I booked through this hostel were also good value for money and were through excellent operators. This hostel is trying very hard to get better. I would definitely recommend people to stay here even with its poor aspects.

Disliked: The bedding is just ok. The bed sheets and army style blankets need to be replaced. Also please replace the tea towels in the kitchen more often - it was the same one for 3 days! Hot water is only lukewarm and I tried out 3 different showers, so hot water is an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malte Buecken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good rooms, awesome facilities. Two kitchens (although the better one is mainly used by staff), playstation room, movie room, pool table. Amazing hostel!

Disliked: Staff should use (for their own meals) the downstairs hostel instead of the upstairs one which should be for travelers only

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Lots of outdoor space for relaxing. Plus 2 kitchens, playstation & movie rooms, book exchange, laundry service (was well priced), & lots of excusion options.

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best, especially Luz. Super helpful and I felt very comfortable asking them questions about everything!

Disliked: The bathrooms regularly had a lot of water on the floor. I would alert the staff always but it was annoying to encounter this on such a regular basis.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuen Philip Hoang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2013 Yuen Philip would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has so many facilities such as having separate movie and cable television rooms, a ps3, two guitars, a pool table, and a ping pong table. There was also hot water when I needed it. Additionally, it was extremely easy to meet new people here. What I liked most, however, was the staff who were extremely friendly. I consider Paul, Jessica, and the others more friends than staff at a hostel. We celebrated Paul's birthday at a club and over cake. It is one of my favourite hostels that I have been in.

Disliked: Nothing really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool communal areas. Pool table / movie room.

Disliked: Difficult to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ZELJKO-IVICA KUCA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 ZELJKO-IVICA would recommend this property

Liked: location, space to relax outside

Disliked: poor breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omri Zada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Omri would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and atmosphere

Disliked: breakfast can be better

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pontus Rudenius

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013

Liked: very clean

Disliked: very unfriendly stuff. try to rip you off with their tours. they actually lie to you about other opportunities for different kind of trips.