We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers

Hostel | 121 Fitzroy Avenue, Belfast, Northern Ireland Bt71Hu

81.8% Overall Rating

537 out of 580 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/09/2014)

Jacob VAN DEN BERG thinks…

"Perfect for backpackers, meeting other travellersis easy, with activities like pubcrawl and comunal dinner. In a quiet side street near bars restaurants and student facilities. Good public transport."

Read all Lagan Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 2.43

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

* Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed upstairs or in the hostel after 21:00. Groups are welcome to book if they dont cause the other guests discomfort with excessive alcohol consumption and adhering to our quiet after midnight rule so that people get a good nights rest. Therefore we require a £30 per person refundable deposit on check in. Cash only. Deposit is returned if noise levels are complied with and no anti social behavour takes place and other guests are comfortable. Groups are made up of 6 or more people! Cancellation is 7 dayss before 8am on the day of arrival. Cancellations after this time will be charged the full nights accommodation. No exceptions.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Global Village
22.72 USD

Hostel 93.0% 176 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.10 USD

Hostel 94.1% 226 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
21.91 USD

Hostel 73.7% 808 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
21.75 USD

Hostel 82.9% 43 reviews
Titanic Apartments
40.57 USD

Hostel 85.8% 42 reviews
City Backpacker
24.34 USD

Hostel 87.2% 54 reviews
Queen's University Summer Accommodation
51.93 USD

Hostel 86.5% 7 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.91 USD

Hostel 77.6% 319 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

537 out of 580 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lagan Backpackers'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 530 of 566 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | … | 21 | 22   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free hot breakfast and helpful staff.

Disliked: Being near the bathroom was noisy. could hear everything through the wall.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dannehl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Handmade breakfast, great tipps to explore the city as well as possible budget savings

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very friendly. There a wide choice of free DVDs. It was located practically in city centre. And breakfast is included!

Disliked: The building is old and the walls are paper thin.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Single room was really spacious and had a lot of privacy. We enjoyed having our own room and it was great to have that option.

Disliked: The people next to us were very loud, not the hostel's fault, but still paper thin walls.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -The best breakfast I´ve ever eaten in Hostel -Good staff, funny, helpful -Impressive cleanliness

Disliked: Nothing dislike

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a good place to meet people and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. They gave us alot of insiders tips into Belfast including the best places to eat and drink and answers any questions we had.

Disliked: Showers weren't the best I've ever had

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sylvie bonnot

Alone

Business / conference

01 March 2011 sylvie would recommend this property

Liked: Great welcome, very nice location next to the Botanic Gardens, easy to find

Disliked: none

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 February 2011

Liked: - breakfast was good (fresh made, warm breakfast), but took a long time to get

Disliked: - Locker was broken - no PCs (only Wifi) - staff sometimes a bit unfriendly - mattresses uncomfortable

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really comfortable place to stay, the staff was proactively helpful and the breakfast was excellent, better than in many mid-range hotels I've visited.

Disliked: There was just one surprise and it wasn't a bad one - the website stated that wifi comes with a small fee, actually it was for free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This backpackers was really fantastic! Clean, well organized, comfortable, warm and close to attractions! Staff are friendly and happy to provide you with honest information needed to answer any question- whether it be in relation to tours or onward travel! Not only that they provide a hot breaky and recently introduced a dinner menu, there is a range of options at reasonable prices! Overall this was one of the best backpackers we have stayed at!

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christina Gilliam

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 February 2011 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: I LOVEDDDDD lagan backpacks! The owner William is such a nice guy!!! The free breakfast was GREAT!!!! They are great cooks there! If you stay in Belfast it is a MUST! It was clean and a fun place to stay! I wish all hostels were like this!

Disliked: NOTHING!!! It was a LOVELY place!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free hot breakfast, very friendly owner who will tell you what is worth your time and what isn't. clean facilities, beds comfortable considering it's a hostel. Only thing I can complain about is pillow was very thin, but you can ask for an extra one.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For me the lacation and the staffs were the best.

Disliked: I think it could be a little cheapper.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Incredibly clean, very friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: should offer more breakfast ....

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caoimhe Mc Nally

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

02 February 2011 Caoimhe would recommend this property

Liked: It was only walking distance to the town for us to shop. We could come and go as we liked we had no certain time to be in at. We all got a room together.

Disliked: the room was a bit to small for 6 people. The blankets and pillows were very thin although the room was always warm.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, very helpful, knowledgeable staff

Disliked: n/a

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was good, close to the university. Reception was available 24 hrs, and always helpful. I had the 10-person room to myself.

Disliked: I had the 10-person room to myself. The place was dead (definitely the low-season going just after New Year´s day).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 January 2011

Liked: all round good , staff provded helpful information

Disliked: some late arrivals noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy Hughes

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

24 January 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: It did exactly what it says on the tin, cheap and functional!

Disliked: Could be more easy to spot!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

21 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are great. Very helpful. The location is great and free on street parking.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was extremely secure - there are no front keys to the door as the staff lets you in no matter what time of day it is. It's clean, nice showers, friendly atmosphere. The owner William was super helpful and cooked a free hot breakfast for everyone each morning. And one night when I wasn't feeling particularly well, he made me his cure-all hot whiskey and sat around chatting with a few of us. It's a good place.

Disliked: No complaints. It's a great hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were AMAZING! Wonderful big cooked breakfast, friendly atmosphere and every amenity you could think of. Had a bit of trouble finding my way there but once we arrived you couldn't have asked for more.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Matheson

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2011 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, very informative and friendly. good breakfast for free. Internet works in rooms which is great.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chill environment that was also very clean. There were lots of little things that made the hostel comfortable. The staff was laid back, helpful and friendly. The free tea/coffee and breakfast--sausage, egg, bacon, and toast-- were great perks.

Disliked: --