HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

92.9% Overall Rating

210 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Jeffrey Weishaupt thinks…

"This is without a doubt the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff!! I was traveling alone and when I checked in at the hostel I asked about the black…"

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.67

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.72 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.40 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.80 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.72 USD

Hostel 89.1% 535 reviews
Global Village
23.41 USD

Hostel 89.7% 160 reviews
City Backpacker
25.08 USD

Hostel 91.4% 40 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.54 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.50 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

210 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 210 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Lovejoy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic hostel! Really great friendly atmosphere, its very easy to get chatting to all the other travellers staying. The staff are amazing - very helpful and welcoming. Events organised most nights of the week. Easy walk from the centre and from the university and botanical gardens. The free breakfast buffet certainly does the trick. Cool outdoor drinking area with a pool table and ping-pong table where people normally gather before a night out. Overall I had a pretty fantastic time!

Disliked: You have to pay a £1 to use the computers. That's literally my only complaint. Even then, there's free wifi - so it's only non-laptop travellers like me who will get caught out.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff went over and above making me feel welcome. As soon as I walked in I felt at home. They organised the black cab taxi tour for me, and the breakfast included Vegemite!

Disliked: It was a little cold in the rooms in the evenings, the heater seems to be on a cycle.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christiane Casey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 May 2013 Christiane would recommend this property

Liked: wonderful atmosphere takes u an hour just to read posters going downstairs, great woodfire in lounge-room on those cold wet mornings. lovely choice for breakfast, tea and coffee any time, plenty of hot showers. very central to most things hardly ever used a bus.

Disliked: having to move on

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

07 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a very nice, clean property. The staff were very friendly and were very helpful with any question one might have. It's really close to Queen's, a lot of cafes, and lots of good food.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giancarlo Bell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Work / volunteering

29 April 2013 Giancarlo would recommend this property

Liked: great vibes, lovely people, lots of brilliant wee touches like free coffee/tea, ideal location

Disliked: Giancarlo left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, nice staff, quiet, good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Mead

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... Staff were super friendly, welcoming and helpful which made for such a good atmosphere, they were also always trying to get guests involved and were up for going out at night, which was great fun. The hostel itself was also really nice, super clean, proper individual bathrooms, great lounge and dining area and really cool interior to all the different rooms. Easily the best hostel I've ever stayed in!

Disliked: Having to leave

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly, room very clean, 5 minutes walk to the city center. Ideal place to stay in Belfast!

Disliked: Nothing. Everything is very good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manuel Gessner

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2013 Manuel would recommend this property

Liked: i stayed in several hostels across the uk and must confess that this is the best hostel i ve ever been to! the atmosphere is really cool, the staff is super friendly! they provide you with free pasta, tee and coffee and they are really helpful!

Disliked: nothing to complain about!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel gardiner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2013 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: I havent been to such a good hostel in soooo long! Everyone working there is more than helpful and so friendly to everyone. If one of them didnt know the answer to something, it would become a group effort to find the answers for me. Just loved it. Going back to Belfast just to stay at Vagabonds!!!

Disliked: Didnt like leaving!!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Forrest

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is great! The decor is the best I've ever seen, the kitchen is well equipped, the bathrooms are clean and there are plenty of them. Beds are comfy etc. What really makes this place special though is the staff. They are always ready to give well informed advice about where to eat, what is good to do etc. I stayed here 6 nights and they made me feel like family. I will be back i hope! Finally, awesome pub crawl on St Patricks day led by Conor!

Disliked: Leaving!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

juan mijares

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2013 juan would recommend this property

Liked: Been travelling for 9 months to date. Vagabonds is right up there for what travellers are looking for in a hostel. Atmosphere and character wise, it is the best of all. Easy to be sociable, if you're the shy and quiet type. The guys make dinners sometimes, and are always keen to take the group out if there are numbers. 100% 'nuff said.

Disliked: juan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael McKee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

26 February 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: it was extrememly clean, the the room was very stylish. showers were also great.

Disliked: i have nothing bad ot say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great design, comfortable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vagabonds Belfast hostel is awesome, it has a great atmosphere and wonderful staff. I was traveling by myself when i arrived and I had a great time. I recommend this hotel to all the people I know who will be traveling to Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Hill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: By far the best hostel I have stayed at, staff are amazing! Dorms and bathrooms are clean. Second time I have been here and will defintely be back. Would recommend vagabonds to everyone!

Disliked: Samantha left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Samantha Malins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Everything... staff very helpful and friendly, our bed was amazing, breakfast great and they organised a bbq for everyone. Great way to meet people and great location.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefano Reccia

Alone

City break

28 January 2013 Stefano would recommend this property

Liked: value for money

Disliked: Stefano left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unique and very social hostel that was very busy.

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms, the staff didn't always communicate well. Felt like I paid a bit more than what I got in return.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is the nicest hostel i've stayed in. Great value for money, staff were really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is great. Rooms were clean and the common areas were great craic in the evening times.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Eduardo Vieira

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013 Eduardo would recommend this property

Liked: Excelent place. The staff is friendly and helpful, the atmosphere is great, good location and fairly good accommodations.

Disliked: I have a little complaint about the bathrooms. There are mold on the ceiling, nothing serious for the most, but it can be a problem for an allergic person.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ventral to everything in town, friendly staff

Disliked: NA

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

04 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great location and good facilities in the hostel

Disliked: NA

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shaun O'Hara

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 December 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: The place is just a short walk from the Ulster Museum and Botanic Gardens as well as being close to lots of great music venues. The staff were fantastic and got us in touch with an awesome cab tour driver! had a fantastic time there!

Disliked: Cannot think of anything bad to say.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michelle Rosplock

Alone

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 December 2012 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely adore this home...I mean hostel. But that is what it feels like. Home. First night there, I was shown around the building and was given information about the hotspots in Belfast. The rest of the days, I became quick friends with people who were staying there and the staff. The atmosphere is thick with warmth, friendliness and open hospitality. I caused quite a few problems like losing keys, mail issues and the such but there was no sign of hesitation or impatience in helping me out! This is truly the perfect place to go to. I stay again in a heartbeat.

Disliked: Michelle left no negative feedback.