HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

94.1% Overall Rating

222 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Kimberly Grant thinks…

"It's like staying with a big family. The staff gets to know all the new travellers and makes every feel welcome and chilled. People eat together and watch movies together."

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.21 USD

Hostel 84.8% 582 reviews
Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
City Backpacker
24.34 USD

Hostel 86.7% 55 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

222 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 222 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed at, staff are amazing! Dorms and bathrooms are clean. Second time I have been here and will defintely be back. Would recommend vagabonds to everyone!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Malins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... staff very helpful and friendly, our bed was amazing, breakfast great and they organised a bbq for everyone. Great way to meet people and great location.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Reccia

Alone

City break

28 January 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: Stefano left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique and very social hostel that was very busy.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, the staff didn't always communicate well. Felt like I paid a bit more than what I got in return.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the nicest hostel i've stayed in. Great value for money, staff were really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is great. Rooms were clean and the common areas were great craic in the evening times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eduardo Vieira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent place. The staff is friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is great, good location and fairly good accommodations.

Disliked: I have a little complaint about the bathrooms. There are mold on the ceiling, nothing serious for the most, but it can be a problem for an allergic person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ventral to everything in town, friendly staff

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location and good facilities in the hostel

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun O'Hara

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just a short walk from the Ulster Museum and Botanic Gardens as well as being close to lots of great music venues. The staff were fantastic and got us in touch with an awesome cab tour driver! had a fantastic time there!

Disliked: Cannot think of anything bad to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Rosplock

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely adore this home...I mean hostel. But that is what it feels like. Home. First night there, I was shown around the building and was given information about the hotspots in Belfast. The rest of the days, I became quick friends with people who were staying there and the staff. The atmosphere is thick with warmth, friendliness and open hospitality. I caused quite a few problems like losing keys, mail issues and the such but there was no sign of hesitation or impatience in helping me out! This is truly the perfect place to go to. I stay again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Smith

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: This was an amazing hostel to use for a short or long stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and inclusive (Mathew). The rooms and communal areas are clean and comfortable. Guests are friendly and interested in chatting. It is really well located very easy to get to the city center, airport and arenas. The perfect place to stay, better than a hotel!

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Porter

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds Hostel is a great, value for money option if you are staying in Belfast. It is well located for the Queens University area but is also only 5-10 mins walk from the city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel happily has an 11.30pm noise curfew, so you won't be woken up by loud eejits if you're trying to sleep! Basic breakfast is also included in the price. All in all, I would recommend Vagabonds.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful genuinely nice people. Everything you need is here. Clean rooms, beds, towels. all showers work. Hot water no problems. Common rooms comfortable and clean. I could go on and on

Disliked: really struggling on this one

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very lucky to choose Vagabonds, coz it was the same feeling as when you stay at home. The stuffs were all very nice people, and the all the conditions were much better than some other hostels' that I had lived before.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you’re going to Belfast, staying at Vagabonds is a must. The hostel stands on University road, minutes away from lively pubs and great shopping; the perfect stating point to visit this vibrant city. The hostel itself is nothing short of an art piece. Each and every wall has been decorated with quirky pictures and, if you fancy, you can even pen your own name on the dining room decor. The facilities are exactly what you need. Great clean rooms, hot showers, security lockers, solid wifi, free breakfast and an awesome pool table! Prepare to make friends at Vagabonds. The staff are champions, Matt, Sara and Richard had really great itinerary suggestions, were always happy to go the extra mile and certainly know how to have fun! If the weather is terrible, you wont be sorry to hang out in this hostel, there is always a great atmosphere and these guys will make sure you are entertained until the dark mist clears. Thanks a lot for a great stay guys! I am very happy to recommend you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Kohl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: It was the smallest hostel I've ever stayed in but I felt this made it a more cozy environment. I felt very comfortable and at home in this hostel.

Disliked: The bedrooms were a bit crowded.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Laws

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Really liked the communal areas and very good shower!

Disliked: Outside areas was a little dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic and the rooms were a decent size and very clean.

Disliked: Only 3 showers which got a bit interesting during busy times. Also quite limited times of hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Stanley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in many hostels all over Europe and the UK, this was by far the best I've ever stayed in! The staff are all so friendly and helpful, the location is great, completely clean and always something to do around the hostel. So friendly, even if you were travelling alone you'd meet a lot of people and have a good time.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, everything was fantastic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, atmosphere excellent, great place to meet people, the list goes on

Disliked: Only thing was I had to check out early and didn't realise there was no one here before 0730 so I missed my bus

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erik Paulsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: breakfast, no bath/toilet in twin room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is what hostels and backpacking are all about. Firstly, the location. It is about a 10 minute short walk out of the main city centre (or 2 minute bus ride - buses come along every few minutes). The nearby shops, bars and cafe's in the local university area are much better value than in the main city centre and you've got a great choice. Hostel facilities include a main reception, computer area with free wi-fi, quiet relaxation room, main lounge with large Freesat TV and a huge choice of DVD movies, breakfast area, fully fitted kitchen, laundry, games room and outdoor area. There are various sized bedrooms from 6 bed to 14 bed dorms. Bed sheets were changed every day. You get a good sized storage basket under your bunk bed (bring your own padlock). You also get a locker outside your room on the landing (key supplied by hostel). The ground floor has 3 toilets and showers. All facilities are very clean and well fitted out. In the event you get any untidy guests, the staff are always on had to keep the place looking immaculate. The staff can't do enough for you. They can recommend all of the best tours to go on in and around the city and they will even take the trouble to book them for you. When they aren't serving on reception, they are always busy cleaning or helping customers around the hostel - you never, ever see them sat around doing nothing. They clearly take pride in their place of work. The atmosphere was great. What I love about hostels like Vagabond's is that you can meet lots of people who are doing the same thing as you - often on short city sightseeing breaks, so you get the opportunity to share ideas and opinions about all the best places to visit. A great example of this is the 'Black Cab Tour ' of the former trouble zones that the hostel advertises. The tour provides an excellent insight into a bygone era when Belfast was a total 'no-go' area, hosted by knowledgeable drivers / guides, who know all the best places to go. Whilst it costs £30 for a taxi, the hostel go to the trouble of finding plenty of guests to fill each vehicle, thus if you are on your own, it should still only cost you £10. Likewise, the hostel can also book you on an excellent value trip along the North Antrim coast, taking in sights like the Giant's Causeway, Bushmill's Whiskey Distillery, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle and Dunluce Castle. Food was great. A self-help, all-you-can eat breakfast, with a choice of 3 cereals, brown and white bread, toast, jams and peanut butter! It is usually served from 8am but on the 2 days I had to get up early to go on tours, they were more than happy to let me have breakfast slightly earlier. During the day, you have the use of a truly fully fitted kitchen to prepare your own food - they even throw in pasta for free! One thing that is often overlooked nowadays is plug points. Guests often want to charge their mobiles, tablets and laptops. There are plenty of plug points around the building so this isn't a problem. The building felt very safe and secure and there was a very relaxed atmosphere throughout. £16 a night for a 6 bed dorm was just about right. This is a fantastic hostel that ticks all the right boxes and is highly recommended. If I return to Belfast in the future, I won't hesitate to book at Vagabonds again.

Disliked: Your opinion of any holiday accommodation will ultimately be based upon your expectation levels. Some people only want to pay budget hostel prices but then expect 5 star hotel facilities in return. This is simply not right. A case in point is the review posted on 10th September 2012 which rated Vagabonds at just 34.3%. I stayed at the hostel the week before that posting. Yes, there are only 3 showers, and they are all on the ground floor. But I never once had to queue up for them. And they were all beautifully fitted out, clean and towels & soap etc were on hand, just in case you had forgot your own. With regrads to the aforementioned review saying there was noise from the bar, all I can say is why not request a room away from the bar when making your booking? I did, and the hostel was more than obliging and I experienced absolutely no problems. In my bedroom, some selfish individual had used the cage under my bed to store his things in. This obviously wasn't the fault of the hostel, yet they took the trouble to fix me up with an additional locker for the evening until the basket was emptied the following day. In short, I've absolutely no complaints. The service I received was way in excess of my typical expectations at any hostel. Keep up the good work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BEN DILLON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 BEN would recommend this property

Liked: well located... very clean (staff always walking around cleaning)... great atmosphere with plenty of travellers passing through to hang out with...

Disliked: nothing...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Quirky building. Good amenities nearby.

Disliked: Location was a little out of the centre. Room I stayed in could do with a lick of paint but otherwise a really enjoyable stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ke Jun Baey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Ke Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus and train stations. Nice to have free coffee and tea all day. Lockers available both inside and outside the rooms. Extremely helpful staff who gave us tips regarding the Giant's Causeway tour even though we did not book the package from them.

Disliked: A few black-outs on one night due to short circuiting, but it wasn't a major problem and was resolved very quickly.