We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

94.1% Overall Rating

222 out of 226 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

Kimberly Grant thinks…

"It's like staying with a big family. The staff gets to know all the new travellers and makes every feel welcome and chilled. People eat together and watch movies together."

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.62

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.92 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.76 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.60 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.22 USD

Hostel 81.8% 580 reviews
Global Village
22.73 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
City Backpacker
24.36 USD

Hostel 87.2% 54 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.96 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.92 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
94.1%

Overall Rating

222 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
93.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
95.2%
Value
94.4%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 188 of 222 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Zimmerman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The staff are fantastic, and the common room and kitchen always have someone in them to talk to. There were lots of tours and sights the staff could recommend. It was one of the friendliest atmospheres I've been in.

Disliked: Nothing major. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great (although still better than some other places I've stayed). The bathrooms sometimes ran out of toilet paper, and you had to find another.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very familiar and easy going. Brilliant staff!

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a shower with a temperature below 35°C. But I guess it was because of my own stupidness ;)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An interesting mix of people, of all ages (a good percentage of the guests were aged 45+).

Disliked: The rooms were very noisy, I was unable to get a full nights' sleep on either night I was there. The staff that were present on one night weren't trained in how to deal with the fire alarm going off during the evening - their first response when it went off was to tell people NOT to evacuate the building until they had checked whether there actually was a fire! They didn't know what to do, which resulted in stress and panic both for them and for guests (and the fire alarm continued to ring (loudly) for at least 30 minutes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chiara ceolin

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2013 chiara would recommend this property

Liked: It is very friendly, clean and nice. The space also is large and in the kitchen there is everything you might need. Good and helthy breakfast in the morning

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Bloomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: This place was really clean and friendly in a great part of Belfast. It was an easy walk from the bus station and easy to find. It was perfect for me as I wanted to do a lot of sightseeing. The staff were able to direct me to the sights and good food with no problems. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: The door to the room sometimes didn't lock and the lockers in the room were only big enough for handbag and camera. The lockers could also be opened with the lock still on it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are really friendly and helpful. The property is clean, well-organized and it's located in a good location. I feel like I'm home when I spent time there...really don't want to go back home!

Disliked: Have nothing bad to say!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great!!! The place had a very relaxed and comfortable feel to it. I felt at home here and was very sad that I had leave.

Disliked: There wasn't much space for bags in the room. They have storage baskets under the bed that can be locked, but they can only fit smaller bags.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The situation, the staff, the doublé room is good.

Disliked: Nothing special.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place!! I loved it! it was clean, with good facilities, FREE lockers, excellent breakfast included and the complementary food, tea, etc. they offer saved my life! and they also have free WIFI in common areas and even in the rooms. Amazingly nice staff too! Specially Curt who was a life saver and made my stay incredible and let me use the hostel to escape from the rain until it was time for my flight! I was travelling alone and I felt safe here! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 May 2013 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great atmosphere, comfortable common areas, lots of bathrooms and showers(tho small)

Disliked: Mattresses were very cheap and bunks were child sized, I fit ok but barely(5'9")

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Lovejoy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Really great friendly atmosphere, its very easy to get chatting to all the other travellers staying. The staff are amazing - very helpful and welcoming. Events organised most nights of the week. Easy walk from the centre and from the university and botanical gardens. The free breakfast buffet certainly does the trick. Cool outdoor drinking area with a pool table and ping-pong table where people normally gather before a night out. Overall I had a pretty fantastic time!

Disliked: You have to pay a £1 to use the computers. That's literally my only complaint. Even then, there's free wifi - so it's only non-laptop travellers like me who will get caught out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went over and above making me feel welcome. As soon as I walked in I felt at home. They organised the black cab taxi tour for me, and the breakfast included Vegemite!

Disliked: It was a little cold in the rooms in the evenings, the heater seems to be on a cycle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful atmosphere takes u an hour just to read posters going downstairs, great woodfire in lounge-room on those cold wet mornings. lovely choice for breakfast, tea and coffee any time, plenty of hot showers. very central to most things hardly ever used a bus.

Disliked: having to move on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice, clean property. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful with any question one might have. It's really close to Queen's, a lot of cafes, and lots of good food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giancarlo Bell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Work / volunteering

29 April 2013 Giancarlo would recommend this property

Liked: great vibes, lovely people, lots of brilliant wee touches like free coffee/tea, ideal location

Disliked: Giancarlo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, nice staff, quiet, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Mead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... Staff were super friendly, welcoming and helpful which made for such a good atmosphere, they were also always trying to get guests involved and were up for going out at night, which was great fun. The hostel itself was also really nice, super clean, proper individual bathrooms, great lounge and dining area and really cool interior to all the different rooms. Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, room very clean, 5 minutes walk to the city center. Ideal place to stay in Belfast!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything is very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Gessner

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed in several hostels across the uk and must confess that this is the best hostel i ve ever been to! the atmosphere is really cool, the staff is super friendly! they provide you with free pasta, tee and coffee and they are really helpful!

Disliked: nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel gardiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I havent been to such a good hostel in soooo long! Everyone working there is more than helpful and so friendly to everyone. If one of them didnt know the answer to something, it would become a group effort to find the answers for me. Just loved it. Going back to Belfast just to stay at Vagabonds!!!

Disliked: Didnt like leaving!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Forrest

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! The decor is the best I've ever seen, the kitchen is well equipped, the bathrooms are clean and there are plenty of them. Beds are comfy etc. What really makes this place special though is the staff. They are always ready to give well informed advice about where to eat, what is good to do etc. I stayed here 6 nights and they made me feel like family. I will be back i hope! Finally, awesome pub crawl on St Patricks day led by Conor!

Disliked: Leaving!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

juan mijares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 juan would recommend this property

Liked: Been travelling for 9 months to date. Vagabonds is right up there for what travellers are looking for in a hostel. Atmosphere and character wise, it is the best of all. Easy to be sociable, if you're the shy and quiet type. The guys make dinners sometimes, and are always keen to take the group out if there are numbers. 100% 'nuff said.

Disliked: juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael McKee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: it was extrememly clean, the the room was very stylish. showers were also great.

Disliked: i have nothing bad ot say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great design, comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds Belfast hostel is awesome, it has a great atmosphere and wonderful staff. I was traveling by myself when i arrived and I had a great time. I recommend this hotel to all the people I know who will be traveling to Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.