We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

84.8% Overall Rating

539 out of 582 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Jacob VAN DEN BERG thinks…

"Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.10 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.34 USD

Hostel 86.7% 55 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.8%

Overall Rating

539 out of 582 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
89.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 531 of 568 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to Queens University and the city centre. Manager was very helpful and informative and gave good advice about what to see and do (on a budget) in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Ritchie

21 March 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The landlord was really helpful, steering us toward the better value for money tours/attractions. He was also really enthusiastic, friendly, and actively promoted interaction between the people staying there (mainly by filling us all full of beer and whiskey - free!). I didn't enjoy the hangover the next morning, but the free bacon and eggs went down well...

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value hostel, with extremely helpful staff. We stayed there over St. Patricks day and it was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who gave great advice about what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brit Cowan

11 March 2010 Brit would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were great, the neighborhood was great, but the best part of this hostel is William. He cooks you a full breakfast every morning, gets you drunk on whiskey every night, and takes you to the cool pubs in town. He tells you honestly what the best places are in the city and what tourist traps to avoid. He tells you the best way to get to the Giant's Causeway and then is genuinely interested in whether you had fun. He's the best! I had a 5am bus to Dublin, but he wouldn't let me sit around waiting. Instead, we drank whiskey and went to a pub, he bought us pizza, and offered me a free bed until morning. He really takes care of his guests and makes you feel like a friend.

Disliked: Brit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chul hyun Kim

03 March 2010 Chul hyun would recommend this property

Liked: It's my first review for any hostel. I've traveled so many country...more than average. And I always stay in hostel cause it's cheap. I can say Lagan is kind of the best. nice locastion, nice staff, reasonable price, and nice room. If you visit Belfast, I seriously recommand you to stay Logan. I'm not working for this hostel. I'm just student who stay here one night. I love this place more than my flat in Liverpool.

Disliked: Chul hyun left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 March 2010

Liked: I don't like it very much.... it isn't so cleaner...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Doheny

28 February 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull and the breakfast was really nice :)

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vey warm room, bathrooms very clean. Shower want easy to use, told owner. he was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely. great bus service right at end of the road, shops and takeaways very close. Thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever (at least till september 2010)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

William Wright

22 February 2010 William would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place to stay, had a great time in Belfast. William is really helpful and makes sure you get the most of your visit. Will visit again!

Disliked: William left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was the best hostel I've stayed in. The showers were hot, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast Will serves in the morning is amazing and included in the price of the room. Will was incredibly helpful and showed us the best places to go and see. He basically planned out our trip for us when we arrived which included all of the things we had wanted to do and see. If you're looking for something to do, take advantage of the Black Taxi tour and the Giant's Causeway tour Will suggests - they're not expensive and they were really informative. Plus we got to see a lot more of Northern Ireland than we anticipated which was great. The location of the hostel is great as well - very close to the university and the bars/clubs. Very welcoming atmosphere. Overall wonderful experience.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew Schneider

17 February 2010 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very clean, fun people. When I am back in Belfast I will definitely be staying here again.

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William the owner was extremly helpful and a nice person who gave us a nice welcome. The property was a little old and needed some repairs. We asked for more pillows and we received them. The free cooked breakfast was wonderful!!!! A cheap place to stay in a fun place. Thanks :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean and simple hostel but what really makes the stay is the guy who runs it. He's so helpfull, tells you where to go and where to avoid. Perfect hostel to stay in if you want to know exactly where to go in the city. Cannot reccomment this place enough!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

03 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was good, also the guys in charge is very friendly and helful. Very nice experience at this hostel, value for money and definitivelly recommend it. The only downhill would be the room: It was very (VERY) cold even though the heater was on. I guess it`s because it was facing the street, but it could be solved by installing double glass window or a system to keep the heat inside the room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

laura egginton

01 February 2010 laura would recommend this property

Liked: we had an awesome time! Lots of tips for what is good to see, and a fun place to meet people and hang out.

Disliked: laura left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

31 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel owner gave us the best tips for Belfast. And was really amathing and helpful :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice place to stay at

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ryan Davey

05 January 2010 Ryan would recommend this property

Liked: loves it. great breakfast and free irish whisky yay! Wish I could stay longer

Disliked: Ryan left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was really helpful with advice about where to go and what to do in Belfast. The only problem we had was that our room was freezing and despite asking for extra blankets, he insisted that it wasn't cold.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Bruce

22 December 2009 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: William is the coolest cat in Belfast, running a fun friendly hostel, suitable for all! Absolutely makes your time in Northern Ireland a memorable one. Breakfast is defiantly one off the best on offer.

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.