HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 75%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 63%

Facilities 70%

Location 78%

Safety 75%

Staff 86%

Value 81%

Showing 111-120 of 267 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Stayed in a Double Room. Most comfy beds in Belfast! Really friendly reception staff (guy from New Zealand) and amazing FREE cooked breakfast every day!

Disliked: Stayed in a Double Room. Cold and poor power showers. Tried several different showers across the hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Great cosy Hostel! Friendly staff, chilled out atmosphere with good facilities. Also a decent breakfast is included in the price which is always a bonus!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Lagans is a great place to stay, especially if you want to socialize with other guests. The staff are really helpful and friendly. I loved that they provide a nice hot brekky and the option of having a cheap dinner with other guests. Would highly recommend staying here.

Disliked: I wish we could've stayed here longer, they book out easily.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Everything a hostel should be and more. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and the hot breakfast feels like a holiday within your holiday. Overall was a wonderful experience.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Loved the awesome free breakfast and cheap suppers, good atmosphere, really friendly staff. Super specials and discounts depending on how long you stay. They have own Giant's Causeway tour and pub crawl, but also help you organise other activities.

Disliked: Wifi can be slow during peak times and one has to queue mornings for bathrooms, rest of day fine for both.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The staff tries very hard to be helpful; and they are successful in their efforts.Lagan's provides a free hot breakfast, ie, an English breakfast, or other althernativeif the guest prefers.I highly recommend Lagans.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: -The staff is wonderful, they're incredibly welcoming and helpful. -They make you breakfast in the morning, and it's delicious! Free coffee and tea all day as well. -You can get in on a group dinner for only £1.50, and that's on most nights.-The staff will arrange for black taxi tours, and they'll point out the best places to go in the city.-Luggage storage is free, next to the front desk so you know that it's safe.-They have deals based on how many nights you stay, which are great if you plan to be in Belfast for a few nights and you want to hit up the Giant's Causeway, etc. -Lots of opportunities to meet people.

Disliked: -The location is a little sketchy, bring a friend. -The beds are super close together, so it's a bit crowded. -Everything is really loud and squeaky (doors, lockers, floors) so it's easy to wake people up/ be woken up. -I had a hell of a time with the keypads to get into the buildings and rooms. They're a bit persnickety.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

The location in the University Quarter, is one of the safest parts of the city (in what's qualified as the safest city in Europe) so not sure why you would call it "sketchy".
In the entire time I've been here, I've not seen so much as a fistfight outside.

As for the keypads, 6 simple clicks allows you access to your dorm room.
It's a small price to pay to ensure the safety and security of our guests.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly, nice rooms, brekfast was definately a bonus. Really good location

Disliked: Only 2 showers meant there was quite a que in the morning

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
I would like to correct your statement about only 2 showers being available since we actually have 6 showers in the hostel and I apologise if somehow that went unmentioned.
The hostel is actually 2 houses with bathrooms in each one and our guests are welcome to use the facilities in both of them.
Safe travels!

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff, awesome free breakfast and an all around laid back and friendly atmosphere

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review.
We very much enjoyed having you here and would welcome you back anytime!
Safe travels!

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The breakfast; it really was calm after midnight. Thank you!

Disliked: It was not clean at all, it was packed, long waiting time for breakfast (which itself was great!!)


The property's response is

Hi

Yes we do run a hostel and not a 5 star hotel for hostel prices. So you might have to wait 5 to 10 minutes for your free hot breakfast.
As this was your first time in a hostel i would like to mention that our hostel is alot cleaner than most you will stay in. Why the last 468 people that reviewed us on this site alone rate our cleaninliness at above 80%

Check Availability