HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Arequipay Backpackers Downtown Arequipa Hostel

Pasaje O Higgins No. 224 Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 96%

Location 87%

Safety 97%

Staff 93%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • PlayStation
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Only cash accepted on arrival.

Cancellation and no show policy:
Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before
the arrival date via email or phone 054-234560. Same day cancellations,
same day changes or No show will result in 1 night charge per person
regardless the reason from your Credit Card. We are not responsible for
weather conditions, illness, flight delays or flight cancellations. If
you do not arrive within 3 hrs of your scheduled arrival time, we
reserve the right to cancel your booking. SO PLEASE AVOID TO BE CHARGED
FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD, IF YOU DECIDED TO CHANGE OR CANCELYOUR
RESERVATION PLEASE LET US KNOW.

If you cancel your reservation you will lose your 10% deposit if you didn't take advantage of the payment protection. Remember the 10% deposit to secure your booking goes to the agency not to us.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:30

Policies

  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 91%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 96%

Location 87%

Safety 97%

Staff 93%

Value 96%

Showing 11-20 of 26 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: nice and comfy. entertainment is good.

Disliked: hot shower is available, but difficult to balance the water heat level

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Business / conference, City break, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great place. Great location. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No Bar

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Table tennis table, pool table, movies, good for downtime

Disliked: A bit of a walk from main action.Breakfast a bit average

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Spent a few nights here. Really clean and comfy hostel with great facilities. Helpful staff and the tours on offer are great value.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff who are hugely helpful with a large amount of info available regarding tours, cooking courses, tourist attractions etc. Comfy beds and lockers in room so for the price you really can't go wrong. Good location about 10 mins walk from the main square.

Disliked: Very basic brekky but is the option to buy extra.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendl, comfortable, safe, and clean.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This a really safe and secure hostel (at night you have to buzz through two gates!). The hostel was set up really well, nice movie room, heaps of hammocks and a standard kitchen. Rooms had enough space and lockers to put your things in. Short walk to the city center. The tours here are fairly priced-we couldn't find a cheaper one in town so booked through them and had a great time. They held onto our luggage whilst we were in the Colca Canyon.

Disliked: hot water was sometimes a bit hit and miss

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is very spacious and comfortable. It has two kitchens, lots of outdoor space and plenty of lounge areas. It's a very relaxing place, especially for those who need to rest before going to the Canyon del Colca.

Disliked: The staff was not very helpful. They sent me to the wrong area of the city when I needed to buy a bus ticket, they didn't seem to care when I was having trouble connecting to the Internet, and they didn't help with tours and activities unless I was booking directly from them.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful.They offered tours at very good prices (much, much lower than any other prices we had seen, although we had unfortunately already bought all of our tours previously).Clean beds.

Disliked: Shared bathroom. Although you can book a room with a private bathroom, but it wasn't available when we made our booking.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This hostel has great character, attracts friendly backpackers, is social and has very helpful staff. The facilities are fantastic. There are numerous common areas like a pool room and various lounge areas. The tours that I booked through this hostel were also good value for money and were through excellent operators. This hostel is trying very hard to get better. I would definitely recommend people to stay here even with its poor aspects.

Disliked: The bedding is just ok. The bed sheets and army style blankets need to be replaced. Also please replace the tea towels in the kitchen more often - it was the same one for 3 days! Hot water is only lukewarm and I tried out 3 different showers, so hot water is an issue.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability