HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

83.3% Overall Rating

519 out of 558 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/07/2014)

Laura Woodward Woodward thinks…

"Free breakfast made by the nicest man I've ever met! And it wasn't the typical cereal and toast, there was bacon and eggs, and not powdered eggs haha! Also, they have a BBQ every night for 3 pounds…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.56

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.91 USD

Hostel 92.5% 168 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
22.20 USD

Hostel 92.6% 222 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
23.06 USD

Hostel 76.7% 805 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.89 USD

Hostel 83.5% 41 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.70 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
25.62 USD

Hostel 88.9% 45 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
54.65 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
23.06 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

519 out of 558 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 515 of 544 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brent Harasym

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 December 2011 Brent would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. This was the best hostel I have ever stayed at. Great location, great facilities and most importantly great people. The owner really goes the extra mile to make sure that you enjoy your stay. The hot breakfast every morning is also amazing. I really felt welcome and comfortable at this place. If you're in Belfast, don't even consider staying anywhere else.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything far exceeded my standards and expectations.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2011

Liked: Excellent free cooked breakfast each morning, bathrooms large and clean, huge selection of free DVDs to watch in movie room, free WIFI

Disliked: Unfortunately I was attacked by bedbugs during my stay. I did not bring them with me, as suggested by a staff member, as this was the first time they bit me. Also, I did not receive any free accommodation, free cream or any other perks as a staff member has tried to claim! This is the one complaint I have, and maybe they have managed to get rid of them as other reviews are positive, but I am not going to pretend it never happened as they are nasty bugs that ruined the rest of my holiday!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located in the Uni quarter, handy on street parking. The guy in charge is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Pillows. old and very flat. Heating was on all night, so the room was roasting.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shruti Gupta

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Shruti would recommend this property

Liked: The people, the company, the atmosphere, and alcohol.

Disliked: Nothing much. It was apt for the price paid and the amount of time spent there.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louis Carter

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2011 Louis would recommend this property

Liked: We ended up extending our stay here. The value for money was great. The receptionist was so incredibly helpful. The owner even came down to the common area and had a few drinks with us. the atmosphere was really good. I went in the off season I couldn't imagine what its like in peak season.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. staff and owner go out of there way to make sure everybody enjoys their stay and it gives a more home feel. the owner brought in beers and shared with everyone which was nice. breakfast is best you'll find in a hostel anywhere. the owner is a past backpacker and it shows as everything you like and want in a hostel is provided, and he has some great stories to tell.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great - very helpful. And it was easy to meet other people.

Disliked: The rooms were a bit crampt.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 November 2011

Liked: friendly staff who earn to little for what they (must) do

Disliked: doors do not lock properly, so what is the use of the codes to enter? broken lights in the private room bad mattress in double bed even for private 2p room (higher rate) you need to share the bathroom in the hall, and the bathrooms were too small and dirty which we don't want to blame the staff for, but everything is just too small and too old

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the girl at reception was very friendly and helpful, loved that you could use the internet, watch dvd's in the movie room, and have a cooked breakfast at no extra charge.

Disliked: just that you can hear the people in the room above you walking about, so not overly great for noise levels in that regard.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Sutherland

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2011 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and safe. Good location. Loved the atmosphere!

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alita Hancock

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 October 2011 Alita would recommend this property

Liked: This place was amazing the staff were really helpful, the breakfast was delicious (so nice to have hot proper food rather than just toast and cereal) , you actually got beds to sleep in and not just a bunk and the whiskey was delicious. this place just has a wonderful atmosphere

Disliked: i cant actually say anything , this place was amazing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joachim Doll

Alone

City break

10 October 2011 Joachim would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly, only 10 minutes walk from Europa Bus station

Disliked: all ok

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, extremely friendly. Excellent location.

Disliked: The owner is friendly to the point of being a bit pushy about it. Good if you're travelling for fun, not so much otherwise.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Venessa Sanders

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

05 October 2011 Venessa would recommend this property

Liked: hospitality in hostel is the best out of all the hostels stayed in

Disliked: nothing comes to mind

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William and his staffs are really nice! Amazing service and impressively friendly smoking area! Will come back if visiting Belfast again!

Disliked: We stayed in a room with sloping roof and we knocked our heads for twice although it is a lovely room...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were nice and friendly.It seemed to be clean.

Disliked: The bedroom facilitied could be improved.there was noise at late night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Room and bathroom are quite clean.

Disliked: Lockers seem to be broken?

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: About 10 min walk from the city centre, bus station & train. Plenty of bathrooms, good wifi, great tv room, full breakfast cooked for you upon order, staff were very very helpful.

Disliked: Could if Been a bit cleaner, but this is minor and nothing too be too concerned with.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Kunkel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 September 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: hot free breakfast was amazing, drinking whiskey with the owner was amazing, good location near bars and restaurants, staff was incredibly friendly and helpful

Disliked: the beds could use a little updating...matresses weren't the most comfortable ever and most of the pillows were pretty flat. small complaint considering how great everything else was

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Irish breakfast was included, which was pretty good. Also the stuff was very helpful.

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cathal Griffin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Cathal would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean, the staff could not do enough for you, the hot breakfast was great, free internet and they also provide a PC! But the atmosphere, staff & social life was best of all.

Disliked: The Mattresses.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

glenn burling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2011 glenn would recommend this property

Liked: the owner, william, is a great help. points out all the sights to see, and recommends the best tours to do, and he was more than happy to share a whiskey with us. the breakfast included is fantastic. everything was clean, and free internet is very helpful.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great free breakfast, comfy beds, fun staff

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Free breakfast. Washing facilities. Free international phone calls.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike