HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Bergen hostels

Reviews of Bergen YMCA Hostel

Hostel | Nedre Korskirkeallmenningen 4, Bergen, Norway 5017

82.7% Overall Rating

479 out of 523 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

Chun Ho LEE thinks…

"The room is clean and we had a private bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very near to the city centre, just a few mins. It's safe with adequate facilities such as private…"

Read all Bergen YMCA Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 10.90
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

*****The reception has limited opening times so it is ESSENTIAL you email us your arrival time after booking so we can organise a self-checkin if reception will be closed when you arrive. We can not guarantee check in if you don't contact us.*****

Reception Opening Hours: From 10.09 - 31.10: 08:00 - 21:00 From 01.11 - 01.04: 08:00 - 15:30 From 02.04 - 31.05: 08:00 - 21:00 From 01.06 - 9.09: from 07:00 - 24:00 Our hostel is closed from 23.12 - 2.1

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bergen?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bergen

Jacobs Apartments AS
80.48 USD

Hostel 79.9% 311 reviews
Marken Gjestehus
35.21 USD

Guesthouse 90.6% 24 reviews
HI Montana Youth and Family Hostel
39.40 USD

Hostel 83.4% 405 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

479 out of 523 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Bergen YMCA Hostel'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
76.0%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 381 of 448 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chun Ho LEE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Chun Ho would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean and we had a private bathroom. The staff was very friendly and the hostel was very near to the city centre, just a few mins. It's safe with adequate facilities such as private locker and kitchen. Highly recommended!

Disliked: Chun Ho left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Seung Kwon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: it is really safe place because of their security system. it makes me relieved.

Disliked: nothing but it would be better if they made more smile.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emily Ades

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 April 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived late Friday night, so reception was shut when I got there and the instructions they gave me to check in were so easy to use. The staff were so friendly and It's in the best location to everything in town. The room had even It's own bathroom, so that was a nice surprise. Great discounts from the staff for places to eat around town and the chill out room downstairs was awesome to relax in during the day.

Disliked: I didn't like that I had to make my bed when I arrived at 1am on the Friday night and waking up the rest of the room. I've never stayed in a Hostel that you had to make your own bed. I thought that was strange.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bogumila Czerepak

Alone

City break

20 February 2014 Bogumila would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the location, i really liked that in the room was a bathroom and fridge and kettle and cabinets to keep food, there was free tea and coffee and some food which was nice

Disliked: computers were broken but i guess it was just a temporary issue

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: roof top, own bathroom (toilet and shower), bed linen etc. included and already in your room when checking in

Disliked: opening hours of the reception - not in regards of the self-checkin, that worked out well. but when you get to your room then and read that for adjusting the room temperature "just get in touch with us at the reception", which in fact is closed then, that sure is an issue that can spoil the experience of staying at this hostel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Dominik Chrzanowski

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2014 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: Cold heater at night

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic - close to the center of Bergen and everything you might need. Rooms were warm, showers were hot, and the beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Unfortunately I have to agree with the other reviews and say that it's not very clean. It wasn't horrible but the kitchen was often dirty and the rooms weren't very tidy. Also, the staff weren't very friendly and did not seem interested in helping to answer my questions.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Andrea Masárová

With friends / other travellers

City break

17 December 2013 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere

Disliked: we were together with boys - but they were ok, it was just unexpected

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2013

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly, the place was very dirty and no hotwater in the common showers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ute Greiner

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Ute would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location of this hostel. It is near to the central station and in the middle of the city. The staff is really nice and helpful.

Disliked: There could be more showers and toilets on each floor. The toilets were at the end of the day really discusting as people just do not pay attention. There was paper everywhere and sometimes it smelled really badly. They should clean them maybe twice a day.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean and has small but very nice kitchen

Disliked: The place I could eat was little far from the kitchen so it was little bit uncomfortable to bring my foods from kitchen to the eating place.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very central. It is 10 minute walk to the train/bus station, 5 min walk to old town of Byrggen and other major attractions. It also has a couple of good, cheap grocery stores close by from which you can purchase your own food.

Disliked: There are no hooks/shelves in the bathroom from which you can put your things when you shower. Note that there is no bathtub, or shower stall in the bathroom. Its literally a shower curtain that is separating the shower area from the sink and toilet. So everything gets very wet! The staff could be friendlier.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Property was ok, not great but not horrible either

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice and especially the shared rooms and shared kitchen were very good

Disliked: When we had to leave our luggage was locked up and we had to ask a security guy to open the door for us, because the reception was exceptionally closed. I think, this cannot be the case.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent, very central.

Disliked: Small kitchen was crowded at busy times.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good Location

Disliked: when taking a shower you have to keep pressing the tap button every minute to have water.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly and helpful. Good to have a kitchen. Great location. Bathroom is clean. Everything is expensive in Norway but this hostel provided the basic facilities which is great.

Disliked: People snored very bad during the night (not the hostel's fault). Shower was not very hot. Lucky not too many people staying in the big dorm on the first 2 nights. Wifi doesn't work on 1st floor only in the computer room and activity room. If they can put the lockers in the dorm will be great.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ruslan Gorusyev

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2013 Ruslan would recommend this property

Liked: everything was good!

Disliked: Ruslan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Cleanliness

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Bernadett Szucs

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 September 2013 Bernadett would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, everything well organised, luggage store, security.

Disliked: No hot water in the shower

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Gerald McDowell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2013 Gerald would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location just minute from the ferry terminal.

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is amazing. It's right next to the fish market, and the tourist information center, which is also a very helpful place. Maps were scattered everywhere and there's a bulletin board with suggestions of places to eat, cafes, etc. There are three computers to use, though one was out of order, and you get the codes free, and each code is good for half an hour. They should update their browser (they're still using Internet Explorer) but some internet is definitely better than none! There also is wifi but my device had trouble picking up on it. There are lockers as well, but they get taken very quickly! There are a few different sets of lockers but you might not be able to access them depending on what floor you're on (if you take the stairs. If you take the elevator though I think you can get onto any floor). The terrace is absolutely amazing, with a view of the harbor and excellent views of sunsets and just parts of Bergen in general. The room itself was very expansive, even with the bunk beds in it, and the people staying there were very respectful of everyone else's stuff. The common room is very nice, with a tv and everything, and the dining room is quite nice too, with two pianos, board games, and a book exchange. The kitchen was small but functional, just had to go at the right time otherwise you were trying to navigate around people.

Disliked: There wasn't really anywhere to change in the showers. It's fine if you don't mind locker-room style, and the room itself was absolutely fine, but if you're shy and want to change in your shower stall, you need to do some sorcery of keeping your clothes dry. The showers themselves are nice, though. :) The water is a push tap, so it goes off after about a minute or two, but it's a good way to save water. If you desperately need your water on for your whole shower, just turn around every few minutes and push the button down.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: A hostel should be enthusiastic about it's city. It should advice, suggest, recommend and help visitors. The staff did not give any good information regarding what to do in the city. They just said go to the tourist information. So not helpful.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location, clean rooms, free bed linen. I stayed in a 32-bed dorm which was quite incredible (felt a bit like sleeping in the underground of a cathedral) but they also have smaller dorms which are very cosy as well.

Disliked: Not very friendly staff but the general atmoshere was OK. Huge dorms can be an inconvenient if you have noisy guests.


See all Bergen hostels