We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

82.4% Overall Rating

570 out of 620 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/07/2015)

Amy Trembath thinks…

"Lagan backpackers is a great wee hostel with awesome staff and a friendly atmosphere, instantly felt at home. Cooked breakfasts in the morning (shoutout to the handsome Scotsman) and curtains around…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.84 USD

Hostel 93.8% 185 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.06 USD

Hostel 77.9% 322 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.84 USD

Hostel 73.4% 809 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.84 USD

Hostel 82.2% 49 reviews
Titanic Apartments
39.01 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
63.97 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

570 out of 620 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 562 of 605 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, the staff is very friendly and nice breakfast, but on the night we stayed, some people were talking aloud in the reception until the next morning. it was very annoying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole McArthur

30 March 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful, telling us all about the city and attractions. He was very friendly and cooks a great breakfast.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William was AMAZING!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: small, but one of the best places I've stayed in 5 years of travel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

eric foster

27 March 2010 eric would recommend this property

Liked: helpful info provided

Disliked: eric left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to Queens University and the city centre. Manager was very helpful and informative and gave good advice about what to see and do (on a budget) in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Ritchie

21 March 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The landlord was really helpful, steering us toward the better value for money tours/attractions. He was also really enthusiastic, friendly, and actively promoted interaction between the people staying there (mainly by filling us all full of beer and whiskey - free!). I didn't enjoy the hangover the next morning, but the free bacon and eggs went down well...

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value hostel, with extremely helpful staff. We stayed there over St. Patricks day and it was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who gave great advice about what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brit Cowan

11 March 2010 Brit would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were great, the neighborhood was great, but the best part of this hostel is William. He cooks you a full breakfast every morning, gets you drunk on whiskey every night, and takes you to the cool pubs in town. He tells you honestly what the best places are in the city and what tourist traps to avoid. He tells you the best way to get to the Giant's Causeway and then is genuinely interested in whether you had fun. He's the best! I had a 5am bus to Dublin, but he wouldn't let me sit around waiting. Instead, we drank whiskey and went to a pub, he bought us pizza, and offered me a free bed until morning. He really takes care of his guests and makes you feel like a friend.

Disliked: Brit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chul hyun Kim

03 March 2010 Chul hyun would recommend this property

Liked: It's my first review for any hostel. I've traveled so many country...more than average. And I always stay in hostel cause it's cheap. I can say Lagan is kind of the best. nice locastion, nice staff, reasonable price, and nice room. If you visit Belfast, I seriously recommand you to stay Logan. I'm not working for this hostel. I'm just student who stay here one night. I love this place more than my flat in Liverpool.

Disliked: Chul hyun left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 March 2010

Liked: I don't like it very much.... it isn't so cleaner...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Doheny

28 February 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull and the breakfast was really nice :)

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vey warm room, bathrooms very clean. Shower want easy to use, told owner. he was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely. great bus service right at end of the road, shops and takeaways very close. Thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever (at least till september 2010)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Wright

22 February 2010 William would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay, had a great time in Belfast. William is really helpful and makes sure you get the most of your visit. Will visit again!

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I've stayed in. The showers were hot, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast Will serves in the morning is amazing and included in the price of the room. Will was incredibly helpful and showed us the best places to go and see. He basically planned out our trip for us when we arrived which included all of the things we had wanted to do and see. If you're looking for something to do, take advantage of the Black Taxi tour and the Giant's Causeway tour Will suggests - they're not expensive and they were really informative. Plus we got to see a lot more of Northern Ireland than we anticipated which was great. The location of the hostel is great as well - very close to the university and the bars/clubs. Very welcoming atmosphere. Overall wonderful experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Schneider

17 February 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, fun people. When I am back in Belfast I will definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William the owner was extremly helpful and a nice person who gave us a nice welcome. The property was a little old and needed some repairs. We asked for more pillows and we received them. The free cooked breakfast was wonderful!!!! A cheap place to stay in a fun place. Thanks :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean and simple hostel but what really makes the stay is the guy who runs it. He's so helpfull, tells you where to go and where to avoid. Perfect hostel to stay in if you want to know exactly where to go in the city. Cannot reccomment this place enough!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was good, also the guys in charge is very friendly and helful. Very nice experience at this hostel, value for money and definitivelly recommend it. The only downhill would be the room: It was very (VERY) cold even though the heater was on. I guess it`s because it was facing the street, but it could be solved by installing double glass window or a system to keep the heat inside the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

laura egginton

01 February 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: we had an awesome time! Lots of tips for what is good to see, and a fun place to meet people and hang out.

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.