We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oslo hostels
See all Oslo hotels

Reviews of Sentrum Hostel

Hostel | Tollbugaten 8, Oslo, Norway 0152

74.9% Overall Rating

1940 out of 2328 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2015)

SEHWA JANG thinks…

"깨끗하고 조용하고 위치도 너무 좋아서 비겔란공원 빼고 모두 걸어다님. 뭉크 뮤지엄은 호스텔 앞이나 역 앞으로 가서 교통을 이용해도 좋고 길 구경하며 걸어가도 좋았음. 수건 필요할때마다 쓸 수 있어서 좋았고 커서 좋았음. 부엌도 의외로 넓어서 좋았고 뜨거운 물 무료! 샤워실 넓고 온수 잘 나와서 좋았음."

Read all Sentrum Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oslo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oslo

My City Home
54.26 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Anker Hostel
27.73 USD

Hostel 71.2% 2139 reviews
Anker Hotel
40.15 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 129 reviews
Cochs Pensjonat
37.38 USD

Hotel 2 star 86.2% 17 reviews
Anker Apartment
24.11 USD

Hostel 81.7% 124 reviews
Best Western Kampen Hotel
39.15 USD

Hotel 4 star 73.3% 3 reviews
Oslo Hotel Apartments
32.13 USD

Hostel 74.5% 150 reviews
Oslo Youth Hostel Haraldsheim
33.16 USD

Hostel 81.6% 396 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
74.9%

Overall Rating

1940 out of 2328 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sentrum Hostel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
87.2%
Value
72.0%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 1397 of 1555 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 55 | 56   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice mix of people and good communal area to meet people in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SEHWA JANG

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2015 SEHWA would recommend this property

Liked: 깨끗하고 조용하고 위치도 너무 좋아서 비겔란공원 빼고 모두 걸어다님. 뭉크 뮤지엄은 호스텔 앞이나 역 앞으로 가서 교통을 이용해도 좋고 길 구경하며 걸어가도 좋았음. 수건 필요할때마다 쓸 수 있어서 좋았고 커서 좋았음. 부엌도 의외로 넓어서 좋았고 뜨거운 물 무료! 샤워실 넓고 온수 잘 나와서 좋았음.

Disliked: 엘리베이터가 없어서 좀 아쉬움. 트윈룸 4일 있았는데 청소는 체크아웃시에만 함.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Near centre and transport links

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

13 August 2015

Liked: The location is very central, and the staff was very friendly. The price was cheap too, in comparison to hostel rates in Northern Europe in general.

Disliked: The atmosphere can only be described as dodgy and unsafe, and the place is dirty. The room smelled of cooking oil from the restaurant downstairs. The people staying at the place also had a weird vibe, they did not seem to be travelers, instead they reminded me of construction workers on an assignment . The worst where the hookers outside the hostel and the noise from a nearby club that went on until late in the night, even if it was a Sunday. My worst hostel experience in my life so far!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cassie Markland

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2015 Cassie would recommend this property

Liked: The lady at reception was an angel. I booked a 6 bed dorm but the lady took one look at me and realized I hadn't slept in a very long time. Without mentioning anything, she put me in 2 bed dorm! The room was lovely, the hostel was lovely, the other receptionists were lovely and I LOVE NORWEGIANS! For my one night stay I got a very good sleep.

Disliked: Cassie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel in the center, I like it a lot! Thank you!

Disliked: None, everything is good!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 July 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms

Disliked: showers just on every second floor, total 6 showers for the whole hostel

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well-located in centre of Oslo.

Disliked: Kitchens are not as well-furnished as some of the other hostels I've been to. It can be quite a chore to find even basic things like cutlery or mugs.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Muhammad Hashim Abbas

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 June 2015 Muhammad Hashim would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are nice and clean. Tidy as they are described and shown in the hostel website. Ideal location. Opera, City Hall, Nobel Peace Centre and Parliament on walking diatance. Everything is very approachable.

Disliked: At 4th floor, there were a toilet with extreme cold water only.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Farzaneh Kazemian

With a large group / tour

City break

19 June 2015

Liked: Good

Disliked: Good

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

16 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It s in the center, clean, quet.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, neea the station. Although across from a missionary shelter, so some weirdos! But much better than Anker hostel. Room was spacious

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect for walking to the sights.

Disliked: The social atmosphere was a bit dull.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rafal Mlotowski

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 May 2015 Rafal would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Rafal left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Phelps

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2015 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, very nice room facilities.

Disliked: Emily left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 February 2015

Liked: The WIFI is superb, excellent signal wherever you are in the building. The guy on the front desk is a really nice friendly bloke..The fact I got there late and didn't pre advise him he still got up and helped me check in Free towel. The café downstairs served excellent local cuisine with 15% discount off afternoon meals. Tap water was refreshing.

Disliked: Prostitutes right on the doorstep. Heroin addicts wandering in and out of the hostel at night (do they live there?!) - The showers either blew out scolding hot water or Atlantic Ice cold water. No happy medium. The beds made me scratch. My locker key opened up somebody elses locker and vice versa. Although I liked the food In the café downstairs the waitresses were unfriendly. loud street at night, punters picking up their 'ladies of the night'

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

12 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and friendly staff

Disliked: Better when you travel in group

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2014

Liked: The beds were pretty comfortable and the property didn't have bunks which is always nice when you are travelling alone. Also there were secure lockers in the room.

Disliked: The hostel was fine and seemed safe but was not really a good place to meet people. There were a lot of people travelling with their significant other and also a much older crowd.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, and affordable accommodation in Oslo. The gentleman on reception was very nice, and as I arrived around midnight allowed me to check in and come back to pay the next day. Also notable to have linen and towels included in price, this is unusual in Norway. Bed was comfortable, and showers were hot.

Disliked: This appears to be an old hotel where they have just chucked a bunch of single beds in no particular order into each room - there are no bunk beds, it's a little weird. There were insufficient bathrooms for the number of guests - there were two showers and two toilets on my floor - which were not very clean. This is not really a hostel in the traditional 'backpackers' sense, there really wasn't any atmosphere, the kitchen - which I didn't even know existed for an entire day - is the only common area and there was one table with about eight seats, and one couch with a TV. The reception was rarely manned.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

JOSE PACHECO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2014 JOSE would recommend this property

Liked: located at the very heart of Oslo

Disliked: Few WC per floor

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in room, kitchen area is large. Showers were good. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: No air conditioning, it was very warm in Oslo at the time. We had to have the windows open at night which then let the noise in. Streets are very noisy at night once the hookers come out.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

yichi wang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2014 yichi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is really great

Disliked: The toilet could be improved

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Yolanda Pascual

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2014 Yolanda would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. Walking distance from both train/bus stations, city center, museums and amenities. Also the price, although not cheap, in Oslo is very cheap.

Disliked: Beds are shabby. I share the dormitory with a horrible woman, extremely rude and selfish. Sleeping during the day, awaking everybody during the night. Rooms and showers are more or less clean. But the living room/kitchen is very dirty. I missed a clean place where to sit down or eat something. Going to that living room is like loosing the apetite.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Alessandro Russo

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Alessandro would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location

Disliked: Showers not on the same floor of the dorm

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is literally steps from the train station, so the location is great. We stayed in a very comfortable room -- good beds, linens provided (including towel).

Disliked: Reception doesn't open until 10am. It would be better if they opened at around 8am, or even 7. We had places to be in the morning and wanted to pay cash, but ultimately they charged the card because they weren't there.


See all Oslo hostels
See all Oslo hotels