We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hostal Sol De Oro Backpackers

Guesthouse | Calle Cruz Verde 307, Arequipa, Peru 000

88.8% Overall Rating

45 out of 50 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/11/2013)

cristina giampieretti thinks…

"El dueno John fue muy amable, como toda la gente que trabaja ahi. Es un lugar perfecto para hacer nuevos amigos."

Read all Hostal Sol De Oro Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Room service (24 hour)
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 10.00

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Arequipa

Hostal La posada De Ugarte
18.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Foresta Hostal
20.00 USD

Guesthouse 84.1% 16 reviews
Villa Melgar
6.42 USD

Hostel 86.1% 7 reviews
El Patio de Elisa
16.00 USD

Guesthouse 97.9% 8 reviews
Hostal El Pueblo
14.00 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Flying Dog Hostel Arequipa
9.25 USD

Hostel 84.6% 33 reviews
Home Sweet Home - Arequipa
8.50 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
La Casona de Jerusalen Traveler´s Hostel
9.00 USD

Hostel 90.4% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.8%

Overall Rating

45 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hostal Sol De Oro Backpackers '

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
85.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 47 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

cristina giampieretti

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 November 2013 cristina would recommend this property

Liked: El dueno John fue muy amable, como toda la gente que trabaja ahi. Es un lugar perfecto para hacer nuevos amigos.

Disliked: cristina left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

MICHEL TRUFFI

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013

Liked: .

Disliked: A segurança. Consta uma camera próximo a entrada do quarto (Não sei se grava ou não) mas, fomos roubados em ambas carteiras (minha e de minha esposa) sendo que, na carteira havia DOLAR, SOLES e REAIS. Foram roubados apenas nossos REAIS. Em Arequipa, foi o único local onde deixamos a carteira no quarto PRIVADO e neste ocorreu o desaparecimento do valor. Reportamos ao dono do hostel que não teve o que fazer. Apesar do susto prosseguimos a viagem mas, ficamos muito insatisfeitos com a segurança e bem como o retorno (solução para o caso). Pagamos nossa estadia normal sem nenhum abatimento ou restrição de preço.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 July 2013

Liked: It was clean, despite being a bit beat up in the rooms. The games area is really huge and unexpected. there is a pool table (with the smallest pockets ever), ping pong, a workout area, an indoor soccer field (!!!) and a foosball table. If you were travelling with a group of friends, it would be a cool place to come in and take over as you could really do a lot of stuff just at the hostel.

Disliked: When we were there it was like a graveyard. Super quiet and the people that were there were all 45+. Maybe it's recommended in Fodor's or some other guide that old people use, I don't know. Definitely a weird vibe which is a shame given the potential of the place. Wifi was done for a bulk of our time there and we ended switching hostels after one night, which to their credit, they allowed us to do without hassle or fees for cancelling our second night. We both just got the feeling this place may have switched owners or something as the great reviews (which are all a lot older) don't correlate to the current vibe there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe and good wifi, lovely outdoor areas, nice and quiet but at close proximity to everything.

Disliked: Would have loved more for breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff were so helpful, we couldnt have asked for anything more.

Disliked: There was nothing that we did not like.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, really nice breakfast with eggs, staff can book tours from the hostel, private rooms have cable tv

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, kitchen is tiny so can only cook 1 person at a time

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the hostel is little bit dark, no windows in room.. There is lot of facilities, location: almost in the center, room clean, good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, the internet (other than a small blip on day one when it wasn't working at all) was good. The rooms are nice with towels and hot showers.

Disliked: Breakfast is either a) a cup of yoghurt with some quinoa on top OR b) a tiny plate of scrambled eggs; and the usual bread and butter, tea etc. Juice was NOT fresh. No milk. I think this is probably a result of their kitchenbeing out of action, but they need to update their profile to inform people of this. Kitchen is not available for use as advertised. It'll be a really nice hostel when they finish working on it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, wondeful shower!

Disliked: Family that runs the hostel uses the kitchen a lot, so it is difficult to cook.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nina Persson

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 November 2011 Nina would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. The terrace is amazing. The best breakfast I had in Peru!

Disliked: Only one of the staff speak any English, so communication got a bit difficult when she was not there...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great hostel highly recommend. Close to main square. Clean. Great outdoor facilities with games and sun lounges. Very safe and the staff are wonderful.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, good value for money. The property has a huge garden with pool table, football table, ping pong etc etc. There is also a movie room with playstation and even an exercise bike!!! We would recommend to others. The owner went to the bus station for us to buy our bus tickets and didn´t even charge us any commission. Staff overall friendly.

Disliked: There weren´t many people there when we stayed so it was very quiet and not much atmosphere. We stayed for four nights and didn´t have our room cleaned at all - i don´t expect it cleaned everyday but once would have been nice. A copy of Mein Kampf on the bookshelf was a little disturbing!!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Mui

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2011 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the breakfast is excellent. Friendly staff who provides breakfast outside of normal hours. Clean room and bath room.

Disliked: none

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Renee Colquhoun

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2011 Renee would recommend this property

Liked: Hostal Sol De Oro had fantastic facilities, a pool table, dart board and ping pong table to chill out around and a lovely garden. There were 2 computers for guest use, free of charge. The breakfast was good, the banana pancakes were delcious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, booking taxis and excursions and offering advice on where to go in the city. All in all very happy with our stay and would recommend.

Disliked: Breakfast only served from 8am - 9.30am so if you sleep in you miss out.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities were amazing and the location perfect. The female staff member was very helpfull in booking our bus to puno also.

Disliked: one of the male staff was very rude, when i asked for milk at breakfast he rolled his eyes and gave me a 'talk to the hand' gesture. Also our ipod disappeared and when we asked if it had been seen and searched around for ages it 'mysteriously appeared' in a bin bag (that was from outside where the ipod never was) that a male staff member was holding. later that day i discovered that the language settings on the ipod had been changed to spanish.... not to mention my sleeping bag was also taken clean off my pack. still recommend this hostel just keep a close, close eye on your belongings.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PETR SKLADANKA

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 PETR would recommend this property

Liked: nice details that make stay pleasant

Disliked: not much to add here

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helped tours, advice and buses. The internet is free. Nice suny balcony, pool table and ping pong. Nice free breakfast.

Disliked: One tiny shower and toilet for dorm room. Shower sometimes cold but mostly it was warm. A little cold in the rooms

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Miranda Riddell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2011 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast in the morning (although between 8-9.30 you snooze you lose), lovely sunny garden with lots of games and tables and loungers to hang out on. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms pretty clean. Staff really nice and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hostel its really really nice and relaxed and has a good vibe. Easy to meet people in the communal areas. very fast internet connection too!

Disliked: only one communal bathroom for the dorm which was OK when it was not full and a bit hectic otherwise.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is really lovely, nice and clean and a really good location. It is a great place to relax and has all the facilities you need. Breakfast is good too. The staff were really helpful and very friendly and I would recommend the hostel. If you wanna party hostel this is not the place for you - but if you wanna relax and have a really nice place to stay then it is perfect.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Wing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night and the guy greeted us really warmly and carried our bags to our room. The hostel is in a great location and is really safe. The breakfast was lovely and was such a treat to enjoy whilst sat overlooking the garden. The hostel has a great garden - which the photos on line do not do justice! I have already recommended this hostel to a friend.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

oliver cavillon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2011 oliver would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is awesome!!!All is great,the bed,the breakfast,and the atmosphere is so cool!!There is everything you need to have some fun!!Ping pong,baby foot,pool,and bigggg garden!!I reserved here for two night,but finally i stayed 2 weeks!!The best experience in my trip since 4 months!!!In the top 3 of all my hostel!!And really near from the central place... You will meet John And Yuliana,the owners of the hostel,who are really nice,and allways here for you!! I will be back for sur here!!!And i advice to all my friends to come here !!! Have a nice experience in Sol de Oro!! Chusss

Disliked: Nothinggg!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent Hostel! Quiet and relaxed. Great, friendly people and lovely atmosphere. Home away from home! thanks

Disliked: all is good

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Ines Sarubbi

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2011 Ines would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and bathrooms are good!

Disliked: The kitchen was not very well prepared.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good comfortable beds, good travel agent, free computrs with skype.

Disliked: only one bathroom for the people without ensuite, breakfast is only served between 8 and 9.30.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, bright, good sized room. Good breakfast. Only a short walk into town.

Disliked: Room near reception was noisy, you can hear the telephone and doorbell