HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast

Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 81%

Safety 78%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.33USD

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 81%

Safety 78%

Staff 87%

Value 78%

Showing 111-120 of 133 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly, nice rooms, brekfast was definately a bonus. Really good location

Disliked: Only 2 showers meant there was quite a que in the morning

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I would like to correct your statement about only 2 showers being available since we actually have 6 showers in the hostel and I apologise if somehow that went unmentioned.
The hostel is actually 2 houses with bathrooms in each one and our guests are welcome to use the facilities in both of them.
Safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff, awesome free breakfast and an all around laid back and friendly atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.
We very much enjoyed having you here and would welcome you back anytime!
Safe travels!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast; it really was calm after midnight. Thank you!

Disliked: It was not clean at all, it was packed, long waiting time for breakfast (which itself was great!!)


The property's response is

Hi

Yes we do run a hostel and not a 5 star hotel for hostel prices. So you might have to wait 5 to 10 minutes for your free hot breakfast.
As this was your first time in a hostel i would like to mention that our hostel is alot cleaner than most you will stay in. Why the last 468 people that reviewed us on this site alone rate our cleaninliness at above 80%

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free full English breakfast is spectacular, nice covered smoking area, friendly staff with good tips for things to do (especially the black cab tour!)

Disliked: Beds are not very comfortable, limited access to power sockets for charging devices

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: Free hot breakfast is a positive point, toillets and showers were always very clean. Location is within a walking distance from the city center and very close to the university.

Disliked: Big mess with the bookings, everyday there was some moving to a different room because staff forgot to mention that the room was overbooked.Wi-Fi doesn't work very good, you need some luck to get a connection.Some lockers are riddiculous small, and a medium size bag won't fit.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. I have to take exception with your description of the overbookings. They didn't occur everyday and those that were affected (you weren't by the way), were happy with the arrangements made for them and left positive reviews. The wifi has been corrected and was due to technical problems beyond our control for which we explained and apologised for. The lockers come in two sizes. if the small locker was insufficient for your needs, there are large ones available.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We like all the free stuff! Free breakfast, free BBQ, FREEdom in this hostel. It's like a close knitted family. Met travellers from around the world and had fun night's out. The staff are really cool people! Secure locks in rooms and front door, lockers, clean showers, beds and toilets. Highly recommended

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The BBQ in the evening was very nice and enabled the peoples to get to know each other.

Disliked: Location isn't bad but also not stellar. It's close to the botanical gardens and the Ulster Museum. It's a 20min walk to the city center (City hall, Big Fish, etc.).

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Brilliant staff and the breakfast is amazing. Add in Drinking Jenga and you have a winning combo.

Disliked: The location is a bit of a walk out of the city centre (15 minutes). However, this is the case for all hostels in Belfast.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It's well-located, offers a really nice breakfast (irish: beans, sausages, scrambled eggs, tomatoes, coffee, tea) and has WI-FI.

Disliked: You can easily find some more well-kept hostels. I found this place not in the greatest possible conditions. And it lacks cleaning in the common areas.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review but I have to take exception to the cleanliness.
The hostel is cleaned several times daily by our staff that I have trained personally.

If you happened to walk into a room (sitting room, bathroom, etc) that a guest left a mess then you should have advised our staff, who would have happily rectified the situation.

As stated on the sheet you signed upon check-in, if you find anything unsatisfactory, alert our staff and we will take care of the problem immediately.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: My boyfriend and I met more friends staying 2 nights at THIS hostel than on our entire 1 month backpacking trip. Staff encourages everyone to get to know eachother. They make a homemade hot breakfast!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability