HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

83.3% Overall Rating

519 out of 558 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Laura Woodward Woodward thinks…

"Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.55

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.77 USD

Hostel 92.5% 168 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
22.08 USD

Hostel 92.6% 222 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.92 USD

Hostel 76.7% 805 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.75 USD

Hostel 83.5% 41 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.45 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
25.47 USD

Hostel 88.9% 45 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
67.07 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.92 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

519 out of 558 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 515 of 544 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

guanglu shi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 guanglu would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are very helpful and can cook good breakfast

Disliked: sometime it is noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ous stay Lagan Backpackers was really good value for money, the free breakfast was good, location was good - very close to the University part of town.

Disliked: My mattress was lumpy, but that is a tiny compaint. Overall I really enjoyed my stay in Belfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was very helpful in recommending what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere to meet other travellers. good location - close to the bus station, food places and the city center.

Disliked: the free breakfast is good for the money, but if you go too early, they dont give you all the food that they usually serve. but still good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Blair

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. We ended up staying at the hostel at the Giants Causeway owned by the same guy thanks to the helpful staff for organising it all for us. The owner is a legend.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: Great breakfast, although only offerred at limited times. Staff was friendly (except William, 'the boss'). Location was close to good restaurants and was reasonably close to the bus station.

Disliked: William does not convey the atmosphere of friendliness like the rest of his staff do. After confusion with my laundary, I dropped the conversation and left the room. He called me back into the room and tried to pick a fight with me. I shouldn't have been surprised after the receipt of the stand-off ish email prior to arrival. He needs to change his tone. Toilets were disgusting: All the showers looked like poorly done do-it-yourself jobs that were not sufficiently clean. Black fluffy stuff was growing in the shower beside the laundry room. Pull cords for light switches are black from grime. Hooks are needed so that there is a place to hang towels/clothes while showering. Bed in room 12 was awful. The mattress springs are broken, resulting in a large slope in the mattress... enought to make someone slide out of bed. Walls are thin, making it possible to listen to conversations and sexual encouters which took place in the shared dorm next door. Staff did very little to maintain quiet within the hostel after 11PM. Street noise was also a problem. Free computer barely worked (very very patchy internet connection, and appeared to be bogged down, my guess would be viruses). Computer periodically sounded like it was attempting to take-off - noise could be heard upstairs in the rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place,good location, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jessica chandler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011

Liked: The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful to help us get around the city and a nice map. There was a computer open for people to use and drinks. IT was a secure place and clean. The breakfast was good also.

Disliked: I would say unless you are a night owl who doesn't like to get up early after everyone downstairs parties all night. If we were not on the top floor I do not know how we would get any sleep there were a dozen people downstairs at 10:30pm. Climbing 5 flights of stairs for the bedroom, then going down 2 flights to the shared shower and go to the bathroom was not great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast

Disliked: Seating area was too small, no regular TV

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is really confortable, shower and W.C. are all very clean! Staff are so nice and helpful (I should try their black taxi tour next time)!!! Nice full english breakfast~

Disliked: Could improve the wifi signal to every room, the light in the room could be brighter~ Also, could consider to provide a safer lock for the room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

britelle humfrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 britelle would recommend this property

Liked: a brilliant hostel. i stayed at 15 and this was one of my favs. great location, friendly staff and travellers, great location, comfy, awesome kitchen, tv (huge screen!) room, washing service. awesome.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Belinda Rovetto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were extremely kind and very helpful! Cinema room and hot breakfast were great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Lise Fond

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 May 2011 Claire Lise would recommend this property

Liked: The great welcoming and the gorgeous breakfast !!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful. Gave great information about belfast and what to see. Helped with booking tours. Breakfast was quite good.

Disliked: The showers weren't great. Went hot/cold and the shower head fell out of the holder.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Judge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2011 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: how it was so central to the city and how clean the place is kept. The staff were also very helpful!!

Disliked: i didn't have any problems with my stay at Lagan Backpackers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, it was really good.

Disliked: It was too noisy, no one respect the night ours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness, helpfulness of the staff. Clean, for hostels quite comfy beds.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan Backpackers is so far one of the best backpackers i have stayed in. The staff are all friendly and helpful and its obvious their focus is on making the customer happy. Was also a great environment to meet people which is perfect for the solo traveller. I was never lonely or alone and easily found people to have dinner with or talk to or goo out with. The managers passing out free beer each night sure helps. Also so far the only backpackers ive stayed at that offers a free hot breakfast. Defintely a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing to not liek really. Internet was a litle slow but this is a server problem and well, its free wifi so cant really complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Carey

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2011 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. 24 hour reception. Breakfast (even made us toast and hot drinks when going out an hour before breakfast).

Disliked: A bit too noisy after midnight.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Bosanquet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, large loung with huge projectore screen and loads of movies, comfortable beds, not too packed. 24 hour reception. Free cooked breakfast. Showers were good ! Not far from town - walking distance. I would stay here again.

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tadej Bacelic

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2011 Tadej would recommend this property

Liked: Staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place if you want a relaxing stay. Nice area to stay in.

Disliked: It didn't have great spaces for meeting other backpackers and socialising.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super good hostel

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Faruk Uysal

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Faruk would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast and lounge

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 April 2011

Liked: A central location, close to the university.

Disliked: We had to leave after our first night, utterly exhausted from lack of sleep. One of our party was in the single room next to the front desk and was kept awake THE ENTIRE NIGHT by street noise, and then noise from the front desk. I was in another single room, but only managed a few hours due to street noise, and that's WITH EARPLUGS! When we declared that we were leaving after the first night, the staff had no quibble (clearly this must happen often). As a result we arrived completely exhausted and in poor spirits for our conference. I would definitely not recommend this hostel to anyone who actually wants a good night sleep.

The property's response is...