We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

82.2% Overall Rating

578 out of 630 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2015)

Eric Nolan thinks…

"I travelled to Belfast to do some filming work for a week and a half , from Friday to the Sunday the week later , on my arrival to Lagan Backpackers I was greated by a warm welcome & lots of…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.29

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.39 USD

Hostel 93.7% 187 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.62 USD

Hostel 80.0% 325 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.39 USD

Hostel 73.5% 811 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.39 USD

Hostel 81.8% 51 reviews
Titanic Apartments
38.19 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
52.70 USD

Hostel 88.2% 8 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.26 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

578 out of 630 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 570 of 616 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

22 May 2010

Liked: the bathrooms are awful!! seriously.... just disgusting, and only 2working showers for 15 people....and mattress is really too... really disappointed!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

anne ratjen

22 May 2010 anne would recommend this property

Liked: thanks for everything william, good decission to stay at your hostel!

Disliked: anne left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, nice clean, secure hostel! Would come back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff, William shows you how to do Belfast properly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SZE HAY CECILIA CHAN

15 May 2010 SZE HAY CECILIA would recommend this property

Liked: seldom leave comments but have to recommend this one coz this hostel really made my stay in belfast.Best hostel EVER! excellent atmosphere, william is fun and friendly. great place to meet people.free cooked breakfast, clean and and comfy beds, strong showers (the only thing is there are only 4 toilets, can get a lil bit crowded in the mornings), what more can i ask for?

Disliked: SZE HAY CECILIA left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: extremly friendly and helpful staff, who really makes you feel at home, William makes a perfect breakfast to start the day with and has a lot of insider tips. Would definitely go back there! ;-)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william revill

13 May 2010 william would recommend this property

Liked: lagan's backpackers is really nice place to the beds are really comfy, the owner will is very friendly and knowledgable for things to in belfast and it comes with a full english breakfast which is first for a hostel.

Disliked: william left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Full breakfast included, very hospitable staff, and a projector/movie room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is very basic, but the owner makes the experience by offering personal advice for your stay in Belfast. He arranges sightseeing tours and pub crawls himself and they are very good. He cooks breakfast to order in the morning. New night guy also nice. Huge projection screen to watch movies and open computer with Internet to use for free if no one's on it. We recommend the Black Cab tour, the Botanic gardens. Nothing is open Sunday mornings in Belfast. It's a 15 minute/£8 cab ride to the Stena ferry from the hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place and great tourism suggestions. We'd definitely stay here again. Comfy rooms, clean bathrooms, friendly staff and yummy breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tracy Chalk

10 May 2010

Liked: I booked this hostel partly because of the positive comments i read about the hostel owner. However, we met a different man than described! He was stand offish at times and withheld my passport claiming we hadnt handed in both sets of keys to the room, when we had. The night staff was particularly rude and we were ringing on the doorbell for ages to be let in. It was 2am and we were cold and tired and was left ringing the bell and banging on the door for at least 20 mins. When he did eventually come to the door, he had a grin on his face and no offer of an apology. When we checked out the following morning, we mentioned it to the owner and he had apparently been told by the night staff we were only left outside for about 5 mins. Still, this is unacceptable and unsafe for four young girls. The night staff obviously knew it was an issue or why else would he have felt the need to mention it to the owner in the morning? When i checked out, the hostel owner withheld my passport as he claimed we had not given the two keys back. This was wrong and we had infact given both the keys back. I have travelled for two years round the world and although this hostel was clean, the attitude of the staff was appauling, very rude and unfriendly at times.

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, nice breakfast, generally very comfortable place to stay. Felt a little hassled into some tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominic Jackson

03 May 2010 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice Hostel close to Queens and the city centre. The hostel owner was very accommodating, told you about all the sights and things to do!

Disliked: Dominic left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giampiero Sanna

03 May 2010 Giampiero would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness,location,fun place to meet people.

Disliked: Giampiero left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man who runs this place is so helpful! He also has a great knowledge of the area and is very willing to point guests in the direction of good food, great sights, and the best pubs!The rooms are nice and he is remodeling and expanding, so I imagine this place will just get better and better!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very nice and helpful. Good value for our money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Annie Cornu

16 April 2010 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: William and his breakfast are great, although it can get crowded in the kitchen/dining place at times - same with the few toilets and showers! The hostel is located in a quiet street, about 10 min from the Botanic train station (much nearer than the Europa bus station and cheaper to come from Belfast City Airport) and very near the University and beautiful botanical gardens. All kinds of restaurants and stores nearby. And sorry , William, for the broken bed - hope you got it repaired or replaced!

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very kind and helpful. He made us feel at ease and we had a great breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yanni Tan

13 April 2010 Yanni would recommend this property

Liked: the boss is every nice person, very helpfull

Disliked: Yanni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Sullivan

11 April 2010 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice time here! the staff is so friendly. I got great advice about Belfast, was even invited along on a pub crawl, and got all my questions answered. there's a full homemade breakfast included, or you can ask for yummy porridge (but you will be teased a bit =P). nice beds, free internet

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anong Srisopa

10 April 2010 Anong would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very kind. He can give you all information you need for travelling in Belfast. The most important thing is that he is so honest to all customer.

Disliked: Anong left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the energy of the staff. Very helpful and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Edwardson

08 April 2010 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy listening to William. Appreciate him being our local knowledge source, providing a map and directions, etc. Very nice. Greatly enjoyed this stay in Belfast!

Disliked: Jim left no negative feedback.