We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

80.2% Overall Rating

560 out of 609 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2015)

"Love the free hot breakfast in the mornings and cheap dinners at night. Also great that we could book tours and get picked up for them right from the hostel. Also, a small feature but really great, was the little…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.85 USD

Hostel 93.7% 183 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.07 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.85 USD

Hostel 82.7% 46 reviews
Titanic Apartments
39.03 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
49.95 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.07 USD

Hostel 77.9% 322 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.88 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

560 out of 609 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 594 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms avabile to hang out in were really good

Disliked: The directions to the hostle was terrible

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daixiao Zheng

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2014 Daixiao would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast is good. The option for English breakfast is really luxurious as a hostel.

Disliked: The WiFi is not stable in the room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Offering a dinner and a cooked breakfast is nice. It's the first hostel I've come across that did that.

Disliked: There were a few people in the dorm drinking - guts and gals and they were 'messing. Jumping into the other bed and so on. Apart from anything else, I coudn't sleep.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and hot breakfast.

Disliked: Not many showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vu Hiep Dang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

16 April 2014 Vu Hiep would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly and helpful staffs, great atmosphere, good value for money

Disliked: Vu Hiep left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helen duffield

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2014 helen would recommend this property

Liked: Relaxed atmosphere, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodate my needs. I am 49 so much older than the majority of guests, and have health issues. I was made to feel exceptionally welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for Linda and her colleagues. I highly recommend this property. The beds had lovely deep, comfortable mattresses too.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: they had real beds as well as bunk beds. the breakfast they had was amazing and unlimited coffee and tea. They also offered an option for a cheap home made dinner as well. they were also very helpful with letting us know about what to do while there. we also were leaing quite late and they let us hang out and leave our bags there even after we checked out. really enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: the only thing we had issues with were the directions, it sounded like it was so far from the city centre so we ended up wasting money on a bus that we could have saved because it was a 5 min walk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff that made this hostel stand out from any other hostel I have ever stayed at; I had a really great time because of them

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and good all round

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Julienne Lim

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 March 2014 Julienne would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was so amazing!!

Disliked: Julienne left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely a hostel for the young, or at least the young at heart. You'll easily make friends here and staff encourage an open inviting atmosphere. The Giant's Causeway and Black Cab tours are both quite good and staff have lots of other advice on getting the most out of Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was super friendly and welcoming!

Disliked: Some of the lockers didn't lock but we didn't have any issues with security.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: noise at night

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Lagan made my stay in Belfast! I left with many new friends because of their warmth. It's a fairly low key hostel, and cozy because it's a converted house, but that's exactly what I needed at this stage in my trip. breakfast is made for you every morning and there's free coffee and tea all day.

Disliked: The shower's were quite cold and the bathroom door on my floor didn't lock because the house had shifted and I couldn't close the door far enough to use the lock

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tabea Stoelting

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2014 Tabea would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were super friendly and always took the time to have long chats with us and help us out if we needed anything. Great atmosphere and even greater English breakfast freshly made by Chad!

Disliked: The lock on our dorm door was broken, but since everyone in the hostel was so nice, it did not really make us feel unsafe.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Poor shower and separated hot and cold taps

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, nice facilities and good food. Not too expensive.

Disliked: Because I have celiac disease I preferred continental breakfasts because I could eat more of the things that don't have gluten rather than be limited to a small amount and not eat my fill.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Racha morning the stuff cooks you breakfast. They are really nice and helpful. It's near the university so a lot of young people around.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was welcoming, friendly, and accomodating. They were nice enough to move me from a 10-bed mixed room to a 4-bed single-sex room, free of charge. The free hot breakfast was very nice. The communal dinners were also a nice perk.

Disliked: The room was cold, and the shower was not an ideal temperature.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Provided hot breakfast and free hot drinks anytime.. dinner only cost 1.5 pounds.... location is not bad... lockers provided in rooms.. staff are nice..good wifi...

Disliked: Room is quite cold at night... only one bathroom working.. water is not very hot during shower.. some lockers not functioning properly.. some clothing hangers for our jackets / towels will be good...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My boyfriend and I met more friends staying 2 nights at THIS hostel than on our entire 1 month backpacking trip. Staff encourages everyone to get to know eachother. They make a homemade hot breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pearce Heggie

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 January 2014 Pearce would recommend this property

Liked: Loved my stay. Made me feel very welcome for my birthday. The staff and people that stayed were amazing .

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location is good.

Disliked: The room that I stayed in was a little bit crowded, and the common area is not that big.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Xian Gong

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2013 Xian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room, good staff and convenient location.

Disliked: The cleanness of the bathrooms is not very satisfying.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Conor Magee

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

14 December 2013 Conor would recommend this property

Liked: Very central location, friendly staff, very cheap to stay and free breakfast was a nice touch and unexpected for a hostel. Just a note to other travellers, the hostel description says "cash only" but they do in fact have credit and debit card facilities (I guess the description hasn't been updated in a while).

Disliked: The keypad for opening the front door and the room is a bit finnicky to begin with but you get used to it.