HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Oslo hostels
See all Oslo hotels

Reviews of Anker Hostel

Hostel | Storgata 55, Oslo, Norway 0182

73.5% Overall Rating

1652 out of 2080 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2014)

"- close to railway station and city center - the profits of this hostel go to student homes - watching the surprisingly big drug scene nearby was interesting. I also found it interesting how the Norvegian police is…"

Read all Anker Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • Café
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Onsite shop(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 8.10
  • Towel USD 3.24

What's Included

  • Luggage Room

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE:All dorms are mixed. If you are wanting a male or female dorm only - Please contact us after booking and we will do our best to place you in your requested dorm. Cancellation Policy Guests can cancel their reservation free of charge up to the day before arrival. Deposits paid are non refundable. If you don't cancel the reservation in time, the hostel will charge you for the first night booked (total amount).

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Oslo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Oslo

Anker Hotel
56.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 84 reviews
Château Apartment
75.61 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Anker Apartment
32.38 USD

Hostel 79.8% 68 reviews
Sentrum Pensjonat
36.43 USD

Hostel 70.1% 2296 reviews
My City Home
105.24 USD

Apartment 93.1% 7 reviews
Perminalen Hotel
61.53 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.8% 142 reviews
Best Western Kampen Hotel
56.64 USD

Hotel 4 star 73.3% 3 reviews
Oslo Hotel Apartments
44.48 USD

Hostel 74.4% 147 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.5%

Overall Rating

1652 out of 2080 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Anker Hostel'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
68.8%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 1311 of 1548 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 52 | 53   Next
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi in common area. Comfortable pillows. Ensuite shower.

Disliked: Poor wifi in rooms, no lockers in room, location can be slightly unsafe at times. No common kitchen or microwave.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sergiy Shaklein

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 August 2014 Sergiy would recommend this property

Liked: Best location in Oslo for this money

Disliked: Extra payment for sheets and forbidden sleeping bags in dorms.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and close to the city.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kate Tunstill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: very nice atmosphere and central

Disliked: fairly expensive, but reasonable for oslo

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

muhammad ali awan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2014 muhammad ali would recommend this property

Liked: literally 5 to 6 mins walk to central station

Disliked: shred room bathroom was really dirty,water and hairs were on the floor and awful smell was inside the room i had to keep windows open all night long

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - close to railway station and city center - the profits of this hostel go to student homes - watching the surprisingly big drug scene nearby was interesting. I also found it interesting how the Norvegian police is arresting there drug dealers: The officers arrive in civilian clothes - thus in summertime just short trousers and normal t-shirts.

Disliked: Just like the rest of Scandinava: It's 3-4 times more expensive than Tallinn or Riga - and only half the fun...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good central location, and base rate is "cheap" for Norway (although still very expensive).

Disliked: I chose this hostel for its central location, and because it had the cheapest beds available on the night I needed to stay in Oslo. However, there were hidden charges - on checkin in I was informed that I would need to pay 50 NOK for bed linen (i.e. a sheet and pillowcase) and that sleeping bags were not allowed. I don't regard bed linen as an optional service and I think it is VERY cheeky to exclude this from the nightly rate to make the hostel appear cheaper than it really is. There were also no lockers in the dorm, which wasn't great from a security point of view.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jose David Gomez mantilla

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

28 July 2014

Liked: not much, the location is not so bad and the small rooms could have potential to be nice with better managment.

Disliked: -Comunal kitchen was useless -The bathroom was blocked so the room was full of water after 1 min of shower. -WIFI was crappy, I needed to upload some docs and was nto able to. -it is already crappy that you have to pay for linnen, but we have a double room and have to pay for double linnen.... -It is no prepared for a hto summer.. -Parking is extremely expensive 27 euros per day and it is not written anywhere

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good environment

Disliked: The bathroom were in each room but it only had one shower and one toilett that its fine but not for a room on 8 people..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything...

Disliked: Nothing... All right. Nothing's perfect so let's say showers could be a bit better (they're a bit small)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Sarah Rivas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014

Liked: Common areas

Disliked: They charge you for everything. Like linens, and locks for a limited number of lockers they have in the lobby. The beds creacked anytime you moved, and the mattresses we basically just foam pads. No good for the amount of money you spend to stay there.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good wifi, secure lockers for small items free with own padlock. Close to the city and bus stop. felt pretty safe

Disliked: You have to put a deposit down for cutlery which was annoying to do and carry up stairs every time you want to eat something. Cleaning wasn't the best but not too bad

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 minutes walk from train station. Clean and convenient.

Disliked: Bed sheet and linen are chargable for NOK 50.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Minttu Kuusisto

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

01 July 2014 Minttu would recommend this property

Liked: Location great!

Disliked: You have to pay extra for linens and towels

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is very good. Breakfast deal is good , wifi works good .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hostel. Big rooms which one in their own bathroom and fridge. Nice location, 10m walking for the central station. Nice staff, cool atmosphere and great common area with a bar. You can think it's expensive but everything in Oslo is, it's one of the cheapest hostels in the city. I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

24 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Not bad, you have separate rooms with a kitchen and a bathroom at each room.

Disliked: They force you to rent linen and don't allow sleeping bags! Expensive.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

23 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is near to oslo s station within walking distance.

Disliked: Their cooking utensil have to borrow with deposit 100 NOK for 3hours. Wifi quite difficult to get the connection.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 June 2014

Liked: The location was decent - 10 min walk from the train station. The 8-bed dorm had a bathroom inside, as well as a small kitchenette. For those who were cooking, I can see this being an advantage. There is 24 hr reception.

Disliked: Linens are not included in the price of the bed and that wasn't indicated anywhere on the website, or until you arrived. I would have stayed a second night at Sentrum Pensjonat if I had known the price was the same - the value for money at Sentrum exceeded that at Anker once you took into account the cost of bed linens.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mehdi Salimi

Alone

Relaxation/spa

19 June 2014 Mehdi would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly

Disliked: No locker and breakfast

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was ok.

Disliked: Paying for sheets. One night there were 4 people in my room who never used sheets. Very dirty in my opinion.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The locations is really nice and the staff really healpfull

Disliked: The bathroom was a little bit durty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

JON UNZUETA

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 June 2014 JON would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good.

Disliked: Only kitchen in the room, not a good place to cook when sharing with more people.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2014

Liked: The location and the price.

Disliked: Everything else.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 June 2014

Liked: It was the cheapest option in Oslo

Disliked: Mixed dorms, even I notified 3 months in advance that I would like to be put up in all-female one (what is the point of them advertising it if they cannot do it anyway?). Bed linen had to be rented separately but optional - two guys sleeping in my room did not have their own and slept without any covers: so unhygienic for the next customers.


See all Oslo hostels
See all Oslo hotels