HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast Hostel

9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.30USD

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

BOOKINGS FOR 30TH AND 31ST DECEMBER 2014: This Hostel only accept international travelers and 2 nights minimum stay is required. Locals will be refused entry and no deposit refund will be provided.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 31-34 of 34 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I never experienced such a family-like atmoshpere in a hostel! I stayed there for a long weekend (Fr - Mo) After checking they gave me a quick brief of the hostel and of the places and tours of belfast gave me a small map with recommended sights and their opening times.They also help you to organise trips like the black-taxi tour so you can group up with other travellers to save some money. In the evening there were some drinking games in the common rooms where you can easily join or just sit at the table and watch and talk. For me it was hard to differ who is staff and who is not and i mean that in the most positive way!So go there and become a part of the family, they might even take you to your bed after a long night dancing at a bar...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had a great stay here. We really felt at home. The staff was excellent, especially Freddy who cooked us meals and took us on pub crawls.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, sociable staff and great community facilities and atmosphere.

Disliked: A few small things bugged me. The hot water was completely gone the first night and I tried every shower. The second night I got in earlier and whilst warm wasn't piping hot and still a bit flaky. The cages underneath the bed aren't very well designed, you can twist them around easily making a lock useless. Half the bed lights were also missing globes - meaning most people used the room light and disturbed sleepers.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice atmosphere to socialize, clean, very close to the city center. Very friendly staff.

Disliked: If you are looking for party is fine, but if you are not it will be impossible to rest. People do not respect the "do not make noise after eleven" rule and keep on shouting until 2 am on a Monday night as the common areas are open and there is nobody at the reception during the night.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Felt do at home. Friendly staff and guests

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good atmosphere, clean and convenient

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Highly recommended! This place has a great atmosphere, very open and friendly. It is a really good place to meet people and the staff are the best. The rooms and bathrooms are clean and well decorated. Would stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Couldnt recomend it more, people where soooo friendly, the room was clean and nice, its real centeral and a great place of youths to stay as its in the centre of the stuydent area!

Disliked: LItrally nothing, i guess thier was a guy in my room that snoored like a monster but youd get that anywhere :)

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I arrived in Belfast too early to check in, but the staff let me drop my bag off. I ended up going to the Giant's Causeway and stayed late. My bus back to Dublin was leaving at 3:00 am, which I explained to the staff. They let me hang out, take a shower, and use a couple of their outlets without charging me for a room, because I wouldn't have had any time to sleep. I appreciated that very much.

Disliked: The shower leaked a bit, so the bathroom floor got a little wet. The hostel isn't located poorly per se, but it was a little difficult to find once I got to the right area - it's in a large flat in a row with other flats and I walked by it once before I saw it. This isn't a major problem, just something to keep in mind when you're on your way there.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I always enjoy the friendly welcome, the comfortable atmosphere, and it's great location to so many great things in the city.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability