HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast Hostel

9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 95%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.57USD

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

BOOKINGS FOR 30TH AND 31ST DECEMBER 2014: This Hostel only accept international travelers and 2 nights minimum stay is required. Locals will be refused entry and no deposit refund will be provided.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 97%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 95%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 95%

Showing 41-50 of 64 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Me encanto!!!! el mejor hostel que visite alguna vez, es limpio, bien ubicado, comodo, tiene muuuucha onda! genial 100% recomendado!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The character.Staff.Table tennis, pool table.

Disliked: Specific beds should be reserved to avoid confusion as to where you should go

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, very clean hostel. Such character! It really is a great place to stay!

Disliked: We had our labelled (soft) drink in the fridge drank (about a pint gone!), which we were going to use as a mixer, so we had to buy more. One evening, other guests talking loudly at length outside our door.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife

Liked: I thought it was a great hostel! I live near Belfast anyway (stayed at Vagabonds after a night out to save the bother of a taxi), but I'd recommend it if you're staying around the university area. Great atmosphere, but is quiet enough at night to be able to sleep.

Disliked: My room was very warm, although the bedding provided was useful - I was able to layer as much as was comfortable.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Cute and comfortable little hostel in a good area of Belfast. We stayed in a double room which is pretty big. Staff made an effort to organise and book the black taxi tour for us. Breakfast decent and included. Showers clean and outside area with table tennis and pool a fun area to meet others.

Disliked: Only some showers were 24 hrs, others you could only use between certain times. The washing powder in the drawer didn't go through the wash properly so our clothes had just been rinsed.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Vegemite for Aussies - SO GOOD. And FRUIT! Comfy beds, lockers, friendly staff!

Disliked: Lumpy pillows, bathroom floor flooded with water.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great staff, friendly atmosphere, Good showers and they had vegemite on the table.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff who were wonderfully welcoming and helpful in organising trips and sharing local knowledge.

Disliked: Despite being very clean, the dorm room had a 'stale' smell to it and needed freshening up.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everything. To start, it's cheap. Location is pretty good. 15 minutes walk into city centre, but there are tons of stores and restaurants around. The atmosphere is amazing. Art everywhere, largel common room right in the front with movies and games, covered garden in back with pool tables and places to chill, kitchen is good, and during breakfast everyone sits around one large table which makes it easier to talk and meet people. Everyone is always hanging out, on any given night you'll find people in the back chilling with beer and new friends. It was so easy to meet people here because of all the common area you are given.In fact, when we were there people changed their one or two night reservations to a week because we were all having so much fun together. Music is always being played, and staff not only helps you with issues, they hang out, talk, and provide impromptu pub crawls! Onto the property:There are a lot of bathrooms (home style, no stalls) and they are VERY clean. Rooms are large, colorful, well decorated, and have ample space in the middle (with a table) for everyone to hang out. The beds are comfortable, the blankets were warm, and there are lockers under the bed for your stuff. Vagabonds was safe, clean and had the best vibe of any hostel I've ever stayed in. it's hands down the BEST one I've personally been to and I compare EVERY SINGLE hostel I go to to Vagabonds, which makes me nostalgic for my time there! Plus, there's a cute kitty that hangs around outside, and delicious burrito place called Boojum right around the corner.

Disliked: Literally nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The staff are fantastic, and the common room and kitchen always have someone in them to talk to. There were lots of tours and sights the staff could recommend. It was one of the friendliest atmospheres I've been in.

Disliked: Nothing major. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great (although still better than some other places I've stayed). The bathrooms sometimes ran out of toilet paper, and you had to find another.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability