HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Belfast International Youth Hostel Belfast Hostel

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 7.75USD

Important Information

Groups of 8 or more please, contact the Groups department.

CHECK IN BEGINS: 13.30. CHECK OUT: 11.00

A photographic ID is required for everyone checking in at Belfast International Youth Hostel - this is held securely at reception until check out. Bed linen is included in the cost of your stay. Towels, soap etc are not provided.
Breakfast, if not included as part of a group reservation, is available for purchase at the Causeway Cafe from 8am until 11am. Dinner and packed lunches can also be provided for groups if booked in advance.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Belfast?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 80%

Location 90%

Safety 87%

Staff 90%

Value 85%

Showing 1-10 of 23 reviews

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: I liked the atmosphere of the place and the people, and also that it was very clean.

Disliked: I did not like maybe that the location was a bit far from the city centre.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: The staff was very friendly and the interior was really nice

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot and free Wi-Fi and the convenient keycard system to make sure no non-guests are wandering around where they don't belong. There is a self catering kitchen with two roomy refrigerators to store your grub and a stove and microwave oven. This is great for a small budget traveller like me. :-)

Disliked: There are no paper towels or hand dryers in the restrooms on the 3rd floor. And one of the restrooms has no sink at all! There is a TV lounge on floor 1 but my keycard would not let me get onto that floor. Oh and the Wi-Fi is sometimes spotty. You are required to get a access code slip of paper for each new day, that isn't too bad, just thought I'd mention it.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Location is perfect

Disliked: The shower I used kept blocking

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very good cafe

Disliked: A bit impersonal

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your recent stay and for your great rating. I hope you enjoyed your visit to Belfast. Safe travels. David

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Very good location, good hostel for that value of money.

Disliked: Wi-fi available only in the lobby.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your great comments about our staff, and your overall high score after your stay with us in Belfast this summer. Giving us 100% for location, staff, safety and value for money is amazing. I hope you will recommend us and perhaps come back for another visit yourself. Safe travels. David

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel was clean, the showers were pretty great, the staff was very helpful, the location was good and there's and awesome cafe (Causeway Cafe) on the ground floor of the hostel that serves amazing breakfast (not included in the price though).

Disliked: The room was extremely small and had a prison-like atmosphere. Also, the wifi only worked in the common area.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello from Belfast IYH. Thank you for your great review. It's always good to know that we are doing a good job in providing a clean, safe, comfortable place to stay. We hope you will come back to visit, and recommend us as you travel. Take care. David

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The kitchen was well stocked and the attached cafe made good breakfast. There is a bus tour company that has its office inside the hostel and they were really easy to book a tour out to the Giant's Causeway. We even were given a discount because we were staying in the hostel. We arrived late at night and our 4 bed room didn't have any bedding on the two beds we were supposed to be in. The guy at the desk didn't have access to get us more bedding so he moved us to another 4 bed room that had no one in it for a few days.

Disliked: The attached cafe only took cash. The washers and dryers didn't work very well and required several cycles to get the clothes actually dry.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review: it is always good to know when our guests have enjoyed their stay. I am sorry that the room you were checked in to on arrival wasn't ready, but it's great that staff were able to rectify that quickly for you. Otherwise you sum up the hostel very well. We have a new dryer on the way, due to be installed on Monday, so hopefully that will speed up the laundry situation for future guests. Safe travels. David

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Clean, comfortable and helpful staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Michelle,
Thank you for your kind comments - it's always good for the staff to get positive feedback.
We hope to see you again on your next visit to Belfast.
David

Check Availability