We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

81.7% Overall Rating

558 out of 606 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/04/2015)

"The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really good, especially the scrambled eggs."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.27

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.15 USD

Hostel 92.6% 181 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.15 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.15 USD

Hostel 82.7% 46 reviews
Titanic Apartments
37.77 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
48.35 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.40 USD

Hostel 79.4% 321 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
27.95 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

558 out of 606 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
85.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 550 of 591 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common areas and friendly staff.

Disliked: WIFI was sometimes slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am incredibly bowled over by Lagan Backpackers - the character of the place, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff was impeccable. In addition to this, the location was perfect - really friendly area with everything on your doorstep, and 10 minute walk into the city centre.

Disliked: I loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and the best hot breakfast i have ever had free in any hostel worldwide. Big screen projector and free wifi and internet. Great value for money

Disliked: Not much. They are refurbing but rooms on a different level

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere. Will and the guys were a hoot.

Disliked: possibly needed more facilities - more bathrooms?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santosh Hardageri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 January 2012 Santosh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, they make you feel at home. The hostel is located in a safe area and very near to shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend others to stay here when they visit Belfast. And also its a good value for money.

Disliked: Can't think of any.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YIWEN LU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2012 YIWEN would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is good.

Disliked: The bed is not very clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a really great time here and met some great people to hang out with. The atmosphere was excellent and we felt right at home. William knows everything you need to know about Belfast to make sure you experience it all and the staff ensures you have a good time. Thanks for the memories (and the free drinks!)

Disliked: Considering how incredibly much you get for so little there is absolutely nothing to dislike.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 December 2011

Liked: Near to the botanic garden

Disliked: Very old, very dirty, smelled bad

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the best breakfast in all hostels I had been! plus, It is FREE!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pettagam Sudath Chandrakumara

Alone

City break

11 December 2011 Pettagam Sudath would recommend this property

Liked: Specially the owner, Mr William a real helpful and friendly gemtleman The staff was fantastic

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brent Harasym

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 December 2011 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Great location, great facilities and most importantly great people. The owner really goes the extra mile to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The hot breakfast every morning is also amazing. I really felt welcome and comfortable at this place. If you're in Belfast, don't even consider staying anywhere else.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything far exceeded my standards and expectations.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011

Liked: Excellent free cooked breakfast each morning, bathrooms large and clean, huge selection of free DVDs to watch in movie room, free WIFI

Disliked: Unfortunately I was attacked by bedbugs during my stay. I did not bring them with me, as suggested by a staff member, as this was the first time they bit me. Also, I did not receive any free accommodation, free cream or any other perks as a staff member has tried to claim! This is the one complaint I have, and maybe they have managed to get rid of them as other reviews are positive, but I am not going to pretend it never happened as they are nasty bugs that ruined the rest of my holiday!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in the Uni quarter, handy on street parking. The guy in charge is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Pillows. old and very flat. Heating was on all night, so the room was roasting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shruti Gupta

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Shruti would recommend this property

Liked: The people, the company, the atmosphere, and alcohol.

Disliked: Nothing much. It was apt for the price paid and the amount of time spent there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: We ended up extending our stay here. The value for money was great. The receptionist was so incredibly helpful. The owner even came down to the common area and had a few drinks with us. the atmosphere was really good. I went in the off season I couldn't imagine what its like in peak season.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. staff and owner go out of there way to make sure everybody enjoys their stay and it gives a more home feel. the owner brought in beers and shared with everyone which was nice. breakfast is best you'll find in a hostel anywhere. the owner is a past backpacker and it shows as everything you like and want in a hostel is provided, and he has some great stories to tell.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great - very helpful. And it was easy to meet other people.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit crampt.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2011

Liked: friendly staff who earn to little for what they (must) do

Disliked: doors do not lock properly, so what is the use of the codes to enter? broken lights in the private room bad mattress in double bed even for private 2p room (higher rate) you need to share the bathroom in the hall, and the bathrooms were too small and dirty which we don't want to blame the staff for, but everything is just too small and too old

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the girl at reception was very friendly and helpful, loved that you could use the internet, watch dvd's in the movie room, and have a cooked breakfast at no extra charge.

Disliked: just that you can hear the people in the room above you walking about, so not overly great for noise levels in that regard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Sutherland

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and safe. Good location. Loved the atmosphere!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alita Hancock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Alita would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing the staff were really helpful, the breakfast was delicious (so nice to have hot proper food rather than just toast and cereal) , you actually got beds to sleep in and not just a bunk and the whiskey was delicious. this place just has a wonderful atmosphere

Disliked: i cant actually say anything , this place was amazing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joachim Doll

Alone

City break

10 October 2011 Joachim would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, only 10 minutes walk from Europa Bus station

Disliked: all ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, extremely friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: The owner is friendly to the point of being a bit pushy about it. Good if you're travelling for fun, not so much otherwise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Venessa Sanders

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 October 2011 Venessa would recommend this property

Liked: hospitality in hostel is the best out of all the hostels stayed in

Disliked: nothing comes to mind

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William and his staffs are really nice! Amazing service and impressively friendly smoking area! Will come back if visiting Belfast again!

Disliked: We stayed in a room with sloping roof and we knocked our heads for twice although it is a lovely room...