We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Arnies Backpackers

Hostel | 63 Fitzwilliam Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT9 6AX

81.5% Overall Rating

38 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/09/2014)

"The staff was super nice, it was a very friendly and cozy atmosphere, one night we actually went out with people from the staff!"

Read all Arnies Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.62
  • Towel USD 0.81

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

CHECK-IN IS FROM 9AM AND NO LATER THAN 9PM

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.21 USD

Hostel 84.8% 582 reviews
Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
30.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.5%

Overall Rating

38 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Arnies Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
92.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 39 of 42 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

26 November 2014

Liked: see 'dislikes'

Disliked: this hostel made me an my partner feel like we were being punished (nd im not sure what for) , the property is cramped and very unclean. the staff are incredibly unhelpful and seem to know nothing about Belfast (or the hostel) the kitchen was left filthy every night and the walls were damp and mouldy, the shower was so bad we decided to STOP showing in order to be cleaner, the toilets did not flush without five minutes of encouragement and our walls had nose snoot on the wall, I love backpackers and have travelled the world, this place is the actual worst.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was super nice, it was a very friendly and cozy atmosphere, one night we actually went out with people from the staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Xxx

Disliked: Xxxx

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and staff so much friendly and kind. It's a good hostel for a couple nights. The facilities are good enough but nothing impressive. It's aparently safe in a tranquil neighborhood. The price is very good. At the end, it was just one night but i can recommend the hostel to everybody

Disliked: There is no locker in the bedroom.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Nigel Tansley

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2013 Nigel would recommend this property

Liked: Hostel charming and not far from the city centre where there are loads of things to do. Good basic accommodation and the place was clean enough. Arnie and the other folks working there were very friendly and helpful. Our 4 / 5 bunk room was comfortable enough for us – and it did have a socket in it. The website described things pretty well: even the two dogs were great little characters, both of them polite and charming! My son and I even had the welcoming cup of tea and roaring open fire to greet us!

Disliked: Some might find the hostel a bit cramped – you can see it is cosy in the photos – but for us not a problem as we just needed somewhere friendly, clean and tidy to sleep and eat, near the city centre, so it was just fine.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

21 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and welcoming staff, cheap and easy-going

Disliked: No electrical sockets in rooms, just a minor inconvenience

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

keyu chen

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 keyu would recommend this property

Liked: staff is very kind

Disliked: keyu left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Catalfano

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 January 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpful. Everyone was very helpful and it was very homey atmosphere. Everyone had suggestions of things we could do and were great with directions.

Disliked: It was a bit cold.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2013

Liked: Nothing really.

Disliked: The hostel was really dirty, esepcially the kitchen. The staff seemed friendly but they didn't provide any information about anything. It felt like they weren't used to the regular questions that travellers have: for example they didn't know how the buses run or which bus to take, how much a taxi would cost or where to get it; which are some good things to see, which sights; which are some good places to go out for drinks or some food... The rooms were definitely too crowded, 9 beds in one tiny room and not very clean, smelt really bad. The bathroom and showers were very small as well, and not enough of them.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff and cleanliness

Disliked: Not so close to the city centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aliny Franciely Generoso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2012 Aliny would recommend this property

Liked: Arnie is very very funny and neighborly, I will stay in Arnie's Hostel every time I go back to Belfast!!!!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Davies

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: A brilliant hostel which I would recommend to anyone. Right in the heart of the student area, the friendliest and most helpful staff and excellent value for money!

Disliked: The hostel is very secure, but an extra shower and lockers in the rooms wouldn't go amiss.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic, performed a selection of Seasick Steve and Black Keys live every night and are fantastically friendly and helpful! Snowy runs the place, Coco runs around the place and Arnie is fab :) I will be visitng them again when I live here. I stayed here whilst looking for a house in Belfast and the location was perfect, 2 minute walk from Queens and 15 from town. I would highly recommend it!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Wise

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel so welcome. The hostel is homely and has everything we needed, I would definitely stay there again.

Disliked: Laura left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was quaint and very friendly, people socialized a lot. there was always someone in the communal areas and the staff was really helpful and friendly, especially stephen and coco.

Disliked: there are only two toilets and two showers in the house, one of them is next to the kitchen, away from the rooms. the bunk beds were often to short, or better said the bottom bunk didn't really have a lot of space.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great atmosphere stayed on a saturday night and had a really good time the staff were awesome really nice first appearances were bad but i really enjoyed my stay here

Disliked: cramped rooms, messy place, dorm with 4 beds had 5 people staying in there because one was a double.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Zhiyi Yang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2012 Zhiyi would recommend this property

Liked: Really a cozy place! Small and great atmosphere. They have an open fireplace!!!!

Disliked: Zhiyi left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff Homely feel Value for money Small and cosy

Disliked: Bunk beds had hardly any head room, not ideal for someone who is caustephobic Bathrooms were a little on the old side

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jillian Cole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Jillian would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere. It felt more like home here. The staff were very helpful and booked tours for us, which we were picked up directly from the hostel. The location is excellent- right by the University. Arnie is fantastic- such a chill guy, super helpful. We also loved his dogs :).

Disliked: The room was a little small for 4 girls to be staying in with baggage.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Beat Lenel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Beat would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was there (tea and coffee, internet, street parking), it was conveniently located in the university area.

Disliked: The wifi router seems to have an IP address conflict.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked a lot the friendliness and the helpfulness of the staf

Disliked: I don't like to have to wash my teeth next to the toilet.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

20 March 2011

Liked: The location is central. The woodfires are gorgeous and the kitchen is well stocked. It has a nice tv room with lounges as well.

Disliked: it's very small - in our hostel the beds were crammed in quite tight. There are 2 showers for the whole hostel/

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Pigg

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. I think it's the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Everything is really clean. The beds are super-comfortable. The shower was really good. The staff are great. Homely atmosphere, good conversation, and real coal fires!

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was real homely and the staff were very friendly and welcoming

Disliked: The rooms are a bit cold and there's isn't alot of space for bags when the room is full

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

25 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked the kiving room with coal fire very nice atmosphere and friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.