We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Derry hostels

Reviews of Paddy's Palace

Hostel | 1 Woodleigh Terrace, Derry, Northern Ireland BT48 7ED

76.8% Overall Rating

128 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/01/2013)

John Bennett thinks…

"Staff were really cool and willing to help out where needed . Very clean and well looked after building. Close to town and attractions.Would have no problem staying there again."

Read all Paddy's Palace reviews

Facilities

  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Derry?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Derry

Derry City Independent Hostel
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.1% 298 reviews
Dolce Vita Derry
24.34 USD

Guesthouse 97.1% 4 reviews
Hostel Connect
21.10 USD

Hostel 94.3% 7 reviews
Iona Inn
16.23 USD

Guesthouse 89.2% 14 reviews
Carrowmena Hostel
17.85 USD

Hostel 85.1% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.8%

Overall Rating

128 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Paddy's Palace'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 123 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Marko Steppen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: nothing so that i would say: go that proptery

Disliked: Beds, linen, blanket, bathroom, kitchen. And the garden(out side area) is a place of rubbish. that there is a second building, i want to stay in the main building, not somewhere else. Happend once before in my life, that was in bolivia.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Horn

Alone

Family Holiday

10 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: Price, atmosphere.

Disliked: A lot of people sharing a few showers, exacerbated with one out of order.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lucille Nelles

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014

Liked: the common room but it was too small

Disliked: the rooms were to small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mardi swords

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 mardi would recommend this property

Liked: Good company

Disliked: N/A

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, common room, breakfast

Disliked: n/a

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 April 2013

Liked: our departure

Disliked: dirty kitchen (i.e. no dish washing solution), dirty shower and toilet, no toilet paper, extremely dirty, not enough toast for breakfast, we felt very uncomfortable there unfortunately we booked to nights, the look at our door was broken

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

PAULA WISEMAN

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013 PAULA would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very friendly and helpful

Disliked: walls were a bit thin, and could hear what was going on in the nxt room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Chiara Cazzaniga

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2013 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: Room spacious and nice, staff's friendliness

Disliked: It was really cold in all our stabiliment!!!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Diogo Calado

Alone

City break

03 January 2013 Diogo would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy living room and delicious jams for breakfast.

Disliked: Only a little of hot water to take shower.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013

Liked: Good location

Disliked: The owner told us we could park on the same street that the hostels on as long as we weren't on double yellow lines (obviously). I wasn't sure if this was right so asked a different staff member and she said the same thing. When we came back from the £4 walking tour (which is really average) we had a parking ticket! Joy. The 4 bed dorms are really small with hardly any where to put your bag n stuff.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Bennett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

02 January 2013 John would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really cool and willing to help out where needed . Very clean and well looked after building. Close to town and attractions.Would have no problem staying there again.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Polly Marks

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

24 December 2012 Polly would recommend this property

Liked: Ike is awesomeeeeee

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Kennedy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is cozy and a great place for meeting other travellers. They also had beautiful Christmas decorations up whic I loved! The hostel has a great fully stocked kitchen and the rooms were clean and warm. Best of all the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Eileen left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2012

Liked: Kitchen facilities.

Disliked: Very family - sit around sing songs. Didnt have our booking when we arrived. Might be good for some, but not really for me.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing amazing basic accomadtion but nice infront of the fire.

Disliked: Small electric showers not the best

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2012

Liked: Nice kitchen

Disliked: In our buildings there was no separating toilets from the shower, and not enough bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PATRICK MCCORMICK

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 July 2012 PATRICK would recommend this property

Liked: A nice warm and welcoming establishment with comfortable clean bed and rooms - no hassle all foreigners friendly and easy going - you wouldnt get that in an Hotel or B+B!!!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: It's a fun place with a great vibe. Close enough to downtown but far enough to get some shut-eye. They have pub crawls and city tours. Bug Steve to teach you the basics of the Irish game of Hurling.

Disliked: Mary left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sylvia Bremen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 June 2012 Sylvia would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very nice and helpful and can also be great fun. The place has a cozy and homely atmosphere! Pub Crawls and City Tours are good value for money.

Disliked: Sylvia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Shoffner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: The building is absolutely fantastic! Full of character good vibes! The staff were great and Steven puts on a great pub crawl! Derry is a great city also!

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Osland

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The location, breakfast provided, nice sitting and dining area

Disliked: the room for 6 people was really small. I couldn't sit up on the bottom bunk but that's not a huge deal. Also, the front door was almost never locked.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Douglas Oxer

Alone

Relaxation/spa

24 April 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Ideal for the City

Disliked: The room was ver cramp. Too many people in the room, for the size of the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such lovely, welcoming and friendly staff. So refreshing to stay somewhere that you feel comfortable. Best hostel we have ever stayed in and we have done a lot of travel. Will recommend to everyone. Thanks so much

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rui Dias

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2012 Rui would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! the Staff and the management are friendly and great craic and was one of the best experiences i had in along time! Im going back and definately recomend.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helping staff. Good location.

Disliked: With the laundry washing I'd recommend the fastest spin rather than just regular, for the laundry to dry quicker.


See all Derry hostels