HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Rick's Causeway Coast Hostel

Hostel | 4 Victoria Terrace, Portstewart, Northern Ireland BT55 7BA

86.5% Overall Rating

277 out of 299 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/08/2014)

"Liked the common room , freedom to get together on the evening . Free breakfast staff very helpful."

Read all Rick's Causeway Coast Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portstewart?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.5%

Overall Rating

277 out of 299 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Rick's Causeway Coast Hostel'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
86.4%
Safety
84.0%
Refine your results Showing 216 of 230 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the common room , freedom to get together on the evening . Free breakfast staff very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Corey Sevigny

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Corey would recommend this property

Liked: Value

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marvin Pfeifer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2014 Marvin would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly home-like atmosphere and beautiful spot!

Disliked: Marvin left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, nice location! I felt like home.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Traditional home, open fire, comfy chairs in social room, kitchen with basic supplies provided.

Disliked: Bathrooms a little small, but not a big deal.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kate Jackson

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 February 2014 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed the friendlyness of Rick himself and the general atmostphere.

Disliked: The wifi signal wasnt brilliant.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nathan Hunsdale

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 September 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: The ensuite was pretty nice and the bed was comfy.

Disliked: Steadily risen in price over the past four years!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Markus Hager

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013 Markus would recommend this property

Liked: Ricks friendlyness

Disliked: noise in the night from school class. Bad mattresses in rooms with bunk beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rick was lvely and full of helpful and interesting information. It was great to talk with him and I felt like a friend rather than a guest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rick was really friendly and helpful, very relaxed atmosphere. Nice big common rooms, with an open fire in the lounge. Good showers, kitchen and excellent location to get to the giants causeway. It was very quiet when we stayed so Rick upgraded our room for free. For people with allergies there is a resident cat that chills out downstairs sometimes but wasnt a problem for us.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

25 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet and homely atmoshere, very kind and helpful stuff, the big red cat Ginger, greenplants, books, fireplace, ... in short: I felt like a guest at home with friends. I like to come back again.

Disliked: 0

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

COLUM TIFFNEY

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2012 COLUM would recommend this property

Liked: location is perfect, just a bit from nightlife so no noise and everyone is friendly!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff, the nice small room, the kitchen, the common room, the cat

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location as its close to the sea view

Disliked: number of washrooms and toilets. They were less

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Superb location, host Rick very welcoming, homely atmosphere - with free tea / coffee / milk available, plus the added bonus of a beautiful friendly marmalade cat! Beds very comfortable, amazed at how quiet the room was at night. Hope to go back again & stay at the hostel in the near future - Portstewart is a fabulous town!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sam McKnight

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: The location is stunning. Right on the coast. The hostel itself was more like a home than a hostel.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emily Nascimento

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Rick is possibly the nicest person on the planet. Was sure to tell us exactly where to go for a drink and what to expect. Followed his recommendations and def not disappointed, room was clean, absolute value for money compared to local B&B's, location a teeny walk from the main strip. absolutely perfect for us! oh and if you want to cook, we didn't, theres a big fully equipped kitchen. free tea and coffee. Rick will talk your socks off!

Disliked: nothing at all!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chee Lai

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 May 2012 Chee would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The WiFi spot is not close to common hall, only in kitchen we can receive the WiFi signal

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2012

Liked: location was great, only a short drive to all the major attractions and a easy walk into town (10min) to local pubs and restaurants

Disliked: the lack of cleanliness. Also, the matresses were old, dirty and painful to sleep on.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rick is very nice and the place is warm and friendly

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Armour

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: size space design manager

Disliked: lumpy matress

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is located a few meters away from the ocean. Rick is an awesome host.

Disliked: Other guests can be noisy, but that was just inog my timing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location & the atmosphere was great. All the people were really friendly & it was great value for money, would definitely recommend

Disliked: The room was a little cold & the sheets on the bed hadn't been dried properly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 September 2011

Liked: Near to the Portstewart promenade.

Disliked: It was not tidy - the room carpet looked like it hadn't been hoovered in months and the showers/toilets were unpleasant. I know it's a hostel and you're going for cheap, but cleanliness has to be the top priority and unfortunately that was not the case here.