We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oslo hostels
See all Oslo hotels

Reviews of Oslo Youth Hostel Haraldsheim

Hostel | Haraldsheimveien 4, Oslo, Norway 0587

80.1% Overall Rating

356 out of 392 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/08/2014)

"Dormitories and kitchen were very clean. lots of grassy outdoor area behind the hostel good for exercise and games (life size chess, ping pong, discgolf, and 2 turf soccer fields all right behind the building)."

Read all Oslo Youth Hostel Haraldsheim reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 7.77
  • Towel USD 3.11

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast

Important Information

There is an additional charge of NOK 25 which will be charged upon arrival if you do not have a YHA membership card. Our Dorms are female or male but never mixed.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oslo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oslo

Anker Apartment
31.07 USD

Hostel 79.5% 86 reviews
Best Western Kampen Hotel
46.56 USD

Hotel 4 star 73.3% 3 reviews
Oslo Hotel Apartments
38.79 USD

Hostel 73.0% 148 reviews
Anker Hotel
51.72 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.2% 87 reviews
Anker Hostel
35.73 USD

Hostel 70.4% 2100 reviews
Short Stay Apartments
72.54 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Sentrum Hostel
34.95 USD

Hostel 66.7% 2301 reviews
My City Home
85.43 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

356 out of 392 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Oslo Youth Hostel Haraldsheim'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
67.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
82.4%
Value
74.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 276 of 304 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2014

Liked: Dormitories and kitchen were very clean. lots of grassy outdoor area behind the hostel good for exercise and games (life size chess, ping pong, discgolf, and 2 turf soccer fields all right behind the building).

Disliked: location is far from city center- and everything else. reception tried to charge me 50NOK more than what I was supposed to pay because of a "mathematical error." Additional charge (50NOK!) for use of bed linens- should be included in the price. Rooms are quite narrow and beds are of below average comfort, even for a youth hostel. No alcohol permitted in the hostel. No organized gatherings or events to meet other backpackers, or even bike tours or walking tours in the city.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was not too far from public transportation and had free wifi. It was relatively clean and I saw staff cleaning all the time.

Disliked: The shower kept getting hot and cold on its own and I had to constantly adjust it. Several times, my key card did not work and I had to get it fixed at reception. The sink in my room was broken and had a very poor water flow with only warm water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Ken Lloyd

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2014 Ken would recommend this property

Liked: Very well presented with really kind and helpful staff The facilities were excellent including free internet and a much appreciated left luggage room. The storage in the room was also of a high standard and the showers and the loo were conveniently located

Disliked: We were directed to Sinsen but when we emerged from the station there was no signage. I would recommend sending much more explicit directions when people book or erecting more signs from all local stops

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mario Hernandez

Alone

City break

16 February 2014 Mario would recommend this property

Liked: The nicest staff, free wifi, awesome breakfast which was included with the room. Very clean,friendly people everywhere, very accessible for any public transportation. Free use of computers and the printer, free use of the kitchen.

Disliked: the pillow could be better. better selection in the vending machines

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matt Bell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Matt would recommend this property

Liked: Clean facility, friendly and helpful staff, great overall experience

Disliked: The internet didn't work in the rooms so you had to go to common areas. That's it though!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing breakfast! it was the best ever. I love it. also clean and safety, bed was comfortable, easy to sleep:)

Disliked: A bit far from the central and after got off tram. and have to go up the hill. was hard work. if you bring a suitcase, its harder.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Syed Fawad Bukhari

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 September 2013 Syed Fawad would recommend this property

Liked: It's very clean and very nice property.. I really enjoyed it..

Disliked: Nothing to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

yoann templier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 July 2013 yoann would recommend this property

Liked: Placed in a park

Disliked: It's Norway so everything is expensive

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Heewon Cho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Heewon would recommend this property

Liked: There was quite good place. There has a proper kitchen, and served good breakfast and clean. wifi was not bad.

Disliked: some shower taps broken, wi-fi didn't work in the room, and the fares didn't include bad sheet. I think some homeless live by tram stop where is very near hostel, it make feel little bit wierd.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Merinda Stewart

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Merinda would recommend this property

Liked: When I departed in the early morning they pre-prepared a huge breakfast for me to take with me.

Disliked: Although public transport is close, regular and runs 24hrs, the hostel is too far to walk from the centre of the city

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erin Keller

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

20 May 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Everything felt clean and secure. There were many useful resources available and the staff was always willing to help!

Disliked: Everything cost extra, like the bedding and the towels. Should be included in the price.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

HYUNJEONG LEE

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2013 HYUNJEONG would recommend this property

Liked: One of staff was really nice & kind. They have very useful kitchen where we can use lots of kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Location was not so good. I had to take a bus at the centeral station and go 20 munites. and then I climb small hill with my heavy trunk.!! It is not easy to find at first, so I suggest you to ask someone or bus driver before you getting out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The front desk staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hostel is nice and clean with a large kitchen, delicious breakfast, and beautiful view out the reception door. I would certainly stay here again, as the low price and high quality can't be matched in Oslo.

Disliked: It was a challenge to find but only because I didn't prepare myself enough with directions to easily locate it.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

yaeree jang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 April 2013 yaeree would recommend this property

Liked: kind staff, clean and good facility and breakfast also very good. They have big, clean kitchen so you can make food your self , it is also good.

Disliked: location is quite far from city center so it is difficult to find in the night time You should us public transfertation

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013

Liked: Great breakfast

Disliked: Terrible location with terrible directions on getting there. I called the hostel and the man at reception was completely unhelpful and did not care at all that I was lost. Took the coldest shower of my life. Overall a terrible experience and I don't recommend this place.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good. The room is very warm.

Disliked: The wifi speed is not fast enough.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent hostel

Disliked: Better explanation on reaching the location would be helpful

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Anderson

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the staff upon arrival was excellent. Room was a good size (sharing with 2 other friends) and the location, though up a rather large hill, was convenient to Oslo Central and came with excellent views. Beds are also pretty comfortable. There is a tram that runs approx every 10 mins from the bottom of the hill (Sinsenkrysset), or a mainline rail station about 5-6 minutes away (Sinsen). Both run into town within 15 mins. Shower in-room was decent and with good water pressure. Storage lockers in room for each person with an option for a padlock, although if you get a 4 person room for yourself and friends, these become un-necessary.

Disliked: Buffet breakfast, while ample, was all cold foods (salad bar, meats-etc). Would have been better with hot breakfast options. although a kitchen IS available if you want to cook your own stuff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hayley Berry

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2012

Liked: Price was good (for Norway). Breakfast included and use of the kitchen also helps save money in an expensive city.

Disliked: Little bit out the way (but not too bad to reach by public transport). Directions provided by the hostel to get from metro station to the hostel could be clearer (you need to follow signs to Aker university first, then eventually start seeing signs for Haraldsheim). Rooms had key card access, but it didn't feel as secure as it should have. Reading lights in rooms were too bright to use without waking up other guests. Access to free wifi bad in rooms, and tended to cut out occasionally even in common areas where reception was better. Need to provide a designated outdoor smoking area not directly at the main entrance to the building, as every time I went in or out I could hardly breathe due to the smoke.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

05 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Meeting people from the whole europe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff- exceptional, thank you!

Disliked: nothing. It is a great hostel easily accessible by public transit

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel, quite and clean. Very tasty breakfast with a large number of dishes that is very rare to hostel in that price. I advice to to take your own linen and towels because they are very expensive as everything in Norway. There were 2 computers with the Internet, also there was free wi-fi. A bit far from the center but you can get there on foot because there are some parks to enter on your way there. If you decide to go everywhere on foot it's better to have a bicycle or skate. Public transport is very expensive.

Disliked: An awful smell in the kitchen.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cool view and breakfast included

Disliked: small and dirty kitchen with closing time

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Place was very clean and close to public transport.

Disliked: The place had more of a hotel vibe than a hostel. The bus #30 doesn't go to the stop near the hostel, take the 31.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Anderson

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were well organised, everything was clearly laid out and the staff were very helpful. The food was very good and the offered a packed lunch service too. For one night it was great and I'd definitely go there again.

Disliked: The location was a bit out of the Centre but some may like that. For the purpose I needed the stay in this trip it wasn't very helpful to be that far out but if I was to stay longer I think I would enjoy not being in the Centre.


See all Oslo hostels
See all Oslo hotels