HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

84.8% Overall Rating

539 out of 582 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Jacob VAN DEN BERG thinks…

"Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.10 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.34 USD

Hostel 86.7% 55 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

539 out of 582 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 531 of 568 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Halit Burak Nazir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2014 Halit Burak would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly definetely stay there and very decent

Disliked: Halit Burak left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a kitchen to use plus wifi but only one staff helpful rest not helpful

Disliked: was going from London for holiday last minute missed ferry had no time to give notice and ended up paying an extra day for nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacob VAN DEN BERG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport.

Disliked: Only minor detials: Needs some paint and repair . Complex door locks with codes (hard to read with little light).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Allain

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff. Bedding and room clean and tidy.

Disliked: All good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Scandrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan backpackers was an awesome hostel! Really clean and great value for money! Melissa showed us Belfast's great night life and Steve cooked us up an amazing breakfast every morning! Thanks so much guys we loved it!!

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, who would sit down and have a drink with us of an evening.

Disliked: It was one of the slightly more expensive places we've stayed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot, simple breakfast and friendly staff. Proximity to lovely cafés and university. Friendly advice provided by receptionist, and staff were always attentive.

Disliked: Shower cubicles were in disrepair – cracks in the shower, things falling apart – and creaky floors meant we could hear all visitors walking about throughout the night. The rooms were very spartan and functional, though lacking in character. There are ways to spruce up a hostel cheaply!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Lachlann Croker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The beds were very uncomfortable, like springs digging into your back. You couldn't open the window so it was very stuffy in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Short

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful and friendly staff, it was my first time in Dublin and they recommended tours and free things for me to do, I also booked the black taxi tour and the giants causeway tour through them and it was so easy and straight forward, plus I had the best time. Free cooked breakfast, tea and coffee off the menu, they bring it to you and wash your dishes after. For £4 they did my laundry for me. Location is prime! So close to the river, botanical gardens and museum and only a 10 minute walk to Princess Square with cute cafés and restaurants along the way.

Disliked: Can't really fault this place, I guess the showers were a bit old fashioned but still managed. Also wifi didn't work for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the amability of the staff and the facilities of the hostel and the cleanliness

Disliked: anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fergal Cunningham

Alone

Partying / nightlife

21 August 2014 Fergal would recommend this property

Liked: Liked it, friendly people, good proper breakfast.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Griffiths

Alone

City break

18 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful, especially when i had to leave the hostel a day early and they helped me print off my travel form.

Disliked: It wasn't a dislike rather than a bit uncomfortable. i had to share a room with 5 girls. I'm not bothered but they must have thought I was a weirdo because I was a man on my own. It would have been nice to share with at least one male to break up the tension.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Callum Swansborough

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014

Liked: It was on a quiet street

Disliked: The shower I used went from freezing to boiling and back again. One of the sinks had no working taps. The downstairs toilet was really unclean. The beds were really creaky. In my room there were only 4 lockers for 6 beds (two of the lockers had no means to actually lock them). I think my room was above the outdoor smoking area as it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke when I went up to bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Almost everything. Mould, dirty linen, walls too thin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Forbes

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

30 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and as each room had its own code I felt my stuff was very safe. Additionally no matter what member of staff you spoke to they were all friendly and made you feel at home and part of the Lagan family. The breakfast was of a high quality and the BBQ at night was a super idea as after a day full of travelling it was ideal, great value and meant we didn't have to go wandering for food. The hostel being next to the botanic gardens was great as it was a good place to visit.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Heller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, not a big hostel

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Woodward Woodward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Laura Woodward would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds you get cider, burger and fries - good food good value and good way to bring the hostel together.

Disliked: A lot of outlets didn't work and my door didn't lock.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chi-huei Chang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

04 July 2014 Chi-huei would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel. pity that i only have less than two days to explore belfast. will come back provided there's a chance!

Disliked: Chi-huei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome burgers for 3 pounds and generous yummy hot brekkies!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great - recommending the best places to go to, giving good advice and really went out their way to make you feel safe and happy. The breakfast was also very good.

Disliked: I had problems with the showers - one didn't work, and the other's temperature control didn't work, so I was left with a freezing shower. The bathrooms in general could have been in a better state - the hot water tap in one toilet didn't work. The security could be questioned also as we were given codes for the doors - this means that people could come back into the place after their stay has finished, a potential security threat. Also, with different people staying for different durations, how can they determine that people can only get in for the nights they paid for? This is slightly flawed, though I don't want to overemphasize these negatives as my overall stay was very pleasant and the security otherwise was very good and I enjoyed my stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good distance from the gardens and a lot of stores and restaurants. Good company.

Disliked: One day of my stay had cold showers, but I imagine that it was because all of the showers were being used at once.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stayed in, mainly in terms of friendliness of staff and general atmosphere! It was a shame to leave and I'll hopefully be back one day!

Disliked: Nothing!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2014

Liked: We stayed at Lagan Backpackers for one night in late April. We were originally scheduled to stay three nights, but could not put ourselves through another two nights at this horrendous place. Let's start with the positives, though. The location is pretty good. It is located near the university and only a couple blocks away from the bustling Botanic Avenue. It's a bit longer of a hike from the city centre, but it's definitely within walking distance. They are also very anal about security -- unless you have a six-character alpha-numeric passcode to enter the front door, it's nearly impossible to get in. That helped put my mind at ease knowing that nobody who shouldn't be in the hostel was entering the hostel. They offer a free breakfast in the morning, which was really appreciated, given that there are lots of potential mouths they have to feed. They also have free WiFi -- and that's good when you can get a signal.

Disliked: We were welcomed by a woman whose first words to us upon opening the front door were, "Are you staying tonight? Oh dear, too many people are arriving at once." No friendliness in any way -- it was as if our arrival was a major inconvenience for her. After checking in she took us up to our room, which we could not enter without the random, six-character alpha-numeric code. Now this is both a positive and a negative. While I appreciate the high level of security, having to remember a combination like C04ZP6 is REALLY inconvenient... especially at 3 a.m. when you have to get back into your room after going to the bathroom. The bathroom itself (we were on the second floor) was small and smelly. While we can't be sure how many beds were on our floor (we estimate at least 12), there was only one unisex bathroom to serve the entire floor - one toilet, one sink, one shower. Given how busy the hostel was, we learned multiple times in our brief stay that that was certainly not enough facilities. The bedroom itself was what we expected. It was a six-bedroom room (three sets of bunk beds), and it was fairly spacious. While Lagan touts a "high level of security," inside the room that's not the case. There only four lockers in our room for six people. Of those four lockers, one was completely broken. Of those remaining three lockers, one of the locking mechanisms was hanging by a thread. (SEE ATTACHED PHOTO) It seems odd, and it's really quite frustrating, that security is a priority when it comes to ensuring people who aren't paying to stay there can't get in (because of the challenging passcodes), but once you're in your room with strangers, securing your stuff isn't a big deal. We were the first ones in our room, so we claimed our beds (we left property on them) and lockers and headed out to explore the city. When we returned, we quickly learned that there was only one outlet in the room -- as someone was lying on one of our beds to get access to the outlet behind our bed. (That's not the hostel's fault, but it was pretty infuriating to find someone on our bed that was clearly claimed.) As previously mentioned, the WiFi, while free, was spotty, to say the least. When it worked, it worked fine, but it was extremely difficult to get any internet connection, despite there being multiple routers. A minor inconvenience, but yet another in a long line of annoyances. After waiting for our turn to use the bathroom and we turned in, I climbed into my bed, and found that the mattress cover was not actually a mattress cover -- it was a fitted sheet that was wrapped around the mattress, with about 4 inches of the mattress still showing. I lifted up my pillow to check it out, and underneath it was DRIED VOMIT! This is a bed that had been allegedly cleaned, and the staff member who "cleaned" it clearly saw the vomit and placed a pillow overtop to cover it up. It was absolutely disgusting (SEE PHOTO BELOW). When we told a staff member about the dried vomit in the bed, her reaction was, "Hahaha, sorry." Really? Laughter? It was like pouring salt in our wounds, clearly indicating that there was very little care given to their guests' experiences. On top of that, the walls and ceiling are paper thin -- the rooms are quite loud when someone on a floor above you or in the room next door to you is walking or talking. The fact that they have awards on their wall from both TripAdvisor and HostelBookers was mind-blowing. This is far from being an award-winning hostel, and I can in no way imagine having a positive experience here. I understand that a hostel isn't going to be a luxury hotel, but puke in the bed and getting a laugh about it from a staff member is 100% inexcusable. Do not stay at Lagan Backpackers. I know there are people who have great experiences, but I sure as hell wouldn't risk it. Spend a few pounds more per night and go to the Travelodge Belfast. The price difference between a private hotel room and this crap hostel was negligible, but it made a world of difference.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I wasn't asked if I wanted tea or coffee in the morning with my breakfast. I didn't know I had to make it myself and had to awkwardly ask where everything was. Wasn't a problem but would like to have been told as I've never stayed in a hostel before so didn't know the story!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan Backpackers Hostel was my favourite place to stay during my 6 week trip through Europe. The staff are extremely helpful, you can order a great hot breakfast every morning, and it was incredibly easy to meet fellow travellers. The hostel is well taken care of and clean, it felt like home for the time I spent there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.