HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arequipay Backpackers Downtown Arequipa Hostel

Pasaje O Higgins No. 224 Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 95%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 97%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Only cash accepted on arrival.

Cancellation and no show policy:
Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before
the arrival date via email or phone 054-234560. Same day cancellations,
same day changes or No show will result in 1 night charge per person
regardless the reason from your Credit Card. We are not responsible for
weather conditions, illness, flight delays or flight cancellations. If
you do not arrive within 3 hrs of your scheduled arrival time, we
reserve the right to cancel your booking. SO PLEASE AVOID TO BE CHARGED
FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD, IF YOU DECIDED TO CHANGE OR CANCELYOUR
RESERVATION PLEASE LET US KNOW.

If you cancel your reservation you will lose your 10% deposit if you didn't take advantage of the payment protection. Remember the 10% deposit to secure your booking goes to the agency not to us.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 94%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 95%

Location 90%

Safety 97%

Staff 94%

Value 97%

Showing 21-20 of 20 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is very spacious and comfortable. It has two kitchens, lots of outdoor space and plenty of lounge areas. It's a very relaxing place, especially for those who need to rest before going to the Canyon del Colca.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful. They sent me to the wrong area of the city when I needed to buy a bus ticket, they didn't seem to care when I was having trouble connecting to the Internet, and they didn't help with tours and activities unless I was booking directly from them.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful.They offered tours at very good prices (much, much lower than any other prices we had seen, although we had unfortunately already bought all of our tours previously).Clean beds.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Although you can book a room with a private bathroom, but it wasn't available when we made our booking.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel has great character, attracts friendly backpackers, is social and has very helpful staff. The facilities are fantastic. There are numerous common areas like a pool room and various lounge areas. The tours that I booked through this hostel were also good value for money and were through excellent operators. This hostel is trying very hard to get better. I would definitely recommend people to stay here even with its poor aspects.

Disliked: The bedding is just ok. The bed sheets and army style blankets need to be replaced. Also please replace the tea towels in the kitchen more often - it was the same one for 3 days! Hot water is only lukewarm and I tried out 3 different showers, so hot water is an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great hostel! Lots of outdoor space for relaxing. Plus 2 kitchens, playstation & movie rooms, book exchange, laundry service (was well priced), & lots of excusion options.

Disliked: Nada

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff was the best, especially Luz. Super helpful and I felt very comfortable asking them questions about everything!

Disliked: The bathrooms regularly had a lot of water on the floor. I would alert the staff always but it was annoying to encounter this on such a regular basis.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel has so many facilities such as having separate movie and cable television rooms, a ps3, two guitars, a pool table, and a ping pong table. There was also hot water when I needed it. Additionally, it was extremely easy to meet new people here. What I liked most, however, was the staff who were extremely friendly. I consider Paul, Jessica, and the others more friends than staff at a hostel. We celebrated Paul's birthday at a club and over cake. It is one of my favourite hostels that I have been in.

Disliked: Nothing really.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: location, space to relax outside

Disliked: poor breakfast

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Facilities and atmosphere

Disliked: breakfast can be better

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very clean

Disliked: very unfriendly stuff. try to rip you off with their tours. they actually lie to you about other opportunities for different kind of trips.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Really friendly staff who are always happy to help... There is vast amounts of common areas which means guests always have space to watch movies, play pool or use the Internet in free time. Trips and tours are priced well without the usual add ons of too much commission etc... A very nice place in an ideal location. Absolutely loved the cooking class over the road which you can book at the hostel. 80 soles for market tour, cooking, eating it and making and drinking pisco sours. As a general note the hostel seems to attract the good type of backpacker which always helps the vibe. Not too crazy nor too quiet. P.S the elder gentleman who helps with cleaning does a fantastic job.

Disliked: Showers were cold and bathrooms a bit run down.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability