We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

87.0% Overall Rating

545 out of 589 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/01/2015)

Laura Hoefer thinks…

"The property was secure and offered multiple options to the guests for where they would like to hang out"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.72 USD

Hostel 81.5% 44 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
30.02 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.0% 7 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

545 out of 589 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
79.2%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 537 of 575 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best hostel I stayed at in all of UK! The owner is very friendly as well as all the other staff. The hostel has a very friendly and homely feel. Furthermore, the owner sent my charger to London when I forgot it within just a couple of days, which really made my day. Amazing dinner/BBQ and the best hostel breakfast you will ever find. Loved my stay would recommend to any traveller.

Disliked: Nothing at all, everything was excellent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easygoing and friendly staff. Great breakfast! Good location

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

25 June 2012

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast and barbeque in the evenings make it very social. Clean rooms and quiet at night. Would defenitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Ye

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

21 June 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast, the staff is witty and helpful.

Disliked: shower water not hot at all in some bathrooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Dore

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, amazing price, friendly and helpful staff, a great location and on top of all that, a free breakfast! Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ania Plawecka

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012

Liked: The location is very central and the staff was very helpful, giving tips on self-walking trips the free breakfast was a plus

Disliked: Unfortunately very dirty, the linen didn't seem to have been changed & the toilets upstairs were sticky

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matheus Pappiani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: - The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. - The breakfast, which is included in the price, is really good. - The hostel promotes BBQ nights to promote meetings for the guests.

Disliked: Matheus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carina Berg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 June 2012 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: It's great! The free breakfast is very generous and delicious! Everything is very clean and neat, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great for the money and a lot better than many of the other hostels in Belfast.

Disliked: Carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Love the free hot breakfast and the 3gbp BBQ every night. Willam is a great host. It was a lot of fun.

Disliked: Saying there's free wifi but charging 2gbp a day. Was stuck in the doorway for 15mins before someone answered. "not my shift, not my problem". Sad. The host and most of the employees are cool, except for a few bad apples. Great potential.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nizar khaddaj

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Nizar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome & friedly , special thanks to Charlotte , Joe, and Henrry.

Disliked: I dislike nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Clitheroe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The host and staff are excellent! Extremely helpful, best tourist and travel tips, assistance with trains, planes, and ferry crossing plans! Breakfast was excellent and a BBQ every night means that this is by far the most affordable place to stay! Facilities are clean and well kept, lots of rooms, lots of space, tons of fun! I will never stay anywhere but here when I go to Belfast!

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that I had to leave! I wish I could stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Manager is very friendly and the Hostel is very comfortable.

Disliked: there could be a washing mashine, but that's the only bad thing.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was relaxing and inviting. There was always someone there to help with questions or tour booking. The whole place is brightly decorated and clean!

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers in room, free hot breakfast, free computer use, knowledge of area

Disliked: Showers could of been better, no regular soap in bathroom.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

21 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location with free parking out front which is rare for a big city, the owner was incredibly friendly and helpful, booking tours for us, making recommendations, cooking us dinner. Was a grest place to meet people with a nice common area and nice clearn kitchens. The free breakfast was great.

Disliked: It was very noisy - could hear all conversations from the room and the floors were very loud, could hear people walking around upstairs and at times was so loud it felt as though they were about to come through the ceiling.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really friendly and there were some evenings where all the people of the hostel could come together

Disliked: compared to other hostels that were cheaper the rooms were not in the very best, yet good condition.. no keys for lockers.. bathroom was not en suite (which is no problem for me but was available in cheaper hostels) and the breakfast was pretty good, but not that much

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

HAYDEN HERBERT

Alone

Business / conference

14 April 2012 HAYDEN would recommend this property

Liked: Hi all, this was the first time i stayed at a hostel, i did not know what to expect, as i walk in i was greeted by a very friendly member of the staff and that set the tone for the rest of my stay, i felt so at home and i would very much recommend Lagan Backpackers to any one, so much so i will be returning later this year. thanks every one at Lagan Backpackers for a wonderful time.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danielle Zaborski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 April 2012 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone travelling in Belfast. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The owner even invited the guests to a meal that he cooked himself, and talked with everyone present. It was a very memorable, positive experience.

Disliked: Danielle left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Cheri Smith

Alone

City break

10 April 2012 Cheri would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful. Whether it be arranging tours, making suggestions of places to go or having a chat. There was often an evening activity arranged e.g. movie on a large projector screen, bbq etc. The breakfast in the morning had a good selection (full English, vegetarian, scrambled egg and bacon or toast) and was cooked to order.

Disliked: I felt a bit cold - could have done with heating on. The rooms aren't the biggest so once everyone has their luggage in it can be a tight squeeze. The beds were metal framed and could be difficult for people to climb up to the top bunk and a little noisy if they hit off the lockers. They don't look too comfy but I was pleasantly surprised that they were! There is only 1 bathroom per floor so this might be shared between 18 people so there can be bit of a wait for a shower/the toilet in the mornings.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free hot breakfast. Because many pubs/restaurants were closed for Good Friday, owner held a bbq. Great fun - whiskey flowing!

Disliked: Not enough bathrooms/showers. Always a line in the morning to get ready.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

bing song

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2012 bing would recommend this property

Liked: friendly atmosphere and staffs.

Disliked: little bit far away from city center. Even though yummy breakfast, it is not enough for men.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice reception and delicious english breakfast. near to city center and europe bus station~chances to meet new friends!

Disliked: No

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, breakfast was awesome, great atmosphere and free tea all day yo

Disliked: nothin to say here!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: warm welcome, nice breakfast, no large dorms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.