We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

84.1% Overall Rating

554 out of 600 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/03/2015)

"Really friendly and relaxed staff. You meet lots of interesting purple here. Room to sleep in is actually clean and nice."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.23

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE *** ***GROUP BOOKINGS*** If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded. NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us. ***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests. ***CHECK-IN*** Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers. ***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions. We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
20.81 USD

Hostel 92.8% 178 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
20.81 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
20.81 USD

Hostel 82.7% 46 reviews
Titanic Apartments
37.17 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
47.58 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
20.07 USD

Hostel 77.4% 320 reviews
Chimney Corner Hotel
27.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 76.1% 8 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.1%

Overall Rating

554 out of 600 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
92.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 545 of 586 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tadej Bacelic

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 April 2011 Tadej would recommend this property

Liked: Staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good place if you want a relaxing stay. Nice area to stay in.

Disliked: It didn't have great spaces for meeting other backpackers and socialising.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: super good hostel

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Faruk Uysal

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011 Faruk would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: breakfast and lounge

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 April 2011

Liked: A central location, close to the university.

Disliked: We had to leave after our first night, utterly exhausted from lack of sleep. One of our party was in the single room next to the front desk and was kept awake THE ENTIRE NIGHT by street noise, and then noise from the front desk. I was in another single room, but only managed a few hours due to street noise, and that's WITH EARPLUGS! When we declared that we were leaving after the first night, the staff had no quibble (clearly this must happen often). As a result we arrived completely exhausted and in poor spirits for our conference. I would definitely not recommend this hostel to anyone who actually wants a good night sleep.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: was in a great location and had extremely helpful and good staff. good sleep, good price and good breaky in the morning

Disliked: nothing to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff

Disliked: not private bathroom

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Minh-Tam Nguyen

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Minh-Tam would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel I've ever stayed

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

franklin iwueke

Alone

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 franklin would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were amazing.

Disliked: none

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, very helpful! Breakfast was great. Beds were comfortable.

Disliked: Very noisy during the night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Naomi King

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 April 2011 Naomi would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the whole atmosphere of the place. Everyone was really friendly and helpful, and from the moment we got there they did everything they could to make our stay perfect. I'm deffinetly going back soon.

Disliked: Nothing. Everything was amazing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FAN ZHOU

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 FAN would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are friendly and hospitable. The facility is acceptable. I would recommend it.

Disliked: Short of bathroom and shower facility.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

28 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, good breakfast (included in the price) and nice entertainment room.

Disliked: The bathroom was old and the overall aspect was not attractive at all although IT WAS clean.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff, convenient location in the city, free cooked breakfast in the morning, very reasonable price, no curfew.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Tobin

Alone

Events / festivals

22 March 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was my first time in a hostel so I was a little nervous but now I never want to go back to hotels.

Disliked: I choose a private room but now wish I'd gone for shared.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free hot breakfast and helpful staff.

Disliked: Being near the bathroom was noisy. could hear everything through the wall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dannehl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Handmade breakfast, great tipps to explore the city as well as possible budget savings

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. There a wide choice of free DVDs. It was located practically in city centre. And breakfast is included!

Disliked: The building is old and the walls are paper thin.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Single room was really spacious and had a lot of privacy. We enjoyed having our own room and it was great to have that option.

Disliked: The people next to us were very loud, not the hostel's fault, but still paper thin walls.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The best breakfast I´ve ever eaten in Hostel -Good staff, funny, helpful -Impressive cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to meet people and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They gave us alot of insiders tips into Belfast including the best places to eat and drink and answers any questions we had.

Disliked: Showers weren't the best I've ever had

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sylvie bonnot

Alone

Business / conference

01 March 2011 sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: Great welcome, very nice location next to the Botanic Gardens, easy to find

Disliked: none

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011

Liked: - breakfast was good (fresh made, warm breakfast), but took a long time to get

Disliked: - Locker was broken - no PCs (only Wifi) - staff sometimes a bit unfriendly - mattresses uncomfortable

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really comfortable place to stay, the staff was proactively helpful and the breakfast was excellent, better than in many mid-range hotels I've visited.

Disliked: There was just one surprise and it wasn't a bad one - the website stated that wifi comes with a small fee, actually it was for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This backpackers was really fantastic! Clean, well organized, comfortable, warm and close to attractions! Staff are friendly and happy to provide you with honest information needed to answer any question- whether it be in relation to tours or onward travel! Not only that they provide a hot breaky and recently introduced a dinner menu, there is a range of options at reasonable prices! Overall this was one of the best backpackers we have stayed at!

Disliked: None