HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

79.2% Overall Rating

525 out of 567 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

David Griffiths thinks…

"I liked that it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful, especially when i had to leave the hostel a day early and they helped me print off my travel form."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.27 USD

Hostel 91.8% 171 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.61 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.44 USD

Hostel 74.1% 806 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.27 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.56 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.93 USD

Hostel 88.3% 48 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
65.66 USD

Hostel 86.2% 6 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.44 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.2%

Overall Rating

525 out of 567 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
84.0%
Value
82.4%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 520 of 552 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emmanuel Ajayi

Alone

Business / conference

18 June 2011 Emmanuel would recommend this property

Liked: I like everything about the hostel, the building, very clean and comfortable apartment, nice breakfast. just love it

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were pretty helpful, it was a good location and felt very safe. Breakfast was good and free!

Disliked: Staff were slightly awkward. Rooms weren't entirely clean (my sister had gum stuck to her sheets).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabine Haenggeli

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2011 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was incredible and internet was for free!

Disliked: The staff gave me a vrong dirrection then I missed my ferry-boat because I was not in the good place.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: V ery close to pubs/restaurants and parks.Taxis and buses easy to get to.

Disliked: Quite noisy,but it was the end of uni!! they had changed their telephone number and I couldnt contact them about changes to my accommadation requirements.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

guanglu shi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 June 2011 guanglu would recommend this property

Liked: staffs are very helpful and can cook good breakfast

Disliked: sometime it is noisy

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ous stay Lagan Backpackers was really good value for money, the free breakfast was good, location was good - very close to the University part of town.

Disliked: My mattress was lumpy, but that is a tiny compaint. Overall I really enjoyed my stay in Belfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was very helpful in recommending what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: No complaints

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good atmosphere to meet other travellers. good location - close to the bus station, food places and the city center.

Disliked: the free breakfast is good for the money, but if you go too early, they dont give you all the food that they usually serve. but still good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melissa Blair

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2011 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff. We ended up staying at the hostel at the Giants Causeway owned by the same guy thanks to the helpful staff for organising it all for us. The owner is a legend.

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011

Liked: Great breakfast, although only offerred at limited times. Staff was friendly (except William, 'the boss'). Location was close to good restaurants and was reasonably close to the bus station.

Disliked: William does not convey the atmosphere of friendliness like the rest of his staff do. After confusion with my laundary, I dropped the conversation and left the room. He called me back into the room and tried to pick a fight with me. I shouldn't have been surprised after the receipt of the stand-off ish email prior to arrival. He needs to change his tone. Toilets were disgusting: All the showers looked like poorly done do-it-yourself jobs that were not sufficiently clean. Black fluffy stuff was growing in the shower beside the laundry room. Pull cords for light switches are black from grime. Hooks are needed so that there is a place to hang towels/clothes while showering. Bed in room 12 was awful. The mattress springs are broken, resulting in a large slope in the mattress... enought to make someone slide out of bed. Walls are thin, making it possible to listen to conversations and sexual encouters which took place in the shared dorm next door. Staff did very little to maintain quiet within the hostel after 11PM. Street noise was also a problem. Free computer barely worked (very very patchy internet connection, and appeared to be bogged down, my guess would be viruses). Computer periodically sounded like it was attempting to take-off - noise could be heard upstairs in the rooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice place,good location, friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

jessica chandler

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011

Liked: The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful to help us get around the city and a nice map. There was a computer open for people to use and drinks. IT was a secure place and clean. The breakfast was good also.

Disliked: I would say unless you are a night owl who doesn't like to get up early after everyone downstairs parties all night. If we were not on the top floor I do not know how we would get any sleep there were a dozen people downstairs at 10:30pm. Climbing 5 flights of stairs for the bedroom, then going down 2 flights to the shared shower and go to the bathroom was not great.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast

Disliked: Seating area was too small, no regular TV

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is really confortable, shower and W.C. are all very clean! Staff are so nice and helpful (I should try their black taxi tour next time)!!! Nice full english breakfast~

Disliked: Could improve the wifi signal to every room, the light in the room could be brighter~ Also, could consider to provide a safer lock for the room!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

britelle humfrey

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 britelle would recommend this property

Liked: a brilliant hostel. i stayed at 15 and this was one of my favs. great location, friendly staff and travellers, great location, comfy, awesome kitchen, tv (huge screen!) room, washing service. awesome.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Belinda Rovetto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 May 2011 Belinda would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were extremely kind and very helpful! Cinema room and hot breakfast were great!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Claire Lise Fond

As a family with children

Family Holiday

06 May 2011 Claire Lise would recommend this property

Liked: The great welcoming and the gorgeous breakfast !!!

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful. Gave great information about belfast and what to see. Helped with booking tours. Breakfast was quite good.

Disliked: The showers weren't great. Went hot/cold and the shower head fell out of the holder.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Judge

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 May 2011 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: how it was so central to the city and how clean the place is kept. The staff were also very helpful!!

Disliked: i didn't have any problems with my stay at Lagan Backpackers

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the breakfast, it was really good.

Disliked: It was too noisy, no one respect the night ours.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness, helpfulness of the staff. Clean, for hostels quite comfy beds.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lagan Backpackers is so far one of the best backpackers i have stayed in. The staff are all friendly and helpful and its obvious their focus is on making the customer happy. Was also a great environment to meet people which is perfect for the solo traveller. I was never lonely or alone and easily found people to have dinner with or talk to or goo out with. The managers passing out free beer each night sure helps. Also so far the only backpackers ive stayed at that offers a free hot breakfast. Defintely a great place to stay.

Disliked: Nothing to not liek really. Internet was a litle slow but this is a server problem and well, its free wifi so cant really complain.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheila Carey

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2011 Sheila would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely friendly and helpful staff. 24 hour reception. Breakfast (even made us toast and hot drinks when going out an hour before breakfast).

Disliked: A bit too noisy after midnight.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Erin Bosanquet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 April 2011 Erin would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were friendly, large loung with huge projectore screen and loads of movies, comfortable beds, not too packed. 24 hour reception. Free cooked breakfast. Showers were good ! Not far from town - walking distance. I would stay here again.

Disliked: nothing