We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

81.8% Overall Rating

537 out of 580 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Jacob VAN DEN BERG thinks…

"Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.10 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.34 USD

Hostel 87.2% 54 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

537 out of 580 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 566 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wanarat Sayamol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Wanarat would recommend this property

Liked: i like about the staff and their advice, good and more value for money.

Disliked: Wanarat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: Our beds were fine, breakfast was good, location fairly convenient.

Disliked: MANAGER WILLIAM IS TERRIBLE When we arrived our reservation had been lost, so the manager William came to handle it. He reeked of booze. We didn't think much of it until the next night. I ordered the bbq dinner which they do every night to get everyone eating and drinking together. We went down at 8, when it was supposed to begin, and nothing. Checked again at 8:30, finally at 9 we went out and asked the owner about it. He brushed it off and (slurring) grabbed us, dragged us into the kitchen and told us to just drink instead. Some guys there took us aside and told us how he's a heavy drinker and we shouldn't expect to get fed, they would take us to a cheap place nearby (keep in mind they don't work there, they were just other travellers). Finally one of the staff members, really nice girl from New Zealand, realized the food wasn't getting made and went to do it herself. William kept trying to pull her away from the bbq, then told her she was only making the burger because she was a lesbian and "just wanted to fuck" me. He kept going on about this, also telling us that "if they needed a REAL man" we knew where to find him. He kept drinking more and more and finally was just yelling obscenities at me, calling me a "pathetic b*tch" and a "f*cking liar" for reasons nobody is clear on...it seemed to be the fact that I don't speak Polish even though my grandmother is Polish. When I started ignoring him he got angry and became even more rude. Finally everyone left him there and we reassembled in the other kitchen. Once William realized that we were all still hanging out without him he came storming in and started yelling at us to "seriously get the f*ck out right now" or he was "going to just start slapping people." His reasoning was that the kitchen closes at 11 so people can sleep. It was 10:30. Never, ever, ever have we witnessed such unprofessionalism. He made everyone there feel extremely uncomfortable, we shortened our stay in Belfast by a day, we know some others who decided to switch hostels. I have been treated so badly by ANYONE, especially not someone who is in customer service!! We will never stay there again and we will make sure anyone we know who goes to Belfast avoids the place as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were great! Very friendly and welcoming, and just what I was hoping for in Ireland. Loved the daily bar-b-que/social hour. Good security with keypad access. Free wifi. They also coordinated Black Taxi and Giant's Causeway tours, which was very convenient. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jammy Yi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jammy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was quite nice and helpful.

Disliked: Jammy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Golegã

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ++

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is great for meeting new people. The property is meticulously cleaned every day. Rooms are large and have safety lockers.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -the free hot breakfast was great. -there are lots of movies to watch. -plenty of bathrooms and showers, I didn't have to wait to use a toilet or shower. -could take a tour to Giant's Causeway and got picked up from the hostel

Disliked: -a few people were getting bit by bedbugs when I was there, one girl in particular got bitten badly. -it's a bit of a walk from everything. Nothing too far, but you definitely need to walk in.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good cooked breakfast free, and for a cooked breakfast at hostel this cheap! thats awesome!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Breakfast, nice staff, clean, 2 kitchens

Disliked: No one-site computer for guests, have to carry own device

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money in a decent location.

Disliked: Owner decided during Euro 2012 that he didn't like football and was going to ban it on the hostel TV. Not because of rowdy crowds - it was just me at the time - but because he wanted to sit in the guests common room himself. Kicked me out of the room and said he'd put a sign up, 'no football'. The worst part - he made this decision right at kick off in the England game. I thought hostel facilities were for guests, especially when they were using them peacefully?

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed hanging out in the living room and meeting the other travellers/staff, the burgers for dinner and breakfasts, and the help I received from the staff in planning my stay was exceptional.

Disliked: The wifi seems to need upgrading as it was hard to connect, the water went out on me in 2 of my 3 showers (a sign to say it was out of order would have been appreciated!), the top bunk I was in had no side rail, and it was actually still noisy after 11pm, even with earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Hostel, with very friendly Staff and a good atmosphere. They give advices and a map to every guest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jingwen Fan

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012

Liked: professional tour suggestion

Disliked: no 24H hot water

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Spargo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, The staff, The atmosphere, and rooms were comfortable. Great hamburgers

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best hostel I stayed at in all of UK! The owner is very friendly as well as all the other staff. The hostel has a very friendly and homely feel. Furthermore, the owner sent my charger to London when I forgot it within just a couple of days, which really made my day. Amazing dinner/BBQ and the best hostel breakfast you will ever find. Loved my stay would recommend to any traveller.

Disliked: Nothing at all, everything was excellent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easygoing and friendly staff. Great breakfast! Good location

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

25 June 2012

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast and barbeque in the evenings make it very social. Clean rooms and quiet at night. Would defenitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Ye

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

21 June 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast, the staff is witty and helpful.

Disliked: shower water not hot at all in some bathrooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Dore

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, amazing price, friendly and helpful staff, a great location and on top of all that, a free breakfast! Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ania Plawecka

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012

Liked: The location is very central and the staff was very helpful, giving tips on self-walking trips the free breakfast was a plus

Disliked: Unfortunately very dirty, the linen didn't seem to have been changed & the toilets upstairs were sticky

The property's response is...