We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arequipay Backpackers Downtown

Hostel | Pasaje O Higgins No. 224, Vallecito, Arequipa, Peru .

92.0% Overall Rating

82 out of 84 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/09/2014)

Natasha Paling thinks…

"Excellent hostel with friendly staff. Only a short walk to the main square and, even at night, I felt safe walking back alone. The hostel has great security in a gated community and lockers in the…"

Read all Arequipay Backpackers Downtown reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Only cash accepted on arrival. Cancellation and no show policy: Cancellations or changes are accepted only with minimum 24 hours before the arrival date via email or phone 054-234560. Same day cancellations, same day changes or No show will result in 1 night charge per person regardless the reason from your Credit Card. We are not responsible for weather conditions, illness, flight delays or flight cancellations. If you do not arrive within 3 hrs of your scheduled arrival time, we reserve the right to cancel your booking. SO PLEASE AVOID TO BE CHARGED FROM YOUR CREDIT CARD, IF YOU DECIDED TO CHANGE OR CANCELYOUR RESERVATION PLEASE LET US KNOW. If you cancel your reservation you will lose your 10% deposit if you didn't take advantage of the payment protection. Remember the 10% deposit to secure your booking goes to the agency not to us.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Casa de Avila Hotel
20.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 96.0% 171 reviews
Wayra River
7.50 USD

Hostel 88.3% 33 reviews
Friendly AQP
7.15 USD

Hostel 88.8% 47 reviews
The Point Arequipa Hostel
7.50 USD

Hostel 90.1% 13 reviews
Portal La Merced Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 87.2% 15 reviews
La Estela De Oro
14.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Posada Misti House
9.00 USD

Guesthouse 76.8% 88 reviews
Hostal Real San Felipe
16.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

82 out of 84 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arequipay Backpackers Downtown'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
92.8%
Safety
97.6%
Refine your results Showing 77 of 81 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rhys Kingdom

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Rhys would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very friendly and homely hostel, with lots of little rooms to entertain yourself and chill in. Had a nice kitchen and the dog was epic

Disliked: Although we understand their policy we could not check in until 11.30 considering most of the buses that turn up are night buses

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had an awesome time at Arequipay Backpackers. The staff are really friendly and it´s in a good location. One of the best hostels in Peru in terms of facilities-2 movie rooms with a massive selection of current and classic films, table tennis, fussball, pool room. I was alone and found that it was a really good place to meet people. The kitchen is one of the better ones in Peru and the outdoor areas are so nice to hang out in in the sunshine. The beds are really comfy too.

Disliked: The internet was poor at times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a chill out hostel, with a good group of backpackers. Spacious place with both outdoor and indoor activities (pool, table tennis, etc). Very friendly staff giving a nice tour of the property at check in. Luz and Bane were very friendly and helpful with recommending sights to see, and helping to book onward tickets.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I had a great time at the Arequipay backpackers. Wanted to stay for 1 week but ended up staying almost 3 weeks. Very flexible and helpful staff. Big, well equipped kitchen so everyone cooked and it was a good way to meet people in the kitchen or at the dining table. Big collection of DVDs for the nights. The bathrooms were always clean and in the kitchen you had to be really fast if you accidentially dropped or spilled something. Otherwise they would have already cleaned it.

Disliked: It is not the most central place in town. About 4 blocks from the plaza de armas. But still everything can be reached within 5-10min walking

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frida Karlsson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012 Frida would recommend this property

Liked: It´s a big hostel but it´s a lot of space so it´s not crowded. Nice and clean rooms with nice beds and clean sheets. The bathrooms are really nice and are clean and fresh all day. The staff are wonderful. I got help when I was going to the hospital and they called and ask prices for me. And gave the numbver to the hostel if no one spoke english in the hospital just in case. They are very helpful with everything. And u have a good kitchen.

Disliked: It´s get really crowded in the mornings with bathrooms. Now the hostel is full and my floor only got 2 toilets so u have to wait, but otherwise it´s very good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Woody

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 October 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was fun and helpful, the kitchen was actually useful, and the location was safe and secure!

Disliked: It would be nice if it were maybe a block or two colser to the center of town but it was still not a bad walk!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm really not sure how this has ratings of "best hostel in South America"??? The bathrooms are filthy no matter what time of day you use them, they are original bathrooms from what must be the 60/70... Terrible condition, bally sheets, bread for breakfast but that's it? nothing to put on it? why have it? Nothing about this hostel got me excited, came back from a 3 day hike, they could not work out how to transfer my deposit from one room to another so then had me on the phone to the owner to argue it out, thanks just what I feel like doing after 3 days hiking standing in the reception desperate for a cold shower, YES cold, not once could I get a hot shower there. After coming from EcoPackers in Cusco which deserves 110% ratings this place was DIS-A-PIONTING....!!!!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: What a great place. Its so big. A nice kitchen, lots of common space to relax both outdoors and indoors. Pool table, big big TV, Playstation i think as well, although I never really used these. Really really easy to meet people and hang out. Staff was very helpful. Lots of tours available to the canyon, rafting and such. The hostel is located within a gated area; so, early mornings and evenings after 7 you have to buzz into a gate and then buzz into the door, so you are very safe; although I also felt comfortabe walking in the streets around at these times as well. Overall fantastic hostel!

Disliked: 1. Breakfast is not included. But they do provide bread and tea in the morning, so really you're about a jar of jam and a banana away from a typical Peruvian breakfast. 2. Getting hot water can be tricky. There are instructions posted but usually it came out cold, hot, cold, hot.....lol, was able to wash though!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: this is nice hostel! =) staffs are kind!

Disliked: there are only 3 toilets that u can use!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keeley Hampton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 July 2012 Keeley would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel. Comfortable beds and loads of room. Great facilities like pool table, table tennis, air hockey, big screen tv for movies and a great garden where you can chill out and relax in the hammocks and chairs.

Disliked: Keeley left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very very helpful and polite. They learn your name very well which I really liked and I always saw a cleaner in the building!

Disliked: Not much!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly and helpful. The hostel has lots of space indoors and outdoors. Large well-equiped kitchen. Lots of game rooms and lounge areas for both socializing and privacy. Very clean bathrooms with hot showers. Nice quiet neighbourhood. Laundry service, tour bookings, towel rentals, computers, wifi, movie room, lockers . . .

Disliked: The only thing I would change would be to offer a bit more for breakfast. Free bread and tea is ok, but there was nothing to put on the bread (jam, butter, etc) and coffee would be really nice in the mornings!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, very easy to book colca canyon tours, free calls to US and canada, great location and nice and clean!

Disliked: a little hard for our cab driver to find. make sure to print out a map first! also, a bit noisy from dogs barking outside at night sometimes.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to meet people. The staff has the best pick up lines (if you are a guy).

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Stine Mari Harildstad

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Stine Mari would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel

Disliked: The staff messed up our bus booking

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brenda Buckingham

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 April 2012 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable bed. Staff very very helpful. Good location. Clean bathrooms. Value for money

Disliked: No Breakfast but this is only minor considering the price you pay for a room.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophie kingsley-smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, it was really great location, chilled out, and great tv room with lots of film choice. Cannot reccommçend enough. The staff were sooo friendly too.

Disliked: Being in the downstairs room, it was quite noisy as it is near the reception, and the doorbell goes off quite alot for people trying to get in. apart from that amazing stay thankyou.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good, safe, clean place. showers are hot (others gave negative feedback on the showers...not true, just need to know how to operate them). nice kitchen & garden.

Disliked: breakfast is not really breakfast. but anyways its niceer to go to the plaza de armas and get some nice big cheap breakfast up on the balkonies in the sun!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Anna Glenn-Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: A good kitchen close to a great supermarket. Fews of hang out areas exisit. Staff are friendly, organise take aways for free. Hot water is a bit iffy, but not bad. Wifi is fine too, can be used in bedrooms.

Disliked: It is a little out of town, but not too far. Taxi drivers have no idea where it is

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Ryan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Great Hostel, great facilities.. pool table, computers, tv rooms, spacious dorms, well equipped kitchen, and really clean.

Disliked: Honestly, one of the best hostels i´ve stayed at. No complaints.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pamela Ross

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2012 Pamela would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Helpful staff. Clean, clean, clean. And offers reasonably priced tours.

Disliked: Pamela left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Key

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great part of town and feels so safe! The bathrooms are cleaned very often. The large dorm is actualy split in two so is a 4 bed and 4 bed. Great hostel!

Disliked: I would rather pay a little extra and have breakfast than just get bread. None of the taxi drivers or tour groups seem to know where this hostel is!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well laid out. The staff were also helpful and were able to book tours and bus tickets for you which is useful when you´re feeling a little lazy! The computers were good and the internet worked well, albeit just in the communal areas.

Disliked: The fact that no taxi driver knew where it was! Pasaje O`Higgins is a tiny road off Calle Cusco which is off Calle Cruz Verde where incidently the hostel used to be based! I had the old address written in my up to date Lonely Planet guide to South America which just confused matters but we got there in the end : ) Breakfast is just bread and tea which is fine, however they could at least stretch to some jam to go on the bread...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice place to relax after the hikingtours in Arequipa. The people are really friendly and they make many things possible. Like leaving your stuff when you go hiking for a couple of days.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located in a walking distance from the square. The hostel is so safe, front door is locked all the time. Nice and so helpful staff.

Disliked: Hot water is not stable