HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Global Village

Hostel | 87 University St, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT7 1HP

90.2% Overall Rating

160 out of 161 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/09/2013)

Rebecca Young thinks…

"I really enjoyed my stay in Belfast at Global Village! It is a nice small hostel with a great chilled vibe, the staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and there were plenty of…"

Read all Global Village reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 3.36

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Please be advised that we do not accept group bookings for parties over 6 people, we do not accept hen or stag parties, sports groups or work nights out.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Lagan Backpackers
16.81 USD

Hostel 89.4% 536 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.86 USD

Hostel 92.9% 214 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.81 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.53 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.03 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
City Backpacker
25.22 USD

Hostel 91.4% 40 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.61 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.80 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

160 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Global Village'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
93.6%
Value
88.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 138 of 153 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Scott Drew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 April 2014 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, very helpful staff and good interaction

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: awesome staff! they were very friendly and made my stay enjoyable.

Disliked: bathrooms/toilets can be improved - not enough stalls for everyone and extremely small.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen and social area. Friendly staff. Great location.

Disliked: Stayed in a Double Room. Showers are hot but poor power, double bed seemed small with a duvet that struggled to cover both of us. Front facing room which meant it was a little noisy.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Frank McHugh

Alone

Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Frank would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities were good. Plenty of space.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Kitchen

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Young

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2013 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: I really enjoyed my stay in Belfast at Global Village! It is a nice small hostel with a great chilled vibe, the staff were friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean and there were plenty of showers etc.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Grinter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2013 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: Mark, the owner, is an absolute gem! I had to sort out an insurance claim and he willingly assisted me with no hesitation. His staff are amazing too, friendly and easy to get along with! The facilities are great such as the kitchen, tv, wii and range of movies. If you are going to stay in belfast STAY HERE AND NOWHERE ELSE.. You won't regret it!! Top location, near everything and has everything you need in a hostel and more.

Disliked: Lauren left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirstine Hughes

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2013 Kirstine would recommend this property

Liked: Chilled out atmosphere, friendly staff, clean rooms and good facilities. Our bed was really comfy and it was quiet at night. Excellent location - loved our visit!

Disliked: Kirstine left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Micayla Hardisty

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

11 July 2013 Micayla would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and decorations, nice kitchen and staff.

Disliked: A bit far away from the town center and public transit is a bit difficult.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Chee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome hostel, friendly staff, nice common area/kitchen

Disliked: A bit far from the city, 20 min walk, 45 min to Titanic Museum, and the floors are a bit creaky, 4 bed dorm is a bit small

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

stefan durkin

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 stefan would recommend this property

Liked: global village is a gem of a place to stay in belfast a great location full of warmth and character with good amenities

Disliked: stefan left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eugene Nyunt

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2013 Eugene would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Park Road Recycling Centre off Ormeau Road, and the Archana Restaurant along Dublin Road.

Disliked: No recycling facilities within the kitchen; everything seemed destined for landfill when separate bins for sorting could easily be provided. I also didn't particularly like a group of grossly inconsiderate males from London, whom thankfully I only had two nights without sleep near.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Allan Widmeyer

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2013 Allan would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable and friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Allan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Daniel Lovizio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The room was ok and breakfast was free

Disliked: Completely dirty! Dishes for breakfast were dirty (with food stuck on them!), the toilet (private!) was full of hair and the smelt bad. Also, it was a bit noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Holloway

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2013 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and clean! Lots of character! Fox the receptionist is fun and helpful. Funky little hostel. We enjoyed our stay

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel provided an open and friendly environment for our short stay in Belfast. It is easily accessible from the city centre, we walked from the central bus station to the hostel and it only took about 25 minutes with our bags. There is free wi-fi and computers to use, a TV in a common room and a well-equipped kitchen (with herbs and spices for cooking and tea and coffee throughout the day).

Disliked: Probably just because we were there around St Patrick's Day, but the hostel was quite noisy, i.e. noise carried through it as if the walls were paper. We struggled to sleep at first, but once we got ear plugs from the reception it wasn't so bad. There were definitely not enough showers and toilets - 5 of each for hostel with 11 or 12 dorms. Had to get up early to make sure we got a shower, and water was not reliably hot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was the best part about it...better than any other hostel I have stayed at. Staff was great and everything was very clean.

Disliked: Really no complaints. If I had to choose something it would be that it was a little out of the city center (although close to a lot of cafes and bars!).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marie Meranda

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2013 Marie would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and helpful staff with a fun enviorment

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good area close to the university and in walking distance of the city center. The staff was extremely helpful considering there was some issues with my booking going through. Other people staying in the hostel were friendly.

Disliked: Overall good experience. Not a lot of space in the bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ciara Mc Entee

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 February 2013 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: I only stayed for one night but the staff were extremely helpful you got breakfast in the morning (i had it at 5.30am). Internet works all over the house it was really clean.

Disliked: Bed is quite hard and you can hear if people are being loud on the reception floor frm the room on top floor. No lockers for stuff.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing, they couldn't be more helpful and they gave the hostel a feeling of home. The hostel had everything you could possibly want.

Disliked: Nothing,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was amazing all round. Would highly recommend staying here. It was exceptionally clean, always plenty of hot water and nice bathrooms with showers. Linen provided was all very clean and everything looked brand new, even though it is 2 years old - staff there said they intend to keep it that way! Bedrooms were good - mattresses comfortable and the rooms were warm. Breakfast provided was nice - help yourself cereal and toast. Staff all very friendly and helpful, and just a short walk into the city centre. Pubs, food places and supermarkets very nearby.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tom McClusky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 December 2012 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: This was the bestest hostel Everrrrr'rrrr! beautiful hostel, good times! Ohhh Yeahh baby! Brett's BBQ was UNREAL what a night!! Mark ur a legend look forward to the next time!

Disliked: A guy called Fox bored me a bit

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was friendly, pleanty of bathrooms and a great common room to relax in.

Disliked: Nothing at all. Could have stayed for ages!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yi Zhang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2012 Yi would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice hostel. staff are nice, friendly and helpful. the kitchen is awsome. free breakfast, coffee, tea, hot chocolate seasoning...anything you could think of. all the bathroom are clean and tidy, good shower. room is very spacious.

Disliked: Yi left no negative feedback.