We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bergen hostels

Reviews of Bergen YMCA Hostel

Hostel | Nedre Korskirkeallmenningen 4, Bergen, Norway 5017

82.1% Overall Rating

508 out of 556 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/09/2014)

"Good restaurant next to the hostel where you can count on a discount of 10%. Friendly people and good accomodation. Good place in the city center."

Read all Bergen YMCA Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.21
  • Towel USD 1.57

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

*****The reception has limited opening times so it is ESSENTIAL you email us your arrival time after booking so we can organise a self-checkin if reception will be closed when you arrive. We can not guarantee check in if you don't contact us.*****

Reception Opening Hours: From 10.09 - 31.10: 08:00 - 21:00 From 01.11 - 01.04: 08:00 - 15:30 From 02.04 - 31.05: 08:00 - 21:00 From 01.06 - 9.09: from 07:00 - 24:00 Our hostel is closed from 23.12 - 2.1

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bergen?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.1%

Overall Rating

508 out of 556 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bergen YMCA Hostel'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
80.8%
Value
74.4%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 397 of 478 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martina Hoch

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2014 Martina would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to the fish market and city center

Disliked: .

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

simona sovic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 September 2014 simona would recommend this property

Liked: Location, nice atmosphere

Disliked: The rooms were super basic, but for sleeping its ok:)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good restaurant next to the hostel where you can count on a discount of 10%. Friendly people and good accomodation. Good place in the city center.

Disliked: /

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Robin Hansen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: The lounge room has comfy couches and it's nice to eat breakfast at the small table there. The location is amazing; steps away from the water and info center and great views from the rooftop terrace.

Disliked: The kitchen is functional but tiny. It's nice to have cupboard space in the rooms but I wish there was the option to store dry food in the kitchen also.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kt o'connor

Alone

Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014 kt would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, although not signposted. Close to bars, restaurants and the waterfront. Quaint character. Clean. Secure.

Disliked: Not signposted and some instruction signs or materiał would have helped

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

TZU CHUN CHEN

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 TZU CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: GOOD

Disliked: The luggage room is small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Hubertus Konings

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Hubertus would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, pretty clean, big kitchen, diningroom and lounge are nice to meet people.

Disliked: No lockers in the rooms, but other then that okay.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Position, clean and well organized

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Good facilities.

Disliked: none

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2014

Liked: It's just behind the fish market

Disliked: So not value for money. The rooms are so crammed that there is no space to put your luggage. You even have to pay an extra Kr 50 for a personal locker (security). The girls' shower cubicle is very tiny, and two of them don't even have a partition between them! The kitchen looks super old and in need of a major upgrade. There is definitely insufficient power points around the hostel and even inside the room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location near to everything and all main tourist attractions... Perfect location... I would come back again if I'm going to visit Bergen again in future,..

Disliked: The room was dark with no ventilation after the window was locked by the hostel staff. Hostel staffs did not bother to explain about facilities available in the hostel nor did they tell anything about where not to miss and supermarket location upon arrival. You have to ask about everything...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, cheap & clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

GEORGIOS TZIORTSAS

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2014

Liked: location

Disliked: no clean,no safe

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

song junshan

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 May 2014 song would recommend this property

Liked: 非常好的位置.也很值得!

Disliked: 退房时间有点早

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stefanie Kaufmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2014 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The location is perfect.

Disliked: When checking in we noticed that the window in our room was broken. We advised the stuff and hey told us, they would fix it, but at the end we had to sleep with an open window.... It is a bit dirty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Pedro Pablo Cardoso Castro

Alone

Business / conference

20 April 2014 Pedro Pablo would recommend this property

Liked: In the city centre

Disliked: Staff could be more friendly and helpful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Ho LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Chun Ho would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean and we had a private bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very near to the city centre, just a few mins. It's safe with adequate facilities such as private locker and kitchen. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Chun Ho left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Seung Kwon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: it is really safe place because of their security system. it makes me relieved.

Disliked: nothing but it would be better if they made more smile.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Ades

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived late Friday night, so reception was shut when I got there and the instructions they gave me to check in were so easy to use. The staff were so friendly and It's in the best location to everything in town. The room had even It's own bathroom, so that was a nice surprise. Great discounts from the staff for places to eat around town and the chill out room downstairs was awesome to relax in during the day.

Disliked: I didn't like that I had to make my bed when I arrived at 1am on the Friday night and waking up the rest of the room. I've never stayed in a Hostel that you had to make your own bed. I thought that was strange.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bogumila Czerepak

Alone

City break

20 February 2014 Bogumila would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the location, i really liked that in the room was a bathroom and fridge and kettle and cabinets to keep food, there was free tea and coffee and some food which was nice

Disliked: computers were broken but i guess it was just a temporary issue

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: roof top, own bathroom (toilet and shower), bed linen etc. included and already in your room when checking in

Disliked: opening hours of the reception - not in regards of the self-checkin, that worked out well. but when you get to your room then and read that for adjusting the room temperature "just get in touch with us at the reception", which in fact is closed then, that sure is an issue that can spoil the experience of staying at this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominik Chrzanowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Cold heater at night

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic - close to the center of Bergen and everything you might need. Rooms were warm, showers were hot, and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Unfortunately I have to agree with the other reviews and say that it's not very clean. It wasn't horrible but the kitchen was often dirty and the rooms weren't very tidy. Also, the staff weren't very friendly and did not seem interested in helping to answer my questions.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrea Masárová

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 December 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: we were together with boys - but they were ok, it was just unexpected

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2013

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly, the place was very dirty and no hotwater in the common showers.


See all Bergen hostels