We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

87.0% Overall Rating

545 out of 589 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2015)

Lars Eric Hermansson thinks…

"friendly staff, close to pubs,restaurants, shops and public transport tasty breakfast"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.72 USD

Hostel 81.5% 44 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
30.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

545 out of 589 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 538 of 576 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lars Eric Hermansson

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2015 Lars Eric would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, close to pubs,restaurants, shops and public transport tasty breakfast

Disliked: noisy neighbourhood due to closeness to college.Both nights I stayed there people were shouting and playing loud music until 4AM.Not the hostel´s fault though

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2015

Liked: The included breakfast

Disliked: The mold everywhere in the bathroom, the mattress, the dirty floor in the kitchen, no "free food box"

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely feel, decently sized rooms, good bathroom facilities

Disliked: Uncomfortable mattress

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Hoefer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2015 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: The property was secure and offered multiple options to the guests for where they would like to hang out

Disliked: There were not very many showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Locaion

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff, dorm room great value for money

Disliked: Top floor bathroom pretty grim all the others ok though

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

30 December 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are amazing. They will help you out of their way.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Halit Burak Nazir

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2014 Halit Burak would recommend this property

Liked: So friendly definetely stay there and very decent

Disliked: Halit Burak left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Family Holiday

16 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it had a kitchen to use plus wifi but only one staff helpful rest not helpful

Disliked: was going from London for holiday last minute missed ferry had no time to give notice and ended up paying an extra day for nothing

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Jacob VAN DEN BERG

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

15 September 2014 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport.

Disliked: Only minor detials: Needs some paint and repair . Complex door locks with codes (hard to read with little light).

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Allain

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Location and friendly staff. Bedding and room clean and tidy.

Disliked: All good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Scandrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan backpackers was an awesome hostel! Really clean and great value for money! Melissa showed us Belfast's great night life and Steve cooked us up an amazing breakfast every morning! Thanks so much guys we loved it!!

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, who would sit down and have a drink with us of an evening.

Disliked: It was one of the slightly more expensive places we've stayed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot, simple breakfast and friendly staff. Proximity to lovely cafés and university. Friendly advice provided by receptionist, and staff were always attentive.

Disliked: Shower cubicles were in disrepair – cracks in the shower, things falling apart – and creaky floors meant we could hear all visitors walking about throughout the night. The rooms were very spartan and functional, though lacking in character. There are ways to spruce up a hostel cheaply!

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Lachlann Croker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2014

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The beds were very uncomfortable, like springs digging into your back. You couldn't open the window so it was very stuffy in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Short

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Most helpful and friendly staff, it was my first time in Dublin and they recommended tours and free things for me to do, I also booked the black taxi tour and the giants causeway tour through them and it was so easy and straight forward, plus I had the best time. Free cooked breakfast, tea and coffee off the menu, they bring it to you and wash your dishes after. For £4 they did my laundry for me. Location is prime! So close to the river, botanical gardens and museum and only a 10 minute walk to Princess Square with cute cafés and restaurants along the way.

Disliked: Can't really fault this place, I guess the showers were a bit old fashioned but still managed. Also wifi didn't work for me.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

25 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the amability of the staff and the facilities of the hostel and the cleanliness

Disliked: anything

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fergal Cunningham

Alone

Partying / nightlife

21 August 2014 Fergal would recommend this property

Liked: Liked it, friendly people, good proper breakfast.

Disliked: Not much.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Griffiths

Alone

City break

18 August 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful, especially when i had to leave the hostel a day early and they helped me print off my travel form.

Disliked: It wasn't a dislike rather than a bit uncomfortable. i had to share a room with 5 girls. I'm not bothered but they must have thought I was a weirdo because I was a man on my own. It would have been nice to share with at least one male to break up the tension.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Callum Swansborough

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2014

Liked: It was on a quiet street

Disliked: The shower I used went from freezing to boiling and back again. One of the sinks had no working taps. The downstairs toilet was really unclean. The beds were really creaky. In my room there were only 4 lockers for 6 beds (two of the lockers had no means to actually lock them). I think my room was above the outdoor smoking area as it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke when I went up to bed.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Almost everything. Mould, dirty linen, walls too thin.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Forbes

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

30 July 2014 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and as each room had its own code I felt my stuff was very safe. Additionally no matter what member of staff you spoke to they were all friendly and made you feel at home and part of the Lagan family. The breakfast was of a high quality and the BBQ at night was a super idea as after a day full of travelling it was ideal, great value and meant we didn't have to go wandering for food. The hostel being next to the botanic gardens was great as it was a good place to visit.

Disliked: Nicola left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christoph Heller

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014 Christoph would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, not a big hostel

Disliked: Christoph left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Laura Woodward Woodward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2014 Laura Woodward would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds you get cider, burger and fries - good food good value and good way to bring the hostel together.

Disliked: A lot of outlets didn't work and my door didn't lock.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chi-huei Chang

Alone

Relaxation/spa

04 July 2014 Chi-huei would recommend this property

Liked: very nice hostel. pity that i only have less than two days to explore belfast. will come back provided there's a chance!

Disliked: Chi-huei left no negative feedback.