HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 66%

Location 79%

Safety 73%

Staff 84%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.34USD

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 60%

Facilities 66%

Location 79%

Safety 73%

Staff 84%

Value 74%

Showing 81-90 of 128 reviews

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Offering a dinner and a cooked breakfast is nice. It's the first hostel I've come across that did that.

Disliked: There were a few people in the dorm drinking - guts and gals and they were 'messing. Jumping into the other bed and so on. Apart from anything else, I coudn't sleep.

Customer would recommend this property

34% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
34% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: We stayed at Lagan Backpackers for one night in late April. We were originally scheduled to stay three nights, but could not put ourselves through another two nights at this horrendous place.Let's start with the positives, though.The location is pretty good. It is located near the university and only a couple blocks away from the bustling Botanic Avenue. It's a bit longer of a hike from the city centre, but it's definitely within walking distance. They are also very anal about security -- unless you have a six-character alpha-numeric passcode to enter the front door, it's nearly impossible to get in. That helped put my mind at ease knowing that nobody who shouldn't be in the hostel was entering the hostel. They offer a free breakfast in the morning, which was really appreciated, given that there are lots of potential mouths they have to feed. They also have free WiFi -- and that's good when you can get a signal.

Disliked: We were welcomed by a woman whose first words to us upon opening the front door were, "Are you staying tonight? Oh dear, too many people are arriving at once." No friendliness in any way -- it was as if our arrival was a major inconvenience for her.After checking in she took us up to our room, which we could not enter without the random, six-character alpha-numeric code. Now this is both a positive and a negative. While I appreciate the high level of security, having to remember a combination like C04ZP6 is REALLY inconvenient... especially at 3 a.m. when you have to get back into your room after going to the bathroom.The bathroom itself (we were on the second floor) was small and smelly. While we can't be sure how many beds were on our floor (we estimate at least 12), there was only one unisex bathroom to serve the entire floor - one toilet, one sink, one shower. Given how busy the hostel was, we learned multiple times in our brief stay that that was certainly not enough facilities.The bedroom itself was what we expected. It was a six-bedroom room (three sets of bunk beds), and it was fairly spacious. While Lagan touts a "high level of security," inside the room that's not the case. There only four lockers in our room for six people. Of those four lockers, one was completely broken. Of those remaining three lockers, one of the locking mechanisms was hanging by a thread. (SEE ATTACHED PHOTO) It seems odd, and it's really quite frustrating, that security is a priority when it comes to ensuring people who aren't paying to stay there can't get in (because of the challenging passcodes), but once you're in your room with strangers, securing your stuff isn't a big deal.We were the first ones in our room, so we claimed our beds (we left property on them) and lockers and headed out to explore the city. When we returned, we quickly learned that there was only one outlet in the room -- as someone was lying on one of our beds to get access to the outlet behind our bed. (That's not the hostel's fault, but it was pretty infuriating to find someone on our bed that was clearly claimed.)As previously mentioned, the WiFi, while free, was spotty, to say the least. When it worked, it worked fine, but it was extremely difficult to get any internet connection, despite there being multiple routers. A minor inconvenience, but yet another in a long line of annoyances.After waiting for our turn to use the bathroom and we turned in, I climbed into my bed, and found that the mattress cover was not actually a mattress cover -- it was a fitted sheet that was wrapped around the mattress, with about 4 inches of the mattress still showing. I lifted up my pillow to check it out, and underneath it was DRIED VOMIT! This is a bed that had been allegedly cleaned, and the staff member who "cleaned" it clearly saw the vomit and placed a pillow overtop to cover it up. It was absolutely disgusting (SEE PHOTO BELOW). When we told a staff member about the dried vomit in the bed, her reaction was, "Hahaha, sorry." Really? Laughter? It was like pouring salt in our wounds, clearly indicating that there was very little care given to their guests' experiences.On top of that, the walls and ceiling are paper thin -- the rooms are quite loud when someone on a floor above you or in the room next door to you is walking or talking.The fact that they have awards on their wall from both TripAdvisor and HostelBookers was mind-blowing. This is far from being an award-winning hostel, and I can in no way imagine having a positive experience here. I understand that a hostel isn't going to be a luxury hotel, but puke in the bed and getting a laugh about it from a staff member is 100% inexcusable.Do not stay at Lagan Backpackers. I know there are people who have great experiences, but I sure as hell wouldn't risk it. Spend a few pounds more per night and go to the Travelodge Belfast. The price difference between a private hotel room and this crap hostel was negligible, but it made a world of difference.


The property's response is

Hi Kyle. You forgot to mention in your essay that the REAL reason for this bad review is because you were asked to LEAVE after getting back at 3AM so DRUNK!!! that you upset everyone in your room and your floor in general
Yes i am sure your review is the only honest one in over 550 reviews on hostelbookers from whom we have received rewards as well....... Behave yourself, Handle your drink and you dont have to waste 30 minutes writing nonsens like this
Our staff is praised for friendlyness

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff and hot breakfast.

Disliked: Not many showers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: super friendly and helpful staffs, great atmosphere, good value for money

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: they had real beds as well as bunk beds. the breakfast they had was amazing and unlimited coffee and tea. They also offered an option for a cheap home made dinner as well. they were also very helpful with letting us know about what to do while there. we also were leaing quite late and they let us hang out and leave our bags there even after we checked out. really enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: the only thing we had issues with were the directions, it sounded like it was so far from the city centre so we ended up wasting money on a bus that we could have saved because it was a 5 min walk.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodate my needs. I am 49 so much older than the majority of guests, and have health issues. I was made to feel exceptionally welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for Linda and her colleagues. I highly recommend this property. The beds had lovely deep, comfortable mattresses too.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: very clean and good all round

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the staff that made this hostel stand out from any other hostel I have ever stayed at; I had a really great time because of them

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everybody was so amazing!!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Definitely a hostel for the young, or at least the young at heart. You'll easily make friends here and staff encourage an open inviting atmosphere. The Giant's Causeway and Black Cab tours are both quite good and staff have lots of other advice on getting the most out of Belfast.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability