HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

89.4% Overall Rating

499 out of 536 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

helen duffield thinks…

"Relaxed atmosphere, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodate my needs. I am 49 so much older than the majority of guests, and have health issues. I was made to feel…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.54 USD

Hostel 90.2% 161 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.86 USD

Hostel 92.9% 214 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.81 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.53 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
42.03 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
City Backpacker
25.22 USD

Hostel 91.4% 40 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.80 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.61 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.4%

Overall Rating

499 out of 536 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 498 of 522 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bronte Warner

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 February 2013 Bronte would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel. Great friendly staff including the manager who went out of his way to make sure guests enjoyed their stay. Great free breakfast, and most nights can buy a home made dinner for around 2 pounds. Comfy common room, with large projector if you want to watch a movie. Would highly reccommend this hostel.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work very well, this will hopefully be fixed soon though.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

lorine benintendi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 February 2013 lorine would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere, friendly staff, british breakfast

Disliked: lorine left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 December 2012

Liked: It was clean. Good choice in breakfasts. Bedroom had good heating (Bathrooms and downstairs did not)

Disliked: This hotel seriously needs to get some soundproofing work done on the walls. I hardly slept during my stay and the 6 bed room was poky with not enough room for all of us to even open a suitcase in peace. And the tiny 6 bed dorm room means that if you have even one snorer in the room it will sound like they are right next to you. The other thing I can mention is that the sitting room could be made more cosier and warmer. The only warm room during my stay was the bedroom, which was a good point. See above. For 9.99 a night I'd rather stay in one of the cheaper hostels. it wasn't value for money.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

DOMINIQUE SILVA

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2012 DOMINIQUE would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and helpful. It's great that it includes breakfast - not the best english breakfast in the world, but good considering what you're paying for. Nice decorations in the common areas.

Disliked: Building is a bit degraded, especially rooms. Not surprising considering most hostels I've seen, but some small renovations would definitely increase the value of the hostel substantially. No hot showers in the morning... not sure if this always happens, or if I was just unlucky. Neighborhood is quiet, but can be a bit dangerous when walking from city

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012

Liked: Price, very cheap! Free tea and coffee Free food - although breakfast is small and quite cold.

Disliked: Facilities are very average security isn't awesome - never been a fan of punch code lock, staff, while friendly, are next to useless when it comes to knowing about most tours around Belfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value for money. A very social hostel, great atmosphere. William the owner will go to great lengths to ensure that you have a great time

Disliked: Nothing, can't really be faulted for the price charged

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Philip Thomas

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

29 November 2012 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money and well-located - lots of good bars/cafes nearby and easy walking distance to city centre

Disliked: Shower on our floor wasn't working so bigger queues than normal

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sandra Hankins

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2012 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: Free Breakfast! Unheard of at a hostel! Friendly staff, nice common area, laid back atmosphere.

Disliked: Pretty hard to find, not well signed.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and small hostel, great way to meet some other travellers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to the city centre and everything was in walking distance. Plenty of facilities around the area. It was a safe area. The staff in the hostel were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Shower facilities could be improved.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shandar Storm

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2012 Shandar would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast we awesome, a free hot breakfast with your stay inc full english breakfasts. the hostel is very friendly and homely and the staff are very nice.

Disliked: There was one light for the room of 8 people and it didnt light up the room that well - but im puling at straws - the hostel was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Heather McInroy

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Heather would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the helpful staff and friendly welcoming atmosphere. The owner puts a lot of effort into accommodating your needs and getting your fellow travelers to mingle!

Disliked: mattress was a tad flimsy, but they're making a lot of GREAT improvements, so it's definitely an underestimated place that deserves to be highly acknowledged as being an examplary hostel!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was awesome! Bacon, eggs, sausages, toast etc.

Disliked: It was very difficult to get hot water out of the taps and showers.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff, room was very tidy and clean, and the guests actually seemed to respect each other's belongings/privacy/right to a decent nights sleep!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: goood

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, good location, other occupants of dorm were quiet and respectful even on a Saturday night, there was a pretty decent freshly-cooked breakfast in the morning

Disliked: I am pretty sure there were either fleas or bed bugs as I got loads of bites overnight and the next day, and it was too cold for mosquitos. The beds were quite old and very squeaky so it was quite loud every time anyone turned over in the night!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marco antoniazzo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 September 2012 Marco would recommend this property

Liked: The owner William is the nicest guy, hey gave us free burgers for dinner one night and was really helpful with. Things to see and not to see in Belfast. This hostel was great.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Owner William is great and helpfull chap!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Wanarat Sayamol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012 Wanarat would recommend this property

Liked: i like about the staff and their advice, good and more value for money.

Disliked: Wanarat left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap,very good value for money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012

Liked: Our beds were fine, breakfast was good, location fairly convenient.

Disliked: MANAGER WILLIAM IS TERRIBLE When we arrived our reservation had been lost, so the manager William came to handle it. He reeked of booze. We didn't think much of it until the next night. I ordered the bbq dinner which they do every night to get everyone eating and drinking together. We went down at 8, when it was supposed to begin, and nothing. Checked again at 8:30, finally at 9 we went out and asked the owner about it. He brushed it off and (slurring) grabbed us, dragged us into the kitchen and told us to just drink instead. Some guys there took us aside and told us how he's a heavy drinker and we shouldn't expect to get fed, they would take us to a cheap place nearby (keep in mind they don't work there, they were just other travellers). Finally one of the staff members, really nice girl from New Zealand, realized the food wasn't getting made and went to do it herself. William kept trying to pull her away from the bbq, then told her she was only making the burger because she was a lesbian and "just wanted to fuck" me. He kept going on about this, also telling us that "if they needed a REAL man" we knew where to find him. He kept drinking more and more and finally was just yelling obscenities at me, calling me a "pathetic b*tch" and a "f*cking liar" for reasons nobody is clear on...it seemed to be the fact that I don't speak Polish even though my grandmother is Polish. When I started ignoring him he got angry and became even more rude. Finally everyone left him there and we reassembled in the other kitchen. Once William realized that we were all still hanging out without him he came storming in and started yelling at us to "seriously get the f*ck out right now" or he was "going to just start slapping people." His reasoning was that the kitchen closes at 11 so people can sleep. It was 10:30. Never, ever, ever have we witnessed such unprofessionalism. He made everyone there feel extremely uncomfortable, we shortened our stay in Belfast by a day, we know some others who decided to switch hostels. I have been treated so badly by ANYONE, especially not someone who is in customer service!! We will never stay there again and we will make sure anyone we know who goes to Belfast avoids the place as well.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ted Konkel

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 July 2012 Ted would recommend this property

Liked: The owner and staff were great! Very friendly and welcoming, and just what I was hoping for in Ireland. Loved the daily bar-b-que/social hour. Good security with keypad access. Free wifi. They also coordinated Black Taxi and Giant's Causeway tours, which was very convenient. Highly recommended.

Disliked: Ted left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jammy Yi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 July 2012 Jammy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was quite nice and helpful.

Disliked: Jammy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victor Golegã

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 July 2012 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: nothing