We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

85.5% Overall Rating

554 out of 599 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/02/2015)

Linda Lindberg thinks…

"Great value for money. Friendly and welcoming staff. Good "keep quiet" policy."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.30

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.46 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
20.69 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.46 USD

Hostel 82.7% 45 reviews
Titanic Apartments
38.32 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
49.05 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.69 USD

Hostel 77.4% 320 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.36 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.5%

Overall Rating

554 out of 599 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
92.8%
Value
91.2%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 544 of 585 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012

Liked: Price, very cheap! Free tea and coffee Free food - although breakfast is small and quite cold.

Disliked: Facilities are very average security isn't awesome - never been a fan of punch code lock, staff, while friendly, are next to useless when it comes to knowing about most tours around Belfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value for money. A very social hostel, great atmosphere. William the owner will go to great lengths to ensure that you have a great time

Disliked: Nothing, can't really be faulted for the price charged

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philip Thomas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and well-located - lots of good bars/cafes nearby and easy walking distance to city centre

Disliked: Shower on our floor wasn't working so bigger queues than normal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Hankins

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast! Unheard of at a hostel! Friendly staff, nice common area, laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Pretty hard to find, not well signed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and small hostel, great way to meet some other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the city centre and everything was in walking distance. Plenty of facilities around the area. It was a safe area. The staff in the hostel were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Shower facilities could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shandar Storm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Shandar would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast we awesome, a free hot breakfast with your stay inc full english breakfasts. the hostel is very friendly and homely and the staff are very nice.

Disliked: There was one light for the room of 8 people and it didnt light up the room that well - but im puling at straws - the hostel was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather McInroy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the helpful staff and friendly welcoming atmosphere. The owner puts a lot of effort into accommodating your needs and getting your fellow travelers to mingle!

Disliked: mattress was a tad flimsy, but they're making a lot of GREAT improvements, so it's definitely an underestimated place that deserves to be highly acknowledged as being an examplary hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome! Bacon, eggs, sausages, toast etc.

Disliked: It was very difficult to get hot water out of the taps and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, room was very tidy and clean, and the guests actually seemed to respect each other's belongings/privacy/right to a decent nights sleep!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, other occupants of dorm were quiet and respectful even on a Saturday night, there was a pretty decent freshly-cooked breakfast in the morning

Disliked: I am pretty sure there were either fleas or bed bugs as I got loads of bites overnight and the next day, and it was too cold for mosquitos. The beds were quite old and very squeaky so it was quite loud every time anyone turned over in the night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco antoniazzo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The owner William is the nicest guy, hey gave us free burgers for dinner one night and was really helpful with. Things to see and not to see in Belfast. This hostel was great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner William is great and helpfull chap!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wanarat Sayamol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Wanarat would recommend this property

Liked: i like about the staff and their advice, good and more value for money.

Disliked: Wanarat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: Our beds were fine, breakfast was good, location fairly convenient.

Disliked: MANAGER WILLIAM IS TERRIBLE When we arrived our reservation had been lost, so the manager William came to handle it. He reeked of booze. We didn't think much of it until the next night. I ordered the bbq dinner which they do every night to get everyone eating and drinking together. We went down at 8, when it was supposed to begin, and nothing. Checked again at 8:30, finally at 9 we went out and asked the owner about it. He brushed it off and (slurring) grabbed us, dragged us into the kitchen and told us to just drink instead. Some guys there took us aside and told us how he's a heavy drinker and we shouldn't expect to get fed, they would take us to a cheap place nearby (keep in mind they don't work there, they were just other travellers). Finally one of the staff members, really nice girl from New Zealand, realized the food wasn't getting made and went to do it herself. William kept trying to pull her away from the bbq, then told her she was only making the burger because she was a lesbian and "just wanted to fuck" me. He kept going on about this, also telling us that "if they needed a REAL man" we knew where to find him. He kept drinking more and more and finally was just yelling obscenities at me, calling me a "pathetic b*tch" and a "f*cking liar" for reasons nobody is clear on...it seemed to be the fact that I don't speak Polish even though my grandmother is Polish. When I started ignoring him he got angry and became even more rude. Finally everyone left him there and we reassembled in the other kitchen. Once William realized that we were all still hanging out without him he came storming in and started yelling at us to "seriously get the f*ck out right now" or he was "going to just start slapping people." His reasoning was that the kitchen closes at 11 so people can sleep. It was 10:30. Never, ever, ever have we witnessed such unprofessionalism. He made everyone there feel extremely uncomfortable, we shortened our stay in Belfast by a day, we know some others who decided to switch hostels. I have been treated so badly by ANYONE, especially not someone who is in customer service!! We will never stay there again and we will make sure anyone we know who goes to Belfast avoids the place as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were great! Very friendly and welcoming, and just what I was hoping for in Ireland. Loved the daily bar-b-que/social hour. Good security with keypad access. Free wifi. They also coordinated Black Taxi and Giant's Causeway tours, which was very convenient. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jammy Yi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jammy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was quite nice and helpful.

Disliked: Jammy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Golegã

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ++

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is great for meeting new people. The property is meticulously cleaned every day. Rooms are large and have safety lockers.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -the free hot breakfast was great. -there are lots of movies to watch. -plenty of bathrooms and showers, I didn't have to wait to use a toilet or shower. -could take a tour to Giant's Causeway and got picked up from the hostel

Disliked: -a few people were getting bit by bedbugs when I was there, one girl in particular got bitten badly. -it's a bit of a walk from everything. Nothing too far, but you definitely need to walk in.

The property's response is...