HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast Hostel

9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.49USD

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

BOOKINGS FOR 30TH AND 31ST DECEMBER 2014: This Hostel only accept international travelers and 2 nights minimum stay is required. Locals will be refused entry and no deposit refund will be provided.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 95%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 95%

Location 94%

Safety 90%

Staff 98%

Value 94%

Showing 21-30 of 53 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Events / festivals

Liked: It was the cleanest hostel I stayed at on my trip (you could actually smell the bleach!). Everyone was so nice and accommodating. We had an absolute blast and would stay here again for sure whenever we will come to Belfast again. The perfect stay!

Disliked: Absolutely nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This is without a doubt the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff!! I was traveling alone and when I checked in at the hostel I asked about the black cab tour. They said it would be cheaper if I went with some other hostel guests and they would be happy to arrange it for me. Had a fantatstic tour and got to meet and befriend some of the other guests. The staff is happy to offer advise and help arrange whatever activity you want to plan. The staff cooked dinner for us one evening and then we all ventured out together to take in a local pub. It was an absolutely fantastic evening. I wouldn't stay anywhere but here if I travel to Belfast again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable, homely and room was a reasonable size. Shared bathrooms were in great condition and there was plenty of space to put your stuff. Good location which seemed to be handy for most things. It had a cool little outside area with pool table which was a plus. Good breakfast too by most hostel standards. Staff were exceptionally helpful, especially with booking trips. An all round good hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very clean hostel with excellent facilities and friendly staff.

Disliked: Perhaps a little nosier than I expected past the "curfew" but it wasn't an issue for me or my friends since we'd had a few beers in the local bars anyway and fell asleep fairly quickly!

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good party environment

Disliked: For people looking for à relaxing environment environment is not the correct place. Other guest takes your food from freezer

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: hang out room, relax room, kitchen, outdoor games room (can be chilly if cold!), staff, daily activities and options, knowledge of staff

Disliked: the entrance door!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Friendly staff and the breakfast provided.

Disliked: Our booking via Hostelbookers was apparently not on their system so we did not get the room we payed for on the first night.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I never experienced such a family-like atmoshpere in a hostel! I stayed there for a long weekend (Fr - Mo) After checking they gave me a quick brief of the hostel and of the places and tours of belfast gave me a small map with recommended sights and their opening times.They also help you to organise trips like the black-taxi tour so you can group up with other travellers to save some money. In the evening there were some drinking games in the common rooms where you can easily join or just sit at the table and watch and talk. For me it was hard to differ who is staff and who is not and i mean that in the most positive way!So go there and become a part of the family, they might even take you to your bed after a long night dancing at a bar...

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We had a great stay here. We really felt at home. The staff was excellent, especially Freddy who cooked us meals and took us on pub crawls.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, sociable staff and great community facilities and atmosphere.

Disliked: A few small things bugged me. The hot water was completely gone the first night and I tried every shower. The second night I got in earlier and whilst warm wasn't piping hot and still a bit flaky. The cages underneath the bed aren't very well designed, you can twist them around easily making a lock useless. Half the bed lights were also missing globes - meaning most people used the room light and disturbed sleepers.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability