We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

85.5% Overall Rating

554 out of 599 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2015)

Linda Lindberg thinks…

"Great value for money. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good "keep quiet" policy."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.31

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.52 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
20.75 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.52 USD

Hostel 82.7% 45 reviews
Titanic Apartments
38.43 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
49.19 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.75 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.44 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

554 out of 599 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 544 of 585 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Linda Lindberg

Alone

City break

28 February 2015 Linda would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good "keep quiet" policy.

Disliked: Everything was as or better than expected so nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good and the staff was friendly.

Disliked: Bathroom was a little outdated and smelled musty (there is no outside window in the one we used to air it out). Also, this is not the hostel's fault, but a really obnoxious large group checked in on our last night there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The toilets is not really enough in peak time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

03 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dragana Krstic

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2015 Dragana would recommend this property

Liked: They provide recommendations for popular tourist attractions and tours of Belfast and Northern Ireland, organize and book these tours for their guests. Free tea and coffee, free WIFI, free homemade breakfast! The intimacy of beds ensured by dint of curtains!

Disliked: They need to add the hat stand in the bathroom to store things during the shower

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 February 2015

Liked: free breakfast Wifi

Disliked: dirty & partly broken showers loud & partly broken beds

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lars Eric Hermansson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2015 Lars Eric would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, close to pubs,restaurants, shops and public transport tasty breakfast

Disliked: noisy neighbourhood due to closeness to college.Both nights I stayed there people were shouting and playing loud music until 4AM.Not the hostel´s fault though

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015

Liked: The included breakfast

Disliked: The mold everywhere in the bathroom, the mattress, the dirty floor in the kitchen, no "free food box"

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely feel, decently sized rooms, good bathroom facilities

Disliked: Uncomfortable mattress

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Hoefer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The property was secure and offered multiple options to the guests for where they would like to hang out

Disliked: There were not very many showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locaion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, dorm room great value for money

Disliked: Top floor bathroom pretty grim all the others ok though

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing. They will help you out of their way.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Halit Burak Nazir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2014 Halit Burak would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly definetely stay there and very decent

Disliked: Halit Burak left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a kitchen to use plus wifi but only one staff helpful rest not helpful

Disliked: was going from London for holiday last minute missed ferry had no time to give notice and ended up paying an extra day for nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacob VAN DEN BERG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport.

Disliked: Only minor detials: Needs some paint and repair . Complex door locks with codes (hard to read with little light).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Allain

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff. Bedding and room clean and tidy.

Disliked: All good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Scandrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan backpackers was an awesome hostel! Really clean and great value for money! Melissa showed us Belfast's great night life and Steve cooked us up an amazing breakfast every morning! Thanks so much guys we loved it!!

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, who would sit down and have a drink with us of an evening.

Disliked: It was one of the slightly more expensive places we've stayed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot, simple breakfast and friendly staff. Proximity to lovely cafés and university. Friendly advice provided by receptionist, and staff were always attentive.

Disliked: Shower cubicles were in disrepair – cracks in the shower, things falling apart – and creaky floors meant we could hear all visitors walking about throughout the night. The rooms were very spartan and functional, though lacking in character. There are ways to spruce up a hostel cheaply!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Lachlann Croker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The beds were very uncomfortable, like springs digging into your back. You couldn't open the window so it was very stuffy in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Short

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful and friendly staff, it was my first time in Dublin and they recommended tours and free things for me to do, I also booked the black taxi tour and the giants causeway tour through them and it was so easy and straight forward, plus I had the best time. Free cooked breakfast, tea and coffee off the menu, they bring it to you and wash your dishes after. For £4 they did my laundry for me. Location is prime! So close to the river, botanical gardens and museum and only a 10 minute walk to Princess Square with cute cafés and restaurants along the way.

Disliked: Can't really fault this place, I guess the showers were a bit old fashioned but still managed. Also wifi didn't work for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the amability of the staff and the facilities of the hostel and the cleanliness

Disliked: anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fergal Cunningham

Alone

Partying / nightlife

21 August 2014 Fergal would recommend this property

Liked: Liked it, friendly people, good proper breakfast.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Griffiths

Alone

City break

18 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful, especially when i had to leave the hostel a day early and they helped me print off my travel form.

Disliked: It wasn't a dislike rather than a bit uncomfortable. i had to share a room with 5 girls. I'm not bothered but they must have thought I was a weirdo because I was a man on my own. It would have been nice to share with at least one male to break up the tension.