HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Mourne Lodge Mourne Mountains Hostel

Bog Road, Atticall, Kilkeel, Co Down, Mourne Mountains, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 6.49USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 17:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Not Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Pet Friendly"
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Mourne Mountains?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 88%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 88%

Location 88%

Safety 90%

Staff 92%

Value 88%

Showing 1-2 of 2 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A wonderful home from home in a stunning location. Mairead is one of the nicest ladies one can meet and made our stay even more special :)

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great place, great location, fantastic and helpful staff.

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the lovely comment, it is always great to have guests like you who appreciate the service and hospitality of The Mourne Lodge.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Welcome, cleanliness and comfort.

Disliked: Finding it in the dark and fog with a mal functioning sat nav. (Not a good idea)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind comments. So glad to have you stay with us, we have put up new signs which should help our guests find us. Do visit us again if you get the chance.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Friendly and welcoming staff, good location for seeing the surrounding areas if you have a car.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind comment, glad you enjoyed your time with us. Do visit us again if the opportunity arises.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: the location was great right under the hills

Disliked: no dislikes

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your kind comments. Sorry we are late getting back to you but thank you and hope you will visit us again with your mountain friends.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: many different things for breakfast (fresh fruit salat , scones, soda bread, toast....)

Disliked: many crumbs in marmelade and butter, dust on breakfast table dishes

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Sorry you did not find everything perfect, it is always a good idea to bring these things to our attention immediately so that we can address the problem. Usually the problem can be solved for you immediately. It is off putting got find crumbs in the marmalade, especially when it is a homemade one.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: living area was spacious

Disliked: Very hard to find- signs missing, but also posted as either cnocfeola or mourne lodge. Our room was small, quite dank, and the manager had a commercial dehumidifier trying to dry it. It has no view of the mountains, and appears to be in an industrial wasteland.


The property's response is

Norman,
Thanks for your comments. Unfortunately the rooom you had is a small en-suite one with no view I would agree but the building was built as a replacement for an old dance hall and we could do very little about the site. We use the dehumidifier throughout the centre from time to time, especially after a group to ensure there are no smells and if we have excess rain that the centre is completely dry. Sorry to see you give 40% for cleanliness but you should have brought this to my attention

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability