HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 77%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.87USD

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 77%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Showing 71-80 of 266 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, not a big hostel

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds you get cider, burger and fries - good food good value and good way to bring the hostel together.

Disliked: A lot of outlets didn't work and my door didn't lock.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for the kind words and I would like to point out that the locks on each room have a device that holds the catch open and some guests will use that when going for a shower. All of the door locks work perfectly when used properly. As for the outlets, I double-checked after seeing your review and all of the outlets in your room work. Not sure which ones you are referring to but a word to me or my staff about any problems that might have arisen and we would have been happy to sort them out

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Awesome burgers for 3 pounds and generous yummy hot brekkies!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: very nice hostel. pity that i only have less than two days to explore belfast. will come back provided there's a chance!

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were great - recommending the best places to go to, giving good advice and really went out their way to make you feel safe and happy. The breakfast was also very good.

Disliked: I had problems with the showers - one didn't work, and the other's temperature control didn't work, so I was left with a freezing shower. The bathrooms in general could have been in a better state - the hot water tap in one toilet didn't work. The security could be questioned also as we were given codes for the doors - this means that people could come back into the place after their stay has finished, a potential security threat. Also, with different people staying for different durations, how can they determine that people can only get in for the nights they paid for? This is slightly flawed, though I don't want to overemphasize these negatives as my overall stay was very pleasant and the security otherwise was very good and I enjoyed my stay.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Location

Disliked: I wasn't asked if I wanted tea or coffee in the morning with my breakfast. I didn't know I had to make it myself and had to awkwardly ask where everything was. Wasn't a problem but would like to have been told as I've never stayed in a hostel before so didn't know the story!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: This is the best hostel I've stayed in, mainly in terms of friendliness of staff and general atmosphere! It was a shame to leave and I'll hopefully be back one day!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 May 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife

Liked: Awesome environment. Great breakfast.

Disliked: Dorms are pretty tight.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good distance from the gardens and a lot of stores and restaurants. Good company.

Disliked: One day of my stay had cold showers, but I imagine that it was because all of the showers were being used at once.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lagan Backpackers Hostel was my favourite place to stay during my 6 week trip through Europe. The staff are extremely helpful, you can order a great hot breakfast every morning, and it was incredibly easy to meet fellow travellers. The hostel is well taken care of and clean, it felt like home for the time I spent there.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability