We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel

Apartment | 32 Causeway road, Bushmills, Northern Ireland BT578SU.

93.0% Overall Rating

50 out of 52 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

"Staff was awesome, the view was great, less than 5 minutes walk to the causaway 'n bus stop."

Read all Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Golf course

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bushmills?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

50 out of 52 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Finn McCool's Giants Causeway Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 43 of 51 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was awesome, the view was great, less than 5 minutes walk to the causaway 'n bus stop.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location!

Disliked: nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The unique hostel to stay at if you want to enjoy the giant's causeway without charter bus tourists : we went before breakfast or/and for sunset, it's so close ! Great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice premises : this hostel is something special and I definitely recommend it ! Very welcoming to backpackers as well as children.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014

Liked: It was close to the giants causeway and breakfast was awesome!

Disliked: I stayed 2 nights and both times the shower was cold. Also the staff did not know much and there was no manager on site. The room they put us inward meant for 1 person but somehow made it a 4 person room. If I wasn't rooming with friends it would have been awkward.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aude Mabille

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 July 2014 Aude would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice place to stay, the staff is quite friendly and helpful! It is next to the Giants Causeway. I recommended staying there!!

Disliked: It is a little bit difficult to find, they should put signs on the road.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is fantastic, Isobel was very kind and helpful, and thanks to her we got to see more than we had originally planned. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip.hostel was clean and comfortable with beautiful views. Breakfast was lovely. We were made to feel welcome, great place to stay !!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Adrian Haisan

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 October 2013 Adrian would recommend this property

Liked: It is very close to Giant's Causeway.

Disliked: I think the breakfast can be improved. It is also a bit remote from the main town in the area, Bushmills, and if you are travelling without a car the transport options are very limited. There is a single bus that goes very rarely till about ~18.00 in the evening.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The organization of the hostel was very impressive, and the fact that everyone was made so welcome. I was there on a night where there was a free dinner, which was a huge taco feast. The breakfast is very good as well, included in the price. The location of course is great. I would highly recommend the hostel!

Disliked: I liked everything.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cecile Manset

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Cecile would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect, frindly and funny staff providing a warm welcome and everything you need, very clean and new rooms. The location allows you to go to the Giant's Causeway to see the sunset. I had a wonderful time there and I would definitely recommend this hostel !!

Disliked: Cecile left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location near Giant's Causeway. Nice peaceful view at back of hostel. Large kitchen reasonably well equipped. Book swap. Pleasant decor. Nice breakfast.

Disliked: TV constantly on in lounge which completely spoilt that room & also ruined the peace & pleasantness of the conservatory. If there has to be a TV it should be in the reception room. Cold drinks machine in the conservatory - totally unnecessary in our opinion & very noisy & intrusive. Lack of hooks in bedroom. The girl who had just started working as an 'intern' was very pleasant & friendly but no one seemed to be giving her any training, & lots of little things that could have been done weren't - eg keeping the surfaces around the tea/coffee machine clean, sorting out WC which was very slow to fill (my husband did it)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location Safety Excellent internet connections throughout house. Mellow staff Felt more like a dorm

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Welcoming staff, clean rooms, breakfast provided as part of stay & no washing up or stripping the beds.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, breakfat and dinner are available

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very convenient for the Giant's Causeway, and the staff were friendly and did a wonderful breakfast. The room and common areas were clean and the bunks were comfy.

Disliked: The room was cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Holloway

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel we stayed at in all of Ireland!! It was clean, friendly and you get a cooked breakfast!!!! Wish we could of stayed here more nights!

Disliked: nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Colin Beaumont

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and location perfect for Giants Causeway

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

paul cullen

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 January 2013 paul would recommend this property

Liked: internet

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola O'Loughlin

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 December 2012 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Clean comfortable friendly. Very handy for the causeway.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maïté Rebeyrol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2012 Maïté would recommend this property

Liked: Nous y sommes retournés pour la seconde fois. Steeve est toujours un hote accueillant qui offre la possibilité de manger des burgers sur place le soir pour moins de 5 Euros.

Disliked: Maïté left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is fabulous!!! Best hostel I have ever stayed in.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Fairbairn

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly cheap considering Steve the warden cooks a fabulous evening meal of burger, salad and chips for an astonishing £3.50, and breakfast is free the next morning. The location is awesome overlooking Ballintrae and a 10 min walk to Causeway beating the morning tourists on their bus loads

Disliked: The only minor criticism was there were only 2 showers available and one delivered tepid water, but Steve had warned us about it.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Caitlin Johnson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 September 2012 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: This property was clean and the location was amazing, only 2minutes walk to the Giant Causeway. They put on a bbq which was delicious and also had a free hot brekkie which was sick.

Disliked: Nothing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zach Cheverie-Hudson

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Zach would recommend this property

Liked: Steve the owner and manager was very inviting and cooked up some great food for us. We also forgot our camera at the nearby pub and he was kind enough to send it to us in another part of Ireland. I would recommend this place to anyone heading to the Giant's Causeway!

Disliked: Zach left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location: the hostel is just 1 minute walk from the Giant's Causeway. The staff is friendly and helpful. Excellent Irish breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARGARET ADAMS

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2012 MARGARET would recommend this property

Liked: the nearness to the causeway is brillent. the day we stayed was warm and sunny. the children really enjoyed them selves

Disliked: nothing