HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Hostel | Pasaje O Higgins No. 224, Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru .

92.6% Overall Rating

74 out of 76 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/10/2013)

Emma Linton thinks…

"This a really safe and secure hostel (at night you have to buzz through two gates!). The hostel was set up really well, nice movie room, heaps of hammocks and a standard kitchen. Rooms had enough…"

Read all Arequipay Backpackers Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash accepted on arrival. Cancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via email or phone 054-234560. Same day cancellations, same day changes or No show will result in 1 night charge per person regardless the reason from your Credit Card. We are not responsible for weather conditions, illness, flight delays or flight cancellations. If you do not arrive within 3 hrs of your scheduled arrival time, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. SO PLEASE AVOID TO BE CHARGED FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD, IF YOU DECIDED TO CHANGE OR CANCELYOUR RESERVATION PLEASE LET US KNOW. If you cancel your reservation you will lose your 10% deposit if you didn't take advantage of the payment protection. Remember the 10% deposit to secure your booking goes to the agency not to us.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Casa de Avila Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.6% 167 reviews
Wayra River
7.50 USD

Hostel 89.5% 31 reviews
hostel-arequipa
10.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Point Arequipa Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 91.4% 11 reviews
Portal La Merced Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 91.7% 11 reviews
La Estela De Oro
14.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 78.3% 87 reviews
Hostal Real San Felipe
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.6%

Overall Rating

74 out of 76 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arequipay Backpackers Downtown'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 71 of 74 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendl, comfortable, safe, and clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emma Linton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: This a really safe and secure hostel (at night you have to buzz through two gates!). The hostel was set up really well, nice movie room, heaps of hammocks and a standard kitchen. Rooms had enough space and lockers to put your things in. Short walk to the city center. The tours here are fairly priced-we couldn't find a cheaper one in town so booked through them and had a great time. They held onto our luggage whilst we were in the Colca Canyon.

Disliked: hot water was sometimes a bit hit and miss

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful. They offered tours at very good prices (much, much lower than any other prices we had seen, although we had unfortunately already bought all of our tours previously). Clean beds.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Although you can book a room with a private bathroom, but it wasn't available when we made our booking.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very spacious and comfortable. It has two kitchens, lots of outdoor space and plenty of lounge areas. It's a very relaxing place, especially for those who need to rest before going to the Canyon del Colca.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful. They sent me to the wrong area of the city when I needed to buy a bus ticket, they didn't seem to care when I was having trouble connecting to the Internet, and they didn't help with tours and activities unless I was booking directly from them.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Payne

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has great character, attracts friendly backpackers, is social and has very helpful staff. The facilities are fantastic. There are numerous common areas like a pool room and various lounge areas. The tours that I booked through this hostel were also good value for money and were through excellent operators. This hostel is trying very hard to get better. I would definitely recommend people to stay here even with its poor aspects.

Disliked: The bedding is just ok. The bed sheets and army style blankets need to be replaced. Also please replace the tea towels in the kitchen more often - it was the same one for 3 days! Hot water is only lukewarm and I tried out 3 different showers, so hot water is an issue.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malte Buecken

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2013 Malte would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, good rooms, awesome facilities. Two kitchens (although the better one is mainly used by staff), playstation room, movie room, pool table. Amazing hostel!

Disliked: Staff should use (for their own meals) the downstairs hostel instead of the upstairs one which should be for travelers only

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel! Lots of outdoor space for relaxing. Plus 2 kitchens, playstation & movie rooms, book exchange, laundry service (was well priced), & lots of excusion options.

Disliked: Nada

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was the best, especially Luz. Super helpful and I felt very comfortable asking them questions about everything!

Disliked: The bathrooms regularly had a lot of water on the floor. I would alert the staff always but it was annoying to encounter this on such a regular basis.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Yuen Philip Hoang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2013 Yuen Philip would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has so many facilities such as having separate movie and cable television rooms, a ps3, two guitars, a pool table, and a ping pong table. There was also hot water when I needed it. Additionally, it was extremely easy to meet new people here. What I liked most, however, was the staff who were extremely friendly. I consider Paul, Jessica, and the others more friends than staff at a hostel. We celebrated Paul's birthday at a club and over cake. It is one of my favourite hostels that I have been in.

Disliked: Nothing really.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cool communal areas. Pool table / movie room.

Disliked: Difficult to find.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ZELJKO-IVICA KUCA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2013 ZELJKO-IVICA would recommend this property

Liked: location, space to relax outside

Disliked: poor breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Omri Zada

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Omri would recommend this property

Liked: Facilities and atmosphere

Disliked: breakfast can be better

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Pontus Rudenius

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013

Liked: very clean

Disliked: very unfriendly stuff. try to rip you off with their tours. they actually lie to you about other opportunities for different kind of trips.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Steve Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2013 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff who are always happy to help... There is vast amounts of common areas which means guests always have space to watch movies, play pool or use the Internet in free time. Trips and tours are priced well without the usual add ons of too much commission etc... A very nice place in an ideal location. Absolutely loved the cooking class over the road which you can book at the hostel. 80 soles for market tour, cooking, eating it and making and drinking pisco sours. As a general note the hostel seems to attract the good type of backpacker which always helps the vibe. Not too crazy nor too quiet. P.S the elder gentleman who helps with cleaning does a fantastic job.

Disliked: Showers were cold and bathrooms a bit run down.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is a really great place to spend a few days relaxing and enjoying Arequipa. There is a great choice of DVDs to watch and hammocks in the garden. Everyone is really friendly and the staff are really helpful with everything! The 3 day Colca Canyon tour offered by the hostel is definitely worth doing. I had a great guide and group and would fully recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing! Be prepared for a basic breakfast, but it`s fine.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The ability to use not one but two kitchens! Multiple movie rooms. friendliness of staff.

Disliked: small amount of bathrooms. cleaniliness of storage room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The people working at this hostel are so helpful and friendly! Everything is cleaned religiously. I had a great time here. I highly recommend the Colca Canyon trip offered through the hostel - great experience! Fun place to stay, easy to meet travelers or just relax.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a really good hostel, very safe, good area to walk home to at night. Nice and clean, helpful staff, good kitchen and nice areas to hang out. Huge tv, secure luggage storage, good beds.

Disliked: They really really need to do something to stop the door to dorm 8 from squeaking!! Hot water upstairs was variable, recommend that others use the bathrooms on the middle floors. That said I managed to have decent hot showers in the end.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Maarja Nomme

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2013 Maarja would recommend this property

Liked: Reallly lovely and helpful staff. I booked the two-day Colca Canyon tour with them and it was good. While I was on the trip, they let me store my luggage in there and also afterwards I was able to use all the facilities while I waited for my taxi to the bus station. They have two kitchens and offer a plenty of ways to keep yourself entertained.

Disliked: Maarja left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very friendly and homely hostel, with lots of little rooms to entertain yourself and chill in. Had a nice kitchen and the dog was epic

Disliked: Although we understand their policy we could not check in until 11.30 considering most of the buses that turn up are night buses

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an awesome time at Arequipay Backpackers. The staff are really friendly and it´s in a good location. One of the best hostels in Peru in terms of facilities-2 movie rooms with a massive selection of current and classic films, table tennis, fussball, pool room. I was alone and found that it was a really good place to meet people. The kitchen is one of the better ones in Peru and the outdoor areas are so nice to hang out in in the sunshine. The beds are really comfy too.

Disliked: The internet was poor at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a chill out hostel, with a good group of backpackers. Spacious place with both outdoor and indoor activities (pool, table tennis, etc). Very friendly staff giving a nice tour of the property at check in. Luz and Bane were very friendly and helpful with recommending sights to see, and helping to book onward tickets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at the Arequipay backpackers. Wanted to stay for 1 week but ended up staying almost 3 weeks. Very flexible and helpful staff. Big, well equipped kitchen so everyone cooked and it was a good way to meet people in the kitchen or at the dining table. Big collection of DVDs for the nights. The bathrooms were always clean and in the kitchen you had to be really fast if you accidentially dropped or spilled something. Otherwise they would have already cleaned it.

Disliked: It is not the most central place in town. About 4 blocks from the plaza de armas. But still everything can be reached within 5-10min walking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frida Karlsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Frida would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a big hostel but it´s a lot of space so it´s not crowded. Nice and clean rooms with nice beds and clean sheets. The bathrooms are really nice and are clean and fresh all day. The staff are wonderful. I got help when I was going to the hospital and they called and ask prices for me. And gave the numbver to the hostel if no one spoke english in the hospital just in case. They are very helpful with everything. And u have a good kitchen.

Disliked: It´s get really crowded in the mornings with bathrooms. Now the hostel is full and my floor only got 2 toilets so u have to wait, but otherwise it´s very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Woody

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fun and helpful, the kitchen was actually useful, and the location was safe and secure!

Disliked: It would be nice if it were maybe a block or two colser to the center of town but it was still not a bad walk!