HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

92.9% Overall Rating

210 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Jeffrey Weishaupt thinks…

"This is without a doubt the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff!! I was traveling alone and when I checked in at the hostel I asked about the black…"

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.79 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.49 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.97 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.79 USD

Hostel 89.4% 536 reviews
Global Village
23.50 USD

Hostel 90.2% 161 reviews
City Backpacker
25.18 USD

Hostel 91.4% 40 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.72 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

210 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 210 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Smith

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: This was an amazing hostel to use for a short or long stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and inclusive (Mathew). The rooms and communal areas are clean and comfortable. Guests are friendly and interested in chatting. It is really well located very easy to get to the city center, airport and arenas. The perfect place to stay, better than a hotel!

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fiona Porter

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2012 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds Hostel is a great, value for money option if you are staying in Belfast. It is well located for the Queens University area but is also only 5-10 mins walk from the city centre. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hostel happily has an 11.30pm noise curfew, so you won't be woken up by loud eejits if you're trying to sleep! Basic breakfast is also included in the price. All in all, I would recommend Vagabonds.

Disliked: Nothing negative to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful genuinely nice people. Everything you need is here. Clean rooms, beds, towels. all showers work. Hot water no problems. Common rooms comfortable and clean. I could go on and on

Disliked: really struggling on this one

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very lucky to choose Vagabonds, coz it was the same feeling as when you stay at home. The stuffs were all very nice people, and the all the conditions were much better than some other hostels' that I had lived before.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you’re going to Belfast, staying at Vagabonds is a must. The hostel stands on University road, minutes away from lively pubs and great shopping; the perfect stating point to visit this vibrant city. The hostel itself is nothing short of an art piece. Each and every wall has been decorated with quirky pictures and, if you fancy, you can even pen your own name on the dining room decor. The facilities are exactly what you need. Great clean rooms, hot showers, security lockers, solid wifi, free breakfast and an awesome pool table! Prepare to make friends at Vagabonds. The staff are champions, Matt, Sara and Richard had really great itinerary suggestions, were always happy to go the extra mile and certainly know how to have fun! If the weather is terrible, you wont be sorry to hang out in this hostel, there is always a great atmosphere and these guys will make sure you are entertained until the dark mist clears. Thanks a lot for a great stay guys! I am very happy to recommend you!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lydia Kohl

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Lydia would recommend this property

Liked: It was the smallest hostel I've ever stayed in but I felt this made it a more cozy environment. I felt very comfortable and at home in this hostel.

Disliked: The bedrooms were a bit crowded.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jennifer Laws

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere. Really liked the communal areas and very good shower!

Disliked: Outside areas was a little dirty.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were fantastic and the rooms were a decent size and very clean.

Disliked: Only 3 showers which got a bit interesting during busy times. Also quite limited times of hot water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Stanley

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in many hostels all over Europe and the UK, this was by far the best I've ever stayed in! The staff are all so friendly and helpful, the location is great, completely clean and always something to do around the hostel. So friendly, even if you were travelling alone you'd meet a lot of people and have a good time.

Disliked: Absolutely nothing, everything was fantastic.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great, atmosphere excellent, great place to meet people, the list goes on

Disliked: Only thing was I had to check out early and didn't realise there was no one here before 0730 so I missed my bus

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Erik Paulsen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Erik would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: breakfast, no bath/toilet in twin room

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

19 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place is what hostels and backpacking are all about. Firstly, the location. It is about a 10 minute short walk out of the main city centre (or 2 minute bus ride - buses come along every few minutes). The nearby shops, bars and cafe's in the local university area are much better value than in the main city centre and you've got a great choice. Hostel facilities include a main reception, computer area with free wi-fi, quiet relaxation room, main lounge with large Freesat TV and a huge choice of DVD movies, breakfast area, fully fitted kitchen, laundry, games room and outdoor area. There are various sized bedrooms from 6 bed to 14 bed dorms. Bed sheets were changed every day. You get a good sized storage basket under your bunk bed (bring your own padlock). You also get a locker outside your room on the landing (key supplied by hostel). The ground floor has 3 toilets and showers. All facilities are very clean and well fitted out. In the event you get any untidy guests, the staff are always on had to keep the place looking immaculate. The staff can't do enough for you. They can recommend all of the best tours to go on in and around the city and they will even take the trouble to book them for you. When they aren't serving on reception, they are always busy cleaning or helping customers around the hostel - you never, ever see them sat around doing nothing. They clearly take pride in their place of work. The atmosphere was great. What I love about hostels like Vagabond's is that you can meet lots of people who are doing the same thing as you - often on short city sightseeing breaks, so you get the opportunity to share ideas and opinions about all the best places to visit. A great example of this is the 'Black Cab Tour ' of the former trouble zones that the hostel advertises. The tour provides an excellent insight into a bygone era when Belfast was a total 'no-go' area, hosted by knowledgeable drivers / guides, who know all the best places to go. Whilst it costs £30 for a taxi, the hostel go to the trouble of finding plenty of guests to fill each vehicle, thus if you are on your own, it should still only cost you £10. Likewise, the hostel can also book you on an excellent value trip along the North Antrim coast, taking in sights like the Giant's Causeway, Bushmill's Whiskey Distillery, Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Carrickfergus Castle and Dunluce Castle. Food was great. A self-help, all-you-can eat breakfast, with a choice of 3 cereals, brown and white bread, toast, jams and peanut butter! It is usually served from 8am but on the 2 days I had to get up early to go on tours, they were more than happy to let me have breakfast slightly earlier. During the day, you have the use of a truly fully fitted kitchen to prepare your own food - they even throw in pasta for free! One thing that is often overlooked nowadays is plug points. Guests often want to charge their mobiles, tablets and laptops. There are plenty of plug points around the building so this isn't a problem. The building felt very safe and secure and there was a very relaxed atmosphere throughout. £16 a night for a 6 bed dorm was just about right. This is a fantastic hostel that ticks all the right boxes and is highly recommended. If I return to Belfast in the future, I won't hesitate to book at Vagabonds again.

Disliked: Your opinion of any holiday accommodation will ultimately be based upon your expectation levels. Some people only want to pay budget hostel prices but then expect 5 star hotel facilities in return. This is simply not right. A case in point is the review posted on 10th September 2012 which rated Vagabonds at just 34.3%. I stayed at the hostel the week before that posting. Yes, there are only 3 showers, and they are all on the ground floor. But I never once had to queue up for them. And they were all beautifully fitted out, clean and towels & soap etc were on hand, just in case you had forgot your own. With regrads to the aforementioned review saying there was noise from the bar, all I can say is why not request a room away from the bar when making your booking? I did, and the hostel was more than obliging and I experienced absolutely no problems. In my bedroom, some selfish individual had used the cage under my bed to store his things in. This obviously wasn't the fault of the hostel, yet they took the trouble to fix me up with an additional locker for the evening until the basket was emptied the following day. In short, I've absolutely no complaints. The service I received was way in excess of my typical expectations at any hostel. Keep up the good work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

BEN DILLON

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2012 BEN would recommend this property

Liked: well located... very clean (staff always walking around cleaning)... great atmosphere with plenty of travellers passing through to hang out with...

Disliked: nothing...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Quirky building. Good amenities nearby.

Disliked: Location was a little out of the centre. Room I stayed in could do with a lick of paint but otherwise a really enjoyable stay.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ke Jun Baey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2012 Ke Jun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to bus and train stations. Nice to have free coffee and tea all day. Lockers available both inside and outside the rooms. Extremely helpful staff who gave us tips regarding the Giant's Causeway tour even though we did not book the package from them.

Disliked: A few black-outs on one night due to short circuiting, but it wasn't a major problem and was resolved very quickly.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugene O'HARE

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

07 October 2012 Eugene would recommend this property

Liked: Centrally locared, clean, secure and extremely helpful anf friendly staff.

Disliked: All good.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderful place, with fantastic staff.. Fast wi-fi, great atmosphere, extensive book exchange and great common areas. Would love to go back again and again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Scott

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds is amazing, everything you could ever want from a hostel. Breakfast were great, all the advice was even better, sorted everything in belfast really fast and plenty of advice for the rest of my trip. highly recommend stay for belfast. so warm and friendly.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlena Rademacher

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Marlena would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The staff is great, the hostel is clean, my friend and I loved the tours they offer, the breakfast free and you've free tea and coffee all day. The hostel isn't far from the city center and the university is right around the corner so you've all those cheap restaurants and clubs and bars there. Even though that there are lots of people going out at night it isn't loud or anything and if you're a "light sleeper" they've earplugs as well. ;-) And yeah... it's a hostel so if you wanna have a quiet place with no one to bother you... go to a hotel! I loved it and recommend it!

Disliked: Marlena left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Moeller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2012 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This hostel was a great place to stay at, whether with a group or alone. The common areas were good places to hang out and meet new people and the staff were all extremely helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again if I'm lucky enough to make it back to Belfast in the future.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds has great staff and the quality of accommodations is far above standard for the hostels I've stayed at. I would definitely stay again and recommend it to anyone else looking for a hostel that makes you feel right at home.

Disliked: I don't think there is anything to dislike about Vagabonds. No complaints, I think it's the best hostel in Belfast.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

City break

10 September 2012

Liked: Breakfast simple, but ok. Room was ok and clean, but small. The location is not in the city centre, but is easy to find if you look in the Google maps before and it is near from the Europa bus station (where the buses from airport stops/departs).

Disliked: The showers were very dirty. Only 3 showers in the Hostel. The major problem was that I was not able to sleep until 2am, because of the loud noisy of people drinking and talking in the hostel, is a totally lack of respect. And I am wondering if a hostel is a place of rest/sleep at night, like a hotel or now is a bar!!!!!!!! Of course everybody likes to meet other people in a trip, but there is a difference between a hostel and a bar. I will never stay in this hostel again. There are many people that don’t drink, or many people that wants to sleep. If a hostel is a bar, please change the name of the place! Other strange thing was to leave my passport in the reception, I stayed in many hostels in different countries and this was the first time that this happened. I don’t think it is good to leave my passport with others.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant place! Nice and clean rooms, and outstandingly friendly and helpful staff. Thanks for a great time!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place was great. The atmosphere was amazing and staff incredibly friendly and helpful.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I cannot rave enough about this hostel. Clean room, well appointed kitchen and nice common areas, great location, good breakfast, fantastic staff... what else can you want? If you're going to Belfast stay here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.