HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Linen House Hostel

Hostel | 18 Kent Street, Belfast, Northern Ireland BT1 2JA

72.8% Overall Rating

529 out of 770 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/03/2014)

"Just a 5 minute walk to the city center, and a 10 minute walk to the bus station was nice."

Read all Linen House Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.68
  • Towel USD 1.68

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

HOSTEL POLICIES/INFORMATION: - Noise is regulated between the hours of 10pm and 6am. - The hostel reserves the right to refuse service to anyone. - Check out time is 10:30 am - Absolutely no smoking in the building! Anyone caught smoking on the premises will be asked to leave. - Families with children are required to book a bed for each individual child. Booking a private room is highly recommended. All persons under 18 years of age must be accompanied by an adult and can only be accommodated in a private room. - Our Policies are strictly enforced, and we reserve the right to refuse service (check in, etc) to any persons. CANCELLATION/BOOKING POLICIES: Groups: We accept large groups of all types. Group bookings are subject to a deposit of the first nights accommodation total. All deposits are non-refundable and non-transferable. All group bookings are subject to availability and rates may vary in accordance with special events and bank holidays, weekends, etc. Provisional bookings will be held on option for two weeks. If the booking is not confirmed and/or deposit not received the accommodation being held will automatically released. Individuals: Individuals may cancel a booking without penalty up to 48 hours prior to arrival. After 48 hours, a fee of 2 night’s accommodation may be deducted from refund total.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Belfast

The Old Georgian House
12.59 USD

Hostel 71.0% 51 reviews
Vagabonds Belfast
21.83 USD

Hostel 92.9% 214 reviews
Global Village
23.51 USD

Hostel 90.2% 162 reviews
Lagan Backpackers
20.15 USD

Hostel 89.3% 538 reviews
Paddy's Palace Belfast
16.79 USD

Hostel 78.2% 803 reviews
Arnies Backpackers
22.50 USD

Hostel 83.8% 39 reviews
Titanic Apartments
41.97 USD

Hostel 87.9% 40 reviews
Belfast International Hostel
21.83 USD

Hostel 78.2% 314 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

529 out of 770 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Linen House Hostel'

Atmosphere
66.4%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
82.4%
Value
79.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 482 of 513 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 19 | 20   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2014

Liked: no comments

Disliked: dirty

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex Pereira da Costa

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

23 April 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place! Nothing wrong

Disliked: Alex left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: the smell, the atmosphere and above all the cleanliness

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Radim Vlcek

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 April 2014 Radim would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: .

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Rick Madden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: Run down and unsecure

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014

Liked: Just a 5 minute walk to the city center, and a 10 minute walk to the bus station was nice.

Disliked: Understaffed, mould in all the bathrooms/showers, too many beds in dorm room, kitchen was always dirty and utensils/pots/pans caked with old food, you need to pay additional for lockers, bag storage, computer use, and breakfast was expensive for what was offered. After living the hostel life for the last 10 weeks this was by far the worst and least enjoyable hostel experience.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Thomas

Alone

Business / conference
Events / festivals

13 March 2014 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: I had an interview at The University of Ulster, and this hostel is literally 3 minutes away by foot. I had wondered whether for the price the hostel would be okay? But for the money, you get use of a communal kitchen, separate dining room/long room with TV, friendly staff and residents of the hostel (who I found gave great conversation!). My room was very basic and small, but it was all I needed as I was out exploring Belfast the minute I landed. Plus... One of the staff members, Dinko, let me into my room at 8am as it was unoccupied and he didn;t have to do that - after just getting off the ferry from LIverpool after just a few hours sleep, it was much appreciated. Plus, you can leave your bags at the hostel on the day you are leaving for cheap prices! I know it sounds like I am selling the place... but for the money, it is perfect and is geared for people like me who had not visited Belfast before (ie. Hostels are used to people walking in not knowing their erse from their elbow as far a the locality is concerned). There was no heating in the room, but I took my hot water bottle which made my bed positively toasty ;)

Disliked: No electricity point in the room, but again this was acceptable as I charged my phone in the dining hall.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

06 March 2014

Liked: Not too far from shopping and odyssey arena

Disliked: Beds are small and uncomfortable, no lock on our dorm room Staff was unfriendly when asked about directions

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and friendly staff!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and gave loads of nice information.

Disliked: Felt unsafe just out side of this hostel.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2014

Liked: It is in a great spot, and staff was very helpful. The common areas are comfortable, we were able to make new friends there.

Disliked: The rooms were not heated and there was humidity in our room. I wouldnt mind to pay few more extra pounds for heat. And if I see that rooms are not heated, I would not probably choose this hostel for winter. Belfast is a cold and rainy city, and humidity in the room did not allowed me or my clothes to dry.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They advertised awesome trips for travelers. Both tours we did - the Giant's Causeway day tour and Black Taxi tour - we found from posters in the hostel and talking to the staff about them.

Disliked: The bathrooms didn't have soap, and I hadn't thought to bring my own hand washing soap.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy, friendly staff and a good place to meet new people.

Disliked: The creaking double bed.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

02 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and safe parking.

Disliked: The room was very cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this place is the location and price. They also serve breakfast for £ 2.

Disliked: nothing particular.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location so close to the city centre. Nice and clean, bathrooms also clean. Absolutely nothing to complain about.The hostel is a historic building and has a friendly atmosphere. The rooms are well-kept. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great value for money. I enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: nothing, all good.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ciara Mc Entee

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 November 2013 Ciara would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed here before so I knew I would be safe here. I only stayed one night and left the next morning for a flight. It was perfect for what I needed.

Disliked: I was meant to get a single room but I got a room with 3 sets of bunk beds. I was staying in it myself so it was fine but would have prefered to have just a single bed as I didnt find the bunk bed very comfortable. But as I said i was only sleeping there so was perfect for what I needed.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

14 November 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: General untidiness, probably to be expected at the price.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Ian Doherty

Alone

Business / conference

19 October 2013 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: great city center location very cheap at 6.50 a night plenty of seats and a good kitchen

Disliked: not very clean lots of stuff under beds etc.. a few long term residents that smelt very badly

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Aurelia Pivot

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 October 2013

Liked: the very firendl personnel staff. The 2 kitchens.

Disliked: the dirtiness

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Alice Johnston

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2013 Alice would recommend this property

Liked: Central location and a private twin room for just £15 each. Used the hostel as a base and had a great night out. No curfew, which was great! Vending machines in the lobby were useful.

Disliked: A bit scruffy round the edges. Shower could have been cleaner, bedsheets looked a bit worn, and if you like a plump pillow to sleep on, bring your own! But it's only to be expected for the cheap price.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Ian Close

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2013

Liked: Cheap.

Disliked: Unsafe, dirty, terrible staff.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ian Close

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

16 August 2013

Liked: I suppose it was cheap.

Disliked: Unsafe, unclean and run by the most rude people I have ever encountered.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Kieran McKeown

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 August 2013

Liked: As I am a person who prefers more upper class accommodation, I will try to rate this as fair as possible. The price and the location was superb the lobby was comfortable, welcoming and a great place to meet other people with a snack and drink machine available as well as WiFi facilities.

Disliked: At times the room did smell bad and became very over heated but the windows did not open wide enough to fix this problem. You had to pay for a towel which I believe is an essential object in any place off stay no matter what, so I feel the charge was unnecessary. Another this I had concerns about is the fact that when my friends left there backs in the hostel before I came to the hostel, seemingly the staff was very rude in there attitude, calming that boys and girls cannot sleep in the same room, even though I booked the 10 bed MIXED dorm. They also said that passports need to be shown for id, which was a bit off a hassle as all we had were driving licence ect etc. The staff also calmed that because we were local (within Northern Ireland) we were more likely to trash the place than people who are from foreign countries, which we found very unprofessional statement. However this is what my friends reported back to me but I do trust they were telling the truth. The staff did separate us which was highly annoying for us as we wanted to be in the same room, so we won't annoy any strangers when we come in early hours off the morning after a night out. The breakfast range was pitiful and the fact that you had to spend £2 for it almost makes the situation laughable so I and my friends went to a nice wee café around the Conner which sold delicious grub.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Cristian Michael Tracci

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013

Liked: It's ok if you are looking for something pretty cheap and you can accept everything. Toilets were very very clean instead of all other things

Disliked: It smeels so bad, it's fucking hot on the stairs and every room, air looks dirty not clean no opened windows. We had an hole in the floor of pur room!