We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

84.1% Overall Rating

554 out of 600 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2015)

"Really friendly and relaxed staff. You meet lots of interesting purple here. Room to sleep in is actually clean and nice."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
20.81 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
20.81 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
20.81 USD

Hostel 82.7% 46 reviews
Titanic Apartments
37.17 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
47.58 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.07 USD

Hostel 77.4% 320 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
27.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

554 out of 600 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 545 of 586 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Gilliam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVEDDDDD lagan backpacks! The owner William is such a nice guy!!! The free breakfast was GREAT!!!! They are great cooks there! If you stay in Belfast it is a MUST! It was clean and a fun place to stay! I wish all hostels were like this!

Disliked: NOTHING!!! It was a LOVELY place!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free hot breakfast, very friendly owner who will tell you what is worth your time and what isn't. clean facilities, beds comfortable considering it's a hostel. Only thing I can complain about is pillow was very thin, but you can ask for an extra one.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me the lacation and the staffs were the best.

Disliked: I think it could be a little cheapper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly clean, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: should offer more breakfast ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caoimhe Mc Nally

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 February 2011 Caoimhe would recommend this property

Liked: It was only walking distance to the town for us to shop. We could come and go as we liked we had no certain time to be in at. We all got a room together.

Disliked: the room was a bit to small for 6 people. The blankets and pillows were very thin although the room was always warm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very helpful, knowledgeable staff

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, close to the university. Reception was available 24 hrs, and always helpful. I had the 10-person room to myself.

Disliked: I had the 10-person room to myself. The place was dead (definitely the low-season going just after New Year´s day).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2011

Liked: all round good , staff provded helpful information

Disliked: some late arrivals noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 January 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It did exactly what it says on the tin, cheap and functional!

Disliked: Could be more easy to spot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. Very helpful. The location is great and free on street parking.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely secure - there are no front keys to the door as the staff lets you in no matter what time of day it is. It's clean, nice showers, friendly atmosphere. The owner William was super helpful and cooked a free hot breakfast for everyone each morning. And one night when I wasn't feeling particularly well, he made me his cure-all hot whiskey and sat around chatting with a few of us. It's a good place.

Disliked: No complaints. It's a great hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were AMAZING! Wonderful big cooked breakfast, friendly atmosphere and every amenity you could think of. Had a bit of trouble finding my way there but once we arrived you couldn't have asked for more.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Matheson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, very informative and friendly. good breakfast for free. Internet works in rooms which is great.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill environment that was also very clean. There were lots of little things that made the hostel comfortable. The staff was laid back, helpful and friendly. The free tea/coffee and breakfast--sausage, egg, bacon, and toast-- were great perks.

Disliked: --

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ali Shreif

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2010 Ali would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff! No weak link... everything was either good or excellent. William, if you're reading this, say hi to everyone.

Disliked: William :-P Nah... No dislikes.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Bence Gaspar

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2010 Bence would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: room was a bit cold

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Danny McLaughlin

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 December 2010 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Cool friendly staff, you wont get a free cooked breakfast along with a 10£ room anyhwere else in belfast!

Disliked: would really have preferred anactual safe storage room, rather than a bit of space in the corner!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the atmosphere

Disliked: the bathroom is small and dirty

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sanja Cupan

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2010 Sanja would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was excellent, rooms are clean and warm, everything was great

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nick Harrop

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2010 Nick would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfasts and very helpful staff.

Disliked: Showers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Selden

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: William and the staff were friendly and helpful...whole place a good vibe. Cooked brekky of your choice include. Wifi in my room...always a plus!

Disliked: Nothing comes to mind.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Partying / nightlife

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the price. Very good breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good location.

Disliked: Very few bathrooms. Rooms were sparse. The interior was quite old in the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Eva Roulstone

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

28 November 2010 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was great! Clean kitchen and William cooks the breakfast in front of everyone! We weren't given keys to the front door, for extra security front desk is open 24 hours and they open front door when you ring the bell so no one not staying can get entry!

Disliked: Walls very thin, can clearly hear normal conversations from next rooms.. Bathroom was tiny and the toilets seat was loose!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin niklaus

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2010 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean, helpful to find anything you might need.

Disliked: Not a verybig sign to let you know where it is