We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Portrush Holiday Hostel

Hostel | 24 Princess Street, Portrush, Northern Ireland BT56 8AX

95.2% Overall Rating

23 out of 23 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

David Horn thinks…

"Everything about the hostel itself was excellent. Building was clean and in good condition throughout, dorm had 2 showers with toilets and a third toilet, plenty of outlets for everyone, lockable…"

Read all Portrush Holiday Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We do not accept Stag/Hen parties Large groups booking in as 1,s 2,s and 3,s will not be accepted, and if found will loose full payment, and be asked to leave, Reception open Hours 8.30 AM TO 9.30 PM - Check in from 3 pm to 9 pm assistance outside of these hours may be made with prior notice. Customers MUST contact the property to arrange check in time.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portrush?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
95.2%

Overall Rating

23 out of 23 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Portrush Holiday Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
97.4%
Facilities
94.8%
Cleanliness
100.0%
Staff
93.9%
Value
93.9%
Safety
96.5%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 23 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Horn

Alone

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about the hostel itself was excellent. Building was clean and in good condition throughout, dorm had 2 showers with toilets and a third toilet, plenty of outlets for everyone, lockable lockers on the doors, and coded locks on the doors. Owner was extremely helpful in addressing my travel needs.

Disliked: Signs leading to the hostel from the train station were rather misleading, at least to someone used to similar signs in the U.S. The directions given on the signs were not applicable to the immediately following intersections, which led me in the wrong direction, much unnecessary frustration, and a slight alteration of plans due to lost time.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jon marsden

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 jon would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere with young kids, travellers, and older adults, all mixing in together. Free breakfast is another bonus, and the guy couldn't be more helpful, sorting out a question about surfing for some non-english guests, and sharing the kitchen with us all.

Disliked: Movements seem to magnified by the metal bunk beds but they are sturdy and the mattresses very comfortable

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ilaria Piludu

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Ilaria would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and quiet

Disliked: There was no one at the reception when we arrived (and no messages at all!) so we had to wait over an hour to get in our room and the guy didn't even say sorry.... not very kind...

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Cosby

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 June 2013 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, made us all feel very welcome the minute we arrived. The 4 bed dorm we stayed in was very, very clean, as was the ensuite bathroom and communal kitchen. Water pressure was great! and the shower was warm and temperature adjustable. The room was spacious, as were the beds, and comfy too. It was a little too warm during the night but then it was a hot summer night. Breakfast food for the morning was great--bread for toast, jams, nutella, cereal, tea, coffee. The hostel is close to the town centre, resturants and bars. No curfew, and you're given a code to get back in after reception hours, which was great. Will definitely book with this hostel the next time I am in Portrush!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike. I did want another pillow but that was minor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Grzegorz Dziegiel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2012 Grzegorz would recommend this property

Liked: All rooms were en suite

Disliked: too little space between beds

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Susan McLeod

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is AMAZING!! The amount of free food in the huge and well equipped kitchen is fantastic. The lady running it is so helpful and friendly and the rooms were brilliant. I would definitely stay here again and recommend that you do the same.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, it was perfect!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and helpfull staff and place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice! Clean, nice kitchen! Perfect hostel! :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice common room and a nice big kitchen, free tea and coffee any time of day including a selection of herbal teas and hot chocolate which is a nice change for a hostel! When the heaters were on it was lovely and warm, unfortunately they were turned off overnight and through the day which made it get very brisk inside. Cheap laundry.

Disliked: Absolutely no water pressure - abysmal showers although they were clean which is good. Private rooms were absolutely teeny tiny. I hated that they turned the heaters off though I understand the reasoning behind it, but I really feel the cold and so often I was very chilly. Did not have a 24 hour reception which I was expecting so when I arrived there was no one there to hold my stuff in storage (I got there about 9.30am) - but again this is because I visited in the 'off-season'.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms are comfy and the shower has really hot water which is nice. and it is nice and close to the port and the trainstation. the staff where very friendly and helpfull

Disliked: ---

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing, friendly staff and good atmosphere. Clean,comfortable room. I'd definitely recommend it.

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, fantastic location and breakfast included! Found the hostel a perfect base for surfing, exploring the coastline (castles and Giant's causeway) and even for visiting Derry. would recommend this hostel to guests interested in any of the above or indeed anyone just looking for a break from the city.

Disliked: Nothing to say here

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel! It was like a B&B. Really clean, 2 bathrooms and an extra toilet. Nice rooms, kitchen,... Breakfast (Really good breakfast) was included. Nice people. Amazing place, near to Pubs and restaurants and to the sea!!!

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike! Sorry guys to dissapoint you!!! ;););)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common space had a tv and a great fire to curl up next to after a rainy winter day.

Disliked: It was a bit out of the way, but then again, so is Portrush.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent facilities - some of the best i've seen!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing...