HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Global Village

Hostel | 87 University St, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1HP

92.0% Overall Rating

170 out of 172 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/08/2014)

"The staff were great, especially the Aussie guy and the girl with colourful hair, they were very friendly and helpful."

Read all Global Village reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be advised that we do not accept group bookings for parties over 6 people, we do not accept hen or stag parties, sports groups or work nights out.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Lagan Backpackers
16.55 USD

Hostel 79.3% 573 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.54 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.37 USD

Hostel 74.1% 806 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.20 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.42 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.85 USD

Hostel 86.9% 51 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.02 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.37 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
92.0%

Overall Rating

170 out of 172 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Global Village'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
88.8%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 164 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, especially the Aussie guy and the girl with colourful hair, they were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great hostel! All the facilities are very clean, the dorm room was spacious and the common areas have a "home" feeling that was very welcoming with lots of personality. The kitchen is big and well-equipped. I never had to wait for a shower or a toilet. It's very easy to meet people and find buddies for excursions as both the guests and staff like to hang out there. It is a bit of a walk to the city center, but I would say the atmosphere of the hostel and the ease of meeting people there makes the walk worth it. Best hostel I stayed at on my month long trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The kitchen facilities were top notch and the complimentary spices, tea, milk etc we're very useful. Thanks to Jake at the front desk, you're a legend! Highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds.

Disliked: It was a decent walk from the city center and not in the greatest of neighborhoods.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff ! was very clean ! alot of things to do in hostel with games room, computers, kitchen etc. lovely place to stay

Disliked: i didnt not like anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grainne O'Neill

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 May 2014 Grainne would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, homely, free breakfast, friendly staff and good location. Great value for money!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, there was always someone either at the reception or around, ready to help or chat, Nice tv room with 2 computers and free wifi, nice, clean kitchen with lots of place to cook and eat, many showers which were always clean. Plus the room was quite large and full of light, there was a small heater but it was very efficient! The beds were clean and I slept really well in there! That's by far the best hostel I've stayed in in the UK and Ireland!

Disliked: Nothing. I guess the only issue we had is that it was 15-20 min from the city centre by foot but it's just as advertised on their page so I can't complain, and anyway, the hostel is very close to the University and botanical gardens so there are places to see even around it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff and good interaction

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff! they were very friendly and made my stay enjoyable.

Disliked: bathrooms/toilets can be improved - not enough stalls for everyone and extremely small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and social area. Friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Stayed in a Double Room. Showers are hot but poor power, double bed seemed small with a duvet that struggled to cover both of us. Front facing room which meant it was a little noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank McHugh

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good. Plenty of space.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in Belfast at Global Village! It is a nice small hostel with a great chilled vibe, the staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and there were plenty of showers etc.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Grinter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Mark, the owner, is an absolute gem! I had to sort out an insurance claim and he willingly assisted me with no hesitation. His staff are amazing too, friendly and easy to get along with! The facilities are great such as the kitchen, tv, wii and range of movies. If you are going to stay in belfast STAY HERE AND NOWHERE ELSE.. You won't regret it!! Top location, near everything and has everything you need in a hostel and more.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirstine Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Kirstine would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out atmosphere, friendly staff, clean rooms and good facilities. Our bed was really comfy and it was quiet at night. Excellent location - loved our visit!

Disliked: Kirstine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micayla Hardisty

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 July 2013 Micayla would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and decorations, nice kitchen and staff.

Disliked: A bit far away from the town center and public transit is a bit difficult.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Chee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, friendly staff, nice common area/kitchen

Disliked: A bit far from the city, 20 min walk, 45 min to Titanic Museum, and the floors are a bit creaky, 4 bed dorm is a bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stefan durkin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 stefan would recommend this property

Liked: global village is a gem of a place to stay in belfast a great location full of warmth and character with good amenities

Disliked: stefan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugene Nyunt

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Eugene would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Park Road Recycling Centre off Ormeau Road, and the Archana Restaurant along Dublin Road.

Disliked: No recycling facilities within the kitchen; everything seemed destined for landfill when separate bins for sorting could easily be provided. I also didn't particularly like a group of grossly inconsiderate males from London, whom thankfully I only had two nights without sleep near.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Widmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Daniel Lovizio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The room was ok and breakfast was free

Disliked: Completely dirty! Dishes for breakfast were dirty (with food stuck on them!), the toilet (private!) was full of hair and the smelt bad. Also, it was a bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Holloway

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and clean! Lots of character! Fox the receptionist is fun and helpful. Funky little hostel. We enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel provided an open and friendly environment for our short stay in Belfast. It is easily accessible from the city centre, we walked from the central bus station to the hostel and it only took about 25 minutes with our bags. There is free wi-fi and computers to use, a TV in a common room and a well-equipped kitchen (with herbs and spices for cooking and tea and coffee throughout the day).

Disliked: Probably just because we were there around St Patrick's Day, but the hostel was quite noisy, i.e. noise carried through it as if the walls were paper. We struggled to sleep at first, but once we got ear plugs from the reception it wasn't so bad. There were definitely not enough showers and toilets - 5 of each for hostel with 11 or 12 dorms. Had to get up early to make sure we got a shower, and water was not reliably hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was the best part about it...better than any other hostel I have stayed at. Staff was great and everything was very clean.

Disliked: Really no complaints. If I had to choose something it would be that it was a little out of the city center (although close to a lot of cafes and bars!).