HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Vagabonds Belfast

Hostel | 9 University Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1NA

92.9% Overall Rating

210 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/03/2014)

Jeffrey Weishaupt thinks…

"This is without a doubt the friendliest hostel I have ever stayed at. Great atmosphere, great location, great staff!! I was traveling alone and when I checked in at the hostel I asked about the black…"

Read all Vagabonds Belfast reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

**Please note for Groups larger than 6 you must contact the hostel prior to making your booking. No stag and no hen parties.**

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.76 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.46 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.91 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.76 USD

Hostel 89.4% 536 reviews
Global Village
23.47 USD

Hostel 89.7% 160 reviews
City Backpacker
25.15 USD

Hostel 91.4% 40 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.57 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.65 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.9%

Overall Rating

210 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Vagabonds Belfast'

Atmosphere
96.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
95.2%
Value
93.6%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 178 of 210 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pär-Erik Karén

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2013 Pär-Erik would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: Pär-Erik left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Hopp

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 August 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: The character is quirky and comfortable. I felt at home and loved the facilities available to the guests.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Lacroix

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

10 August 2013 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: This is by far the best hostel I have ever stayed in and I've been to quite a few in quite a few different countries. The staff give the best of both worlds: they are great at their jobs, will help you with any questions or issues, and they keep everything clean and running smoothly while at the same time they will ensure that you have a fantastic, fun time in Belfast. They are friendly and fun and awesome. The hostel itself is also great, with some of the best common areas I've seen--great for meeting people or just chilling out. Great location as well with nearly everything in walking distance. I had such a good time that I added a night to my stay and blew off my scheduled flight home.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephanie Goldis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Stephanie would recommend this property

Liked: Cute and comfortable little hostel in a good area of Belfast. We stayed in a double room which is pretty big. Staff made an effort to organise and book the black taxi tour for us. Breakfast decent and included. Showers clean and outside area with table tennis and pool a fun area to meet others.

Disliked: Only some showers were 24 hrs, others you could only use between certain times. The washing powder in the drawer didn't go through the wash properly so our clothes had just been rinsed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff who were wonderfully welcoming and helpful in organising trips and sharing local knowledge.

Disliked: Despite being very clean, the dorm room had a 'stale' smell to it and needed freshening up.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were awesome.

Disliked: Not the property so much as the city, but the bars close early so heading out in time can be a hassle as people lose track of time in hostel playing pool etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Romina Wendling

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 Romina would recommend this property

Liked: Me encanto!!!! el mejor hostel que visite alguna vez, es limpio, bien ubicado, comodo, tiene muuuucha onda! genial 100% recomendado!

Disliked: Romina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Widdowfield

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff, very clean hostel. Such character! It really is a great place to stay!

Disliked: We had our labelled (soft) drink in the fridge drank (about a pint gone!), which we were going to use as a mixer, so we had to buy more. One evening, other guests talking loudly at length outside our door.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The character. Staff. Table tennis, pool table.

Disliked: Specific beds should be reserved to avoid confusion as to where you should go

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thought it was a great hostel! I live near Belfast anyway (stayed at Vagabonds after a night out to save the bother of a taxi), but I'd recommend it if you're staying around the university area. Great atmosphere, but is quiet enough at night to be able to sleep.

Disliked: My room was very warm, although the bedding provided was useful - I was able to layer as much as was comfortable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ian Cuthbertson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, friendly atmosphere, Good showers and they had vegemite on the table.

Disliked: Ian left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erin Shand

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2013 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic breakfast! Vegemite for Aussies - SO GOOD. And FRUIT! Comfy beds, lockers, friendly staff!

Disliked: Lumpy pillows, bathroom floor flooded with water.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chelsea Finklea

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2013 Chelsea would recommend this property

Liked: I do not even have the time nor the words to explain how wonderful this hostel is!! The staff is by far the best group of people you could ask for! They are extremely helpful, FUN, and just all around brilliant people! They took us out on the town and really showed us a good time. They were really good at getting all the travelers involved and we were able to make tons of great friends! The actual hostel is very bright and inviting, homey, and clean! You could sit and relax and not feel out of place. You could go shoot pool with the many cool people you meet there and have a blast! The hostel has so much culture and an abundance of character! It is located just perfectly. Walking distance to pretty much everything (except maybe the Titanic Exhibition) I always felt safe because I felt like family! I wish there were Vagabonds everywhere! It was the number one stay I had on my whole month long trip and Vagabonds made Belfast one of my favorite places!

Disliked: Ummmmm NOTHING!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common areas were great for promoting mingling with other guests.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at many hostels across Europe and this is by far the best. The rooms & bathrooms are clean and well-maintained, the kitchen facilities are excellent and the staff are all friendly and are able to recommend a great time in Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam Zimmerman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This is easily the best hostel I've stayed in so far. The staff are fantastic, and the common room and kitchen always have someone in them to talk to. There were lots of tours and sights the staff could recommend. It was one of the friendliest atmospheres I've been in.

Disliked: Nothing major. The water pressure in the showers wasn't great (although still better than some other places I've stayed). The bathrooms sometimes ran out of toilet paper, and you had to find another.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very familiar and easy going. Brilliant staff!

Disliked: I wasn't able to take a shower with a temperature below 35°C. But I guess it was because of my own stupidness ;)

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: An interesting mix of people, of all ages (a good percentage of the guests were aged 45+).

Disliked: The rooms were very noisy, I was unable to get a full nights' sleep on either night I was there. The staff that were present on one night weren't trained in how to deal with the fire alarm going off during the evening - their first response when it went off was to tell people NOT to evacuate the building until they had checked whether there actually was a fire! They didn't know what to do, which resulted in stress and panic both for them and for guests (and the fire alarm continued to ring (loudly) for at least 30 minutes.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

chiara ceolin

Alone

Work / volunteering

10 June 2013 chiara would recommend this property

Liked: It is very friendly, clean and nice. The space also is large and in the kitchen there is everything you might need. Good and helthy breakfast in the morning

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alice Bloomfield

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 June 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: This place was really clean and friendly in a great part of Belfast. It was an easy walk from the bus station and easy to find. It was perfect for me as I wanted to do a lot of sightseeing. The staff were able to direct me to the sights and good food with no problems. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Disliked: The door to the room sometimes didn't lock and the lockers in the room were only big enough for handbag and camera. The lockers could also be opened with the lock still on it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staffs are really friendly and helpful. The property is clean, well-organized and it's located in a good location. I feel like I'm home when I spent time there...really don't want to go back home!

Disliked: Have nothing bad to say!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were great!!! The place had a very relaxed and comfortable feel to it. I felt at home here and was very sad that I had leave.

Disliked: There wasn't much space for bags in the room. They have storage baskets under the bed that can be locked, but they can only fit smaller bags.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

27 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The situation, the staff, the doublé room is good.

Disliked: Nothing special.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place!! I loved it! it was clean, with good facilities, FREE lockers, excellent breakfast included and the complementary food, tea, etc. they offer saved my life! and they also have free WIFI in common areas and even in the rooms. Amazingly nice staff too! Specially Curt who was a life saver and made my stay incredible and let me use the hostel to escape from the rain until it was time for my flight! I was travelling alone and I felt safe here! THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Disliked: Nothing!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sean Gibson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 May 2013 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, great atmosphere, comfortable common areas, lots of bathrooms and showers(tho small)

Disliked: Mattresses were very cheap and bunks were child sized, I fit ok but barely(5'9")