HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 1.97USD

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 77%

Showing 171-115 of 115 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa

Liked: nice breakfast, the staff is witty and helpful.

Disliked: shower water not hot at all in some bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

hi
They are electric showers and just need to be adjusted correctly

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Simply the best hostel I stayed at in all of UK! The owner is very friendly as well as all the other staff. The hostel has a very friendly and homely feel. Furthermore, the owner sent my charger to London when I forgot it within just a couple of days, which really made my day. Amazing dinner/BBQ and the best hostel breakfast you will ever find. Loved my stay would recommend to any traveller.

Disliked: Nothing at all, everything was excellent.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location is very central and the staff was very helpful, giving tips on self-walking trips the free breakfast was a plus

Disliked: Unfortunately very dirty, the linen didn't seem to have been changed & the toilets upstairs were sticky


The property's response is

Hi

Besides the other comments i noticed you gave 40% for value.... Paying £11 for a 4 bed private dorm with a hot breakfast of bacon and scrambled eggs etc. I think that in itself says alot about your review. To be blatantly honest after checking you in im not surprised about your review. I got the feeling you expected a 4 star hotel for almost free.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Value for money in a decent location.

Disliked: Owner decided during Euro 2012 that he didn't like football and was going to ban it on the hostel TV. Not because of rowdy crowds - it was just me at the time - but because he wanted to sit in the guests common room himself. Kicked me out of the room and said he'd put a sign up, 'no football'. The worst part - he made this decision right at kick off in the England game. I thought hostel facilities were for guests, especially when they were using them peacefully?

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Not true. There is 2 rooms with tv's. And only you in one of the rooms watching the match in one room and 12 people watching the match in the other room. Why i asked you to join the others so that everyone that does not want to watch it can have 1 tv to use

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: - The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.- The breakfast, which is included in the price, is really good.- The hostel promotes BBQ nights to promote meetings for the guests.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: It's great! The free breakfast is very generous and delicious! Everything is very clean and neat, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Great for the money and a lot better than many of the other hostels in Belfast.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Love the free hot breakfast and the 3gbp BBQ every night. Willam is a great host. It was a lot of fun.

Disliked: Saying there's free wifi but charging 2gbp a day. Was stuck in the doorway for 15mins before someone answered. "not my shift, not my problem". Sad. The host and most of the employees are cool, except for a few bad apples. Great potential.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff are awesome & friedly , special thanks to Charlotte , Joe, and Henrry.

Disliked: I dislike nothing :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Everything! The host and staff are excellent! Extremely helpful, best tourist and travel tips, assistance with trains, planes, and ferry crossing plans! Breakfast was excellent and a BBQ every night means that this is by far the most affordable place to stay! Facilities are clean and well kept, lots of rooms, lots of space, tons of fun! I will never stay anywhere but here when I go to Belfast!

Disliked: The only thing I can think of is that I had to leave! I wish I could stay!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: The Manager is very friendly and the Hostel is very comfortable.

Disliked: there could be a washing mashine, but that's the only bad thing.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

We do washing for guests for wash and dry for £3 per load. Glad you enjoyed your stay

Check Availability