We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Global Village

Hostel | 87 University St, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1HP

93.7% Overall Rating

185 out of 187 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/07/2015)

Brendan Petty thinks…

"Really good common area, very friendly culture amongst staff and those staying there. Great kitchen (the best we came across in Britain). Organised acvtivities in the evenings. Plenty of showers /…"

Read all Global Village reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.08

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be advised that we do not accept group bookings for parties over 6 people, we do not accept hen or stag parties, sports groups or work nights out.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Lagan Backpackers
16.93 USD

Hostel 82.9% 628 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.77 USD

Hostel 80.3% 324 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.54 USD

Hostel 72.1% 810 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.54 USD

Hostel 81.8% 51 reviews
Titanic Apartments
38.47 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.09 USD

Hostel 88.2% 8 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.47 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

185 out of 187 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Global Village'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
96.8%
Value
96.8%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 158 of 179 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 August 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very close to city center and very easy to locate

Disliked: the internet went off a couple of times that might service provider issue

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Brendan Petty

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 July 2015 Brendan would recommend this property

Liked: Really good common area, very friendly culture amongst staff and those staying there. Great kitchen (the best we came across in Britain). Organised acvtivities in the evenings. Plenty of showers / toilets.

Disliked: Bed wasn't the most comfortable ever, but was ok.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Doherty

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2015 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Such a fantastic place to stay! Relatively small hostel with clean and modern facilities. All staff members are friendly and helpful. You're made to feel a part of the family in just a matter of hours. 10/10 would recommend to anyone who wants to feel at home, on the road.

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bruna Sakamoto

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday

20 April 2015 Bruna would recommend this property

Liked: Receptive staff

Disliked: The hostel is ok... and that's it! Room is comfortable, but there is no sufficient lockers for everyone and the space between the bunk beds are terrible! You can't sit without hit your head if you are in the under bed. There is no interaction with the staff and in one night, there was a crazy guy who was walking through the building in his underwear... and showing more stuff (if you know what I mean...) Terrible!!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

annemarie scott

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2015 annemarie would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the four block bunk beds, when booking I thought myself and my party would be staying in standard two bed bunks but we weren't we loved our "shack" as we called it, so handy and they were so comfy and it was awesome that it had a plug an lamp inside and a curtain to give you privacy! hostel was very clean and quirky we loved the layout and design of the place, the kitchen and back yard area were so cool an we loved the fact we could leave our mark on the fridge. We will indeed be back! great value for money!

Disliked: the only negative aspect we had was that check out was very early!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and great to chat to! This hostel has a great atmosphere and felt like a home away from home

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very helpfull and friendly

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brett Parker

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Brett would recommend this property

Liked: Fox on the front desk was awesome helping me out when I need last min things printed. The girl who checked me in was nice and gave me a great tour.

Disliked: I couldn't find the milk for breakfast but I was downstairs before the 8am start so glad everything was laid out so I could made toast.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Rodrigo Barganian Casula

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014 Rodrigo would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was really nice, free printing, nice living room.

Disliked: One of the only two bathrooms was dirty so everyone was going to the other one, which made it unavailable most of the day.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy going people

Disliked: The walk from bus station

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jared Magid

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Jared would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is awesome! If they don't know an answer to your question they will work to find it out. There is also a free pub crawl from the place every night which is really fun. The staff really made my stay excellent and meeting other travellers was pretty easy in the kitchen. Nice beds and showers that actually work really well. The dog is a boss - when you stay you'll see what I mean.

Disliked: Wifi was a bit spotty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great, especially the Aussie guy and the girl with colourful hair, they were very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great hostel! All the facilities are very clean, the dorm room was spacious and the common areas have a "home" feeling that was very welcoming with lots of personality. The kitchen is big and well-equipped. I never had to wait for a shower or a toilet. It's very easy to meet people and find buddies for excursions as both the guests and staff like to hang out there. It is a bit of a walk to the city center, but I would say the atmosphere of the hostel and the ease of meeting people there makes the walk worth it. Best hostel I stayed at on my month long trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, incredibly helpful and friendly staff. The kitchen facilities were top notch and the complimentary spices, tea, milk etc we're very useful. Thanks to Jake at the front desk, you're a legend! Highly recommend this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds.

Disliked: It was a decent walk from the city center and not in the greatest of neighborhoods.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff ! was very clean ! alot of things to do in hostel with games room, computers, kitchen etc. lovely place to stay

Disliked: i didnt not like anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Grainne O'Neill

Alone

Work / volunteering

06 May 2014 Grainne would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, homely, free breakfast, friendly staff and good location. Great value for money!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, there was always someone either at the reception or around, ready to help or chat, Nice tv room with 2 computers and free wifi, nice, clean kitchen with lots of place to cook and eat, many showers which were always clean. Plus the room was quite large and full of light, there was a small heater but it was very efficient! The beds were clean and I slept really well in there! That's by far the best hostel I've stayed in in the UK and Ireland!

Disliked: Nothing. I guess the only issue we had is that it was 15-20 min from the city centre by foot but it's just as advertised on their page so I can't complain, and anyway, the hostel is very close to the University and botanical gardens so there are places to see even around it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff and good interaction

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff! they were very friendly and made my stay enjoyable.

Disliked: bathrooms/toilets can be improved - not enough stalls for everyone and extremely small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and social area. Friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Stayed in a Double Room. Showers are hot but poor power, double bed seemed small with a duvet that struggled to cover both of us. Front facing room which meant it was a little noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank McHugh

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good. Plenty of space.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Kitchen