HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 73%

Location 80%

Safety 74%

Staff 86%

Value 83%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 66%

Facilities 73%

Location 80%

Safety 74%

Staff 86%

Value 83%

Showing 11-20 of 268 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I liked that it was safe with all codes for the doors. And the beds were clean

Disliked: There wasn't much I did not like..

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Easy to get to from the airport in a taxi

Disliked: The showers left something to be desired. They were dirty with hair everywhere.

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: -

Disliked: -

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Good location, good breakfast for value, common area and kitchen.

Disliked: Tiny rooms, drunk receptionist, small amount of bathrooms.

54% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
54% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: the free tea and coffee

Disliked: it's not very close to the bus station. the surrounding area is mostly university lands, not touristy. very noisy at night cos of the drinking and kids in the streets. the beds were really squeaky.very snug room. the breakfast was not that good. not enough hot water in the shower for the amount of people staying there.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice comfy bed

Disliked: Scottish man cooking the breakfasts made his political views far too clear and shouted about how he hated the English. Very offended.


The property's response is

We are glad your bed was comfortable. We apologise for David , our in house chef. He usually gets very favorable reviews for his cooking and personality but occasionally someone doesnt his share his sense of humour.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Friendly vibes, good kitchen and common room. Nice and close to the city center

Disliked: Mattress on the first night was a bit rough, but I was able to change bed

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Awesome friendly people great place to stay, good breakfast

Disliked: Shower was either boiling hot or cold no in between needs fixing

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Very reasonably priced, curtains around bunks in dorms provide some privacy, plenty of sockets to plug in cellphones etc, pretty convenient location. Homely if chaotic feel to it.

Disliked: felt a bit crammed with people. The lounge was often shared with the staff, some of whom were backpackers themselves who were getting free accomodation in return for cleaning etc. one of these staff tried to hit me up for a "loan" an hour after we arrived. He owed money to another staff member., so my chances of getting it back looked extremely slim. Felt rundown, and not particulary clean. At times the kitchen was a bit of a bomb site, because the guests seemed unable to put away their own dishes.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your favorable comments regarding staff, dorms, etc.

I have investigated the lounge problem; we were fully booked and indeed the kitchen etc was very busy. The loan request was observed by our manager; the request was made by another guest and not a member of staff; sometimes things are outside our control! we do however apologise for what must have been an uncomfortable moment.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: friendliness and location

Disliked: dirty chair in room,uncomfortable beds

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability