HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

83.3% Overall Rating

520 out of 559 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2014)

Nicola Forbes thinks…

"It was very clean and as each room had its own code I felt my stuff was very safe. Additionally no matter what member of staff you spoke to they were all friendly and made you feel at home and part…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.54

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.70 USD

Hostel 91.9% 169 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
22.01 USD

Hostel 92.8% 223 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
22.85 USD

Hostel 76.7% 805 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.69 USD

Hostel 83.0% 42 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.32 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
25.39 USD

Hostel 88.9% 45 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
66.87 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
22.85 USD

Hostel 79.4% 317 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

520 out of 559 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.0%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
86.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 517 of 546 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 20 | 21   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philip Thomas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and well-located - lots of good bars/cafes nearby and easy walking distance to city centre

Disliked: Shower on our floor wasn't working so bigger queues than normal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Hankins

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast! Unheard of at a hostel! Friendly staff, nice common area, laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Pretty hard to find, not well signed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and small hostel, great way to meet some other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the city centre and everything was in walking distance. Plenty of facilities around the area. It was a safe area. The staff in the hostel were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Shower facilities could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shandar Storm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Shandar would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast we awesome, a free hot breakfast with your stay inc full english breakfasts. the hostel is very friendly and homely and the staff are very nice.

Disliked: There was one light for the room of 8 people and it didnt light up the room that well - but im puling at straws - the hostel was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather McInroy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the helpful staff and friendly welcoming atmosphere. The owner puts a lot of effort into accommodating your needs and getting your fellow travelers to mingle!

Disliked: mattress was a tad flimsy, but they're making a lot of GREAT improvements, so it's definitely an underestimated place that deserves to be highly acknowledged as being an examplary hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome! Bacon, eggs, sausages, toast etc.

Disliked: It was very difficult to get hot water out of the taps and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, room was very tidy and clean, and the guests actually seemed to respect each other's belongings/privacy/right to a decent nights sleep!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, other occupants of dorm were quiet and respectful even on a Saturday night, there was a pretty decent freshly-cooked breakfast in the morning

Disliked: I am pretty sure there were either fleas or bed bugs as I got loads of bites overnight and the next day, and it was too cold for mosquitos. The beds were quite old and very squeaky so it was quite loud every time anyone turned over in the night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco antoniazzo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The owner William is the nicest guy, hey gave us free burgers for dinner one night and was really helpful with. Things to see and not to see in Belfast. This hostel was great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner William is great and helpfull chap!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wanarat Sayamol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Wanarat would recommend this property

Liked: i like about the staff and their advice, good and more value for money.

Disliked: Wanarat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: Our beds were fine, breakfast was good, location fairly convenient.

Disliked: MANAGER WILLIAM IS TERRIBLE When we arrived our reservation had been lost, so the manager William came to handle it. He reeked of booze. We didn't think much of it until the next night. I ordered the bbq dinner which they do every night to get everyone eating and drinking together. We went down at 8, when it was supposed to begin, and nothing. Checked again at 8:30, finally at 9 we went out and asked the owner about it. He brushed it off and (slurring) grabbed us, dragged us into the kitchen and told us to just drink instead. Some guys there took us aside and told us how he's a heavy drinker and we shouldn't expect to get fed, they would take us to a cheap place nearby (keep in mind they don't work there, they were just other travellers). Finally one of the staff members, really nice girl from New Zealand, realized the food wasn't getting made and went to do it herself. William kept trying to pull her away from the bbq, then told her she was only making the burger because she was a lesbian and "just wanted to fuck" me. He kept going on about this, also telling us that "if they needed a REAL man" we knew where to find him. He kept drinking more and more and finally was just yelling obscenities at me, calling me a "pathetic b*tch" and a "f*cking liar" for reasons nobody is clear on...it seemed to be the fact that I don't speak Polish even though my grandmother is Polish. When I started ignoring him he got angry and became even more rude. Finally everyone left him there and we reassembled in the other kitchen. Once William realized that we were all still hanging out without him he came storming in and started yelling at us to "seriously get the f*ck out right now" or he was "going to just start slapping people." His reasoning was that the kitchen closes at 11 so people can sleep. It was 10:30. Never, ever, ever have we witnessed such unprofessionalism. He made everyone there feel extremely uncomfortable, we shortened our stay in Belfast by a day, we know some others who decided to switch hostels. I have been treated so badly by ANYONE, especially not someone who is in customer service!! We will never stay there again and we will make sure anyone we know who goes to Belfast avoids the place as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were great! Very friendly and welcoming, and just what I was hoping for in Ireland. Loved the daily bar-b-que/social hour. Good security with keypad access. Free wifi. They also coordinated Black Taxi and Giant's Causeway tours, which was very convenient. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jammy Yi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jammy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was quite nice and helpful.

Disliked: Jammy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Golegã

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ++

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

22 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The common room is great for meeting new people. The property is meticulously cleaned every day. Rooms are large and have safety lockers.

Disliked: Nothing.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -the free hot breakfast was great. -there are lots of movies to watch. -plenty of bathrooms and showers, I didn't have to wait to use a toilet or shower. -could take a tour to Giant's Causeway and got picked up from the hostel

Disliked: -a few people were getting bit by bedbugs when I was there, one girl in particular got bitten badly. -it's a bit of a walk from everything. Nothing too far, but you definitely need to walk in.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good cooked breakfast free, and for a cooked breakfast at hostel this cheap! thats awesome!

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

19 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hot Breakfast, nice staff, clean, 2 kitchens

Disliked: No one-site computer for guests, have to carry own device

The property's response is...