We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

82.4% Overall Rating

570 out of 620 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2015)

Amy Trembath thinks…

"Lagan backpackers is a great wee hostel with awesome staff and a friendly atmosphere, instantly felt at home. Cooked breakfasts in the morning (shoutout to the handsome Scotsman) and curtains around…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.87 USD

Hostel 93.8% 185 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.09 USD

Hostel 77.9% 322 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.87 USD

Hostel 73.4% 809 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.87 USD

Hostel 82.2% 49 reviews
Titanic Apartments
39.05 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
64.04 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.90 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

570 out of 620 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 562 of 605 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly people and the frindly environment.

Disliked: The private single bedrooms are extremely expensive for the cheap and poor service they offer. I would have paid the most 25 pounds and still I think it lacks cleaniness. They don't say we need to pay 1 pound for towel (which are not properly cleaned and this is very against basic hygiene). For backpackers though who pay 15 ou 17 pounds to sleep together with other people I think the hostel is quite good. If you want a private single, you should look for Travelodge or Ibis (standard hotels I believe).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, in a great location with great facilities and great staff. It was awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast, friendly staff, and it's really clean.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from stuff. The 12 bed room probably needs more lockers, but this shouldn't be a problem during low-season.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Dalton

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast, Clean, Good Value, Very Accommodating, overall a great stay

Disliked: Having to ring the bell to get in at night was annoying, ordering breakfast that differed from the set menus was an issue for some of our group

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had no problems at all finding the hostel, had to walk a little from the city centre but the location was still close to several supermarkets and restaurants, and the staff were very helpful. has a warm, homely atmosphere, and you even had your choice of breakfast. Day tours recommended by the hostel were good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aline courteille

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 aline would recommend this property

Liked: Everything really. You feel absolutely at home! Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is amazing. uiet hostel. really near the city centre.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, reasonably clean

Disliked: i booked the single room for quiet. Unfortunately it was on the ground floor, next to reception and facing the street - between 1 and 3am it is impossible to sleep, the noise is so bad. no secure parking either, it is not a safe area at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

crystal lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 crystal would recommend this property

Liked: They offer everything we need: free tea and coffee, hot cooked delicious breakfast rather than just bread in most of the hostels, plus free wifi, free computer even free drinks. What's more, the price is unbelivable valuable. It seems I paid nothing but got a lot of free presents. All staff are very friendly and helpful. It's the first hostel I have ever met that they will give you a free map and tell you about belfast in details. In a word, I love Lagan! Thank you guys!

Disliked: I can't think out anything. I like all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i've been to. The staff give you everything you need on advice about Belfast. the cooked breakfast in the morning was very good. WiFi was free and good speed(also free PC) clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: all of it was good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Bellemore

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 February 2012 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing breakfast that was offered for free is always a good thing to have available in a hostel whilst travelling on a budget. The recommendation of the black cab tour was definitely the main highlight of my travels whilst being in Belfast. Will (the boss) is one of the most helpful hostel workers that i have experienced during my travels and will always ensure that your night will be quality.

Disliked: That i have to leave and Jeremy Kyle on tv.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Castellas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. The atmosphere created by the other guests and staff in particular was fantastic. My friend and I felt comfortable and secure and was in an environment where I met other travellers and now friends. The hot breakfast was cooked fresh and very nice. The rooms and communal areas are cleaned daily. Overall very happy with this hostel.

Disliked: Pub crawls were not organised through the hostel as advertised. But places were suggested and found easily enough.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

nicola king

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 February 2012 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing, welcoming, helpful and friendly. Had a cooked breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Little far out from the city centre (about 25/30 minute walk) and the rooms are basic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common areas and friendly staff.

Disliked: WIFI was sometimes slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am incredibly bowled over by Lagan Backpackers - the character of the place, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff was impeccable. In addition to this, the location was perfect - really friendly area with everything on your doorstep, and 10 minute walk into the city centre.

Disliked: I loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and the best hot breakfast i have ever had free in any hostel worldwide. Big screen projector and free wifi and internet. Great value for money

Disliked: Not much. They are refurbing but rooms on a different level

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere. Will and the guys were a hoot.

Disliked: possibly needed more facilities - more bathrooms?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santosh Hardageri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 January 2012 Santosh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, they make you feel at home. The hostel is located in a safe area and very near to shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend others to stay here when they visit Belfast. And also its a good value for money.

Disliked: Can't think of any.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YIWEN LU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 YIWEN would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good.

Disliked: The bed is not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really great time here and met some great people to hang out with. The atmosphere was excellent and we felt right at home. William knows everything you need to know about Belfast to make sure you experience it all and the staff ensures you have a good time. Thanks for the memories (and the free drinks!)

Disliked: Considering how incredibly much you get for so little there is absolutely nothing to dislike.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 December 2011

Liked: Near to the botanic garden

Disliked: Very old, very dirty, smelled bad

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best breakfast in all hostels I had been! plus, It is FREE!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pettagam Sudath Chandrakumara

Alone

City break

11 December 2011 Pettagam Sudath would recommend this property

Liked: Specially the owner, Mr William a real helpful and friendly gemtleman The staff was fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brent Harasym

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 December 2011 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Great location, great facilities and most importantly great people. The owner really goes the extra mile to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The hot breakfast every morning is also amazing. I really felt welcome and comfortable at this place. If you're in Belfast, don't even consider staying anywhere else.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything far exceeded my standards and expectations.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011

Liked: Excellent free cooked breakfast each morning, bathrooms large and clean, huge selection of free DVDs to watch in movie room, free WIFI

Disliked: Unfortunately I was attacked by bedbugs during my stay. I did not bring them with me, as suggested by a staff member, as this was the first time they bit me. Also, I did not receive any free accommodation, free cream or any other perks as a staff member has tried to claim! This is the one complaint I have, and maybe they have managed to get rid of them as other reviews are positive, but I am not going to pretend it never happened as they are nasty bugs that ruined the rest of my holiday!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in the Uni quarter, handy on street parking. The guy in charge is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Pillows. old and very flat. Heating was on all night, so the room was roasting.