HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

89.3% Overall Rating

501 out of 538 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/04/2014)

helen duffield thinks…

"Relaxed atmosphere, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and accommodate my needs. I am 49 so much older than the majority of guests, and have health issues. I was made to feel…"

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.52

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
23.51 USD

Hostel 90.2% 162 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.83 USD

Hostel 92.9% 214 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.79 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.50 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.97 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
City Backpacker
25.18 USD

Hostel 90.6% 41 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
53.73 USD

Hostel 89.7% 5 reviews
The Old Georgian House
12.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

501 out of 538 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 499 of 524 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My friend and I stayed there for two non-consecutive nights. The first night, we had a room to ourselves - and six empty beds. Clean, spacious, and lockers available. The second night, we checked in and the front desk guy gave us a key that didn't work... he ended up putting us in a private room (only one queen bed though) for FREE for the night! Needless to say, my friend and I were pretty happy with this customer service. Also - get the Giant's Causeway tour if in town... for 20 pounds, it is a steal.

Disliked: Not a ton of young people, kind of quiet, front desk guy on the phone a lot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, and the added "bonus" of a nice cooked breakfast. Plus, helpful, friendly personality of William, the owner

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Inbar Oren

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2010 Inbar would recommend this property

Liked: Great warm place, with very helpful stuff. A walking distance from the city center but worth every step of the way. Definitely recommended!

Disliked: nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, Breakfast, staffed 24/7,

Disliked: Too noisey, street activity,,

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Quinn

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

22 September 2010 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: It has expanded. Lots of room, TV available, iron when required, very friendly, safe place to be.

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karen Reynolds

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

19 September 2010 karen would recommend this property

Liked: William is an amazing host, with the ability to pull together total strangers of all nationalities and ages. He offers advice on Belfast, and is a great ambassador for Belfast and hostelling. William organised for me to go on my black cab tour accompanied by a lovely pair from Japan and Australia. His staff are equally as accommodating and whilst the hostel is basic, the comfort, warmth and atmosphere shine through.

Disliked: leaving there, but I intend going back.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: felt so comfortable here and safe.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LAURAJANE RICHARD

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2010 LAURAJANE would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were so helpful and as i was traveling alone it was most welcome they are just so honest and friendly

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely helpful staff (they even offered umbrellas for the day!), wicked breakfast and good setup. Keep the old work guys!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

james sewell

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2010 james would recommend this property

Liked: the location was awe4some and all the staff, especially william were exceedingly helpful and friendly. highly recomended would be back in a heart beat if i could!

Disliked: james left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gavin fitzsimons

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 September 2010 gavin would recommend this property

Liked: location and nice rooms

Disliked: strange smell on the stairs

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good value, nice breakfast

Disliked: Room was painted during my stay

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ewa Wielogorska

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

09 September 2010 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful, gave us many useful info about the city itself and sightseeing.

Disliked: There was nothing that I'd really dislike...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Sofia Komninou

With friends / other travellers

City break

09 September 2010

Liked: I liked the home cooked breakfast and the girl at the reception was lovely.

Disliked: It is not really clean. We avoided to shower at this shower. Also my room was very high and they hadn't fix the light at the corridor. That was unacceptable because we had to climb the stairs with no light. The dvd facilities was good, but the common room closes at 12! When we asked the guy at the reception if we could borrow the dvd to see the rest of the move to our laptop he said "Ok but be quiet because otherwise I will kick you out ". If he thinks this is funny I would say it is rude.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sasha miller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 sasha would recommend this property

Liked: the best hostel i've ever stayed in, william knows how to run a hostel! nice and small and very friendly, william cooks bacon and eggs every morning for everyone, the only hostel ive stayed in that really feels like a home away from home. highly recommended!

Disliked: there were no problems at all with this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ALL staff were extremely friendly and house rules were bent to accomodate any requests we had. Had a cinema room which was useful for when the rain was heavy. Full breakfast included in the price was a winner!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael keenan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I've ever stayed in (out of a LARGE sample). Staff were cool, facilities were nice, beds were by far the most comfortable I've slept in in a hostel. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Julia Vieira

With my spouse / partner

City break

03 September 2010 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: William makes you feel at home from the minute you get there. Everyone is very friendly and helpful - the breakfast is great! :)

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

TANYA BEACOM

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 September 2010 TANYA would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly south african man who runs the show, he fixed my puncture for me! and you'd pay half the nights rent for the free breakfast anyway, so great value and well worth a visit. great location

Disliked: TANYA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tanja Obreza

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

30 August 2010 Tanja would recommend this property

Liked: good breakfast and very helpfull manager of the hostel

Disliked: Tanja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Campbell

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

28 August 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, good facilities, great breakfast

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Patrick Brouder

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2010 Patrick would recommend this property

Liked: Free cooked breakfast and great location

Disliked: Patrick left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the staff, common areas and relaxed feeling of the place. I highly recommend this hostel if you are after a place that provides opportunity to meet other travellers and whose staff understand the needs of people, providing valuable local information and ensuring the hostel is quiet after midnight.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Federico Quarona

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Federico would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff! They explained us how to visit Belfast and they made us feel at home. Very good breakfast included.

Disliked: Cleanliness improvable and just two bathrooms.