HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

83.3% Overall Rating

519 out of 558 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Laura Woodward Woodward thinks…

"Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.82 USD

Hostel 92.5% 168 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
22.12 USD

Hostel 92.6% 222 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.97 USD

Hostel 76.7% 805 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.80 USD

Hostel 83.5% 41 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.53 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
25.52 USD

Hostel 88.9% 45 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
67.20 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.97 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

519 out of 558 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 515 of 544 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Woodward Woodward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Laura Woodward would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds you get cider, burger and fries - good food good value and good way to bring the hostel together.

Disliked: A lot of outlets didn't work and my door didn't lock.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chi-huei Chang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

04 July 2014 Chi-huei would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel. pity that i only have less than two days to explore belfast. will come back provided there's a chance!

Disliked: Chi-huei left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome burgers for 3 pounds and generous yummy hot brekkies!

Disliked: Nothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Richard Smith

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2014 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great - recommending the best places to go to, giving good advice and really went out their way to make you feel safe and happy. The breakfast was also very good.

Disliked: I had problems with the showers - one didn't work, and the other's temperature control didn't work, so I was left with a freezing shower. The bathrooms in general could have been in a better state - the hot water tap in one toilet didn't work. The security could be questioned also as we were given codes for the doors - this means that people could come back into the place after their stay has finished, a potential security threat. Also, with different people staying for different durations, how can they determine that people can only get in for the nights they paid for? This is slightly flawed, though I don't want to overemphasize these negatives as my overall stay was very pleasant and the security otherwise was very good and I enjoyed my stay.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good distance from the gardens and a lot of stores and restaurants. Good company.

Disliked: One day of my stay had cold showers, but I imagine that it was because all of the showers were being used at once.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William James

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2014 William would recommend this property

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stayed in, mainly in terms of friendliness of staff and general atmosphere! It was a shame to leave and I'll hopefully be back one day!

Disliked: Nothing!

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 June 2014

Liked: We stayed at Lagan Backpackers for one night in late April. We were originally scheduled to stay three nights, but could not put ourselves through another two nights at this horrendous place. Let's start with the positives, though. The location is pretty good. It is located near the university and only a couple blocks away from the bustling Botanic Avenue. It's a bit longer of a hike from the city centre, but it's definitely within walking distance. They are also very anal about security -- unless you have a six-character alpha-numeric passcode to enter the front door, it's nearly impossible to get in. That helped put my mind at ease knowing that nobody who shouldn't be in the hostel was entering the hostel. They offer a free breakfast in the morning, which was really appreciated, given that there are lots of potential mouths they have to feed. They also have free WiFi -- and that's good when you can get a signal.

Disliked: We were welcomed by a woman whose first words to us upon opening the front door were, "Are you staying tonight? Oh dear, too many people are arriving at once." No friendliness in any way -- it was as if our arrival was a major inconvenience for her. After checking in she took us up to our room, which we could not enter without the random, six-character alpha-numeric code. Now this is both a positive and a negative. While I appreciate the high level of security, having to remember a combination like C04ZP6 is REALLY inconvenient... especially at 3 a.m. when you have to get back into your room after going to the bathroom. The bathroom itself (we were on the second floor) was small and smelly. While we can't be sure how many beds were on our floor (we estimate at least 12), there was only one unisex bathroom to serve the entire floor - one toilet, one sink, one shower. Given how busy the hostel was, we learned multiple times in our brief stay that that was certainly not enough facilities. The bedroom itself was what we expected. It was a six-bedroom room (three sets of bunk beds), and it was fairly spacious. While Lagan touts a "high level of security," inside the room that's not the case. There only four lockers in our room for six people. Of those four lockers, one was completely broken. Of those remaining three lockers, one of the locking mechanisms was hanging by a thread. (SEE ATTACHED PHOTO) It seems odd, and it's really quite frustrating, that security is a priority when it comes to ensuring people who aren't paying to stay there can't get in (because of the challenging passcodes), but once you're in your room with strangers, securing your stuff isn't a big deal. We were the first ones in our room, so we claimed our beds (we left property on them) and lockers and headed out to explore the city. When we returned, we quickly learned that there was only one outlet in the room -- as someone was lying on one of our beds to get access to the outlet behind our bed. (That's not the hostel's fault, but it was pretty infuriating to find someone on our bed that was clearly claimed.) As previously mentioned, the WiFi, while free, was spotty, to say the least. When it worked, it worked fine, but it was extremely difficult to get any internet connection, despite there being multiple routers. A minor inconvenience, but yet another in a long line of annoyances. After waiting for our turn to use the bathroom and we turned in, I climbed into my bed, and found that the mattress cover was not actually a mattress cover -- it was a fitted sheet that was wrapped around the mattress, with about 4 inches of the mattress still showing. I lifted up my pillow to check it out, and underneath it was DRIED VOMIT! This is a bed that had been allegedly cleaned, and the staff member who "cleaned" it clearly saw the vomit and placed a pillow overtop to cover it up. It was absolutely disgusting (SEE PHOTO BELOW). When we told a staff member about the dried vomit in the bed, her reaction was, "Hahaha, sorry." Really? Laughter? It was like pouring salt in our wounds, clearly indicating that there was very little care given to their guests' experiences. On top of that, the walls and ceiling are paper thin -- the rooms are quite loud when someone on a floor above you or in the room next door to you is walking or talking. The fact that they have awards on their wall from both TripAdvisor and HostelBookers was mind-blowing. This is far from being an award-winning hostel, and I can in no way imagine having a positive experience here. I understand that a hostel isn't going to be a luxury hotel, but puke in the bed and getting a laugh about it from a staff member is 100% inexcusable. Do not stay at Lagan Backpackers. I know there are people who have great experiences, but I sure as hell wouldn't risk it. Spend a few pounds more per night and go to the Travelodge Belfast. The price difference between a private hotel room and this crap hostel was negligible, but it made a world of difference.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: I wasn't asked if I wanted tea or coffee in the morning with my breakfast. I didn't know I had to make it myself and had to awkwardly ask where everything was. Wasn't a problem but would like to have been told as I've never stayed in a hostel before so didn't know the story!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan Backpackers Hostel was my favourite place to stay during my 6 week trip through Europe. The staff are extremely helpful, you can order a great hot breakfast every morning, and it was incredibly easy to meet fellow travellers. The hostel is well taken care of and clean, it felt like home for the time I spent there.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

30 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome environment. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Dorms are pretty tight.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gheorghe-Dan Barabas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 May 2014 Gheorghe-Dan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was ok

Disliked: Gheorghe-Dan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly hosts

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are really friendly and went out of their way to help me get a boarding pass printed. Hatters has a hot breakfast for no added cost as well. Something I haven't seen at other UK backpackers. I would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms avabile to hang out in were really good

Disliked: The directions to the hostle was terrible

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daixiao Zheng

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Daixiao would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is good. The option for English breakfast is really luxurious as a hostel.

Disliked: The WiFi is not stable in the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Offering a dinner and a cooked breakfast is nice. It's the first hostel I've come across that did that.

Disliked: There were a few people in the dorm drinking - guts and gals and they were 'messing. Jumping into the other bed and so on. Apart from anything else, I coudn't sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and hot breakfast.

Disliked: Not many showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vu Hiep Dang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2014 Vu Hiep would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly and helpful staffs, great atmosphere, good value for money

Disliked: Vu Hiep left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helen duffield

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 helen would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodate my needs. I am 49 so much older than the majority of guests, and have health issues. I was made to feel exceptionally welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for Linda and her colleagues. I highly recommend this property. The beds had lovely deep, comfortable mattresses too.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they had real beds as well as bunk beds. the breakfast they had was amazing and unlimited coffee and tea. They also offered an option for a cheap home made dinner as well. they were also very helpful with letting us know about what to do while there. we also were leaing quite late and they let us hang out and leave our bags there even after we checked out. really enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: the only thing we had issues with were the directions, it sounded like it was so far from the city centre so we ended up wasting money on a bus that we could have saved because it was a 5 min walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff that made this hostel stand out from any other hostel I have ever stayed at; I had a really great time because of them

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and good all round

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julienne Lim

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2014 Julienne would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was so amazing!!

Disliked: Julienne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely a hostel for the young, or at least the young at heart. You'll easily make friends here and staff encourage an open inviting atmosphere. The Giant's Causeway and Black Cab tours are both quite good and staff have lots of other advice on getting the most out of Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was super friendly and welcoming!

Disliked: Some of the lockers didn't lock but we didn't have any issues with security.