HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.11USD

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 77%

Showing 51-60 of 117 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: After arriving from a 35+ hour journey from the other side of the world, this was exactly the place i needed to be. The staff were very friendly and fun and very welcoming. The breakfasts were good, hot and on time everyday. Definitely would stay here again.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: So friendly definetely stay there and very decent

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With a large group / tour

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: it had a kitchen to use plus wifi but only one staff helpful rest not helpful

Disliked: was going from London for holiday last minute missed ferry had no time to give notice and ended up paying an extra day for nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

It's unfortunate that you decided to leave a poor review based on things beyond our control. You booked two nights and showed up at 3am thinking your booking was for the13th and 14th instead of the 14th and 15th. Our receptionist was able to find you a place to stay since we were sold out. We also reduced your stay by one day as opposed to you paying for an extra day. You made numerous phone calls after you realised you'd made a mistake and we (all 4 of us) were polite and obliging each time.

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport.

Disliked: Only minor detials: Needs some paint and repair . Complex door locks with codes (hard to read with little light).

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Location and friendly staff. Bedding and room clean and tidy.

Disliked: All good.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Lagan backpackers was an awesome hostel! Really clean and great value for money! Melissa showed us Belfast's great night life and Steve cooked us up an amazing breakfast every morning! Thanks so much guys we loved it!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff, who would sit down and have a drink with us of an evening.

Disliked: It was one of the slightly more expensive places we've stayed.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly staff and location

Disliked: The mould on the ceiling in the bathroom. The beds were very uncomfortable, like springs digging into your back. You couldn't open the window so it was very stuffy in the room.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Hot, simple breakfast and friendly staff. Proximity to lovely cafés and university. Friendly advice provided by receptionist, and staff were always attentive.

Disliked: Shower cubicles were in disrepair – cracks in the shower, things falling apart – and creaky floors meant we could hear all visitors walking about throughout the night. The rooms were very spartan and functional, though lacking in character. There are ways to spruce up a hostel cheaply!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

I'm surprised you found the twin private room "spartan" considering that room has an upholstered chair, paintings on the wall, blackout curtains, professionally-laundered bed linen, a wardrobe with full length mirror, a desk, a 4-drawer dresser and a free coffee/tea caddy. As for the "simple breakfast", most people wouldn't classify a free hot, made-to-order breakfast menu with 6 different choices including a full English Breakfast, as simple.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Most helpful and friendly staff, it was my first time in Dublin and they recommended tours and free things for me to do, I also booked the black taxi tour and the giants causeway tour through them and it was so easy and straight forward, plus I had the best time. Free cooked breakfast, tea and coffee off the menu, they bring it to you and wash your dishes after.For £4 they did my laundry for me. Location is prime! So close to the river, botanical gardens and museum and only a 10 minute walk to Princess Square with cute cafés and restaurants along the way.

Disliked: Can't really fault this place, I guess the showers were a bit old fashioned but still managed.Also wifi didn't work for me.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability