We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

80.2% Overall Rating

560 out of 609 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/05/2015)

"Love the free hot breakfast in the mornings and cheap dinners at night. Also great that we could book tours and get picked up for them right from the hostel. Also, a small feature but really great, was the little…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.84 USD

Hostel 93.7% 183 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.06 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.84 USD

Hostel 82.7% 46 reviews
Titanic Apartments
39.01 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
49.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.06 USD

Hostel 77.9% 322 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.2%

Overall Rating

560 out of 609 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
81.6%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
92.0%
Value
81.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 552 of 594 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Annie Cornu

16 April 2010 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: William and his breakfast are great, although it can get crowded in the kitchen/dining place at times - same with the few toilets and showers! The hostel is located in a quiet street, about 10 min from the Botanic train station (much nearer than the Europa bus station and cheaper to come from Belfast City Airport) and very near the University and beautiful botanical gardens. All kinds of restaurants and stores nearby. And sorry , William, for the broken bed - hope you got it repaired or replaced!

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very kind and helpful. He made us feel at ease and we had a great breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yanni Tan

13 April 2010 Yanni would recommend this property

Liked: the boss is every nice person, very helpfull

Disliked: Yanni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Sullivan

11 April 2010 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice time here! the staff is so friendly. I got great advice about Belfast, was even invited along on a pub crawl, and got all my questions answered. there's a full homemade breakfast included, or you can ask for yummy porridge (but you will be teased a bit =P). nice beds, free internet

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anong Srisopa

10 April 2010 Anong would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very kind. He can give you all information you need for travelling in Belfast. The most important thing is that he is so honest to all customer.

Disliked: Anong left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the energy of the staff. Very helpful and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Edwardson

08 April 2010 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy listening to William. Appreciate him being our local knowledge source, providing a map and directions, etc. Very nice. Greatly enjoyed this stay in Belfast!

Disliked: Jim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Barnes

08 April 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved Lagan Backpackers. Everything about it was fantastic, most of all the owner Will. He was SO helpful, a really genuine guy and always had time if you needed help or advice. On arrival he gave us a map and talked us through the best places to go, and pointed out the best tours that were worth going on. The room was really good, everything was clean and by the time we dropped off our bags, went down to talk to Will and came back up, our room was ready :) There is also a Spar shop 20 seconds away from the Hostel with everything you would need if you forgot anything like I did (shampoo and shower gel) and plenty of food if you fancy cooking instead of eating out (which gets expensive). The Hostel is located a very short walk from Botanic Avenue, which has plenty of restaurants to eat at and is also a short walk from some main places like Lavery's (very much recommend this). I would very much urge you to choose this Hostel, it's so so so awesome! Literally, it is. Best. Place. Ever. Will = Best. Guy. Ever.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danae Bianes

07 April 2010 Danae would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED this hostel. The manager is really great. He'll go through with you his tips on how to get a great impression of Belfast. You get breakfast included in the price. He can also book you a black cab tour and/or a day trip up to Giant's Causeway. Really lively at night but not too loud, I met some awesome people here and in general Belfast is a cool city. Great atmosphere. Definitely stay here if you come to Belfast.

Disliked: Danae left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gloria obrien

06 April 2010 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful with some probs i had clean excellent beds

Disliked: gloria left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, very helpful!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was a lot of fun! William was very helpful and immediately made us feel at home. It has a great atmosphere for meeting new people and the breakfast was amazing! We wish that we could have stayed for more than just one night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ying Long

04 April 2010 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Ying left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the Queen University,a Spar shop 3minutes walk, only two bathroom&toilet, so it's a liitle crowed in morning and evening. A big fly in room and I spent several minutes to drive it out.It's a pity that there was no breakfast in Monday because boss was sleepy,and no food material supplied ,no charge was refund. I had to go to the train with empty stomach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, the staff is very friendly and nice breakfast, but on the night we stayed, some people were talking aloud in the reception until the next morning. it was very annoying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole McArthur

30 March 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful, telling us all about the city and attractions. He was very friendly and cooks a great breakfast.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William was AMAZING!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: small, but one of the best places I've stayed in 5 years of travel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

eric foster

27 March 2010 eric would recommend this property

Liked: helpful info provided

Disliked: eric left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to Queens University and the city centre. Manager was very helpful and informative and gave good advice about what to see and do (on a budget) in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Ritchie

21 March 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The landlord was really helpful, steering us toward the better value for money tours/attractions. He was also really enthusiastic, friendly, and actively promoted interaction between the people staying there (mainly by filling us all full of beer and whiskey - free!). I didn't enjoy the hangover the next morning, but the free bacon and eggs went down well...

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value hostel, with extremely helpful staff. We stayed there over St. Patricks day and it was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who gave great advice about what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.