We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

84.1% Overall Rating

554 out of 600 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2015)

"Really friendly and relaxed staff. You meet lots of interesting purple here. Room to sleep in is actually clean and nice."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
20.81 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
20.81 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
20.81 USD

Hostel 82.7% 46 reviews
Titanic Apartments
37.17 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
47.58 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.07 USD

Hostel 77.4% 320 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
27.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

554 out of 600 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 545 of 586 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Barnes

08 April 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved Lagan Backpackers. Everything about it was fantastic, most of all the owner Will. He was SO helpful, a really genuine guy and always had time if you needed help or advice. On arrival he gave us a map and talked us through the best places to go, and pointed out the best tours that were worth going on. The room was really good, everything was clean and by the time we dropped off our bags, went down to talk to Will and came back up, our room was ready :) There is also a Spar shop 20 seconds away from the Hostel with everything you would need if you forgot anything like I did (shampoo and shower gel) and plenty of food if you fancy cooking instead of eating out (which gets expensive). The Hostel is located a very short walk from Botanic Avenue, which has plenty of restaurants to eat at and is also a short walk from some main places like Lavery's (very much recommend this). I would very much urge you to choose this Hostel, it's so so so awesome! Literally, it is. Best. Place. Ever. Will = Best. Guy. Ever.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danae Bianes

07 April 2010 Danae would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED this hostel. The manager is really great. He'll go through with you his tips on how to get a great impression of Belfast. You get breakfast included in the price. He can also book you a black cab tour and/or a day trip up to Giant's Causeway. Really lively at night but not too loud, I met some awesome people here and in general Belfast is a cool city. Great atmosphere. Definitely stay here if you come to Belfast.

Disliked: Danae left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gloria obrien

06 April 2010 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful with some probs i had clean excellent beds

Disliked: gloria left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, very helpful!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was a lot of fun! William was very helpful and immediately made us feel at home. It has a great atmosphere for meeting new people and the breakfast was amazing! We wish that we could have stayed for more than just one night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ying Long

04 April 2010 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Ying left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the Queen University,a Spar shop 3minutes walk, only two bathroom&toilet, so it's a liitle crowed in morning and evening. A big fly in room and I spent several minutes to drive it out.It's a pity that there was no breakfast in Monday because boss was sleepy,and no food material supplied ,no charge was refund. I had to go to the train with empty stomach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, the staff is very friendly and nice breakfast, but on the night we stayed, some people were talking aloud in the reception until the next morning. it was very annoying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole McArthur

30 March 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was extremely helpful, telling us all about the city and attractions. He was very friendly and cooks a great breakfast.

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: William was AMAZING!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: small, but one of the best places I've stayed in 5 years of travel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

eric foster

27 March 2010 eric would recommend this property

Liked: helpful info provided

Disliked: eric left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very close to Queens University and the city centre. Manager was very helpful and informative and gave good advice about what to see and do (on a budget) in the city.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Ritchie

21 March 2010 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The landlord was really helpful, steering us toward the better value for money tours/attractions. He was also really enthusiastic, friendly, and actively promoted interaction between the people staying there (mainly by filling us all full of beer and whiskey - free!). I didn't enjoy the hangover the next morning, but the free bacon and eggs went down well...

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good value hostel, with extremely helpful staff. We stayed there over St. Patricks day and it was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff who gave great advice about what to see and do in Belfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brit Cowan

11 March 2010 Brit would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were great, the neighborhood was great, but the best part of this hostel is William. He cooks you a full breakfast every morning, gets you drunk on whiskey every night, and takes you to the cool pubs in town. He tells you honestly what the best places are in the city and what tourist traps to avoid. He tells you the best way to get to the Giant's Causeway and then is genuinely interested in whether you had fun. He's the best! I had a 5am bus to Dublin, but he wouldn't let me sit around waiting. Instead, we drank whiskey and went to a pub, he bought us pizza, and offered me a free bed until morning. He really takes care of his guests and makes you feel like a friend.

Disliked: Brit left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chul hyun Kim

03 March 2010 Chul hyun would recommend this property

Liked: It's my first review for any hostel. I've traveled so many country...more than average. And I always stay in hostel cause it's cheap. I can say Lagan is kind of the best. nice locastion, nice staff, reasonable price, and nice room. If you visit Belfast, I seriously recommand you to stay Logan. I'm not working for this hostel. I'm just student who stay here one night. I love this place more than my flat in Liverpool.

Disliked: Chul hyun left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

02 March 2010

Liked: I don't like it very much.... it isn't so cleaner...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Doheny

28 February 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very helpfull and the breakfast was really nice :)

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Vey warm room, bathrooms very clean. Shower want easy to use, told owner. he was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was lovely. great bus service right at end of the road, shops and takeaways very close. Thanks

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever (at least till september 2010)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.