HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Lagan Backpackers Belfast Hostel

121 Fitzroy ave, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Parking
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.20USD

Important Information

*** PLEASE NOTE ***

***GROUP BOOKINGS***
If you wish to book for 6 people or more, YOU MUST EMAIL US BEFORE BOOKING. Without prior confirmation and permission, groups of six or more people will not be accepted - even if the group book via several separate bookings. All groups will be turned away on arrival and still charged for the entire stay. With multiple bookings, all bookings in the group will be turned away on arrival and charged for the entire stay. No exceptions. And no deposits will be refunded.
NO stag parties and hen parties are allowed, this is to ensure ALL guests have an enjoyable, restful and safe stay with us.

***Please be advised that although there is no curfew, non-hostel guests are not allowed in the hostel, as we at Lagan Backpackers prioritise the safety and wellbeing of our guests.

***CHECK-IN***
Photographic ID is required at the time of Check-In and will be kept in our safe for the duration of your stay. This is non-negotiable, as safety is a priority at Lagan Backpackers.

***Cancellation is 48 hours before 8am on the day of arrival.
Cancellations after this time will be charged the first night's accommodation. No exceptions.

We look forward to having you stay with us at Lagan Backpackers, where we will make your experience of Belfast a truly memorable one.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 74%

Cleanliness 62%

Facilities 70%

Location 79%

Safety 74%

Staff 84%

Value 77%

Showing 91-100 of 121 reviews

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Definitely a hostel for the young, or at least the young at heart. You'll easily make friends here and staff encourage an open inviting atmosphere. The Giant's Causeway and Black Cab tours are both quite good and staff have lots of other advice on getting the most out of Belfast.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Everybody was super friendly and welcoming!

Disliked: Some of the lockers didn't lock but we didn't have any issues with security.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff were super friendly and always took the time to have long chats with us and help us out if we needed anything. Great atmosphere and even greater English breakfast freshly made by Chad!

Disliked: The lock on our dorm door was broken, but since everyone in the hostel was so nice, it did not really make us feel unsafe.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff at Lagan made my stay in Belfast! I left with many new friends because of their warmth. It's a fairly low key hostel, and cozy because it's a converted house, but that's exactly what I needed at this stage in my trip. breakfast is made for you every morning and there's free coffee and tea all day.

Disliked: The shower's were quite cold and the bathroom door on my floor didn't lock because the house had shifted and I couldn't close the door far enough to use the lock

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Poor shower and separated hot and cold taps

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very friendly, nice facilities and good food. Not too expensive.

Disliked: Because I have celiac disease I preferred continental breakfasts because I could eat more of the things that don't have gluten rather than be limited to a small amount and not eat my fill.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Racha morning the stuff cooks you breakfast. They are really nice and helpful. It's near the university so a lot of young people around.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was welcoming, friendly, and accomodating. They were nice enough to move me from a 10-bed mixed room to a 4-bed single-sex room, free of charge. The free hot breakfast was very nice. The communal dinners were also a nice perk.

Disliked: The room was cold, and the shower was not an ideal temperature.

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Provided hot breakfast and free hot drinks anytime.. dinner only cost 1.5 pounds.... location is not bad... lockers provided in rooms.. staff are nice..good wifi...

Disliked: Room is quite cold at night... only one bathroom working.. water is not very hot during shower.. some lockers not functioning properly.. some clothing hangers for our jackets / towels will be good...

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the location is good.

Disliked: The room that I stayed in was a little bit crowded, and the common area is not that big.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability