HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast Hostel

9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 95%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 96%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.55USD

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

BOOKINGS FOR 30TH AND 31ST DECEMBER 2014: This Hostel only accept international travelers and 2 nights minimum stay is required. Locals will be refused entry and no deposit refund will be provided.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 95%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 96%

Value 96%

Showing 51-58 of 58 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The staff are fantastic, and the common room and kitchen always have someone in them to talk to. There were lots of tours and sights the staff could recommend. It was one of the friendliest atmospheres I've been in.

Disliked: Nothing major. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great (although still better than some other places I've stayed). The bathrooms sometimes ran out of toilet paper, and you had to find another.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very familiar and easy going. Brilliant staff!

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a shower with a temperature below 35°C. But I guess it was because of my own stupidness ;)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: It is very friendly, clean and nice. The space also is large and in the kitchen there is everything you might need. Good and helthy breakfast in the morning

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This place was really clean and friendly in a great part of Belfast. It was an easy walk from the bus station and easy to find. It was perfect for me as I wanted to do a lot of sightseeing. The staff were able to direct me to the sights and good food with no problems. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: The door to the room sometimes didn't lock and the lockers in the room were only big enough for handbag and camera. The lockers could also be opened with the lock still on it.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I do not even have the time nor the words to explain how wonderful this hostel is!! The staff is by far the best group of people you could ask for! They are extremely helpful, FUN, and just all around brilliant people! They took us out on the town and really showed us a good time. They were really good at getting all the travelers involved and we were able to make tons of great friends! The actual hostel is very bright and inviting, homey, and clean! You could sit and relax and not feel out of place. You could go shoot pool with the many cool people you meet there and have a blast! The hostel has so much culture and an abundance of character! It is located just perfectly. Walking distance to pretty much everything (except maybe the Titanic Exhibition) I always felt safe because I felt like family! I wish there were Vagabonds everywhere! It was the number one stay I had on my whole month long trip and Vagabonds made Belfast one of my favorite places!

Disliked: Ummmmm NOTHING!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping

Liked: Staffs are really friendly and helpful. The property is clean, well-organized and it's located in a good location. I feel like I'm home when I spent time there...really don't want to go back home!

Disliked: Have nothing bad to say!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff were great!!! The place had a very relaxed and comfortable feel to it. I felt at home here and was very sad that I had leave.

Disliked: There wasn't much space for bags in the room. They have storage baskets under the bed that can be locked, but they can only fit smaller bags.

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: An interesting mix of people, of all ages (a good percentage of the guests were aged 45+).

Disliked: The rooms were very noisy, I was unable to get a full nights' sleep on either night I was there. The staff that were present on one night weren't trained in how to deal with the fire alarm going off during the evening - their first response when it went off was to tell people NOT to evacuate the building until they had checked whether there actually was a fire! They didn't know what to do, which resulted in stress and panic both for them and for guests (and the fire alarm continued to ring (loudly) for at least 30 minutes.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The common areas were great for promoting mingling with other guests.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: The situation, the staff, the doublé room is good.

Disliked: Nothing special.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability