HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

92.8% Overall Rating

219 out of 223 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Kimberly Grant thinks…

"It's like staying with a big family. The staff gets to know all the new travellers and makes every feel welcome and chilled. People eat together and watch movies together."

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.70

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.91 USD

Hostel 76.7% 805 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.74 USD

Hostel 83.5% 41 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.43 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
22.06 USD

Hostel 83.3% 559 reviews
Global Village
23.76 USD

Hostel 91.9% 169 reviews
City Backpacker
25.46 USD

Hostel 88.9% 45 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
67.04 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.91 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.8%

Overall Rating

219 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 219 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds is amazing, everything you could ever want from a hostel. Breakfast were great, all the advice was even better, sorted everything in belfast really fast and plenty of advice for the rest of my trip. highly recommend stay for belfast. so warm and friendly.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlena Rademacher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Marlena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff is great, the hostel is clean, my friend and I loved the tours they offer, the breakfast free and you've free tea and coffee all day. The hostel isn't far from the city center and the university is right around the corner so you've all those cheap restaurants and clubs and bars there. Even though that there are lots of people going out at night it isn't loud or anything and if you're a "light sleeper" they've earplugs as well. ;-) And yeah... it's a hostel so if you wanna have a quiet place with no one to bother you... go to a hotel! I loved it and recommend it!

Disliked: Marlena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Moeller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This hostel was a great place to stay at, whether with a group or alone. The common areas were good places to hang out and meet new people and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to make it back to Belfast in the future.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds has great staff and the quality of accommodations is far above standard for the hostels I've stayed at. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone else looking for a hostel that makes you feel right at home.

Disliked: I don't think there is anything to dislike about Vagabonds. No complaints, I think it's the best hostel in Belfast.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2012

Liked: Breakfast simple, but ok. Room was ok and clean, but small. The location is not in the city centre, but is easy to find if you look in the Google maps before and it is near from the Europa bus station (where the buses from airport stops/departs).

Disliked: The showers were very dirty. Only 3 showers in the Hostel. The major problem was that I was not able to sleep until 2am, because of the loud noisy of people drinking and talking in the hostel, is a totally lack of respect. And I am wondering if a hostel is a place of rest/sleep at night, like a hotel or now is a bar!!!!!!!! Of course everybody likes to meet other people in a trip, but there is a difference between a hostel and a bar. I will never stay in this hostel again. There are many people that don’t drink, or many people that wants to sleep. If a hostel is a bar, please change the name of the place! Other strange thing was to leave my passport in the reception, I stayed in many hostels in different countries and this was the first time that this happened. I don’t think it is good to leave my passport with others.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place! Nice and clean rooms, and outstandingly friendly and helpful staff. Thanks for a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was great. The atmosphere was amazing and staff incredibly friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot rave enough about this hostel. Clean room, well appointed kitchen and nice common areas, great location, good breakfast, fantastic staff... what else can you want? If you're going to Belfast stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brian McDermott

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

23 August 2012 Brian would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, freindly staff, great location.

Disliked: Brian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

10 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff went out of their way to be helpful with everything

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the environment

Disliked: all the bathrooms at ground floor and the bedroom in the 3rd....

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Sheerman-Chase

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, welcoming staff, great atmosphere and in an wonderful city. Highly rate this hostel.

Disliked: John left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

06 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, clean, really close to city center, I liked it.

Disliked: Breakfast was quite basic, but can't complain much since it was all good.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

04 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly atmosphere, helpful and pleasant staff, great that it has a pool table and garden area

Disliked: breakfast wasn't great but it was free

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Meredith Radke

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 August 2012 Meredith would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYONE that goes to Belfast should stay at Vagabonds! I have been traveling for 7 months and this was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff is amazing, I can't say enough good things about them! You will never want to leave Belfast once you're there. The atmosphere of the hostel is so welcoming and it has everything you could ever need from a hostel. Very secure with multiple locker options. Nice and clean. Free breakfast until 11, love it. Great common spaces. I already miss Vagabonds and it's only been 2 days! This is what all hostels should be.

Disliked: NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Kliment

Alone

City break

30 July 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The Vagabonds Hostel has good location in city centre,very safe,free breakfast and the atmosphere is excellent.Gerry tell you everything you should know about Belfast.One of the best hostel I have ever stayed in U.K.The black cab taxi tour in west Belfast is highly recommended!

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

17 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and clean. The staff couldn't do more for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely amazing hostel with amazing staff. The atmosphere is great and there are lots of opportunities to hang out and meet people.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Davis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing hostel, I've been travelling for 4 months and it's one of the best I've been to. Great staff, excellent atmosphere, such a fun place to be! Excellent bathrooms, kitchen, common area, and a great outdoor pool table and drinking area. Within easy walking distance to city centre. I'll definitely stay here again if I'm back in Belfast.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi Davine

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2012 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, just outstanding, so loved the atmosphere, seriously great people, will make every effort to get back there, they really went above and beyond to give directions and make you feel at home. Classic room, full and hum but, but Im getting used to dorm sleeping. Loved it, was really sad to leave.

Disliked: nothing, loved it

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Needham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2012 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The place had great character with lots of funky artwork on the walls. The staff was helpful and nice and the travelers were friendly. Everything was very accommodating. The staff gave us tips for where to eat and what bars are best but it wasn't noisy or packed with partiers that keep you up all night. Probably one of the best hostels I've been to.

Disliked: Breakfast was pretty standard but that always means I wish it was better. The place needs more bathrooms but that's me being picky.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! I'd have to say that the best thing is the staff, the're all great and really helpfull (the owner saved my life lol) I'd definitely come back.

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: style

Disliked: busy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, particularly Sarah, Curt and Richard were so helpful.

Disliked: Nothing I can think of

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Edyta Bodnar

Alone

Events / festivals

26 June 2012 Edyta would recommend this property

Liked: very attentive and helpful staff

Disliked: no recycling policy, small-ish rooms