HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Portrush Holiday Hostel Portrush Hostel

24 Princess Street, Portrush, Portrush, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 95%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 96%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine

Important Information

PLEASE NOTE
It is a policy of our Hostel that children/minors under 18 years of age can not share mixed dormitory bedrooms with other adults in the interest of child protection laws.

Our large family room and rates are strictly for families of 2 adults & 3 children under 16 years of age.
Our small family room and rates are strictly for families of 2 adults & 2 children under 16 years of age.

Photographic ID may be asked for when checking in at reception.

Reception opening hours: 8.30AM TO 9.00PM

Check in time is strictly between 3.00pm and 9.00pm
Latest check out time is 11.00am

Assistance outside of these hours may be made with prior notice.

Free on street parking public parking (non reservable)

CANCELLATIONS: If cancelled up to 2 days before date of arrival, 20 percent of total price of the reservation will be charged.
If cancelled later, 100 percent of the first night will be charged.

NO SHOW POLICY: In case of no-show, the total price of the reservation will be charged

On commencement of booking 20% of the total balance due will be taken and the remaining 80% will be taken upon arrival on check in date.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 15:00

Latest Check-out: 21:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portrush?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 98%

Facilities 95%

Location 98%

Safety 98%

Staff 94%

Value 96%

Showing 1-10 of 16 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owners Philip and Colette are great hosts and made me feel so welcome. It's more like staying in someone's home than a hostel. It's warm, clean, friendly, good location and great value for money. What's not to like?

Disliked: N/A

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful and the hostel had a very homely and inviting atmosphere

Disliked: Could hear other guests in the morning

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good atmosphere. Everyone so kind and helpfull.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Nice cosy place, very good facilities, two bathrooms and showers in the dorm, fully equipped with tooth paste, shampoo etc.

Disliked: There is not many space in the dorms, especially in summer it could get very sticky and crowded.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything about the hostel itself was excellent. Building was clean and in good condition throughout, dorm had 2 showers with toilets and a third toilet, plenty of outlets for everyone, lockable lockers on the doors, and coded locks on the doors. Owner was extremely helpful in addressing my travel needs.

Disliked: Signs leading to the hostel from the train station were rather misleading, at least to someone used to similar signs in the U.S. The directions given on the signs were not applicable to the immediately following intersections, which led me in the wrong direction, much unnecessary frustration, and a slight alteration of plans due to lost time.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great atmosphere with young kids, travellers, and older adults, all mixing in together. Free breakfast is another bonus, and the guy couldn't be more helpful, sorting out a question about surfing for some non-english guests, and sharing the kitchen with us all.

Disliked: Movements seem to magnified by the metal bunk beds but they are sturdy and the mattresses very comfortable

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: it was clean and quiet

Disliked: There was no one at the reception when we arrived (and no messages at all!) so we had to wait over an hour to get in our room and the guy didn't even say sorry.... not very kind...

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

thank you very much for your kind comments on cleanliness and quietness, we are very sorry to hear that you had to wait on your room, not that this is an excuse, but we are a small family ran hostel with just my wife and myself and we have to juggle between looking after reception and going to shop to get breakfast stocks, and most importantly the reason for no appology was that we were not aware that you had been at the door earlier. once again we are very sorry.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, made us all feel very welcome the minute we arrived. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in was very, very clean, as was the ensuite bathroom and communal kitchen. Water pressure was great! and the shower was warm and temperature adjustable. The room was spacious, as were the beds, and comfy too. It was a little too warm during the night but then it was a hot summer night. Breakfast food for the morning was great--bread for toast, jams, nutella, cereal, tea, coffee. The hostel is close to the town centre, resturants and bars. No curfew, and you're given a code to get back in after reception hours, which was great.Will definitely book with this hostel the next time I am in Portrush!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. I did want another pillow but that was minor.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: All rooms were en suite

Disliked: too little space between beds

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability