We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

81.8% Overall Rating

568 out of 618 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2015)

Lara Karam thinks…

"Great atmosphere, great fun! (A movie room!) bar crawl was super cool too The location was not bad The beds had curtains so good for intimacy and sleeping in"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.34

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
21.85 USD

Hostel 93.8% 184 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.07 USD

Hostel 77.9% 322 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.85 USD

Hostel 73.4% 809 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.85 USD

Hostel 82.2% 49 reviews
Titanic Apartments
39.01 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
63.98 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
28.87 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

568 out of 618 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
87.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
67.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 560 of 603 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic place and great tourism suggestions. We'd definitely stay here again. Comfy rooms, clean bathrooms, friendly staff and yummy breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tracy Chalk

10 May 2010

Liked: I booked this hostel partly because of the positive comments i read about the hostel owner. However, we met a different man than described! He was stand offish at times and withheld my passport claiming we hadnt handed in both sets of keys to the room, when we had. The night staff was particularly rude and we were ringing on the doorbell for ages to be let in. It was 2am and we were cold and tired and was left ringing the bell and banging on the door for at least 20 mins. When he did eventually come to the door, he had a grin on his face and no offer of an apology. When we checked out the following morning, we mentioned it to the owner and he had apparently been told by the night staff we were only left outside for about 5 mins. Still, this is unacceptable and unsafe for four young girls. The night staff obviously knew it was an issue or why else would he have felt the need to mention it to the owner in the morning? When i checked out, the hostel owner withheld my passport as he claimed we had not given the two keys back. This was wrong and we had infact given both the keys back. I have travelled for two years round the world and although this hostel was clean, the attitude of the staff was appauling, very rude and unfriendly at times.

Disliked: Tracy left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds, nice breakfast, generally very comfortable place to stay. Felt a little hassled into some tours

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dominic Jackson

03 May 2010 Dominic would recommend this property

Liked: A very nice Hostel close to Queens and the city centre. The hostel owner was very accommodating, told you about all the sights and things to do!

Disliked: Dominic left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Giampiero Sanna

03 May 2010 Giampiero would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness,location,fun place to meet people.

Disliked: Giampiero left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The man who runs this place is so helpful! He also has a great knowledge of the area and is very willing to point guests in the direction of good food, great sights, and the best pubs!The rooms are nice and he is remodeling and expanding, so I imagine this place will just get better and better!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner was very nice and helpful. Good value for our money

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Annie Cornu

16 April 2010 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: William and his breakfast are great, although it can get crowded in the kitchen/dining place at times - same with the few toilets and showers! The hostel is located in a quiet street, about 10 min from the Botanic train station (much nearer than the Europa bus station and cheaper to come from Belfast City Airport) and very near the University and beautiful botanical gardens. All kinds of restaurants and stores nearby. And sorry , William, for the broken bed - hope you got it repaired or replaced!

Disliked: Annie left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist was very kind and helpful. He made us feel at ease and we had a great breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Yanni Tan

13 April 2010 Yanni would recommend this property

Liked: the boss is every nice person, very helpfull

Disliked: Yanni left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathryn Sullivan

11 April 2010 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: I had a nice time here! the staff is so friendly. I got great advice about Belfast, was even invited along on a pub crawl, and got all my questions answered. there's a full homemade breakfast included, or you can ask for yummy porridge (but you will be teased a bit =P). nice beds, free internet

Disliked: Kathryn left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anong Srisopa

10 April 2010 Anong would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is very kind. He can give you all information you need for travelling in Belfast. The most important thing is that he is so honest to all customer.

Disliked: Anong left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the energy of the staff. Very helpful and fun.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jim Edwardson

08 April 2010 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: Enjoy listening to William. Appreciate him being our local knowledge source, providing a map and directions, etc. Very nice. Greatly enjoyed this stay in Belfast!

Disliked: Jim left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Barnes

08 April 2010 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I absolutely loved Lagan Backpackers. Everything about it was fantastic, most of all the owner Will. He was SO helpful, a really genuine guy and always had time if you needed help or advice. On arrival he gave us a map and talked us through the best places to go, and pointed out the best tours that were worth going on. The room was really good, everything was clean and by the time we dropped off our bags, went down to talk to Will and came back up, our room was ready :) There is also a Spar shop 20 seconds away from the Hostel with everything you would need if you forgot anything like I did (shampoo and shower gel) and plenty of food if you fancy cooking instead of eating out (which gets expensive). The Hostel is located a very short walk from Botanic Avenue, which has plenty of restaurants to eat at and is also a short walk from some main places like Lavery's (very much recommend this). I would very much urge you to choose this Hostel, it's so so so awesome! Literally, it is. Best. Place. Ever. Will = Best. Guy. Ever.

Disliked: Tim left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Danae Bianes

07 April 2010 Danae would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVED this hostel. The manager is really great. He'll go through with you his tips on how to get a great impression of Belfast. You get breakfast included in the price. He can also book you a black cab tour and/or a day trip up to Giant's Causeway. Really lively at night but not too loud, I met some awesome people here and in general Belfast is a cool city. Great atmosphere. Definitely stay here if you come to Belfast.

Disliked: Danae left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gloria obrien

06 April 2010 gloria would recommend this property

Liked: friendly helpful with some probs i had clean excellent beds

Disliked: gloria left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff, very helpful!!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was a lot of fun! William was very helpful and immediately made us feel at home. It has a great atmosphere for meeting new people and the breakfast was amazing! We wish that we could have stayed for more than just one night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ying Long

04 April 2010 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice

Disliked: Ying left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near the Queen University,a Spar shop 3minutes walk, only two bathroom&toilet, so it's a liitle crowed in morning and evening. A big fly in room and I spent several minutes to drive it out.It's a pity that there was no breakfast in Monday because boss was sleepy,and no food material supplied ,no charge was refund. I had to go to the train with empty stomach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, the staff is very friendly and nice breakfast, but on the night we stayed, some people were talking aloud in the reception until the next morning. it was very annoying.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

30 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.