HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast Hostel

9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.30USD

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

BOOKINGS FOR 30TH AND 31ST DECEMBER 2014: This Hostel only accept international travelers and 2 nights minimum stay is required. Locals will be refused entry and no deposit refund will be provided.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 94%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 21-30 of 34 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Price is fair, location is alright too, not too far from all main attractions by walking. You won't have private bathroom in dorms, but the shared bathrooms are pretty clean and they have 2 showers and toilets on each floor so won't get too crowded. Rooms are nicely decorated, and the greatest thing is they have stable wifi in rooms!

Disliked: I didn't have a feeling that the staff were very friendly (they were still friendly i'd say but could be even better). The atmosphere in the hostel is not very good, people seldom talk to you and such. The location as I said is good for traveling around the city, but the surroundings are not so well, it's located in a china town-liked area, and a lot of drunk people during evenings on weekends. Also if you are carrying a lot of luggage or heavy luggage with you, be prepared to carry it up stairs, there are 3 floors. Breakfast is free provided, but it's very simple just cereals and bread.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location.

Disliked: Noisy at night, bathrooms inadequate for number of rooms/guests (often busy and can't get in), bathrooms not very clean and not always stocked with toilet paper, etc. We had girls who came into the room late at night and woke others up. Not really a problem with the hostel, but was a sleep issue for us. Breakfast was disorganized. Some written instructions on walls or staff present for help out would be a good idea.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Business / conference, City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, atmosphere was really engaging and the layout encourages people to get to know one another. Staff beyond helpful with finding things locally and also booking trips. Breakfast was basic but sufficient for most.

Disliked: Leaving

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: It was the cleanest hostel I stayed at on my trip (you could actually smell the bleach!). Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We had an absolute blast and would stay here again for sure whenever we will come to Belfast again. The perfect stay!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is without a doubt the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff!! I was traveling alone and when I checked in at the hostel I asked about the black cab tour. They said it would be cheaper if I went with some other hostel guests and they would be happy to arrange it for me. Had a fantatstic tour and got to meet and befriend some of the other guests. The staff is happy to offer advise and help arrange whatever activity you want to plan. The staff cooked dinner for us one evening and then we all ventured out together to take in a local pub. It was an absolutely fantastic evening. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here if I travel to Belfast again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable, homely and room was a reasonable size. Shared bathrooms were in great condition and there was plenty of space to put your stuff. Good location which seemed to be handy for most things. It had a cool little outside area with pool table which was a plus. Good breakfast too by most hostel standards. Staff were exceptionally helpful, especially with booking trips. An all round good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean hostel with excellent facilities and friendly staff.

Disliked: Perhaps a little nosier than I expected past the "curfew" but it wasn't an issue for me or my friends since we'd had a few beers in the local bars anyway and fell asleep fairly quickly!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good party environment

Disliked: For people looking for à relaxing environment environment is not the correct place. Other guest takes your food from freezer

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hang out room, relax room, kitchen, outdoor games room (can be chilly if cold!), staff, daily activities and options, knowledge of staff

Disliked: the entrance door!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff and the breakfast provided.

Disliked: Our booking via Hostelbookers was apparently not on their system so we did not get the room we payed for on the first night.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability