HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

89.3% Overall Rating

501 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

helen duffield thinks…

"Relaxed atmosphere, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodate my needs. I am 49 so much older than the majority of guests, and have health issues. I was made to feel…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.51 USD

Hostel 90.2% 162 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.83 USD

Hostel 92.9% 214 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.79 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.50 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.97 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
City Backpacker
25.18 USD

Hostel 90.6% 41 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.73 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

501 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 499 of 524 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Golegã

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ++

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is great for meeting new people. The property is meticulously cleaned every day. Rooms are large and have safety lockers.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -the free hot breakfast was great. -there are lots of movies to watch. -plenty of bathrooms and showers, I didn't have to wait to use a toilet or shower. -could take a tour to Giant's Causeway and got picked up from the hostel

Disliked: -a few people were getting bit by bedbugs when I was there, one girl in particular got bitten badly. -it's a bit of a walk from everything. Nothing too far, but you definitely need to walk in.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good cooked breakfast free, and for a cooked breakfast at hostel this cheap! thats awesome!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Breakfast, nice staff, clean, 2 kitchens

Disliked: No one-site computer for guests, have to carry own device

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Martin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 July 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money in a decent location.

Disliked: Owner decided during Euro 2012 that he didn't like football and was going to ban it on the hostel TV. Not because of rowdy crowds - it was just me at the time - but because he wanted to sit in the guests common room himself. Kicked me out of the room and said he'd put a sign up, 'no football'. The worst part - he made this decision right at kick off in the England game. I thought hostel facilities were for guests, especially when they were using them peacefully?

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed hanging out in the living room and meeting the other travellers/staff, the burgers for dinner and breakfasts, and the help I received from the staff in planning my stay was exceptional.

Disliked: The wifi seems to need upgrading as it was hard to connect, the water went out on me in 2 of my 3 showers (a sign to say it was out of order would have been appreciated!), the top bunk I was in had no side rail, and it was actually still noisy after 11pm, even with earplugs.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife

03 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice Hostel, with very friendly Staff and a good atmosphere. They give advices and a map to every guest.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jingwen Fan

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 July 2012

Liked: professional tour suggestion

Disliked: no 24H hot water

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cameron Spargo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2012 Cameron would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, The staff, The atmosphere, and rooms were comfortable. Great hamburgers

Disliked: Nothing at all!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Austin Taylor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2012 Austin would recommend this property

Liked: Simply the best hostel I stayed at in all of UK! The owner is very friendly as well as all the other staff. The hostel has a very friendly and homely feel. Furthermore, the owner sent my charger to London when I forgot it within just a couple of days, which really made my day. Amazing dinner/BBQ and the best hostel breakfast you will ever find. Loved my stay would recommend to any traveller.

Disliked: Nothing at all, everything was excellent.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: easygoing and friendly staff. Great breakfast! Good location

Disliked: nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 June 2012

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: everything

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
City break

25 June 2012

Liked: Very friendly and relaxed atmosphere, great breakfast and barbeque in the evenings make it very social. Clean rooms and quiet at night. Would defenitely recommend it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kim Ye

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

21 June 2012 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast, the staff is witty and helpful.

Disliked: shower water not hot at all in some bathrooms.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Dore

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, amazing price, friendly and helpful staff, a great location and on top of all that, a free breakfast! Would definitely recommend!

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ania Plawecka

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 June 2012

Liked: The location is very central and the staff was very helpful, giving tips on self-walking trips the free breakfast was a plus

Disliked: Unfortunately very dirty, the linen didn't seem to have been changed & the toilets upstairs were sticky

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matheus Pappiani

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012 Matheus would recommend this property

Liked: - The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. - The breakfast, which is included in the price, is really good. - The hostel promotes BBQ nights to promote meetings for the guests.

Disliked: Matheus left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carina Berg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 June 2012 Carina would recommend this property

Liked: It's great! The free breakfast is very generous and delicious! Everything is very clean and neat, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great for the money and a lot better than many of the other hostels in Belfast.

Disliked: Carina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mary Fox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012 Mary would recommend this property

Liked: Love the free hot breakfast and the 3gbp BBQ every night. Willam is a great host. It was a lot of fun.

Disliked: Saying there's free wifi but charging 2gbp a day. Was stuck in the doorway for 15mins before someone answered. "not my shift, not my problem". Sad. The host and most of the employees are cool, except for a few bad apples. Great potential.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Nizar khaddaj

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Nizar would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are awesome & friedly , special thanks to Charlotte , Joe, and Henrry.

Disliked: I dislike nothing :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Douglas Clitheroe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 May 2012 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! The host and staff are excellent! Extremely helpful, best tourist and travel tips, assistance with trains, planes, and ferry crossing plans! Breakfast was excellent and a BBQ every night means that this is by far the most affordable place to stay! Facilities are clean and well kept, lots of rooms, lots of space, tons of fun! I will never stay anywhere but here when I go to Belfast!

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that I had to leave! I wish I could stay!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Manager is very friendly and the Hostel is very comfortable.

Disliked: there could be a washing mashine, but that's the only bad thing.

The property's response is...