HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hostal Sol de Oro Arequipa

Hostel

Calle Cruz Verde 307 - cercado, Arequipa, Peru

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 89%

Staff 84%

Value 89%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Arequipa?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 83%

Cleanliness 89%

Facilities 89%

Location 91%

Safety 89%

Staff 84%

Value 89%

Showing 1-4 of 4 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Events / festivals, Shopping, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: El dueno John fue muy amable, como toda la gente que trabaja ahi. Es un lugar perfecto para hacer nuevos amigos.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: It was clean, despite being a bit beat up in the rooms. The games area is really huge and unexpected. there is a pool table (with the smallest pockets ever), ping pong, a workout area, an indoor soccer field (!!!) and a foosball table. If you were travelling with a group of friends, it would be a cool place to come in and take over as you could really do a lot of stuff just at the hostel.

Disliked: When we were there it was like a graveyard. Super quiet and the people that were there were all 45+. Maybe it's recommended in Fodor's or some other guide that old people use, I don't know. Definitely a weird vibe which is a shame given the potential of the place. Wifi was done for a bulk of our time there and we ended switching hostels after one night, which to their credit, they allowed us to do without hassle or fees for cancelling our second night. We both just got the feeling this place may have switched owners or something as the great reviews (which are all a lot older) don't correlate to the current vibe there.

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: .

Disliked: A segurança. Consta uma camera próximo a entrada do quarto (Não sei se grava ou não) mas, fomos roubados em ambas carteiras (minha e de minha esposa) sendo que, na carteira havia DOLAR, SOLES e REAIS. Foram roubados apenas nossos REAIS. Em Arequipa, foi o único local onde deixamos a carteira no quarto PRIVADO e neste ocorreu o desaparecimento do valor.Reportamos ao dono do hostel que não teve o que fazer. Apesar do susto prosseguimos a viagem mas, ficamos muito insatisfeitos com a segurança e bem como o retorno (solução para o caso).Pagamos nossa estadia normal sem nenhum abatimento ou restrição de preço.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Safe and good wifi, lovely outdoor areas, nice and quiet but at close proximity to everything.

Disliked: Would have loved more for breakfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything! The staff were so helpful, we couldnt have asked for anything more.

Disliked: There was nothing that we did not like.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great location, really nice breakfast with eggs, staff can book tours from the hostel, private rooms have cable tv

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, kitchen is tiny so can only cook 1 person at a time

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: the hostel is little bit dark, no windows in room..There is lot of facilities, location: almost in the center, room clean, good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were friendly and helpful, the internet (other than a small blip on day one when it wasn't working at all) was good. The rooms are nice with towels and hot showers.

Disliked: Breakfast is either a) a cup of yoghurt with some quinoa on top OR b) a tiny plate of scrambled eggs; and the usual bread and butter, tea etc. Juice was NOT fresh. No milk. I think this is probably a result of their kitchenbeing out of action, but they need to update their profile to inform people of this. Kitchen is not available for use as advertised.It'll be a really nice hostel when they finish working on it.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great breakfast, wondeful shower!

Disliked: Family that runs the hostel uses the kitchen a lot, so it is difficult to cook.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean and comfortable. The terrace is amazing. The best breakfast I had in Peru!

Disliked: Only one of the staff speak any English, so communication got a bit difficult when she was not there...

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability