HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Old Georgian House

Hostel | 12 College Square North, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT1 6AS

71.0% Overall Rating

28 out of 51 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2013)

"We got a room in an other property linen house hostel belfast. The quality of the was proportional with the price of it. On the whole it was a good stay, a lot of fun, value for the money."

Read all The Old Georgian House reviews

Facilities

  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour hot showers

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

Linen House Hostel
10.90 USD

Hostel 71.9% 766 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.79 USD

Hostel 92.9% 214 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.76 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.91 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.46 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Global Village
23.47 USD

Hostel 89.7% 160 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
16.76 USD

Hostel 89.4% 536 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.79 USD

Hostel 78.2% 314 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.0%

Overall Rating

28 out of 51 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Old Georgian House'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
57.6%
Staff
75.2%
Value
80.0%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 42 of 47 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Marina Garcia Soria

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2014 Marina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice and helpfull.

Disliked: There is a bit of confusion about the adress. And the room had some humidities.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

ewa starosta

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

05 January 2014

Liked: nothing

Disliked: very dirty, noise all night my room is dirty and cold shower out service water often is cold

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Debora Piu

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2013 Debora would recommend this property

Liked: Not too dirty to be a hostel. Very central.

Disliked: I had no idea how to take a shower. No hot water or no water at all.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got a room in an other property linen house hostel belfast. The quality of the was proportional with the price of it. On the whole it was a good stay, a lot of fun, value for the money.

Disliked: lack of cleanliness

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hongliang Wang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 May 2013 Hongliang would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is absolutely thoughtfull and helpful. One of the staff knew what I want even before I speak it out, very impressive!

Disliked: I confounded the Georgian house and the Linen House. And try to find the Georgian House in the beginning.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 November 2012

Liked: far from city center

Disliked: Location

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Dirty

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kathleen Burgess

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 June 2012

Liked: We actually stayed at the Linen House Hostel, which was a part of the same chain. We were meant to stay at the Old Georgian House, but their booking facilities were down. I imagine the facilities would have been the same. As this is quite cheap, you do really get what you pay for. If you intend just to sleep and shower, and spend as pretty much all of your time out and about in Belfast, this Hostel is fine. We didn't have an awful experience, it was just a bit below par.

Disliked: The staff seemed pretty fed up and bored, but you can't blame them with the chaos caused by some of the guests. Would not recommend staying on a Saturday night as its far too noisy with people running up and down the halls screaming until 3AM during my stay. Facilities weren't the cleanest and we had problems with pretty much every lock on every door we encountered.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andrew McLean

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 May 2012 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff who were exceptionally obliging. Clean & tidy. Very central. And very reasonable prices.

Disliked: Slightly noisy at times (but not out of the expected range of a youth hostel to be fair)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really great atmosphere, everyone was very friendly! I would definitely stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Peter Bocskor

Alone

City break

04 April 2012 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Actually I was in the Linen hostel, but that’s the same company. Good accommodation for little money. Perfect location.

Disliked: Somebody arrived to the room at 3:30 in the morning. 24 hour check in is not fun.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Riccardo Allegrucci

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012

Liked: .

Disliked: Dirty. They didnt gave me the a bed in the 6 bed room but in a 16 one cos they had no more space left. The bed are just bed. The bathroom are dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for money at a central location to most of the city.

Disliked: Street outside could have been better lit at night.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city centre. Had everything we needed, kitchen, internet etc.

Disliked: The room was tiny. There was nowhere to put our stuff. Also you could hear people moving about on the floor above, constantly. One of the showers was always cold.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Foster

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

05 February 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, great staff team- very helpful and diligent. Helped us organise the best value trips.

Disliked: The rooms were pretty cosy! but considering the price we've got absolutely no complaints. Great value hostel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ben Foster

With a large group / tour

Work / volunteering

05 February 2012 Ben would recommend this property

Liked: We actually stayed at the Linen House hostel. Honestly, the staff were amazingly accommodating. Fabulous location and incredible value for money. Free Wi Fi. Its got all you need.

Disliked: No issues or problems whatsoever.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011

Liked: nothing.

Disliked: everything.dirty, dirty, dirty.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, close to city center

Disliked: Lack of light in rooms and whole building

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: the internet didnt work and we had to pay for it

Disliked: The advertised address is different from where the actual hostel is. I printed out my confirmation, and a map of the area. We went to the address it lists itself as, and they told us to go to a different address altogether- then i realised that underneath the 'address' it said please check in at '' and gave a different address. I dont know why they dont just list that as their address. especially when your tired when you get to a new city you dont really want to go trecking up and down streets with your bags... also, we had booked 2 beds in a 4 bed dorm, and when we got there, there were no vacancies so we were put in a 10 bed dorm.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nothing special

Disliked: too empty

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Very gloomy, unfriendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Laura Mc Carthy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife

25 January 2011 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: location room

Disliked: night time staff

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2010

Liked: Good location

Disliked: No staff, no security, noisy, no facility

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jennifer Lee

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2010

Liked: The staff were nice.

Disliked: It was very dark and run down. The bathroom had mould all over the ceiling. The rooms were very shabby.