HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast Hostel

9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.43USD

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

BOOKINGS FOR 30TH AND 31ST DECEMBER 2014: This Hostel only accept international travelers and 2 nights minimum stay is required. Locals will be refused entry and no deposit refund will be provided.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 51-52 of 52 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cute and comfortable little hostel in a good area of Belfast. We stayed in a double room which is pretty big. Staff made an effort to organise and book the black taxi tour for us. Breakfast decent and included. Showers clean and outside area with table tennis and pool a fun area to meet others.

Disliked: Only some showers were 24 hrs, others you could only use between certain times. The washing powder in the drawer didn't go through the wash properly so our clothes had just been rinsed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Vegemite for Aussies - SO GOOD. And FRUIT! Comfy beds, lockers, friendly staff!

Disliked: Lumpy pillows, bathroom floor flooded with water.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, friendly atmosphere, Good showers and they had vegemite on the table.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff who were wonderfully welcoming and helpful in organising trips and sharing local knowledge.

Disliked: Despite being very clean, the dorm room had a 'stale' smell to it and needed freshening up.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. To start, it's cheap. Location is pretty good. 15 minutes walk into city centre, but there are tons of stores and restaurants around. The atmosphere is amazing. Art everywhere, largel common room right in the front with movies and games, covered garden in back with pool tables and places to chill, kitchen is good, and during breakfast everyone sits around one large table which makes it easier to talk and meet people. Everyone is always hanging out, on any given night you'll find people in the back chilling with beer and new friends. It was so easy to meet people here because of all the common area you are given.In fact, when we were there people changed their one or two night reservations to a week because we were all having so much fun together. Music is always being played, and staff not only helps you with issues, they hang out, talk, and provide impromptu pub crawls! Onto the property:There are a lot of bathrooms (home style, no stalls) and they are VERY clean. Rooms are large, colorful, well decorated, and have ample space in the middle (with a table) for everyone to hang out. The beds are comfortable, the blankets were warm, and there are lockers under the bed for your stuff. Vagabonds was safe, clean and had the best vibe of any hostel I've ever stayed in. it's hands down the BEST one I've personally been to and I compare EVERY SINGLE hostel I go to to Vagabonds, which makes me nostalgic for my time there! Plus, there's a cute kitty that hangs around outside, and delicious burrito place called Boojum right around the corner.

Disliked: Literally nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The staff are fantastic, and the common room and kitchen always have someone in them to talk to. There were lots of tours and sights the staff could recommend. It was one of the friendliest atmospheres I've been in.

Disliked: Nothing major. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great (although still better than some other places I've stayed). The bathrooms sometimes ran out of toilet paper, and you had to find another.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very familiar and easy going. Brilliant staff!

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a shower with a temperature below 35°C. But I guess it was because of my own stupidness ;)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is very friendly, clean and nice. The space also is large and in the kitchen there is everything you might need. Good and helthy breakfast in the morning

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place was really clean and friendly in a great part of Belfast. It was an easy walk from the bus station and easy to find. It was perfect for me as I wanted to do a lot of sightseeing. The staff were able to direct me to the sights and good food with no problems. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: The door to the room sometimes didn't lock and the lockers in the room were only big enough for handbag and camera. The lockers could also be opened with the lock still on it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I do not even have the time nor the words to explain how wonderful this hostel is!! The staff is by far the best group of people you could ask for! They are extremely helpful, FUN, and just all around brilliant people! They took us out on the town and really showed us a good time. They were really good at getting all the travelers involved and we were able to make tons of great friends! The actual hostel is very bright and inviting, homey, and clean! You could sit and relax and not feel out of place. You could go shoot pool with the many cool people you meet there and have a blast! The hostel has so much culture and an abundance of character! It is located just perfectly. Walking distance to pretty much everything (except maybe the Titanic Exhibition) I always felt safe because I felt like family! I wish there were Vagabonds everywhere! It was the number one stay I had on my whole month long trip and Vagabonds made Belfast one of my favorite places!

Disliked: Ummmmm NOTHING!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability