HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

84.8% Overall Rating

539 out of 582 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Jacob VAN DEN BERG thinks…

"Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.10 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.34 USD

Hostel 86.7% 55 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

539 out of 582 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 531 of 568 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful - it was a nice surprise to find out that they cook your breakfast themselves, and they wash your clothes if you need them done (I found the latter a little bit strange, more because I like to do my washing myself).

Disliked: The breakfast room, which was meant to be able to contain all of the backpackers staying in the hostel at once, was incredibly cramped and could really only hold about 10 people at once, and not very comfortably.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Emily Railc

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The staff members were wonderful about helping us figure out how to go about exploring the city! Very knowledgeable and had great suggestions. The hot breakfast was a pleasant surprise! Definitely great value for the money!! And the rooms had character and were very comfortable.

Disliked: It was a little on the outer edge of the city but just about everything was walkable so it worked out just fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: This was the first hostel I had stayed in and i fear it has set an unbeatable high standard. Staff, particularly one chap (Brad I think) was very friendly and helpful, gave me a quick tour of the place when I arrived. Building was converted house, so small and atmospheric. Highly recommended for solo travellers as the hostel tends to draw lovely and interesting lodgers, and its smallness promotes socialising. The area was great - a diverse, safe, cultural part of Belfast. Rooms were large, bathrooms were very clean. Again, highly recommend Lagan for solo travellers and other first timers :)

Disliked: Hmm, well they could have given each bed extra pillow! The pillows are very flat and we were taking spares from empty beds to make up for this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ronan Hayes

Alone

Business / conference

06 July 2011 Ronan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff we're really very nice and seemed to bend over backwards to help out, thanks guys!

Disliked: no complaints internally ,College party across the road that went on till dawn was my only complaint but that's not the hostels fault

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean bathrooms, excellent cooked breakfast

Disliked: Somewhat unhelpful staff - not overly friendly

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent value for money. Staff very helpful. Fantastic shower, very welcoming bedrooms.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good in general.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place to meet new people ,house style set up which has a more personal, feel to it

Disliked: staff are the face of a company, i imagine it can be hard to be in an approachable mood all the time

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: decent location with pubs and the bus station within walking distance. staff were friendly and the included hot breakfast was nice

Disliked: Didn't seem to be a great place to meet other travellers

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natalya Zhdanova

Alone

City break

22 June 2011 Natalya would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmoshpere, the owner is very friendly and helpful! Had a great chance to meet people over a complementary free drink of Irish Wiskey! Would love to come again! Highly recommended!

Disliked: Everything was great!

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was probably the best hostel we've stayed at after backpacking Europe for 3 months. It's not your biggest hostel, but that's part of what makes it so good! It's not so commercialized; the owner is there almost every day and takes time to get to know his guests and gives you great advice on things to see and what not to waste your money on. When my girlffriend and I checked in (had booked dorm rooms), he gave us a private room for free as it would have otherwise been unoccupied that night. Another night he bought a bunch of bottles of whisky for everyone to enjoy free of charge, as a social lubricant. It was small touches like this that really made the place unique - something you don't find it big hostels with all their red tape. Free wifi, guest kitchen and lockers as well.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuel Ajayi

Alone

Business / conference

18 June 2011 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about the hostel, the building, very clean and comfortable apartment, nice breakfast. just love it

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were pretty helpful, it was a good location and felt very safe. Breakfast was good and free!

Disliked: Staff were slightly awkward. Rooms weren't entirely clean (my sister had gum stuck to her sheets).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Haenggeli

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was incredible and internet was for free!

Disliked: The staff gave me a vrong dirrection then I missed my ferry-boat because I was not in the good place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V ery close to pubs/restaurants and parks.Taxis and buses easy to get to.

Disliked: Quite noisy,but it was the end of uni!! they had changed their telephone number and I couldnt contact them about changes to my accommadation requirements.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

guanglu shi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 guanglu would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are very helpful and can cook good breakfast

Disliked: sometime it is noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ous stay Lagan Backpackers was really good value for money, the free breakfast was good, location was good - very close to the University part of town.

Disliked: My mattress was lumpy, but that is a tiny compaint. Overall I really enjoyed my stay in Belfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was very helpful in recommending what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere to meet other travellers. good location - close to the bus station, food places and the city center.

Disliked: the free breakfast is good for the money, but if you go too early, they dont give you all the food that they usually serve. but still good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Blair

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. We ended up staying at the hostel at the Giants Causeway owned by the same guy thanks to the helpful staff for organising it all for us. The owner is a legend.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: Great breakfast, although only offerred at limited times. Staff was friendly (except William, 'the boss'). Location was close to good restaurants and was reasonably close to the bus station.

Disliked: William does not convey the atmosphere of friendliness like the rest of his staff do. After confusion with my laundary, I dropped the conversation and left the room. He called me back into the room and tried to pick a fight with me. I shouldn't have been surprised after the receipt of the stand-off ish email prior to arrival. He needs to change his tone. Toilets were disgusting: All the showers looked like poorly done do-it-yourself jobs that were not sufficiently clean. Black fluffy stuff was growing in the shower beside the laundry room. Pull cords for light switches are black from grime. Hooks are needed so that there is a place to hang towels/clothes while showering. Bed in room 12 was awful. The mattress springs are broken, resulting in a large slope in the mattress... enought to make someone slide out of bed. Walls are thin, making it possible to listen to conversations and sexual encouters which took place in the shared dorm next door. Staff did very little to maintain quiet within the hostel after 11PM. Street noise was also a problem. Free computer barely worked (very very patchy internet connection, and appeared to be bogged down, my guess would be viruses). Computer periodically sounded like it was attempting to take-off - noise could be heard upstairs in the rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place,good location, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jessica chandler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011

Liked: The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful to help us get around the city and a nice map. There was a computer open for people to use and drinks. IT was a secure place and clean. The breakfast was good also.

Disliked: I would say unless you are a night owl who doesn't like to get up early after everyone downstairs parties all night. If we were not on the top floor I do not know how we would get any sleep there were a dozen people downstairs at 10:30pm. Climbing 5 flights of stairs for the bedroom, then going down 2 flights to the shared shower and go to the bathroom was not great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast

Disliked: Seating area was too small, no regular TV

The property's response is...