HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

80.5% Overall Rating

527 out of 569 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/08/2014)

David Griffiths thinks…

"I liked that it was clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful, especially when i had to leave the hostel a day early and they helped me print off my travel form."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.49

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.22 USD

Hostel 92.0% 172 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.56 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.39 USD

Hostel 74.1% 806 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.22 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.46 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.88 USD

Hostel 88.3% 48 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
65.51 USD

Hostel 86.2% 6 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.39 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.5%

Overall Rating

527 out of 569 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
74.4%
Staff
84.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 520 of 552 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HAYDEN HERBERT

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2012 HAYDEN would recommend this property

Liked: Hi all, this was the first time i stayed at a hostel, i did not know what to expect, as i walk in i was greeted by a very friendly member of the staff and that set the tone for the rest of my stay, i felt so at home and i would very much recommend Lagan Backpackers to any one, so much so i will be returning later this year. thanks every one at Lagan Backpackers for a wonderful time.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Zaborski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling in Belfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owner even invited the guests to a meal that he cooked himself, and talked with everyone present. It was a very memorable, positive experience.

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheri Smith

Alone

City break

10 April 2012 Cheri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Whether it be arranging tours, making suggestions of places to go or having a chat. There was often an evening activity arranged e.g. movie on a large projector screen, bbq etc. The breakfast in the morning had a good selection (full English, vegetarian, scrambled egg and bacon or toast) and was cooked to order.

Disliked: I felt a bit cold - could have done with heating on. The rooms aren't the biggest so once everyone has their luggage in it can be a tight squeeze. The beds were metal framed and could be difficult for people to climb up to the top bunk and a little noisy if they hit off the lockers. They don't look too comfy but I was pleasantly surprised that they were! There is only 1 bathroom per floor so this might be shared between 18 people so there can be bit of a wait for a shower/the toilet in the mornings.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free hot breakfast. Because many pubs/restaurants were closed for Good Friday, owner held a bbq. Great fun - whiskey flowing!

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms/showers. Always a line in the morning to get ready.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bing song

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 bing would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere and staffs.

Disliked: little bit far away from city center. Even though yummy breakfast, it is not enough for men.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice reception and delicious english breakfast. near to city center and europe bus station~chances to meet new friends!

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, breakfast was awesome, great atmosphere and free tea all day yo

Disliked: nothin to say here!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: warm welcome, nice breakfast, no large dorms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the friendly people and the frindly environment.

Disliked: The private single bedrooms are extremely expensive for the cheap and poor service they offer. I would have paid the most 25 pounds and still I think it lacks cleaniness. They don't say we need to pay 1 pound for towel (which are not properly cleaned and this is very against basic hygiene). For backpackers though who pay 15 ou 17 pounds to sleep together with other people I think the hostel is quite good. If you want a private single, you should look for Travelodge or Ibis (standard hotels I believe).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, in a great location with great facilities and great staff. It was awesome!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot breakfast, friendly staff, and it's really clean.

Disliked: A bit of a walk from stuff. The 12 bed room probably needs more lockers, but this shouldn't be a problem during low-season.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Dalton

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2012 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast, Clean, Good Value, Very Accommodating, overall a great stay

Disliked: Having to ring the bell to get in at night was annoying, ordering breakfast that differed from the set menus was an issue for some of our group

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had no problems at all finding the hostel, had to walk a little from the city centre but the location was still close to several supermarkets and restaurants, and the staff were very helpful. has a warm, homely atmosphere, and you even had your choice of breakfast. Day tours recommended by the hostel were good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aline courteille

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 aline would recommend this property

Liked: Everything really. You feel absolutely at home! Staff is very helpful. Breakfast is amazing. uiet hostel. really near the city centre.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, reasonably clean

Disliked: i booked the single room for quiet. Unfortunately it was on the ground floor, next to reception and facing the street - between 1 and 3am it is impossible to sleep, the noise is so bad. no secure parking either, it is not a safe area at night.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

crystal lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 crystal would recommend this property

Liked: They offer everything we need: free tea and coffee, hot cooked delicious breakfast rather than just bread in most of the hostels, plus free wifi, free computer even free drinks. What's more, the price is unbelivable valuable. It seems I paid nothing but got a lot of free presents. All staff are very friendly and helpful. It's the first hostel I have ever met that they will give you a free map and tell you about belfast in details. In a word, I love Lagan! Thank you guys!

Disliked: I can't think out anything. I like all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel i've been to. The staff give you everything you need on advice about Belfast. the cooked breakfast in the morning was very good. WiFi was free and good speed(also free PC) clean rooms and bathrooms.

Disliked: all of it was good

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jake Bellemore

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 February 2012 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: The amazing breakfast that was offered for free is always a good thing to have available in a hostel whilst travelling on a budget. The recommendation of the black cab tour was definitely the main highlight of my travels whilst being in Belfast. Will (the boss) is one of the most helpful hostel workers that i have experienced during my travels and will always ensure that your night will be quality.

Disliked: That i have to leave and Jeremy Kyle on tv.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Patrick Castellas

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

07 February 2012 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful and friendly staff. The atmosphere created by the other guests and staff in particular was fantastic. My friend and I felt comfortable and secure and was in an environment where I met other travellers and now friends. The hot breakfast was cooked fresh and very nice. The rooms and communal areas are cleaned daily. Overall very happy with this hostel.

Disliked: Pub crawls were not organised through the hostel as advertised. But places were suggested and found easily enough.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

nicola king

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 February 2012 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are amazing, welcoming, helpful and friendly. Had a cooked breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Little far out from the city centre (about 25/30 minute walk) and the rooms are basic.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good common areas and friendly staff.

Disliked: WIFI was sometimes slow.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I am incredibly bowled over by Lagan Backpackers - the character of the place, cleanliness and helpfulness of the staff was impeccable. In addition to this, the location was perfect - really friendly area with everything on your doorstep, and 10 minute walk into the city centre.

Disliked: I loved everything!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff and the best hot breakfast i have ever had free in any hostel worldwide. Big screen projector and free wifi and internet. Great value for money

Disliked: Not much. They are refurbing but rooms on a different level

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Atmosphere. Will and the guys were a hoot.

Disliked: possibly needed more facilities - more bathrooms?

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santosh Hardageri

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 January 2012 Santosh would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly, they make you feel at home. The hostel is located in a safe area and very near to shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend others to stay here when they visit Belfast. And also its a good value for money.

Disliked: Can't think of any.