HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

94.1% Overall Rating

222 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Kimberly Grant thinks…

"It's like staying with a big family. The staff gets to know all the new travellers and makes every feel welcome and chilled. People eat together and watch movies together."

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.65

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.34 USD

Hostel 73.9% 807 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.17 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.36 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.53 USD

Hostel 81.6% 576 reviews
Global Village
23.16 USD

Hostel 92.1% 173 reviews
City Backpacker
24.82 USD

Hostel 87.2% 53 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
52.95 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.34 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

222 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 222 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marko Steppen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2014 Marko would recommend this property

Liked: staff, chill out area, furnishing, amenities

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and inviting

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Athmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kimberly Grant

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Kimberly would recommend this property

Liked: It's like staying with a big family. The staff gets to know all the new travellers and makes every feel welcome and chilled. People eat together and watch movies together.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lee Ward

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: The location to where a special convention was located was only five minutes away, and it was very close to get something to eat as well. The flexibility with the warm welcoming was also amazing as well.

Disliked: The Free Wi-Fi was good, but it wasn't really powerful enough for me to use it though.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The environment

Disliked: A bit noisy at night

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Noisy at night, bathrooms inadequate for number of rooms/guests (often busy and can't get in), bathrooms not very clean and not always stocked with toilet paper, etc. We had girls who came into the room late at night and woke others up. Not really a problem with the hostel, but was a sleep issue for us. Breakfast was disorganized. Some written instructions on walls or staff present for help out would be a good idea.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and lots of fun was had! The rooms were good and had their own lockers. I am a girl and was travelling on my own and felt safe there.

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Price is fair, location is alright too, not too far from all main attractions by walking. You won't have private bathroom in dorms, but the shared bathrooms are pretty clean and they have 2 showers and toilets on each floor so won't get too crowded. Rooms are nicely decorated, and the greatest thing is they have stable wifi in rooms!

Disliked: I didn't have a feeling that the staff were very friendly (they were still friendly i'd say but could be even better). The atmosphere in the hostel is not very good, people seldom talk to you and such. The location as I said is good for traveling around the city, but the surroundings are not so well, it's located in a china town-liked area, and a lot of drunk people during evenings on weekends. Also if you are carrying a lot of luggage or heavy luggage with you, be prepared to carry it up stairs, there are 3 floors. Breakfast is free provided, but it's very simple just cereals and bread.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stephanie Noble

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2014 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, atmosphere was really engaging and the layout encourages people to get to know one another. Staff beyond helpful with finding things locally and also booking trips. Breakfast was basic but sufficient for most.

Disliked: Leaving

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeffrey Weishaupt

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2014 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff!! I was traveling alone and when I checked in at the hostel I asked about the black cab tour. They said it would be cheaper if I went with some other hostel guests and they would be happy to arrange it for me. Had a fantatstic tour and got to meet and befriend some of the other guests. The staff is happy to offer advise and help arrange whatever activity you want to plan. The staff cooked dinner for us one evening and then we all ventured out together to take in a local pub. It was an absolutely fantastic evening. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here if I travel to Belfast again.

Disliked: Jeffrey left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynsey McKinnon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

18 March 2014 Lynsey would recommend this property

Liked: It was the cleanest hostel I stayed at on my trip (you could actually smell the bleach!). Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We had an absolute blast and would stay here again for sure whenever we will come to Belfast again. The perfect stay!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

09 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, homely and room was a reasonable size. Shared bathrooms were in great condition and there was plenty of space to put your stuff. Good location which seemed to be handy for most things. It had a cool little outside area with pool table which was a plus. Good breakfast too by most hostel standards. Staff were exceptionally helpful, especially with booking trips. An all round good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff

Disliked: downstairs dorm very cold, moved upstairs which was fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean hostel with excellent facilities and friendly staff.

Disliked: Perhaps a little nosier than I expected past the "curfew" but it wasn't an issue for me or my friends since we'd had a few beers in the local bars anyway and fell asleep fairly quickly!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brianna Ford

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Brianna would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. To start, it's cheap. Location is pretty good. 15 minutes walk into city centre, but there are tons of stores and restaurants around. The atmosphere is amazing. Art everywhere, largel common room right in the front with movies and games, covered garden in back with pool tables and places to chill, kitchen is good, and during breakfast everyone sits around one large table which makes it easier to talk and meet people. Everyone is always hanging out, on any given night you'll find people in the back chilling with beer and new friends. It was so easy to meet people here because of all the common area you are given.In fact, when we were there people changed their one or two night reservations to a week because we were all having so much fun together. Music is always being played, and staff not only helps you with issues, they hang out, talk, and provide impromptu pub crawls! Onto the property:There are a lot of bathrooms (home style, no stalls) and they are VERY clean. Rooms are large, colorful, well decorated, and have ample space in the middle (with a table) for everyone to hang out. The beds are comfortable, the blankets were warm, and there are lockers under the bed for your stuff. Vagabonds was safe, clean and had the best vibe of any hostel I've ever stayed in. it's hands down the BEST one I've personally been to and I compare EVERY SINGLE hostel I go to to Vagabonds, which makes me nostalgic for my time there! Plus, there's a cute kitty that hangs around outside, and delicious burrito place called Boojum right around the corner.

Disliked: Literally nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hang out room, relax room, kitchen, outdoor games room (can be chilly if cold!), staff, daily activities and options, knowledge of staff

Disliked: the entrance door!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good party environment

Disliked: For people looking for à relaxing environment environment is not the correct place. Other guest takes your food from freezer

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Liam Mallon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 December 2013 Liam would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and the breakfast provided.

Disliked: Our booking via Hostelbookers was apparently not on their system so we did not get the room we payed for on the first night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jason Broadfoot

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2013 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: We had a great stay here. We really felt at home. The staff was excellent, especially Freddy who cooked us meals and took us on pub crawls.

Disliked: Jason left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Mersdorf

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: I never experienced such a family-like atmoshpere in a hostel! I stayed there for a long weekend (Fr - Mo) After checking they gave me a quick brief of the hostel and of the places and tours of belfast gave me a small map with recommended sights and their opening times. They also help you to organise trips like the black-taxi tour so you can group up with other travellers to save some money. In the evening there were some drinking games in the common rooms where you can easily join or just sit at the table and watch and talk. For me it was hard to differ who is staff and who is not and i mean that in the most positive way! So go there and become a part of the family, they might even take you to your bed after a long night dancing at a bar...

Disliked: Alexander left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Trn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I arrived in Belfast too early to check in, but the staff let me drop my bag off. I ended up going to the Giant's Causeway and stayed late. My bus back to Dublin was leaving at 3:00 am, which I explained to the staff. They let me hang out, take a shower, and use a couple of their outlets without charging me for a room, because I wouldn't have had any time to sleep. I appreciated that very much.

Disliked: The shower leaked a bit, so the bathroom floor got a little wet. The hostel isn't located poorly per se, but it was a little difficult to find once I got to the right area - it's in a large flat in a row with other flats and I walked by it once before I saw it. This isn't a major problem, just something to keep in mind when you're on your way there.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Colin Cheong

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 October 2013 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, sociable staff and great community facilities and atmosphere.

Disliked: A few small things bugged me. The hot water was completely gone the first night and I tried every shower. The second night I got in earlier and whilst warm wasn't piping hot and still a bit flaky. The cages underneath the bed aren't very well designed, you can twist them around easily making a lock useless. Half the bed lights were also missing globes - meaning most people used the room light and disturbed sleepers.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere to socialize, clean, very close to the city center. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: If you are looking for party is fine, but if you are not it will be impossible to rest. People do not respect the "do not make noise after eleven" rule and keep on shouting until 2 am on a Monday night as the common areas are open and there is nobody at the reception during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sean Greaney

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

08 October 2013 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: One of the top 5 hostels I've ever stayed at. Awesome staff, great place with a lot of character, good location despite being outside the city center - near to pubs, restaurants and the main University; great nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing.